Monday, February 26, 2024

Monster Between the Sheets S2 [Books 11-15 Review]

Monster Between the Sheets Season 2 (books 11-15) by Various
Format: ebook
Source: borrowed through Kindle Unlimited
Disclaimer: As an Amazon Associate, I earn from qualifying purchases.

Monster Between the Sheets Season 2
1. Valkyrie's Choice
2. Demon's Own
3. Turnabout is Fairy Play
4. A Monster Worth Fighting For
5. My Eye Adored You
6. Slippery When Yeti
7. Snake Believe
8. Harry's Beast
9. Stalking From the Shadows
10. Melting the Frost Troll
11. Ghosting the GriffinKindle
12. Horn to be Wild - Paperback | Kindle
13. Tempting the Titan - Paperback | Kindle
14. Without a StitchKindle
15. Hot As SinKindle

Related Series:
(find all the books in the series on the 1st book review)
Monster Between the Sheets
1. Watt and Bothered

Who says monsters can’t fall in love? In Screaming Woods, anything is possible. Welcome back to the little town turned monstrous by a party potion gone wrong.


Ghosting the Griffin

Date read: June 8, 2023
Violet Rae - Website | Amazon
Synopsis (Goodreads):
When the lines are blurred between the dead and the living
Can love find a way for a ghost and a griffin?


Galina
When I drank the “harmless” punch at the Screaming Woods annual Halloween party, I never expected to wind up dead. Other townspeople grew tails and claws. Not me. Nope. I’m trapped in a realm between life and death. Doomed to wander in search of a cure for the curse. Which is pretty damn complicated when no one can see or hear me. No one except Xander, the town’s grumpy reclusive carpenter.

Xander
Transforming into a griffin robbed me of a natural existence. Now I keep to myself in the woods, making my hand-carved furniture. My fragile peace shatters when the ethereal beauty who’s been haunting my dreams stumbles onto my property. Galina’s innocent blue eyes and pure soul make a mockery of my vow never to love again. Her heart may not be beating, but she breathes new life into mine, and I’ll heaven and hell to keep my soulmate by my side.
Thoughts on Ghosting the Griffin: Xander and Galina are up and...they kind of have a lot to deal with. Mostly because Galina is dead-ish. Sort of dead. Mostly dead all day. Huh. That last part is pretty accurate, actually.

Anywho. Xander and Galina. On top of being an awesome mythical monster, Xander has the gift of sight and can see dead people (I'm having a full-on "I see dead people" moment. Give me a second. ... ... Okay. I'm good.). When he pops into Gregor's (his ogre friend who has himself a honey-bunny and a bun in the oven) guest house to start repairs, he finds Galina. Who's kind of dead. Maybe. But also maybe not. Things are tricky like that in Screaming Woods. Regardless of her dead or not-quite-dead state, Xander's smitten.

On Galina's end, she's stuck in a terrible loop of appearing every night in the house and reliving her death. Over and over and over and over again. Every night. It's not fun. She can't leave the house and she has few memories of who she is or how she got there. She just gets to die. A lot.

Well, Xander follows his instincts and breaks her out of her death loop (which is good), they go find Dr Karloff to try to figure out how to fix her issues, end up in an enchanted town nearby (just go with it), and get physical. A lot. Plus, they get to fly, Galina drinks a magic potion, and they get physical. Often. Did I mention they get physical? They do. And they deserve every second of that physicality.

They also have to figure out how to break the death issue for good. Because Xander's not about to give up his lady when he's just found her.

A little flying, a little magic, a little danger, and two people who find one another at exactly the right time. Good times!


Horn to Be Wild

Date read: May 26, 2023
Alana Khan - Website | Amazon
Synopsis (Goodreads):
Not all beasts are beastly.

Though Jude never complains about her daily struggles in Screaming Woods, she’s happy to let her troubles melt away when she travels in her dreams to an Enchanted Kingdom to meet a magical monarch who adores her.

The clues add up every morning, making her question if the passionate hours she shares with the affectionate horned king are more than wishes and hopes.

Journey with Jude and her son to the world dreams are made of to meet blue King Sargon and discover the magical kingdom most people believe is only found in fantasy.
Thoughts on Horn to be Wild: We're in Screaming Woods this time, but we're also NOT in Screaming Woods. It turns out there's a portal (of sorts) to a fantasy world that Jude (and her son) manage to tap into and they spend PLENTY of time exploring the Enchanted Kingdom with the handsome king.

What does that mean? Well, we still have monsters and the world has magic and Jude REALLY like Sargon. So it means it's the same old, same old when it comes to relationships in Screaming Woods. By that, I mean humans and monsters are very compatible.

As for Jude, her nighttime dreams are an escape of sorts from reality. Spending time with her son and a male who treats her like a queen are wonderful and she starts to suspect that these shared dreams might be more than just dreams. Which works for her because HOO-BOY does Sargon do it for her.

As for the big guy, he's pretty smitten with Jude and her son. And the more time he spends with them, the more he wants them in his life permanently.

A little magic, an enchanted world, and three people who make a perfect family. Good stuff!


Tempting the Titan

Date read: May 30, 2023
Fern Fraser - Website | Amazon
Synopsis (Goodreads):
Atlas
The feisty little female I hired to work as a receptionist in my detective agency is proving to be a delectable handful. Celeste is a temptress. She stirs long-forgotten desires with her delicious curves and sassy comebacks. But as tempting as she is, I need to remain professional. Losing myself in her sweetness could unleash the monster slumbering within me, and when he comes out to play, he won’t settle for anything less than possessing Celeste body and soul.

Celeste
My heart belongs to a 7-foot, growly monosyllabic detective. Atlas lives by strict rules and keeps his distance, but he can’t conceal the fire in his eyes whenever his gaze meets mine. I'm crazy about him, but his fear of revealing his true self makes him a tough case to crack. If my cautious Titan is the prize, I’ll work overtime to make him mine.
Thoughts on Tempting the Titan: This time around we have a lady who's new to Screaming Woods and a man who gets a little beastly if he lets go. Which means Atlas is VERY careful around Celeste because he really really doesn't want to hurt her.

That said, Celeste pushes the big guys boundaries every chance she gets. Sure, she feels a little guilty about it once she realizes his fear is more about hurting her than anything, but she likes him too much to let him keep putting himself in the background when it's obvious to her they'd make an excellent match. On the other hand, while Celeste sasses Atlas easily and enjoys seeing him step outside his comfort zone, she's hesitant to ask for help for herself. Which causes a little tension between the two.

A friendly game of golf, an encounter in the woods, a titan who needs to protect his lady, and a lady who might have found the perfect town to settle in.


Without a Stitch

Date read: May 26, 2023
Honey Phillips - Website | Amazon
Synopsis (Goodreads):
Can a bookish scientist find the man inside the monster?

Uncomfortable with people, Victoria spends her days - and her nights - working in her lab. When her funding is terminated, her only option is a dilapidated building in the tiny town of Screaming Woods.

To her surprise, the town's inhabitants prove almost as fascinating as her research - especially the massive creature living in the burned out windmill behind her lab. Everything about the big silent male captivates her and for once, it’s not a purely scientific interest.

After the incident that turned Frank into a monster, he discovered in the most painful way how dangerous he could be. Now he remains isolated from everyone and concentrates on his woodworking.

He is determined to not let anyone close to him - especially not the buttoned up little scientist renting his barn. She has far too many questions on those kissable lips.

As things heat up between them, can he believe he’s more than just another experiment? Or will his past tear them apart?
Thoughts on Without a Stitch: A Frankenstein-esque monster (who's aptly named Frank) and a  scientist who didn't know monsters existed before she moved to Screaming Woods. YES!

To be fair, it's not all sunshine and roses for these two. Frank is wary of getting close to anyone and he's not real keen on scientists in general after the incident that changed most of the town into monsters. That said, even his dislike of scientists doesn't stop him from pining for Victoria. Okay, maybe pining is a little dramatic. He certainly can't stop thinking about her, though. And he likes the way she looks at him. There's just the little case of his wariness and his dislike to get over.

On Victoria's end, she isn't too taken aback by the oddities she finds in Screaming Woods. Frank is big and quiet and she's intrigued by him at first glance. Spending a little time together makes that intrigue blossom into something more. Convincing the big guy she's willing to try a relationship with him is probably their biggest hurdle.

MAN, I like spending time in Screaming Woods!


Hot as Sin

Date read: June 8, 2023
Elle Christensen - Website | Amazon
Synopsis (Goodreads):
Randomly bursting into flames and regenerating on a regular basis made Ash Howell feel like an outsider in a town full of monsters.

Afraid of the damage he could do, the phoenix turned into a recluse…until Izzy Riley showed up in town.

The beautiful half-fae/half-demon imp knew what it felt like not to belong anywhere. That was why she left Hell, even though she was the King’s sister.

Izzy found her place in Screaming Woods—and with Ash. Now she just needed to survive the attempts on her life to get her happily ever after.
Thoughts on Hot as Sin: Oh man. Ash has it pretty rough because going out in a fiery blaze of glory only to be reborn sounds good on the surface, but it's not so great for the people around you. Or the furniture. Or the buildings. Meaning, Ash basically keeps to himself to avoid hurting anybody or anything. Which is understandable.

Then the hot phoenix gets talked into going to a local bar and his world gets rocked when he lays eyes on Izzy. Sure, he's still afraid of spontaneously combusting, but BOY does Izzy do it for him.

On Izzy's end, she's an imp who's never quite felt like she belonged. Settling in Screaming Woods has helped her find her place to a point, but it isn't until she meets Ash that things really start falling into place. Sure, she has someone gunning for her for reasons she's not quite certain of, but STILL.

A little demonic activity, a fae or two, a phoenix who refuses to potentially hurt the woman he's falling for with his phoenix fire, and a lady who goes all in (and without panties) when needed. GOOD TIMES!

Saturday, February 24, 2024

His Human Widow by Michele Mills [Review]

His Human Widow (Monsters Love Curvy Girls #10) by Michele Mills
Format: ebook
Source: borrowed through Kindle Unlimited
Disclaimer: As an Amazon Associate, I earn from qualifying purchases.
Date read: July 1, 2023

Monsters Love Curvy Girls
1. His Human Nanny
2. His Human Surrogate
3. His Human Assistant
4. His Human Organizer
5. His Human Ward
6. His Human Stalker
7. His Human Socialite
8. Fire Lord Holiday
9. His Human Neighbor
10. His Human Widow - Kindle
11. His Human Runaway

Related Series:
(Find all the books for this series under the first review)
Monster Bites
1. Her Alien Priest

Michele Mills
| Website | Amazon |

Synopsis (Goodreads):
I married a dead war hero.

His name was Fire Lieutenant Byric Sandstone—an extremely wealthy Hyrrokin landowner, with a complicated estate.

Obviously, I’m not really his widow. It’s a technicality, on paper so I could bypass immigration and perform my duties. Everyone but the lawyer who forged the signature thinks I’m really Byric’s chosen bound, but my real job is to care for his elderly grandmother and his three-headed wulver. I love my cushy life on Tarvos.

One night, the front door to the mansion bursts open. A disheveled, wild-eyed and monstrous Lieutenant Sandstone returns home, having escaped from his prison cell behind enemy lines.

Wait, my husband isn’t dead?

“Who the hell are you?” he rasps.

“Your bound,” I whimper from underneath the sheets.

Oh no. How is this going to work out?
Thoughts on His Human Widow: We're back on Tarvos with a human lady who finds herself in a bit of a pickle when the Hyrrokin male she's "married" to suddenly comes back from the dead. Not literally. The guy was held in a prison camp for the past two years and he's not AT ALL displeased to find Gabby occupying his house and bed. In fact, he likes it quite a bit.

Byric is a little bit of a mess when he first stumbles across Gabby (he just planned and executed a daring escape from a prison, after all), but his arrival coincides with the start of the rainy season. So he and Gabby have a month to hole up and figure things out. Honestly, it doesn't take him more than one encounter for him to know she's the one for him.

BUT...there are complications. Namely, he didn't actually bind himself to Gabby (the reason she's pretending to be his widow makes sense in the context of things, but what she did was still technically illegal) and Byric's cousin is sniffing around and won't take kindly to Gabby suddenly being off the market.

Let's just say there's a little going on under the surface and Byric's sudden reappearance mucks things up a bit. Not that it stops the big guy from wooing his lady and getting ready to reenter society.

A little danger, a lot of rain, a household of folks happy to see Byric again, a lady who's found her place, and a male who's more than thrilled to be home again. *thumbs up*

Friday, February 23, 2024

Touchstone by Karen Stivali [Review]

Touchstone (Speakeasy) by Karen Stivali
Format: ebook
Source: borrowed through Kindle Unlimited
Disclaimer: As an Amazon Associate, I earn from qualifying purchases.
Date read: February 12, 2023

Speakeasy
Touchstone - Paperback | Kindle
Heartwood
Homecoming
Sideways
Wildflower
Firefly
Starlight
Stargazer
Safeguard

Related Series:
(find all the books in the series on the 1st book review)
The Busy Bean
1. Sweetheart

In Vino Veritas
1. Wildfire

Moo U
1. Boyfriend

True North
1. Bittersweet

Vino and Veritas
1. Roommate

Karen Stivali
| Website | Amazon |

Synopsis (Goodreads):
Sam doesn't think love is in the cards. The cards disagree.

When Phoebe Stevens' life implodes in a spectacularly public fashion, she's desperate to escape Manhattan. So the offer of a job setting up a new Vermont gastropub couldn’t come at a better time. Driving a U-Haul on winding mountain roads is Phoebe's personal version of hell. But when the caretaker of her guesthouse answers the door tousled, shirtless, and baking cinnamon rolls, her first impression of Vermont dramatically improves.

Sam Trembley believes everyone gets one true love, but he’s already blown his chance. He's spent five years avoiding relationships. Now he’s back in Colebury where sunrise tarot draws and moonlit hikes soothe his soul. But why do the tarot cards keep showing him this nonsense about soulmates? Could it have anything to do with the jaded city girl on his doorstep?

Playing tour guide is fun, but taste-testing her culinary creations as she shimmies her luscious hips around his kitchen is downright irresistible. Soon their chemistry burns hotter than the pub's wood-fired oven.

Has fate brought them together for a summer of love...or a lifetime of happiness?
Thoughts on Touchstone: Okay. We've moved from the Bean to Colebury's forthcoming gastropub and I AM HERE FOR IT.

So. Phoebe and Sam. She's a chef who's just had her personal life take a nosedive. He runs the town's one and only crystal shop and he's pretty chill. No lie, these two are smokin' hot together. Sure, she's fresh off a bad breakup and he's convinced himself he's not angling for love, but they work, man. They work.

As an aside, Phoebe's ex is awful. Not only does he drop her in a very public place, but he rips her dream out from under her. Of the two, the breakup bothers her less. So being able to step into Speakeasy and design menus and create new things for people to eat is exactly the break Phoebe needs at exactly the right time.

Small town shenanigans, delicious food, a sexy greenhouse, and two people who find their way toward one another just when they need it most. *thumbs up*

Thursday, February 22, 2024

Cupcakes For My Orc Enemy by Honey Phillips [Review]

Cupcakes for My Orc Enemy (Sweet Monster Treats) by Honey Phillips
Format: ebook
Source: borrowed through Kindle Unlimited
Disclaimer: As an Amazon Associate, I earn from qualifying purchases.
Date read: February 10, 2023

Sweet Monster Treats
Cookies For My Orc Neighbor
Candy For My Orc Boss
Cupcakes For My Orc Enemy - Paperback | Kindle
The Single Mom and the Orc
Single Orc Dad
Twins for the Wild Orc

Honey Phillips
| Website | Amazon |

Synopsis (Goodreads):
Her grumpy orc neighbor has the best buns in town - and his baked goods aren’t bad either!

When Elara flees corporate life to open a coffee shop in the small southern town of Fairhaven Falls, the last thing she is looking for is a relationship. But when she meets Grondar, the gruff orc owner of the bakery next door, sparks fly. Literally.

Grondar has been burned by human females before. He has no intention of letting the feisty little female next door get under his skin - no matter how attractive he finds her. And it certainly doesn’t mean he’s going to let her get away with sabotaging his business.

Despite their disastrous first meeting, Elara still finds herself having inappropriately heated thoughts about the massive orc next door. It doesn't help that every time he stomps over to lecture her she ends up in his arms!

Can they overcome their initial animosity and their very obvious differences to find their happily ever after?
Thoughts on Cupcakes For My Orc Enemy: Heh. A grump of an orc (one who isn't very creative when it comes to naming his baking creations, too!) and a human woman who just wants to settle down with her coffee shop and new life in her new town. To say Grondar isn't thrilled to have a pretty, sweet human moving into the shop next to his would be a minor understatement. Elara might admire him both coming and going (he does look good from the rear!), but she sees the writing on the wall.

Oh, ha! Who am I kidding? These two keep locking lips unexpectedly and it WORKS for them. Sure, Grondar grumps and scowls and has some serious human-lady baggage he needs to work on, but these two generate steam and smolder whenever they're near. It just takes a little time for them to get where they need to be.

A monster-friendly town, a saucy grandma, a grumpy orc baker, a human woman who makes excellent coffee, and some serious sparks. Sometimes literally. *thumbs up*

Wednesday, February 21, 2024

Candy For My Orc Boss by Ava Ross [Review]

Candy For My Orc Boss (Sweet Monster Treats) by Ava Ross
Format: ebook
Source: borrowed through Kindle Unlimited
Disclaimer: As an Amazon Associate, I earn from qualifying purchases.
Date read: February 9, 2023

Sweet Monster Treats
Cookies For My Orc Neighbor
Candy For My Orc Boss - PaperbackKindle
Cupcakes For My Orc Enemy
The Single Mom and the Orc
Single Orc Dad
Twins for the Wild Orc

Ava Ross
| Website | Amazon |

Synopsis (Goodreads):
A new life, a new job, a new orc husband . . . Wait, isn’t he supposed to be my boss?

After my ex announces his wedding to someone other than me, I’m eager to leave town. A new life and a new job are just what I need to restore my mojo. On the way to my destination, I overnight at a hotel where edible unmentionables and a tattooed orc construction worker rock my world. I sneak out the next morning, figuring I’ll never see him again.

Until I walk into my new job. That hot orc construction worker?

He’s my boss.

He’s eager to continue where we left off.

And those symbols on his wrists? According to orc tradition, they mean we’re married.
Thoughts on Candy For My Orc Boss: Hoo-boy. A work place romance that starts out with a bang. In the euphemistic sense. Which leads to a leeeeeetle bit of awkwardness when Chastity walks into her boss's office on the first day on the job. Because who expects the one night stand they snuck away from in the morning to be their new boss, amirite? (Well, except in romance books, but what can you do?!?!)

So. Max and Chastity. They have a little of that morning after awkwardness (which doesn't take place the morning after thanks to the aforementioned sneaking away) mixed with mating marks and some seriously smoldering looks. All I can say is that orc who can smolder really know how to rock a lady's world.

Oh, there's also a little tension that needs to be dealt with courtesy of Max's dad's unhappiness with Max finding his other half in someone of the non-orcish variety. Some quick thinking and a slightly heroic feat fixes his attitude eventually, but it takes a while to get there.

Sex-ay shenanigans, a gentlemanly orc, a human lady trying to make the best of an awkward situation, and a new job. Good stuff!

Tuesday, February 20, 2024

Monster Between the Sheets S2 [Books 6-10 Review]

Monster Between the Sheets Season 2 (books 6-10) by Various
Format: ebook
Source: borrowed through Kindle Unlimited
Disclaimer: As an Amazon Associate, I earn from qualifying purchases.

Monster Between the Sheets Season 2
1. Valkyrie's Choice
2. Demon's Own
3. Turnabout is Fairy Play
4. A Monster Worth Fighting For
5. My Eye Adored You
6. Slippery When YetiKindle
7. Snake Believe - Paperback | Kindle
8. Harry's BeastKindle
9. Stalking From the Shadows - Kindle
10. Melting the Frost TrollKindle
11. Ghosting the Griffin
12. Horn to be Wild
13. Tempting the Titan
14. Without a Stitch
15. Hot As Sin

Related Series:
(find all the books in the series on the 1st book review)
Monster Between the Sheets
1. Watt and Bothered

Who says monsters can’t fall in love? In Screaming Woods, anything is possible. Welcome back to the little town turned monstrous by a party potion gone wrong.


Slippery When Yeti

Date read: May 23, 2023
Tana Stone - Website | Amazon
Synopsis (Goodreads):
Elena has never fit in. She grew up in Miami, but she hates hot weather. Everyone in her family is spontaneous, but she’s always been a planner. Luckily, her organizational skills make her ideal for the wedding planning job in Screaming Woods. Sure, the name of the town is a bit quirky, but as a wedding planner who specializes in theme weddings, Elena isn’t shocked by much. Until she’s lost in a freak snowstorm and rescued by a . . .

When Fynn was turned into a yeti in the accident that transformed his town and his friends, he abandoned civilized life. Living at the top of a nearby mountain means he stays cold and creates his ice sculpture art away from prying eyes. He’s perfectly happy being on his own—most of the time. But then he saves a pretty woman wandering in the snowstorm.

Now they’re stuck together in his mountain cabin until the storm passes and they can return to their normal lives. That is, if Fynn will let go of the woman he knows is meant to be his.
Thoughts on Slippery When Yeti: A new (human) wedding planner is rolling into Screaming Woods (to help with the sudden influx of weddings that have been happening!) and she has NO IDEA what's in store for her. It's a yeti. A yeti is what's in store for her. Considering she didn't know monsters were a thing, this is a bit of surprise.

Not enough of one to throw her off her game, mind you. I mean, Elena isn't put off by Fynn's abundant body hair (or is it fur?) and she likes how he keeps his place cold. In fact, she likes pretty much everything about the big guy. The only downside is that they literally just met (LITERALLY) and she might be okay getting physical with him, but she also needs the job she moved halfway across the country for. So she has to leave him after their splendiferous night and get back to planning weddings.

Considering Fynn prefers the cold and solitude, he doesn't think he has a whole lot to offer anybody. Elena might be the one for him, but it takes his BFF giving him a swift (verbal) kick in the pants to make him realize he needs to step out of his comfort zone a little if he wants to woo the woman who was made for him.|

A snowstorm, a cozy cabin, a lot of longing looks, ice sculptures, and one STEAMY night. Screaming Woods is a fun place to spend time in!


Snake Believe

Date read: May 24, 2023
Karla Doyle - Website | Amazon
Synopsis (Goodreads):
This green monster is the whole package… and then some.

CORA
Sent to Screaming Woods to write a magazine piece on its resident monsters, I’m ready to meet hairy beasts, ogres, vampires… Heck, I even have an interview scheduled with an actual invisible man. What I’m not prepared for? A snake man. I’m terrified of snakes. Now I’ll have to talk to a man-sized one on a daily basis, because he owns the motel where I’m staying and there are no vacancies elsewhere in town.

Once the initial shock of coming face to face with a walking, talking snake passes, I start to see Leroy for the man beneath the monster exterior. And the more I get to know my snake man, the more I realize my biggest fear would be losing him.

LEROY
At nineteen, I unknowingly drank the poisoned party punch that turned many of Screaming Woods’ residents into monsters. My future as a human vanished when I became a snake man. Twenty-plus years later, I wouldn’t change back if I could. I have the best of both species in me. My new anatomy has definite advantages, and because of them, I’m frequently propositioned. But that’s not the kind of proposal I seek.

I’m the loneliest snake in town until the day Cora walks into the motel I own—and promptly faints at the sight of me. The lovely magazine reporter is only in town to interview monsters for an article, but I know from the first day that I won’t want to say goodbye to her. My charms have never failed me before, but I’m a one-hundred-and-eighty-pound embodiment of her biggest fear.

That won’t stop me from trying. Anything is possible in Screaming Woods.
Thoughts on Snake Believe: A human reporter who is kind of afraid of snakes is rolling into Screaming Woods to write an article on the monsters in the town. The owner of the local motel (the one where she's staying) happens to be a snake man. Which makes things a little awkward at their first meeting. You know, because fainting in fright at someone is a tough thing to get past.

Actually, it's not all that tough. Leroy is pretty chill about it. After having been a monster for 20 years, he's used to being what he is. The only negative in the situation (from his standpoint) is that he REALLY wants to spend time with Cora and she's afraid of his snake-ish aspects.

BUT...but but but...Cora is also willing to face her fears. Things don't always work out the way she thinks they should have, but she keeps trying (well, after she got over that one rough encounter that made her want to run for the hills, that is) and it isn't long before Leroy's snakiness doesn't bother her in the slightest.

No lie, there are some part of his snakiness she REALLY enjoys. Yep, Leroy has it going on and Cora is down for that.

Monsters, mayhem, a little fear that needs to be overcome, and couple who end up very happy once all is said and done. *thumbs up*


Harry's Beast

Date read: May 24, 2023
Kat Baxter - Website | Amazon
Synopsis (Goodreads):
You know what they say about satyrs…

Jace
Like many of the people in Screaming Woods, I’m cursed. My plight goes beyond my hooved feet, horns and my tail. My problem–my curse– is a different kind of hard. The perpetually stiff kind of hard, if you know what I mean. Only true love can give me “release.” I know it’s too much to hope the pretty, curvy human is my fated mate. One touch and I could lose all control, and I can’t risk hurting her.

Harriet
Ever since my best friend fell in love with a monster, I’ve wanted one of my own. I’ve gone out with a few, but no one gets my heart racing like the brooding, mysterious satyr. Jace refuses to give me a chance though. I know he wants me, I can see the heat simmering in his gaze. We just need some alone time. Yeah, kidnapping him might be an extreme, but a girls gotta do what a girls gotta do…
Thoughts on Harry's Beast: Okay. Vivian's friend Harriet is hanging out in Screaming Woods while her BFF gets settled in with her zombie honey and BOY does she enjoy some of the sights. Specifically, the time she caught the resident satyr in all his unfettered glory. Unfortunately, she hasn't seen the hunky guy since that one time, but she's resourceful and determined and ...well, actually, she doesn't realize that he's someone she kind of knows. Sort of.

So. Harry's hanging in Screaming Woods. Jace is hiding out (due to the fact that his curse causes him extreme sensitivity when he wears clothes and the townsfolk aren't too keen on seeing his junk waving around) and pretty resigned to this unending nightmare he's been living for the past 20 years. A confluence of events has Harry searching for Jace and THINGS HAPPEN, as you might imagine when a satyr and his special someone cross paths.

A not-so-fun curse, a lady who doesn't know who she looking for until she finds him, an angry catman, and a town that pulls together to protect Jace. *thumbs up*


Stalking From the Shadows

Date read: May 25, 2023
Ember Davis - Website | Amazon
Synopsis (Goodreads):
DELL
When the dust settled after the Halloween party that changed so many lives, I was left in the shadows. I watched the people I lived next to for years forget about me as they picked up the pieces of their lives. How could they find a new normal when I’m left no better than fog?

Darkness and bitterness have become my constant companions and I have no doubt that’s how it will always be. Even though I’m angry, what else can I do but continue to watch from the darkest corners of Screaming Woods while everyone goes on? I’m not expecting a light to suddenly appear.

Caroline isn’t all monster, but, as a child of our resident wolfman and his mate, she’s not all human either. As much as I want to give into the pull to her, I’ve spent far too long existing within the shadows. She deserves more, but that won’t stop me from watching her.

CAROLINE
Finding my place in Screaming Woods hasn’t been easy for me. I’m not a monster, but I’m not a human like my mom. I’m something in between. I don’t know where I belong in the only home I’ve ever known.

After I turn 18, it feels like there’s something pulling me into the darkest parts of the forest where only shadows live. I ignore it as best I can, but I can feel someone’s eyes on me, waiting for me, calling to me. Something is missing and I have no idea what it is.

When I go in search of what is stalking me, I find light in the darkness. My parents are mates, but I never thought I’d find mine. Finding out my mate is someone everyone else forgot about long ago, when he became one with the shadows, is something out of a dream…or a nightmare. How can we find our future together when he’s a shadow of who he was with burning resentment for everyone who left him behind?
Thoughts on Stalking From the Shadows: Okay. We have a bit of a time jump here (relatively speaking, since these books aren't required to be read in order) and Caroline is the daughter of one of the season 1 couples (wolfman Jace and human Dakota). She's freshly turned 18, so almost another 20 years have passed since the fateful night that changed so many into monsters.

Which means Dell has been hanging out as a shadow for nearly 40 years now. That's...a long time to be separate and alone. The guy is a little rusty when it comes to interacting with people. Plus, he doesn't see anything he possibly has to offer someone since he's confined himself to the shadows in the woods.

Caroline, however, has a different take on the situation. Considering she's found her fated mate (something she never expected to happen), she's more than thrilled with Dell. She doesn't care that he's shadows. She doesn't care that he haunts (more or less) the woods. She's always felt a connection to the woods, so that actually works for her pretty nicely.

A few issues these two need to tackle, a steamy night where they're not even in the same room, shadows shadows shadows, and a half wolf woman who is determined to show her special someone that he really is special. *thumbs up*


Melting the Frost Troll

Date read: May 25, 2023
Ella MavenAmazon
Synopsis (Goodreads):
“She wants to cross my bridge… but not if I claim her first.”

I used to have much more important things to protect, but now after sipping a strange drink at a party, I’m merely an ice troll guarding a frozen bridge. It’s not much, but it’s my duty.

When I catch three thieves attempting to cross my bridge without paying the tax, they sacrifice one of their own to get away. The frightened but brave woman has never seen anything like me before. She doesn’t know what kind of monsters wait for her beyond the bridge in Screaming Woods. When she insists on going to the town anyway, I have no choice but to hold her captive with me. It’s for her own safety after all… and not because she’s melting my cold heart.
Thoughts on Melting the Frost Troll: We're back tracking in time a little (I think) since Scarlett had been gone from Screaming Woods for only 10 years and her mother had fled some time after. So this is fairly close to the time the townsfolk were changed. I think?

Anyway. We have Scarlett and Victor. She's human, he's a frost troll. She's determined to enter Screaming Woods, he's determined to keep her out. Well, his job is actually to keep EVERYONE out, not just her. Regardless, he's guarding the bridge into town. She wants to cross it. Even after she's caught and told to turn back, she refuses to give up.

Instead, these two end up sharing space since Victor isn't about to let her go traipsing around the woods and Scarlett isn't turning tail and running at his roars. Once dangerous escape through the woods and a rescue later and Scarlett realizes Victor really was trying to protect her. And then...THINGS HAPPEN.

Oh yeah. I like when things happen. *thumbs up*