Monday, April 12, 2021

A Fistful of Cyborg by Honey Phillips [Review]

A Fistful of Cyborg by Honey Phillips
A Fistful of Cyborg (Cyborgs on Mars #2) by Honey Phillips
Format: ebook
Source: borrowed through Kindle Unlimited
Disclaimer: As an Amazon Associate I earn from qualifying purchases.
Date read: March 18, 2020

Cyborgs on Mars
0.5. High Plains Cyborg
1. The Good, the Bad, and the Cyborg
2. A Fistful of CyborgPaperback | Kindle
3. A Few Cyborgs More
4. The Magnificent Cyborg

Honey Phillips
Amazon |

Synopsis (Goodreads):
A cynical cyborg. A woman with too many secrets. A shared past that could tear them apart - or bring them together.

S-756 despises all humans, but he hates the scientists who tortured him and turned him into a cyborg most of all. The long years terraforming Mars have only cemented that hatred.

When his duty forces him to rescue an endangered scientist, he is shocked to discover that she is the alluring woman who betrayed him. No matter how much his long forgotten heart rejoices, he knows he can never trust her.

Addie paid a terrible price to save the man she loved. When she encounters him again, she is both thrilled and terrified. Her feelings towards the massive cyborg haven’t changed, but how can she explain what she did, especially when she has another secret to keep?

When a dark plot forces them to collaborate, can they move on from their tragic past and find a new future together?
Thoughts on A Fistful of Cyborg: Cyborgs, man. I'm completely digging these cybernetic men and the women who break through their walls and make them feel human again. Sure, sure, Sam and Addie had (maybe) more roadblocks than some of the other couples, but a cyborg wants what a cyborg wants and no amount of perceived betrayal is going to shut his heart off. Even if it's of the mechanical variety.

But it takes a while for Sam to reach the point where he's able to listen (and trust) Addie again. It's only after her story unfolds and he comes to understand why she did what she did that things start moving forward on the relationship front.

As for Addie, she bartered herself to save Sam and she's kind of a hot mess after the years of abuse she's endured. By that, I mean she's twitchy and slow to trust him with her secrets (and physical self, come to think). It takes time for her story to come out and her to believe they can have a chance again.

Things are moving forward on the planetary terraforming front (and the settler front, come to think of it), although *probably* not in the way anyone suspected. What does that mean for our cybernetic heroes? No idea. Only time will tell, I guess.

Sunday, April 11, 2021

Saturday, April 10, 2021

A Bride Worth Fighting For by Tracy Lauren [Review]

A Bride Worth Fighting For by Tracy Lauren
Format: ebook
Source: purchased
Disclaimer: As an Amazon Associate I earn from qualifying purchases.
Date read: January 5, 2021

Purchase LinksKindle

Tracy Lauren
Facebook | Amazon |

Synopsis (Goodreads):
Abducted by aliens, Evie thinks the only thing she has to strive for in her hellish new life is survival. Dragged halfway across the galaxy to the newly colonized farming world of Ipoch, she’s intended to be awarded as a prize to the winner of a barbaric gladiator fight. She hopes the champion isn’t cruel, she hopes he doesn’t have the capacity to harm her, but never once, does she hope to fall in love.

Serif is done with fighting. He’s done with the threat it poses to his people. When he sees the beautiful Evie, however—there’s no turning back. He’ll agree to one last tournament to save the girl, and when he wins she’ll belong to him. Because this is more than just a battle, he soon realizes. This time, Serif is FIGHTING FOR HIS BRIDE.
Thoughts on A Bride Worth Fighting For: Brides, man. Some alien cultures (specifically Serif's culture) consider taking a Bride as a stepping stone to taking a permanent mate. It's more like dating for them, not marriage as humans know it. And these aliens tend to skip the step where they explain that to the human they'd claimed. Which leads to some misunderstandings sometimes of an epic nature.

For Evie, she's been abducted, imprisoned, and told she's going to go as a prize to whoever wins the upcoming tournament. Since passivity has kept her alive up to now, she rolls with it. Sure, she's terrified, but she's doing whatever she needs to do to stay alive and that means not fighting against what happens to her.

Fortunately for her, Serif is an upstanding dude. Sure, he doesn't explain the whole "Bride" thing to Evie, but most other alien cultures seem to understand it already so I do get that. (Still, a little explaining would go a long way, wouldn't it?) Once the bumps in the road regarding that get straightened out, it's just a matter of Serif winning his bout against a guy who's bigger and potentially meaner than him so he can claim Evie permanently.

A little danger, a little steam, and a little possessiveness from Serif when it comes to keeping his human honey safe. *thumbs up*

Friday, April 9, 2021

Ice Planet Honeymoon: Aehako and Kira by Ruby Dixon [Review]

Ice Planet Honeymoon: Aehako and Kira by Ruby Dixon
Ice Planet Honeymoon: Aehako and Kira (Ice Planet Barbarians #3.5) by Ruby Dixon
Format: ebook
Source: purchased
Disclaimer: As an Amazon Associate I earn from qualifying purchases.
Date read: March 6, 2020

Ice Planet Barbarians
(Find all the books in this amazing series on the 1st book review)
1. Ice Planet Barbarians

Ice Planet Honeymoon
1.5. Vektal and Georgie
2.5. Raahosh and Liz
3.5. Aehako and KiraKindle
4.4. Rukh and Harlow

Ruby Dixon
Website | Amazon |

Synopsis (Goodreads):
Kira and Aehako are happily mated and waiting for their baby’s arrival. Everything is great…or is it? Because carefree Aehako has turned into the most hovering of spouses, and he’s making everyone at the cave crazy.

Kira thinks it’s time for a vacation…of sorts.
Thoughts on Ice Planet Honeymoon: Aehako and Kira: I love love love all things IPB, so I am ALWAYS 100% on board with snippets of these crazy characters. Getting to go back and see our favorite couples dealing with the things couples deal with (albeit on a frozen world with no modern amenities) thrills me EVERY SINGLE TIME!

This time around, we have Aehako and Kira. She's happily pregnant and pretty chill about everything. He's...not. In fact, he's kind of a mess (and a lot bossy when it comes to making sure his mate is happy and unbothered by things going on around her). Manufacturing a little alone time and getting Aehako away from the responsibilities of the cave helps IMMENSELY. Plus, Kira gets to visit her friends and reconnect with Aehako's family.

And they get to have that whole honeymoon thing as they make their way to their destination. WIN/WIN.

A million books into this series and I'm still heartily in love with those big, blue barbarians. *thumbs up*

Thursday, April 8, 2021

Second Chance Magic by Michelle M. Pillow [Review]

Second Chance Magic by Michelle M. Pillow
Second Chance Magic (Order of Magic #1) by Michelle M. Pillow
Format: ebook
Source: borrowed through Kindle Unlimited
Disclaimer: As an Amazon Associate I earn from qualifying purchases.
Date read: March 4, 2020

Order of Magic
1. Second Chance Magic - Paperback | Kindle
2. Third Time's a Charm
3. The Fourth Power

Michelle M. Pillow
Website | Twitter | Facebook | Amazon |

Synopsis (Goodreads):
Secrets broke her heart... and have now come back from the grave to haunt her.

So far, Lorna Addams’s forties are not what she expected. After a very public embarrassment, she finds it difficult to trust her judgment when it comes to new friendships and dating. She might be willing to give love a second chance when she meets the attractive William Warrick, if only she could come to terms with what her husband did to her and leave it in the past.

How is a humiliated empty nest widow supposed to move on with her life? It’s not like she can develop a sixth sense, séance her ex back, force him to tell her why and give her closure. Or can she?
Thoughts on Second Chance Magic: Lorna's situation is...rough. Like, she was lied to in the worst, most public way imaginable and she's sort of blamed (the idea that she "didn't know" or "hadn't suspected" her husband's lies is sort of thrown at her and WOW that sucks) for not seeing those lies, yet she loved this man and because of his betrayal and lies can't grieve the way one would if their spouse had died.

Rough. Super rough.

Good thing she's moved into a town and is finding a group of friends who can help her move on. You know, by tapping into heretofore unknown abilities and communicating with the dead. She gets the added bonus of being attracted to the brother of one of her new friends and isn't that a nice!

A little magic, a little ghostly communication, a little danger. And a lady who finds her tribe and figures out that she's more than just the betrayed woman trying to forget the past. *thumbs up*

Wednesday, April 7, 2021

Let It All Burn by Denise Grover Swank [Review]

Let It All Burn by Denise Grover Swank
Let It All Burn (From the Ashes #1) by Denise Grover Swank
Format: ebook
Source: borrowed through Kindle Unlimited
Disclaimer: As an Amazon Associate I earn from qualifying purchases.
Date read: March 2, 2020

From the Ashes
1. Let It All Burn - Paperback | Kindle

Denise Grover Swank
| Website | Twitter | Facebook | Amazon |

Synopsis (Goodreads):
Darcie Weatherby has a full plate—a preteen and sixteen-year-old twins, a wayward grandmother, a nightmare boss, and a manipulative ex-husband. The last thing she needs is hot flashes.

Especially ones that start fires.

But like most single mothers, Darcie sucks it up and deals with it, because what else can she do? The kids need to be fed, her grandmother needs supervising, and her demanding boss needs placating.

Burning her boss’s house down was a total accident.

Honest.

It doesn’t take long before Darcie realizes she’s running on borrowed time. Unless she figures out a way to get these hot flashes under control, there’s a very good chance she’ll spontaneously combust at the Founder’s Day Masquerade Ball and leave her children motherless. There’s no way in hell—or Perry’s Fall, Ohio—Darcie will let that happen.

Never underestimate the determination of a mother.

Especially a smokin’ hot one.
Thoughts on Let It All Burn: Being able to start fires...no, wait. Darcie isn't actually able to control her newfound ability when it first manifests. So maybe I should say accidentally starting fires is not the greatest when you're a single mom who might follow in her great-grandmother's footsteps and spontaneously combust if she can't figure things out. Fast.

The fact a sexy fed knows something is up with her, her ex is kind of a douchecanoe of the highest order, and the people who might be able to tell her something are being confoundingly tight lipped just makes things more interesting. Because the fed is hot, her ex will (likely) get what's coming to him some day, and secrets like to be told.

But first, Darcie has to figure out how to control her fire and why she's experiencing it now. And once she figures all that out, she'll need to figure out what her next step is. Because Darcie's not about to roll over and do the easy thing. She's going to keep her kids safe while fulfilling the destiny that's been handed to her and she's just going to do it her own dang way.

Tuesday, April 6, 2021

Moment of Truth by Hailey Edwards [Review]

Moment of Truth (The Potentate of Atlanta #5) by Hailey Edwards
Format: ebook
Source: borrowed through Kindle Unlimited
Disclaimer: As an Amazon Associate, I earn from qualifying purchases.
Date read: January 20, 2021

The Potentate of Atlanta
1. Shadow of Doubt
2. Pack of Lies
3. Change of Heart
4. Proof of Life
5. Moment of Truth - PaperbackKindle

Hailey Edwards
Website | Twitter | Facebook | Amazon |

Synopsis (Goodreads):
Witches are marching down the streets, shifters are prowling the night, and portals to Faerie are popping up all over downtown.

Hadley has one chance to save Atlanta, but it means trusting her dark side to get it done.

The city will survive. She'll see to that. But will her soul?
Thoughts on Moment of Truth: Ahh. I remember the days of old, back before I picked up book 1 and how I wondered if I'd ever like Hadley as a character as much as I liked Grier. I mean, Hadley/Amelie had done some pretty heinous things and her betrayal cut deep against a character I adored. So Hadley came into the ring with a few points against her.

But she did it. She found her footing and her strength. She fought even when it would have been easiest to walk away. She became the woman she wanted to be (even though she doesn't often see that about herself). She also found Midas and saw him facing some of the same struggles she faces on a daily basis. (And, BOY, do I adore those two together. My *heart eyes* are strong when I look at them.)

Speaking of throwing herself into battle (were we speaking of that? Well, consider it said. Hadley throws herself into battle even when the odds are overwhelmingly against her.), Hadley and her crew are on the offensive against a veritable horde of evil. Witches that can change their skin and fae that want retribution. Things are sticky and Hadley's right in the thick of it.

A whole lot of danger, a little walking between worlds, friends, family, and those who will stand beside Hadley no matter what. Hadley and Midas both have pasts they needed to face and seeing them come to terms with all of it was GLORIOUS. Plus, those two just can't stop accidentally taking control of packs, can they? GOOD TIMES!