Thursday, February 21, 2019

Shark Bite by Naomi Lucas [Review]

 Shark Bite by Naomi Lucas
Shark Bite (Cyborg Shifters #3) by Naomi Lucas
Format: ebook
Source: purchased
Date read: May 6, 2018

Cyborg Shifters
1. Wild Blood
2. Storm Surge
3. Shark BitePaperback | Kindle
4. Mutt
5. Ashes and Metal

Naomi Lucas
Website | Facebook | Amazon |

Synopsis (Goodreads):
Netto was a Cyborg, a protector, and a contracted mercenary. His specialty was with the shallows, the salt water, and the open oceans across the universe. He was also a freak forged from the DNA of a bull shark–blue-grey skin, a body built with power, and a double-set of razor sharp teeth. His nomadic lifestyle changes when his old employer, the Earthian Planetary Exploration Division, offers him his old job back.

Rylie was born and raised on the planet Kepler, on an agri-lot that farmed jewels from the sea. But something was happening to her family’s lots and people were going missing.

When a giant Cyborg shows up in her settlement and commissions her family’s watership, she is forced to follow him out onto the water, into the dangers of the alien deep, far beyond the sight of land.

She feared the Cyborg.
She feared his teeth.
But she feared the monsters in the water more.
Thoughts on Shark Bite: Netto's story. Well, Netto and Rylie's. With a little of Zeph and Rylie's family thrown in. Because with what the cyborgs are up against this time, it'll take TWO of them to make things right.

And by that, I mean the wild oceans of Kepler just got a whole lot wilder and the shark and his compatriot are needed to bring order to them. Or just, you know, kill some really big things out there.

Anywho. Netto and Rylie. He's not big on talking. She's not big on people. They kinda work well together. Sure, sure, Netto needs to get over his fear of hurting Rylie and all that, but he's a cyborg and cyborgs are good at figuring out ways to achieve a desired outcome.

Plus, the shark in him has some pretty impressive tenacity once he's locked onto a target.

I'm still loving the non-standard shifter aspects and how crazy things get when these cyborgs let go of their legendary control. I have the next book queued up and ready to go!

Wednesday, February 20, 2019

Storm Surge by Naomi Lucas [Review]

 Storm Surge by Naomi Lucas
Storm Surge (Cyborg Shifters #2) by Naomi Lucas
Format: ebook
Source: purchased
Date read: May 6, 2018

Cyborg Shifters
1. Wild Blood
2. Storm Surge - PaperbackKindle
3. Shark Bite
4. Mutt
5. Ashes and Metal

Naomi Lucas
Website | Facebook | Amazon |

Synopsis (Goodreads):
Everybody feared the man with the metal band over his mouth.

Stryker was part of an elite group of Cyborgs genetically enhanced with inhuman DNA. He was known as the Creeper, the quiet, the man with half a face. His fate was his own and his freedom hard-earned, having nothing to live for but the hunt and his perfect record. Until he received a distress call that changed his bleak existence.

“Please, oh god, please. Is anybody out there? This is Norah Lee, a scientist of Earth. I-I don’t know what to do. I think everybody...everyone is dead. Please if you hear this, please help us.

I can hear them outside. They’re coming…

I don’t want to die.”

Warning: mature readers only, explicit sex scenes, horror elements
Thoughts on Storm Surge: Okay, guys. I liked the first book in this series, but I sort of felt like I was missing something because of those, err, glowy guys (they might not have been glowy. I dunno. The Space Lords. I have it in my head that they glowed. I might be high on iced coffee, though, so maybe take that part with a grain of salt.) that showed up toward the end. HOWEVER, since this book had no Space Lords, that wasn't an issue.

What did it have? A cyborg with a mega-dose of reptilian DNA embedded in him. Also, a scientist who ended up mired in the crappiest of situations and who pretty much expected she'd die on a rain-swept planet surrounded by some REALLY TERRIBLE THINGS.

For the record, Norah doesn't die on that awful planet. It's a close call, but she has a surly, sometimes bite-y cyborg on her side and that makes all the difference.

I'm still digging the non-standard shifter aspects we're being introduced to with this series. Stryker's ability to change into a snake is cool. A little sad since he's so down on himself, but still cool. Plus, he has non-standard parts that Norah seemed to enjoy. As one does.

Netto's up next. I'm ready.

Tuesday, February 19, 2019

Heart of Stone by Regine Abel [Review]


 Heart of Stone by Regine Abel
Heart of Stone (Khargals of Duras) by Regine Abel
Format: ebook
Source: provided by the author for review
Date read: February 13, 2019

Khargals of Duras
Gravel and Grit
Hard as a Rock
Heart of Stone - Paperback | Kindle
Sticks and Stones
Etched in Stone
Taken for Granite
Rock My World

Regine Abel
| WebsiteTwitter | Facebook | Amazon |

Synopsis (Goodreads):
Her winged savior was no angel.

When death nearly claims Brianna at the tender age of eight, a being that shouldn’t exist saves her. Twenty years later, she becomes an architect specialized in historic buildings, still searching for evidence that the one who saved her—the one who haunts her increasingly wild dreams—truly exists. When a mystery man hires her for a major project in the catacombs of an old church turned exclusive, gothic nightclub, Brianna believes she may just have her chance at long last.

Alkor has grown weary of this era. Forced to hide in plain sight, forbidden from ever claiming the only woman to have stirred his mating instincts, he considers going back into hibernation rather than pining for her from afar. But the sudden activation of the beacon changes everything. Rescue is on the way! With his only means of reaching the rendezvous point trapped in the catacombs, Alkor hires Brianna to help recover his treasure. However, his lost sigil isn’t the only thing he intends to take back home with him.

Time is running out, and the evil forces conspiring to capture him and will stop at nothing to achieve their goal, even using Brianna. Did Alkor save his true mate only to lose her now that they might have a chance at a future together?
Thoughts on Heart of Stone: Okay. First off, I really REALLY enjoy both gargoyles and Regine Abel's writing so this book was already a winner coming out of the gate. Seriously. Sexy, (sometimes) stone men who get a little territorial when their special someone is in danger do it for me. Spice things up by making those sexy, stone men aliens from another planet who are yearning to get home and my brain goes into spasms of delight.

To say that Alkor and Brianna work for me would be an understatement. He's the brooding, mysterious club owner Brianna *thinks* might be able to shed some light on the being who saved her as a child. She's the determined young woman who's put herself exactly where she needs to be to try to find the answers she's craving.

Throw in a shady group doing their best to get their hands on whatever Khargals they can and you've got a recipe for some good, old fashioned bloodletting. You know, if your bloodletting is done by a giant alien who isn't about to let anything come between himself and his mate.

I'm already digging this shared world and the protective aliens who populate it. *thumbs up*

Find Regine Abel on...


Giveaway

1 Year of KU + Ravik Swag

Purchase Links




Monday, February 18, 2019

Motion by Penny Reid [Review]


 Motion by Penny Reid
Motion (Laws of Physics #1, Hypothesis #2.1) by Penny Reid
Format: ebook
Source: provided by the author for review
Date read: January 25, 2019

Hypothesis
(Elements of Chemistry)
1.1. Attraction
1.2. Heat
1.3. Capture
(Laws of Physics)
2.1. Motion - Paperback | Kindle
2.2. Space
2.3. Time

Penny Reid
Website | Twitter | Facebook | Amazon |

Synopsis (Goodreads):
Forced to lie to protect her sister . . .
From the New York Times Bestselling Author, Penny Reid

One week.
Home alone.
Girl genius.
Unrepentant slacker.
Big lie.
What’s the worst that could happen?

Mona is a smart girl and figured everything out a long time ago. She had to. She didn’t have a choice. When your parents are uber-celebrities and you graduate from high school at fifteen, finish college at eighteen, and start your PhD program at nineteen, you don’t have time for distractions outside of your foci. Even fun is scheduled. Which is why Abram, her brother’s best friend, is such an irritant.

Abram is a talented guy, a supremely gifted musician, and has absolutely nothing figured out, nor does he seem to care. He does what he feels, when he feels, and—in Mona’s opinion—he makes her feel entirely too much.

Laws of Physics is the second trilogy in the Hypothesis series; Laws of Physics parts 1 (MOTION) & 2 (SPACE) end with a cliffhanger.
Thoughts on Motion: I... almost don't know where to start with this review. I mean, Mona's in a messed up situation brought on by her kinda messed up family and what's going on here isn't going to end up well for either her or Abram once the truth comes out. Well, I mean, it'll EVENTUALLY end up okay, but not without a boatload of heartache and a lot of soul-searching. I assume.

But that's another story for another book (or books, as the case may be). Right now, we have a genius who's grown up in a not-at-all normal household/situation and who has a decidedly low sense of self worth despite her big brain and accomplishments. She's developed coping mechanisms to help her seem more normal and she's been told so often that she needs to suck it up because she has it so much better than others that she's internalized it. Mona's complicated and wary and (quite possibly) has more in common with her sister than she imagines.

Side note, I kinda hated Gabby when we first met her, but I *might* have a grudging nugget of like growing for her overbearing ways. Might. Mostly because I think there are a lot of things the sisters don't know about one another and Gabby chose a side (whether wisely or unwisely) and she remained loyal to Lisa through everything. I DON'T KNOW WHAT I'M TRYING TO SAY EXACTLY, BUT I HAVE THOUGHTS.

Right. So, Mona and Abram. The fact that Mona's pretending to be her sister and Abram doesn't know she's Mona complicates things SO MUCH. I can see the sparks building and it's going to be an EPIC conflagration when it ignites. So epic. Not in a good way. But hopefully it will pave the way for a clearing of the air between the sisters. You know, eventually.

As for Mona and Abram...like I said, that's another story for another book. But this one? A SOLID start to what I con only imagine will be a fantastic relationship. EVENTUALLY. MAN, I am so ready to see where things go between them.


Download your copy today!

Amazon Worldwide: http://mybook.to/Motion
Google Play: http://bit.ly/2DoH8pv
Amazon Paperback: https://amzn.to/2T4ebo9
Add to GoodReads: http://bit.ly/2U1pnSv

Sunday, February 17, 2019

RtP's Week in Review (02/17/19)

Reading the Paranormal's Week in Review
Bookish Delights
Globetrotting...
Check it out!

Saturday, February 16, 2019

Write On Review-a-thon [61]

It's time for another installment of the Write On Review-a-thon. YAY!

A little about the Review-a-thon:
Brought to you by Reading the Paranormal and the #boutofbooks-ers facebook group. This monthly review-a-thon is a chance to get caught up on outstanding reviews. Bring your to-be-reviewed list, block out some time, write reviews. It's that simple.
This month's review-a-thon will run from Friday, February 22nd to Sunday, February 24th.

To find out more about the review-a-thon and future dates, visit the Review-a-thon page.

As for me...
Reviews to be written:
  • Barbarian's Beloved by Ruby Dixon
  • The Wedding Night by Kati Wilde
  • Locked Up Love by Alexa Riley

Friday, February 15, 2019

I Dare You by Ilsa Madden-Mills [Review]

 I Dare You by Ilsa Madden-Mills
I Dare You (The Hook Up #1) by Isla Madden-Mills
Format: ebook
Source: borrowed through Kindle Unlimited
Date read: May 17, 2018

The Hook Up
1. I Dare You - Paperback | Kindle
2. I Bet You

Ilsa Madden-Mills
Website | Twitter | Facebook | Amazon |

Synopsis (Goodreads):
Wall Street Journal bestselling author Ilsa Madden-Mills kicks off a brand-new, sexy, heartfelt contemporary romance series with I DARE YOU!

Badass Athlete: I dare you to…
Delaney Shaw: Who is this?

The late night text is random, but "Badass Athlete" sure seems to know who she is…

Delaney Shaw.
Good girl.
Lover of fluffy kitties and Star Wars.
Curious.

His dare? Spend one night in his bed—a night he promises will be unforgettable—and she can solve the mystery of who he is.

She knows she shouldn't, but what else is she going to do with her boring Valentine's Day?

One sexy hook-up later, her mind is blown and the secret's out.

Maverick Monroe.
Bad boy.
The most talented football player in the country.
Just ask him.

Too bad for him Delaney's sworn off dating athletes forever after her last heartbreak.

But Maverick wants more than one night and refuses to give up on winning Delaney’s heart. She isn’t one to be fazed by a set of broad shoulders.

Will the bad boy land the nerd girl or will the secrets they keep from each other separate them forever?
Thoughts on I Dare You: Missed connections and bad timing keep Delaney and Maverick from starting their romance earlier, but given what Maverick was dealing with back then maybe it was for the best time passed before they hooked up. Not that it's just a hook up for either of them, really, but you know what I mean.

As an aside, I've always been sort of wigged out by the idea that a guy can't go after his teammate's/friend's ex. I mean, I guess I understand on the most basic level, but if something's meant to be (like Mav and Delaney) it seems kind of dickish to stand in the way of that.

With as sweet and attentive as Maverick is, he and Delaney really do seem meant to be. If only he hadn't blown it back in the day and had to wait two years for things to come back around. Yeah, yeah, there was that secret he was keeping from her, but sometimes people make boneheaded decisions and all.

Anyway. Maverick and Delaney. I liked them. I liked them together. I liked their text flirting. I liked Delaney's nerdery and geekiness. I liked how much Maverick cared about his sister and that he was willing to go to any lengths to make sure she was taken care of.

Basically, I liked the book. A lot.