Friday, June 18, 2021

Loving the Mountain Man by Adriana Anders [Review]

Loving the Mountain Man by Adriana Anders
Loving the Mountain Man (Love at Last #3) by Adriana Anders
Format: ebook
Source: purchased
Disclaimer: As an Amazon Associate, I earn from qualifying purchases.
Date read: May 16, 2020

Love at Last
1. Loving the Secret Billionaire
2. Loving the Wounded Warrior
3. Loving the Mountain Man - Paperback | Kindle

Adriana Anders
Website | Twitter | Facebook | Amazon |

Synopsis (Goodreads):
A woman on the edge…
Christa Evans is having a rough night. She’s lied to and harassed, then she loses her job. And that’s before the crash that sends her car careening to the bottom of a cliff. She’d be dead if not for the big, bearded recluse who pulls her from the wreckage and carries her back to his cabin in the woods.

The quintessential loner…
Wounded hero Micah Graham has no time for visitors. So, when he brings home the woman who nearly died on his mountain, he’ll take her in, but he doesn’t plan to let her stay. Then the storm hits.

Heating up the Holidays...together
While the snow piles up, trapping the two strangers together in the middle of nowhere, Christa and Micah find common ground in chemistry flaring up between them, proving that not only do opposites attract, they combust. As things come to a head, the question is: What happens once the ice melts?

Loving the Mountain Man is a standalone, in the Love at Last series.
Thoughts on Loving the Mountain Man: We're onto our next couple and...Christa's having a phenomenally bad night before she's rescued by Micah and Micah's just going through the motions the best way he knows how before Christa comes crashing into his life. No lie, I love trapped by the elements scenarios, so this one worked for me hard.

Harassed by her boss and nearly killed in a car accident, Christa has every reason to be a little wary of the big mountain man who ends up rescuing her. As it turns out, Micah might be big, brawny, and scowly, but he's all heart. And the more time she spends with him, the more she wants to get to know him better.

As for Micah, he's closed himself off in a lot of ways, but he's not entirely a lost cause. Christa is just the push he needs to put himself out there and reconnect with the world. And if he happens to connect with Christa in all the sexy ways that matter, who is he to argue?

Fast, flirty, and fun. Scowly mountain dudes forced to confront their feelings are my thing, so...I liked this one.

Thursday, June 17, 2021

Loving the Wounded Warrior by Adriana Anders [Review]

Loving the Wounded Warrior by Adriana Anders
Loving the Wounded Warrior (Love at Last #2) by Adriana Anders
Format: ebook
Source: purchased
Disclaimer: As an Amazon Associate, I earn from qualifying purchases.
Date read: May 15, 2020

Love at Last
1. Loving the Secret Billionaire
2. Loving the Wounded Warrior - Paperback | Kindle
3. Loving the Mountain Man

Adriana Anders
Website | Twitter | Facebook | Amazon |

Synopsis (Goodreads):
She was my best friend's little sister—and the woman who ruined my life.

O'Neal Jones was the last person I expected to run into on this mountain in the middle of nowhere.
But I wanted her, even if it was a bad idea.
And it was a very bad idea. Because this thing between us was too deep, too hot. It tore through flesh and bone to sear my soul.
Then, in the course of one night, she worked her way into my tent and my sleeping bag...
The question was, could I heal my wounds enough to let her into my heart?

Loving the Wounded Warrior is a sexy standalone novella, in the Love at Last series.
Thoughts on Loving the Wounded Warrior: O'Neal, who was introduced in Veronica's book, takes center stage this time around. She's focused, curious, and sometimes pushes when she shouldn't. And sometimes she doesn't realize that her pushing has repercussions until after the fact.

Take Kurt's situation for example. Not his current one, but the one that derailed his athletic career. She had no clue her article would cause him such grief and she's a little horrified when it's laid out for her. Which isn't to say it backs her completely off his current situation, but it makes her reconsider how far she's willing to push to get a story.

As for Kurt, he's adrift. Wandering, literally, as he fulfills a promise to a dead friend. O'Neal's appearance is both a blessing and a curse. It reminds him of the past, but it also wakes him up and makes him start thinking about the future.

A sexy night or two, a man trying to find purpose, and a woman who wants to be it for him. GOOD STUFF!

Wednesday, June 16, 2021

Loving the Secret Billionaire by Adriana Anders [Review]

Loving the Secret Billionaire by Adriana Anders
Loving the Secret Billionaire (Love at Last #1) by Adriana Anders
Format: ebook
Source: purchased
Disclaimer: As an Amazon Associate, I earn from qualifying purchases.
Date read: May 15, 2020

Love at Last
1. Loving the Secret Billionaire - Paperback | Kindle
2. Loving the Wounded Warrior
3. Loving the Mountain Man

Adriana Anders
Website | Twitter | Facebook | Amazon |

Synopsis (Goodreads):
Mystery man, recluse, finance guru… Virgin.

I was a shut-in for a reason. With too many secrets, too much to hide, and way too much at stake, I spent years in my mansion in the woods, never trusting a soul.

So, when a stranger showed up at my door, with her plans to save the world, I should have sent her away, like I’d always done.

But from the second she arrived, I couldn’t resist Veronica Cruz. She was all the things I’d been missing—passionate, generous, and so damned sexy.

I let her into my life, gave her everything—including my heart.

Now, the one thing she wants is the truth. The question is, will she still love me when she knows my secret?

Loving the Secret Billionaire is a sexy standalone novella in the Love at Last series, featuring a virgin hero and a slightly older woman.
Thoughts on Loving the Secret Billionaire: Virgin hero, guys. I like it. I also like that Veronica's a wee bit older than Zach and fiercely passionate about helping others. Since that's one of the things that drew Zach to her, I'm guessing he digs that side of her too.

So. Not only is Zach a virgin, he's also a billionaire recluse who's blind. Oh, and he hacks. In a good way. His hacking is the one thing that almost derails their blooming relationship. Veronica's not necessarily against the hacking, exactly, but she has an innate sense of fairness that makes her feel like she cheated when certain information about her city council opponent comes to light courtesy of her new billionaire boyfriend. (Not going to lie, that was a mouthful to type.)

As for Zach, he's intrigued by Veronica from the first and he helps her in her city council endeavor the only way he knows how. Which doesn't sit well with her. BUT...he kinda makes up for it. You know, with his big gesture and all that.

Bottom line: This sweet little story hit the spot. Zach and Veronica got their happily ever after and that's what I needed.

Tuesday, June 15, 2021

The Jaguar Knight by Ann Aguirre [Review]

The Jaguar Knight (Ars Numina #6) by Ann Aguirre
Format: ebook
Source: provided for review
Disclaimer: As an Amazon Associate, I earn from qualifying purchases.
Date read: April 15, 2021

Ars Numina
1. The Leopard King
2. The Demon Prince
3. The Wolf Lord
4. The Shadow Warrior
5. The War Priest
6. The Jaguar Knight - Kindle

Ann Aguirre
Website | Twitter | Facebook | Amazon |

Synopsis (Goodreads):
Forsaken. Foresworn. Ferocious.

Ambrose "Slay" Slater never thought he'd end up this way. The love of his life left him for his best friend and then while he was distracted, grieving that loss, the Gols captured him, dragged him off to their infernal underground city, where he's been a prisoner ever since. At first he imagined Ash Valley would immediately mount a rescue, but he might rot in this dungeon before that happens. If need be, he'll reduce Golgerra to rubble himself because he's got anger to burn.

Resilient. Regal. Risen.
Rowena has no last name, though she dubbed herself Van Alastor, bound by her promise to the prince who saved her from the pits and earned her loyalty. Born of a forced union between an Eldritch prisoner and a Golgoth guard, she is the only winged Golgoth, unique among her kind. She knew little more than the dungeons and torment until Alastor bought her freedom and added her to his retinue. She was willing to fight for him. Die for him. She never expected to return to the city that tried to destroy her in chains.

Knight, meet queen. He is fury. She is vengeance.

They will bury Tycho Vega in the rubble, but with both their hearts aching from loss, they never, ever expected to fall in love...
Thoughts on The Jaguar Knight: MAN, what a satisfying ending after everything that's come before. Watching a tyrant fall and those he's oppressed rise up to take back what's theirs was...beautiful. Cathartic, even. That Rowena, who was abused and beaten down over and over again by that man, was the one to lead the charge worked so perfectly for me.

And then there's Slay. Slay redeemed himself by finding himself. If that makes sense. His imprisonment gave him time to understand what he'd done to Pru and how he'd allowed his mother's prejudices to taint their relationship. It gave him time to become *him* and see how he could change things for the better. His imprisonment also eventually led him to Rowena and she needed him as much as he needed her, so that worked out nicely.

But before they got their HEA, they had a tyrant to bring down. They had people to save and a way of life to dismantle. Two very different people from two very different worlds who fit in just the right ways that they were able to make the seemingly impossible a reality.

So satisfying. Slay was lost even before he was taken prisoner and Rowena was...well, she had a plan when she was captured, but there was so much that could have gone wrong. Teaming up together filled in the cracks in one another and made them strong enough to take down a monster.

Did I love it? INDEED I DID!

Monday, June 14, 2021

Thanatos by Felicity Heaton [Review]

Thanatos (Guardians of Hades #8) by Felicity Heaton
Format: ebook
Source: provided for review
Disclaimer: As an Amazon Associate, I earn from qualifying purchases.
Date read: June 2, 2021

Guardians of Hades
1. Ares
2. Valen
3. Esher
4. Marek
5. Calistos
6. Daimon
7. Keras 
8. ThanatosKindle

Felicity Heaton
Website | Twitter | Facebook | Amazon |

Synopsis (Goodreads):
Thanatos, god of death, has a mission: scour the unknown realms of the Underworld and retrieve the only daughter of his god-king, Hades. Murdered six centuries ago and her soul captured before it could pass on, she now falls under Thanatos’s domain. Armed with only a description of the location of her prison seen in a vision by her oldest brother, Thanatos has spent four years hunting for her, determined to complete his task and save her.

But when he locates Calindria, she’s not the delicate little girl he remembers—she’s a fierce, bewitching and beautiful warrioress who stirs unwanted feelings in his black heart and she’s on a mission of her own.

Calindria, daughter of Hades, has a mission: escape her prison, hunt down the ones who murdered her twin brother, and then make her family pay for abandoning her. But the Fates have other plans, placing a distractingly gorgeous god of death in her path—a warrior who is determined to convince her that what she believed is the truth is in fact a lie.

In a realm that turns memories against them and where anything can be an illusion, can Calindria and Thanatos learn to trust each other enough to work together to escape the hellish domain, or will the darkest moments of their past prove too powerful to overcome?
Thoughts on Thanatos: Just when you thought things were looking up for the boys in the Underworld, the truth that Calindria did NOT die as everyone thought drops on them. While it seems like a good thing on the surface, the fact no one knew where she was being held (or how ANY of this had happened in the first place) makes it a tough pill to swallow. So Hades sent Thanatos to track her down and, well, he's been toiling at that task for a while now.

Not going to lie, Calindria is a hot mess of epic proportions. Tormented and held captive in a realm that continually uses her worst fears against her, she's not in a great place (either physically, mentally, or emotionally) when Thanatos stumbles over her. On the plus side, she (accidentally) figured out she has a pretty powerful ability. On the down side, she's kind of terrified she'll kill anyone she's around since she absolutely doesn't know how to control said power. Yeah, she has some things to deal with. Not the least of which is being held captive and thinking the worst of her family for several centuries.

Meanwhile, Thanatos has to deal with his own issues (of which he is a champion avoider) while trying to get Calindria to safety. Everything from the critters in the realm to the bad guys trying to get her back make things as difficult as possible for him. Plus, his champion avoiding abilities mean his issues rear their ugly heads at the WORST possible moments.

A little backstabbing, more than a little danger, a whole lot of baggage on both Thanatos and Calindria's parts, and some steamy moments they manage to steal between the dangerous times. As a bonus, there are THINGS afoot that look to bring more chaos to the family in the future. *thumbs up*

The Skeleton in the Closet by Angie Fox [Review]

The Skeleton in the Closet by Angie Fox
The Skeleton in the Closet (Southern Ghost Hunter Mysteries #2) by Angie Fox
Format: ebook
Source: purchased
Disclaimer: As an Amazon Associate, I earn from qualifying purchases.
Date read: May 16, 2020

Southern Ghost Hunter Mysteries
1. Southern Spirits
1.5. A Ghostly Gift
2. The Skeleton in the Closet - PaperbackKindle
2.5. Ghost of a Chance
3. The Haunted Heist
4. Deader Homes and Gardens
4.5. Dog Gone Ghost
5. Sweet Tea and Spirits
6. Murder on the Sugarland Express
7. Pecan Pies and Dead Guys
8. The Mint Julep Murders
8.5. The Ghost of Christmas Past
9. Southern Bred and Dead
10. The Haunted Homecoming

Angie Fox
Website | Twitter | Facebook | Amazon |

Synopsis (Goodreads):
A haunted library is no place for a girl who can see ghosts, but when Verity Long stumbles on a dead body in the middle of the main reading room, she has to believe someone… even a dead someone… must have witnessed the crime.

Her ghostly sidekick Frankie warns her to stay out of it. The very alive, very handsome deputy sheriff, Ellis Wydell, inadvertently places her directly in the middle of it. And her ex-fiancĂ©, Ellis’s brother, is back with an agenda of his own.

Undaunted, Verity presses forward, uncovering scandalous secrets, long-forgotten ghosts, and a shocking trail of clues that places her directly in the path of a killer.
Thoughts on The Skeleton in the Closet: I've been reading this series for a while now and have no idea how I just sort of skipped over book 2. Weird, but I kinda dig going back and seeing Verity before she really got comfortable with what she can do. On the other hand, it was a bit jarring to take a step back on her relationship with a certain tall, dark copper who we get to see a whole lot of in later books.

But this isn't ALLLLL about Verity and her relationships. There's a murder to unravel, a couple of ghosts to spend time with, and Frankie's rose bush to...do that thing with. Regardless, there are THINGS Verity needs to focus on that aren't all about Ellis's hot bod and sexy smiles.

As always, I get a kick out of Verity being Verity. She's sweet and kind, but she also has a backbone. As one must both physiologically and when dealing with Mama Wydell. Verity's in a weird situation there seeing as she was almost married to one Wydell and now's she's kinda, sorta dating another. So she puts up with Virginia's jabs and does what she has to do to keep the peace.

Ghosts, danger, murder, long buried secrets, and a hot cop. Everything I was looking for!

Sunday, June 13, 2021

RtP's Week in Review (06/13/21)

Reading the Paranormal's Week in Review
Bookish Delights
  • Books added to the pile 
    • None? Whoa.
    • Currently reading 
      • Cornflowers and Corpses by London Lovett
    Globetrotting...
    • KellyApple.com
      • Feature Friday took us back to the first book in the Wicked Pride series, No Reservations. A blind date leads to a wild adventure!