Monday, September 23, 2013

Beyond Pain by Kit Rocha [Review]

Beyond Pain (Beyond #3) by Kit Rocha
Format: ebook
Source: provided by the author for an honest review
Date read: August 9, 2013

1. Beyond Shame
2. Beyond Control
2.5. Beyond Denial
3. Beyond Pain - Kindle
3.5. Beyond Temptation
4. Beyond Jealousy
5. Beyond Addiction
6. Beyond Innocence
7. Beyond Ruin

Author Links
Kit Rocha is the non-paranormal pen name for one of my favorite authors, Moira Rogers. Moira Rogers is the pen name of the fabulous writing duo Bree and Donna. Work your head around that.
| Website | Twitter (Kit Rocha announcements) | Twitter (Donna) | Twitter (Bree) | Facebook (Moira Rogers) | Facebook (Kit Rocha) | Amazon |

Synopsis (Goodreads):
A woman with no future…

Live fast, die young–anything else is a fantasy for Six. She’s endured the worst the sectors had to throw at her, but falling in with Dallas O’Kane’s Sector Four gang lands her in a whole new world of danger. They’re completely open about everything, including their sexuality–but she hasn’t survived this long by making herself vulnerable. Especially not to men as dominant as Brendan Donnelly.

A man without a past…

Bren is a killer, trained in Eden and thrown to the sectors. His one outlet is pain, in the cage and in the bedroom, and emotion is a luxury he can’t afford–until he meets Six. Protecting her soothes him, but it isn’t enough. Her hunger for touch sparks a journey of erotic discovery where anything goes–voyeurism, flogging, rough sex. He has only one rule: he won’t share her.

In Bren’s arms, Six is finally free to let go. But his obsession with the man who made him a monster could destroy the fragile connection they’ve forged, and cost him the one thing that makes him feel human–her love.
My Thoughts on Beyond Pain: This series satisfies my need for gritty, dark, incredibly sexy dystopian books. It is PHENOMENAL and every book expands the series and makes me love it even more.

While the focus of each book is on a particular couple, the brotherhood that the O'Kanes have carved out for themselves with blood, sweat, and ink is the heart of the series. Their willingness to embrace one another -- faults, differences, and all -- is so breathtaking.

That said, Bren and Six's story doesn't pull any punches. Wait. I have to giggle for a second. Because, you know, Bren likes the pain and he doesn't WANT anyone to pull their punches. Anyway. After the abuse that Six suffered through, she's a wreck. Just about the only person she trusts is Bren and she doesn't *really* understand where he's coming from. She doesn't get the whole mindset that the O'Kanes have -- they are family and they will fight to protect one another.

So, Bren has his work cut out for him. He wants her but he needs her to trust him and she's not one to give her trust easily.

Honestly, I love Six's edgy, feral attitude. She's a damaged and she lashes out at times and she definitely doesn't feel like she fits in, but she's got all that fire and when Bren crawls under her skin to start to unlock it, things get steamy. REALLY STEAMY. Which is something I've come to expect from these books BUT STILL. *fans self*

The world and the politics of the sectors is expanding. Dallas and his crew will have to hold on tight to keep their kingdom running the way they need it to. Because Dallas keeps his gang safe and there's nothing he won't do to protect them.

O'Kane for life!


  1. Ahh. Bren and Six intrigued me when I read book one. Will have to get to this one!

    1. They have some issues to work out and it is GLORIOUS! (also, don't skip Dallas and Lex. The King and Queen of Sector Four can't be missed!)