Monday, September 20, 2021

Warping Minds & Other Misdemeanors by Annette Marie and Rob Jacobsen [Review]

Warping Minds & Other Misdemeanors by Annette Marie and Rob Jacobsen
Warping Minds & Other Misdemeanors (The Guild Codex: Warped #1) by Annette Marie and Rob Jacobsen
Format: ebook
Source: borrowed through Kindle Unlimited
Disclaimer: As an Amazon Associate, I earn from qualifying purchases.
Date read: August 9, 2020

The Guild Codex: Warped
1. Warping Minds & Other Misdemeanors - Paperback | Kindle
2. Hellbound Guilds & Other Misdirections
3. Rogue Ghosts & Other Miscreants

Annette Marie
Website | Facebook | Amazon |

Rob Jacobsen
| Website | Twitter | Facebook | Amazon |

Synopsis (Goodreads):
My name is Kit Morris, and welcome to my warped life.

Picture the scene: Me, an average guy with psychic powers—not that my abilities are in any way average—just trying to scrape by in a harsh world. So maybe I've conned a few people, but did I really deserve to be thrown in MPD jail alongside magic-wielding serial killers?

According to Agent Lienna Shen, one-hundred-percent yes.

But her hardass attitude and “Arcana prodigy” status aren’t enough to bring down my former best friend, who slipped through the MPD’s fingers and is days away from unleashing untold horrors upon the city. Or he’s going to steal something. I don’t really know.

Whatever he’s up to, that’s why I’m sitting in an interrogation room with Lienna. And that’s why I just offered myself as her temporary new partner for the purposes of thwarting my ex-accomplice.

And that’s how I’m going to escape. I might even help with the case before I cut and run.
Thoughts on Warping Minds & Other Misdemeanors: I'm pretty much in love with the Guild Codex world and Kit Morris...well, I like the dude. He might skate on the wrong side of the law at times, but he has his reasons for being loyal to the people who took him in and he's not inherently a bad guy. He just has a, uhh, moderately loose moral code. Which, I can only assume, Lienna will either embrace with gusto (eventually) or innocently skew toward her own code. (If I'm being honest, I kinda feel like they're going to meet somewhere in between. Like I said, Kit isn't a bad person underneath and Lienna could use a little recklessness in her life.)

(Hold up. That makes it sound like Lienna is rigid and uncompromising or something. She's not. She's just very focused on being good at what she does. And she is good. Very good. FOR REASONS THAT HAVE NOT YET BEEN REVEALED. TBH, she might just be one of those driven people who do it for the thrill of it, not because she has a deep, complicated history she's trying to atone for. Hopefully that's something we'll find out at a later date.)

So. Kit. He's cocky and a little brash and he's sort of new to this fabulous mythic life. Meaning, he does NOT know everything he needs to know about what he can do and what those around him can do. Frankly, the guild he was in used him for his abilities while keeping him in the dark about a lot of things, which is not cool. Not cool at all.

Lienna is much better educated in the ways of mythics. As she should be, all things considered. She's smart and sassy and incredibly talented and she mostly follows the rules. Mostly. She and Kit make a good team, methinks.

Friends, betrayal, danger, a ability we haven't seen before, and a handful of complications that has thrown Kit into a weird place. I'm liking this world more and more the deeper I get into it.

Sunday, September 19, 2021

RtP's Week in Review (09/19/21)

Reading the Paranormal's Week in Review
Bookish Delights
  • Books added to the pile 
  • Currently reading 
    • The Vampire's Accidental Wife by Kristen Painter
Globetrotting...
  • KellyApple.com
    • This week's Feature Friday took us back to Will and his witchy honey with Wisp. Yep, a Will o'the Wisp named Will. Good one, Kelly!

Saturday, September 18, 2021

Write On Review-a-thon [92]

It's time for another installment of the Write On Review-a-thon. YAY!

A little about the Review-a-thon:
Brought to you by Reading the Paranormal and the #boutofbooks-ers facebook group. This monthly review-a-thon is a chance to get caught up on outstanding reviews. Bring your to-be-reviewed list, block out some time, write reviews. It's that simple.
This month's review-a-thon will run from Friday, September 24th to Sunday, September 26th.

To find out more about the review-a-thon and future dates, visit the Review-a-thon page.

As for me...
Reviews to be written:
  • {coming soon}

Friday, September 17, 2021

King of Eon by Anna Hackett [Review]

King of Eon (Eon Warriors #9) by Anna Hackett
Format: ebook
Source: borrowed through Kindle Unlimited
Disclaimer: As an Amazon Associate, I earn from qualifying purchases.
Date read: September 7, 2021

Eon Warriors
1. Edge of Eon
2. Touch of Eon
3. Heart of Eon
4. Kiss of Eon
5. Mark of Eon
6. Claim of Eon
7. Storm of Eon
8. Soul of Eon
9. King of Eon - Paperback | Kindle

Anna Hackett
Website | Twitter | Facebook | Amazon |

Synopsis (Goodreads):
The King of the Eon Warriors has decided to take a Terran as his bride…but finds himself shockingly attracted to the tough, beautiful Space Corps officer in charge of his potential brides’ security.

King Gayel Solann-Eon is dedicated to his people and empire. His father was a hard man and a rigid king, but Gayel is doing things his own way. That includes working with his allies to defeat the ravenous insectoid Kantos. To strengthen the alliance with Earth, he’ll put his own wants and needs aside and take a Terran bride. But as the group of bridal candidates arrive on the Eon homeworld, he’s shocked by a stunning attraction to the Space Corps officer in charge of their security.

Captain Alea Rodriguez has worked hard to escape her awful childhood and make something of herself. Space Corps is her family and her work is her life. Escorting a group of women to an alien planet so a king can pick a bride has left her feeling like she’s on a reality television show. But she takes her job seriously and will keep them safe. What she never expected was her own powerful reaction to the alien warrior king.

Stealth attacks by the Kantos make it clear that no one is safe. Alea is sure that the aliens want to assassinate Gayel, and she’ll do anything to protect him, even as she fights to safeguard her heart. But Gayel is a king and a warrior, and as the two of them fight side by side, he will also convince Alea to risk everything: for their people, for their hearts, and for a bond that won’t be denied.

The thrilling conclusion to the Eon Warriors series.
Thoughts on King of Eon: Endings, man. So bittersweet. Glorious and stabby and, yet, bittersweet. Anywho. This time, we have a king looking for a bride, a career Space Corps captain who doesn't consider herself in the running for his heart, and some alien bad guys who just.won't.quit.

But before we get to the Kantos, let's talk about Gayel and Alea. He has a passel of beautiful, talented human women trying to capture his attention and the only woman he has eyes for is Alea. Which works, because he needs someone who will fight just as hard as he will when things go bad. On Alea's end, she might be a little twitchy about hooking up with royalty, but she's also the type who does not stand down when someone is in danger.

As you might have guessed, danger keeps popping up in unexpected places. You know how the Kantos are. Their ravenous desire to conquer keeps putting them in the paths of the Eon and humans. And they have it bad for Gayel. So they go after him and BOOM Alea and Gayel end up fighting side by side to keep him (and others) safe.

Being a warrior king, Gayel likes they way Alea steps up and fights beside him.

A little flirting, a lot of fighting, a few unexpected beasties, a passel of allies, and a sexy clandestine encounter or two. Oh, and there might be a Eon/human baby putting in an appearance. Yesssssss.

Druid Vices and a Vodka by Annette Marie [Review]

Druid Vices and a Vodka by Annette Marie
Druid Vices and a Vodka (The Guild Codex: Spellbound #6) by Annette Marie
Format: ebook
Source: borrowed through Kindle Unlimited
Disclaimer: As an Amazon Associate, I earn from qualifying purchases.
Date read: July 10, 2020

The Guild Codex: Spellbound
1. Three Mages and a Margarita
2. Dark Arts and a Daiquiri
3. Two Witches and a Whiskey
4. Demon Magic and a Martini
5. The Alchemist and an Amaretto
6. Druid Vices and a Vodka - Paperback | Kindle
7. Lost Talismans and a Tequila
8. Damned Souls and a Sangria

Annette Marie
Website | Facebook | Amazon |

Synopsis (Goodreads):
I've said it before, but sometimes I'm a bad person. I cheated on my twelfth grade math final, I've run countless yellow lights, and I gossip about how hot my kickass best friends are. (Good thing my job as a guild bartender doesn't require moral perfection.)

But there's bad, and then there's bad. And I'm not sure which applies to a certain dark druid/wanted criminal/reluctant friend of mine. His transgressions include black-magic dealings, kidnapping, and murder, and he's about to add "revenge-fueled killing spree" to his resume—if I don't stop him.

Should I stop him?

He and his nemesis are gearing up to tear each other apart, rogues and vultures are converging with their sights on the spoils, and the guilds that would normally stomp them into the ground are under attack. We're on the brink of an all-out criminal turf war, and my time to decide is almost up.

Who's the real bad guy ... and do I dare stand in his way?
Thoughts on Druid Vices and a Vodka: Oh man. Zak has always struck me as pretty much a decent guy. Even when he had Tori imprisoned on his farm, he treated her with decency. And the reasons he did the things he did might seem dastardly at first glance, but he did them because they needed to be done and they weren't all that evil when you started peeling back the layers.

Which means I don't really know how to feel about what happened here. His actions were...not so great at times. But he was also grieving and his secret identity had been broken wide open and things were a hot mess. So part of me gets it. And the stuff with his familiar/consort make me SUPER NOT TRUST HER. Manipulative much? OH YES.

Not going to lie, I'm really REALLY hoping a certain bad boy druid comes to figure out that winning sometimes comes at a cost that's too high. I'm also hoping that some of those bridges he burned are able to be repaired.

Also, also...Shane the bounty hunter is a jerk.

As for Tori, she learned some hard lessons this time around. She also loses things she's come to rely on. (And, OMG!KAI!) Yep, I'm still digging this series and can't wait to see what happens next.

Thursday, September 16, 2021

Code of Matrimony by April White [Review]

Code of Matrimony (Cipher Security #2.5) by April White
Format: ebook
Source: purchased
Disclaimer: As an Amazon Associate, I earn from qualifying purchases.
Date read: September 9, 2021

Cipher Security
1. Code of Conduct
2. Code of Honor
2.5. Code of Matrimony - Kindle
3. Code of Ethics

April White
Website | Twitter | Facebook | Amazon |

Synopsis (Goodreads):
There are three things you need to know about the Collins twins:
1) One is falling in love,
2) One is getting married, and
3) You’re all invited to the party.

Anna knows what she wants and she doesn’t hesitate to go after it. Adventure is her passion, and a wedding is just an excuse to gather with friends and family.

Colette loves “events,” and wants her sister to have the biggest and best. But Anna doesn’t care about how things look, and Colette cares too much, especially where Sterling Gray is concerned. Will this celebration tear the sisters apart? Or will it end in twin happily-ever-afters?
Thoughts on Code of Matrimony: Anna and her honey are getting ready to tie the knot and...well, I'm not going to say there are complications, because the things they're dealing with aren't complications in the strictest sense. It's more like Anna wants to help Colette find her happiness, so she and Darius set out to find a way to do that.

That sort of means looking at Sterling Gray in a new light.

Colette might be tight lipped about her feelings for the guy, but Anna can see she DOES have feelings. So they try to help ease the way in introducing Sterling to the family.

I'm making this sound complicated. Really, Anna's trying to help Colette by giving her a chance to shine and removing some of her worries. Colette's trying to figure out how to be less buttoned up and share her emotions more. And since both Darius and Sterling adore their respective women (although it takes Sterling a while to admit his adoration), they're doing what they can (both big and small things) to make their ladies happy.

We get a party, a wedding, a naked dip in the ocean, and a whole lot of friends and family. Good stuff!

The Alchemist and an Amaretto by Annette Marie [Review]

The Alchemist and an Amaretto by Annette Marie
The Alchemist and an Amaretto (The Guild Codex: Spellbound #5) by Annette Marie
Format: ebook
Source: borrowed through Kindle Unlimited
Disclaimer: As an Amazon Associate, I earn from qualifying purchases.
Date read: July 9, 2020

The Guild Codex: Spellbound
1. Three Mages and a Margarita
2. Dark Arts and a Daiquiri
3. Two Witches and a Whiskey
4. Demon Magic and a Martini
5. The Alchemist and an Amaretto - Paperback | Kindle
6. Druid Vices and a Vodka
7. Lost Talismans and a Tequila
8. Damned Souls and a Sangria

Annette Marie
Website | Facebook | Amazon |

Synopsis (Goodreads):
As a guild bartender, I can handle pretty much anything—mages, sorcerers, witches, the occasional demon. But show me anything family-related and I'd rather run for the hills. It doesn't even have to be my family.

So I have no idea why I thought spending the holidays with Aaron's mom and pop was a good idea.

Meeting his famous parents is already terrifying enough, but I've got a bigger problem. Students of his family's renowned mage academy are being attacked on the grounds--and somehow no one has seen a single assailant? Unexplained tracks litter the nearby woods, rumors of forbidden alchemy are circulating the campus...and Ezra has been acting strangely since we arrived.

Something deadly is brewing in the shadow of Sinclair Academy, and the longer we take to uncover it, the more dangerous it becomes. But no matter the risk, we'll protect the students.

And Aaron's parents too, I suppose. If we have to.
Thoughts on The Alchemist and an Amaretto: Ahh, the holidays. Spending time with your BFFs while at the academy run by one of their parents who happen to be stupid wealthy and kinda controlling. But not really controlling. Like, a little controlling, but definitely not in a way that benefits Aaron even though they think they're helping him.

FAMILY, man. So fun.

Anywho. Tori and the dudes are at Sinclair Academy and Tori gets to see the other side of Aaron. You know, the sometimes entitled side that he's worked so hard to shed since leaving the family fold. Honestly? Not a good look on him. Fortunately for Aaron, he has Kai and Ezra (and now Tori) to smack him around when he starts acting like a total jerk. (Don't worry, though, he figures things out. Eventually.)

Meanwhile, mysterious attacks that put one of their friends in danger keeps the group on their toes. Oh, and Tori gets to spend some one on one time with Ezra's other half. Which is sort of terrifying, but also sort of needed if they're ever going to figure out how to save Ezra. Also, there is kissing.

GLORIOUS, GLORIOUS KISSING. (In case I'm being too subtle, I REALLY like where this kissing could lead. I am Team Kissing Under the Mistletoe all the way!)

Magic, mayhem, and a foursome that fight on no matter the odds. I like.