Wednesday, April 14, 2021

Loved in Space Anthology [Review]

Loved in Space Anthology
Loved in Space Anthology
Format: ebook
Source: purchased
Disclaimer: As an Amazon Associate I earn from qualifying purchases.
Date read: March 17, 2020

Purchase Links: Kindle

Synopsis (Goodreads):
Six BRAND new stories of love and romance among the stars by NYT & USA Today Bestsellers Mina Carter, Eve Langlais, Cara Bristol, Donna McDonald, Susan Hayes and J Thompson.

Woken by a kiss, she didn’t expect her prince to be a handsome alien warrior. Kissed by the Alien Mercenary: Warriors of the Lathar by Mina Carter.

Clarabelle isn’t about to take orders from anyone. Not even the alien hottie who has a disturbing tendency of shifting into a giant lizardman. Mate Abduction by Eve Langlais.

When a dating agency claims to match Earth women with extraterrestrials, fraud investigator Cyan Blue goes undercover as a client to expose the scam. She’s not interested in finding love and certainly not with a pretend alien! KRASH: Dakonian Alien Mail Order Brides by Cara Bristol.

No risk. No reward. When time runs out, she’ll have to make a choice that will change her life forever… Chance of a Lifetime by Susan Hayes.

Bethany Walker lost everything the day she watched her husband die. Trapped in a bitter cycle of loneliness and grief, the arrival of a gorgeous cyborg with a familiar face changes everything. Betraying Ko’ran by J Thompson.

She was searching for her cyborg husband and found an alien instead. Ashland 297 by Donna McDonald.
Thoughts on Loved in Space: Overall, a very satisfying read. Five shorts from series I've read before and one new-to-me author.

Alien Mercenary: I do love fairy tales in space and the Sleeping Beauty vibe here rocked my socks off. Lizzie awakens on a strange new world with her sister and mom happily mated to aliens (which is already kind of a big shock). And the one alien she likes spending time around is the one her bro-in-law warns her away from (which, frankly, was pretty much a jerk move on his part). Things end up working out, but not before some danger and some sisterly solidarity.

Mate Abduction: An orphan raised by Amazonian aliens, Clarabelle wants some normalcy is her life (and potential boyfriend). What she got was a sexy alien man and a couple of meddling gods. Fun, a little crazy, and with some familiar purple aliens popping in to make me laugh.

KRASH: A broken-hearted Dakonian who DOES NOT want a mate or to stay on Earth meets a human woman determined to prove the extraterrestrial dating agency she just joined is a massive scam. Turns out it's not a scam and Cyan and Krash connect nicely. You know, except for that thing where he's not looking for a mate and she's only meeting him to expose a fraud. GOOD TIMES!

Chance of a Lifetime: Well, well, well. A cyborg who isn't the typical type of cyborg found in the Drift and the human security for the Nova Club. Chance isn't quick to trust (for reasons) and it almost lands her in hot water when things go sideways. The Drift cyborg family continues to expand and I'm digging that.

Ashland 297: Now that I'm thinking about it, this isn't a new to me series. I've read a previous story about these cyborgs and...man, they had it tough. Dia's held onto the hope she'll figure out what happened to her husband through the years and when she finally finds out the truth...well, it's nothing like she expected. (PS: Her boss-friend deserved everything that happened to him. And probably more.)

Betraying Ko'ran: Not my favorite of the anthology, mostly because I felt like Bethany's feelings about cyborgs (going from hating them for killing her husband to jumping into a relationship with one who looked like said dead husband) did a weird turnaround without much warning. Admittedly, I could have missed something, but from actively hating an entire group of beings to shacking up with one in the course of a few meetings didn't quite work for me. Still, growly cyborgs are always fun.

Tuesday, April 13, 2021

Corsairs: Adiron by Ruby Dixon [Review]

Corsairs: Adiron (Corsair Brothers #1) by Ruby Dixon
Format: ebook
Source: borrowed through Kindle Unlimited
Disclaimer: As an Amazon Associate I earn from qualifying purchases.
Date read: January 1, 2021

Corsair Brothers
1. Adiron - Paperback | Kindle
2. Kaspar
3. Mathias

Ruby Dixon
| Website | Facebook | Amazon |

Synopsis (Goodreads):
It’s not easy being a space pirate…

Actually, wait.

Yes it is. It’s keffing awesome.

The three va Sithai brothers — that’s us — cruise the universe looking for abandoned ships, treasure, and other pirate ships to rob. Right now, we’re on the hunt for the Buoyant Star, an abandoned cruiser rumored to have a massive treasure inside. The ship’s been found at the edge of an ice field at the far reaches of space.

That treasure? About to be all ours.

But the ship's not all that abandoned. The Star is crewed by a few lonely, attractive human females who are thoroughly grateful at being rescued…

Actually, wait.

They’re not grateful at all.

They’ve set us a trap, and their leader, a beautiful human female named Jade, gives me a smile just before she captures me.

It’s official. I’m in love.
Thoughts on Corsairs: Adiron: Oh MAN, I sort of love Adiron's light-hearted attitude. He's fun and flirty, he plays dumb and he *seems* like a big, old manwhore on the surface, but he's a whole lot more than that. He's goofy and caring and so loyal it's crazy. His loyalty almost got him killed once upon a time and yet he doesn't let one bad experience with a self-absorbed ex dim his enthusiasm for life.

Frankly, that's exactly what Jade needs. She needs someone who helps her enjoy living. She needs someone who treats her like the queen she is. She needs someone who knows she's strong enough to shoulder all the burdens she's taken on, but who wants to help just because he doesn't want her to unnecessarily struggle.

And Jade sees past Adiron's goofball exterior. She sees his loyalty and she adores that he doesn't hold back when he wants something (especially when that something is her and Adiron wants her A LOT. HAHA. The dude really is a hornball once he finds the right lady.) and she absolutely trusts him even though her experience with other aliens wasn't the best.

THESE TWO ARE JUST SO STINKING CUTE.

We get to see a few familiar faces (and one off the wall chaotic one) and get the setup to a whole world (or escape pod) full of adventure for the other brothers. And Straik. HA. Straik. I hope you fall hard and fast, dude.

Here's to the Corsairs and their stories!

Monday, April 12, 2021

A Fistful of Cyborg by Honey Phillips [Review]

A Fistful of Cyborg by Honey Phillips
A Fistful of Cyborg (Cyborgs on Mars #2) by Honey Phillips
Format: ebook
Source: borrowed through Kindle Unlimited
Disclaimer: As an Amazon Associate I earn from qualifying purchases.
Date read: March 18, 2020

Cyborgs on Mars
0.5. High Plains Cyborg
1. The Good, the Bad, and the Cyborg
2. A Fistful of CyborgPaperback | Kindle
3. A Few Cyborgs More
4. The Magnificent Cyborg

Honey Phillips
Amazon |

Synopsis (Goodreads):
A cynical cyborg. A woman with too many secrets. A shared past that could tear them apart - or bring them together.

S-756 despises all humans, but he hates the scientists who tortured him and turned him into a cyborg most of all. The long years terraforming Mars have only cemented that hatred.

When his duty forces him to rescue an endangered scientist, he is shocked to discover that she is the alluring woman who betrayed him. No matter how much his long forgotten heart rejoices, he knows he can never trust her.

Addie paid a terrible price to save the man she loved. When she encounters him again, she is both thrilled and terrified. Her feelings towards the massive cyborg haven’t changed, but how can she explain what she did, especially when she has another secret to keep?

When a dark plot forces them to collaborate, can they move on from their tragic past and find a new future together?
Thoughts on A Fistful of Cyborg: Cyborgs, man. I'm completely digging these cybernetic men and the women who break through their walls and make them feel human again. Sure, sure, Sam and Addie had (maybe) more roadblocks than some of the other couples, but a cyborg wants what a cyborg wants and no amount of perceived betrayal is going to shut his heart off. Even if it's of the mechanical variety.

But it takes a while for Sam to reach the point where he's able to listen (and trust) Addie again. It's only after her story unfolds and he comes to understand why she did what she did that things start moving forward on the relationship front.

As for Addie, she bartered herself to save Sam and she's kind of a hot mess after the years of abuse she's endured. By that, I mean she's twitchy and slow to trust him with her secrets (and physical self, come to think). It takes time for her story to come out and her to believe they can have a chance again.

Things are moving forward on the planetary terraforming front (and the settler front, come to think of it), although *probably* not in the way anyone suspected. What does that mean for our cybernetic heroes? No idea. Only time will tell, I guess.

Sunday, April 11, 2021

Saturday, April 10, 2021

A Bride Worth Fighting For by Tracy Lauren [Review]

A Bride Worth Fighting For by Tracy Lauren
Format: ebook
Source: purchased
Disclaimer: As an Amazon Associate I earn from qualifying purchases.
Date read: January 5, 2021

Purchase LinksKindle

Tracy Lauren
Facebook | Amazon |

Synopsis (Goodreads):
Abducted by aliens, Evie thinks the only thing she has to strive for in her hellish new life is survival. Dragged halfway across the galaxy to the newly colonized farming world of Ipoch, she’s intended to be awarded as a prize to the winner of a barbaric gladiator fight. She hopes the champion isn’t cruel, she hopes he doesn’t have the capacity to harm her, but never once, does she hope to fall in love.

Serif is done with fighting. He’s done with the threat it poses to his people. When he sees the beautiful Evie, however—there’s no turning back. He’ll agree to one last tournament to save the girl, and when he wins she’ll belong to him. Because this is more than just a battle, he soon realizes. This time, Serif is FIGHTING FOR HIS BRIDE.
Thoughts on A Bride Worth Fighting For: Brides, man. Some alien cultures (specifically Serif's culture) consider taking a Bride as a stepping stone to taking a permanent mate. It's more like dating for them, not marriage as humans know it. And these aliens tend to skip the step where they explain that to the human they'd claimed. Which leads to some misunderstandings sometimes of an epic nature.

For Evie, she's been abducted, imprisoned, and told she's going to go as a prize to whoever wins the upcoming tournament. Since passivity has kept her alive up to now, she rolls with it. Sure, she's terrified, but she's doing whatever she needs to do to stay alive and that means not fighting against what happens to her.

Fortunately for her, Serif is an upstanding dude. Sure, he doesn't explain the whole "Bride" thing to Evie, but most other alien cultures seem to understand it already so I do get that. (Still, a little explaining would go a long way, wouldn't it?) Once the bumps in the road regarding that get straightened out, it's just a matter of Serif winning his bout against a guy who's bigger and potentially meaner than him so he can claim Evie permanently.

A little danger, a little steam, and a little possessiveness from Serif when it comes to keeping his human honey safe. *thumbs up*

Friday, April 9, 2021

Ice Planet Honeymoon: Aehako and Kira by Ruby Dixon [Review]

Ice Planet Honeymoon: Aehako and Kira by Ruby Dixon
Ice Planet Honeymoon: Aehako and Kira (Ice Planet Barbarians #3.5) by Ruby Dixon
Format: ebook
Source: purchased
Disclaimer: As an Amazon Associate I earn from qualifying purchases.
Date read: March 6, 2020

Ice Planet Barbarians
(Find all the books in this amazing series on the 1st book review)
1. Ice Planet Barbarians

Ice Planet Honeymoon
1.5. Vektal and Georgie
2.5. Raahosh and Liz
3.5. Aehako and KiraKindle
4.4. Rukh and Harlow

Ruby Dixon
Website | Amazon |

Synopsis (Goodreads):
Kira and Aehako are happily mated and waiting for their baby’s arrival. Everything is great…or is it? Because carefree Aehako has turned into the most hovering of spouses, and he’s making everyone at the cave crazy.

Kira thinks it’s time for a vacation…of sorts.
Thoughts on Ice Planet Honeymoon: Aehako and Kira: I love love love all things IPB, so I am ALWAYS 100% on board with snippets of these crazy characters. Getting to go back and see our favorite couples dealing with the things couples deal with (albeit on a frozen world with no modern amenities) thrills me EVERY SINGLE TIME!

This time around, we have Aehako and Kira. She's happily pregnant and pretty chill about everything. He's...not. In fact, he's kind of a mess (and a lot bossy when it comes to making sure his mate is happy and unbothered by things going on around her). Manufacturing a little alone time and getting Aehako away from the responsibilities of the cave helps IMMENSELY. Plus, Kira gets to visit her friends and reconnect with Aehako's family.

And they get to have that whole honeymoon thing as they make their way to their destination. WIN/WIN.

A million books into this series and I'm still heartily in love with those big, blue barbarians. *thumbs up*

Thursday, April 8, 2021

Second Chance Magic by Michelle M. Pillow [Review]

Second Chance Magic by Michelle M. Pillow
Second Chance Magic (Order of Magic #1) by Michelle M. Pillow
Format: ebook
Source: borrowed through Kindle Unlimited
Disclaimer: As an Amazon Associate I earn from qualifying purchases.
Date read: March 4, 2020

Order of Magic
1. Second Chance Magic - Paperback | Kindle
2. Third Time's a Charm
3. The Fourth Power

Michelle M. Pillow
Website | Twitter | Facebook | Amazon |

Synopsis (Goodreads):
Secrets broke her heart... and have now come back from the grave to haunt her.

So far, Lorna Addams’s forties are not what she expected. After a very public embarrassment, she finds it difficult to trust her judgment when it comes to new friendships and dating. She might be willing to give love a second chance when she meets the attractive William Warrick, if only she could come to terms with what her husband did to her and leave it in the past.

How is a humiliated empty nest widow supposed to move on with her life? It’s not like she can develop a sixth sense, séance her ex back, force him to tell her why and give her closure. Or can she?
Thoughts on Second Chance Magic: Lorna's situation is...rough. Like, she was lied to in the worst, most public way imaginable and she's sort of blamed (the idea that she "didn't know" or "hadn't suspected" her husband's lies is sort of thrown at her and WOW that sucks) for not seeing those lies, yet she loved this man and because of his betrayal and lies can't grieve the way one would if their spouse had died.

Rough. Super rough.

Good thing she's moved into a town and is finding a group of friends who can help her move on. You know, by tapping into heretofore unknown abilities and communicating with the dead. She gets the added bonus of being attracted to the brother of one of her new friends and isn't that a nice!

A little magic, a little ghostly communication, a little danger. And a lady who finds her tribe and figures out that she's more than just the betrayed woman trying to forget the past. *thumbs up*