Sunday, June 17, 2018

RtP's Week in review (06/17/18)

Reading the Paranormal's Week in Review
Bookish Delights
Globetrotting...
  • KellyApple.com
    • Tuesday's Series Short put us in the heads of Lon and Ivy with A Hundred Types of Kisses. Bit of this, little of that. I always find it interesting how a throwaway line in a book/story can morph into something substantial if you let it brew in the back of your head long enough.

Saturday, June 16, 2018

Write On Review-a-thon [53]

It's time for another installment of the Write On Review-a-thon. YAY!

A little about the Review-a-thon:
Brought to you by Reading the Paranormal and the #boutofbooks-ers facebook group. This monthly review-a-thon is a chance to get caught up on outstanding reviews. Bring your to-be-reviewed list, block out some time, write reviews. It's that simple.
This month's review-a-thon will run from Friday, June 22nd to Sunday, June 24th.

To find out more about the review-a-thon and future dates, visit the Review-a-thon page.

As for me...
Reviews to be written:
  • {coming soon}

Friday, June 15, 2018

Tear by Rachel Van Dyken [Review]

 Tear by Rachel Van Dyken
Tear (Seaside #1) by Rachel Van Dyken
Format: ebook
Source: purchased
Date read: August 15, 2017

Seaside
0.5. Strung
1. Tear - Paperback | Kindle
2. Pull
3. Shatter
3.5. Forever
4. Fall
4.5. Eternal

Rachel Van Dyken
Website | Twitter | Facebook | Amazon |

Synopsis (Goodreads):
Life as a teenager is never easy. But for Natalee Murray, things have just gotten way more difficult. Bored with life, she can't wait to graduate high school and get out of town, especially considering the famous band members from AD2 suddenly start attending her school, making her once boring life, absolutely insane.

It starts with a pen. A single brush of fingers, and she is captivated.

But Alec and Demetri have a dark secret, one that could shatter their reputations and Natalee's heart. What do you do when one guy paints your life with color while the other infuses your soul with passion? How do you choose when your heart is divided?
Thoughts on Tear: Heh. I read the first book in the Seaside spin-off series before starting this one and both Alec and Demetri are a *little* more mature in that. Tiny bit. To be fair, they're both dealing with some pretty heavy stuff in this book, but WOW. Laughing, joking, best friend to Dani Demetri is a heck of a lot more likable than younger, brooding, doing things for all the wrong reasons Demetri.

But I digress. Because as big a part as Demetri played in this book, this is really Nat and Alec's story. Nat, who thinks she's invisible to her family, and Alec, who is carrying a whole lot of guilt on his shoulders and who's trying to be a solid brother to the only family he has. Except it's hard to be a stand up guy when you're smitten with your brother's girl.

And it's REALLY difficult when she has the same feelings for him.

Technically, I guess this would be a love triangle, but...uhh, I knew who everyone ended up with since I read the second series first. So there was less "will they/won't they" and more cringing at how utterly wrecked Demetri was letting himself get. Still, I enjoyed it as a whole and liked seeing the guys in their younger, more destructive phase.

Thursday, June 14, 2018

Capture by Rachel Van Dyken [Review]

 Capture by Rachel Van Dyken
Capture (Seaside Pictures #1) by Rachel Van Dyken
Format: ebook
Source: purchased
Date read: August 15, 2017

Seaside Pictures
1. Capture - Paperback | Kindle
2. Keep
3. Steal

Rachel Van Dyken
| Website | Twitter | Facebook | Amazon |

Synopsis (Goodreads):
Losing your ability to speak at the age of seventeen; it’s not normal or fair.
But trauma, has a way of throwing normality out the window.

Dani lives anything but a normal life.
Her sister is married to one of the biggest names in Hollywood.
Her best friends are rockstar duo AD2.
And she has more love around her than most people experience in a lifetime.
But that doesn't change the fact their parents are dead.
Or that it's her fault.

It seems her new normal is being a mute, living on the inside, unable to actually communicate on the outside.
That is until Hollywood’s newest heartthrob Lincoln Greene hires her as his assistant for the summer.
He's gorgeous, completely unavailable, and unobtainable.
But that doesn't stop her from wondering...if things were different...would he want her?
If she was whole, would he be the other half?
Thoughts on Capture: I liked this book. Quite a bit. It was a little over the top at times, but we are dealing with actors and rock stars and they are, by definition, over the top. So, I guessed it worked.

That said, we had the sexy Hollywood actor meeting a girl who hasn't dealt with the issues surrounding her parents' deaths scenario. Dani's a little broken and Lincoln's a...actually, he's pretty normal and down to earth as far as Hollywood hunks go. He's confident, yet weirdly awkward when it comes to Dani and that was both maddening and hilarious.

I liked Lincoln and I liked Dani, but I REALLY liked Zane. The dude's carrying around some seriously mysterious baggage and I want to know MORE. Also, it amuses me that he can't keep a shirt on to save his life.

Besides Zane, there's also a robust cast of supporting characters. I was intrigued enough by Demetri and Alec to go hunt down the first series. What can I say? I like brooding, mysterious bad boys in my literature.

Wednesday, June 13, 2018

Cashing Out by S.M. Reine [Review]

 Cashing Out by S.M. Reine
Cashing Out (Dana McIntyre Must Die #3) by S.M. Reine
Format: ebook
Source: provided by the author for an honest review
Date read: August 17, 2017

Dana McIntyre Must Die
1. Drawing Dead
2. Kill Game
3. Cashing OutPaperback | Kindle
4. Suicide Queen

S.M. Reine
Website | Twitter | Facebook | Amazon |

Synopsis (Goodreads):
With the previous master vampire out of the way, and Dana McIntyre presumed dead, there's nothing standing between Nissa Royal and her vision for Las Vegas: a city of vampires where humans serve as no more than cattle.

Except that someone keeps killing the vampires who are sweeping the streets for victims. A mysterious killer that nobody can seem to find. Someone bent on stopping Nissa...

Police Chief Charmaine Villanueva is losing control of her city to the Office of Preternatural Affairs. She hopes to appease them with a preliminary cure for vampirism--her last shot at reassuring them that she can keep her citizens safe. Except someone has broken into Holy Nights Cathedral to steal the Garlic Shot, even though the church should be impossible to burgle. She can only think of one person with the ability to steal from the cathedral. But Dana McIntyre's been dead for hours. Hasn't she?

Torn between OPA control and vampire control, Las Vegas is a city on the brink of war missing its guardian angel. It's a high stakes game with no limit. But the house isn't letting any of its players cash out yet...not when the game is just getting hot.
Thoughts on Cashing Out: HA! Things just keep barreling forward when Dana's at the wheel. Things like the vampires planning to cement their status as the city's top predators and OPA moving in to drop the hammer on...well, everyone. Plus, vamps are turning up dead in the sewers and Dana McIntyre has crossed the line between being a blood virgin and a full-on vamp.

Good times.

We get some resolution to a sticky issue Dana's been dealing with since the beginning. We get to see the garlic shot in action in more than one way. We get Dana being Dana and all the glorious bloodshed that goes along with that.

And we get some losses. Which...*sad face*

BUT...that balances out with the beauty that is Cesar Hawke. His prettiness is very distracting, it would seem. Also, I like that guy. Even though he's OPA. Oh, and I got a chuckle out of his throwaway "crotchfruit" line. Because Cesar is nothing if not charmingly blunt and his lack of a filter is always cause for amusement.

In the end, there's still danger lurking around Vegas and Dana is left in a rough situation. One more book to go. Let's see if she can save herself and her relationship and her friends and thwart the machinations of the bad guys without taking out half the city in the process. (I'm not holding my breath on that last part.)

Tuesday, June 12, 2018

The Emperor's Edge by Lindsay Buroker [Review]

 Emperor's Edge by Lindsay Buroker
The Emperor's Edge (The Emperor's Edge #1) by Lindsay Buroker
Format: ebook
Source: purchased
Date read: August 16, 2017

The Emperor's Edge
0.5. Shadows Over Innocence
1. The Emperor's Edge - Paperback | Kindle
1.5. Ice Cracker II
2. Dark Currents
2.5. The Assassin's Curse
3. Deadly Games
4. Conspiracy
5. Blood and Betrayal
5.5. Beneath the Surface
6. Forged in Blood I
7. Forged in Blood II
7.5. Solstice Day Gifts
8. Republic
9. Diplomats and Figutives

Lindsay Buroker
Website | Twitter | Facebook | Amazon |

Synopsis (Goodreads):
The adventure starts here...

Imperial law enforcer Amaranthe Lokdon is good at her job: she can deter thieves and pacify thugs, if not with a blade, then by toppling an eight-foot pile of coffee canisters onto their heads. But when ravaged bodies show up on the waterfront, an arson covers up human sacrifices, and a powerful business coalition plots to kill the emperor, she feels a tad overwhelmed.

Worse, Sicarius, the empire's most notorious assassin, is in town. He's tied in with the chaos somehow, but Amaranthe would be a fool to cross his path. Unfortunately, her superiors order her to hunt him down. Either they have an unprecedented belief in her skills... or someone wants her dead.
Thoughts on The Emperor's Edge: Okay. The adventures of Sicarius and Amaranthe have begun and they're just as insanely bloody/dangerous/fun as I expected them to be. You know, since Amaranthe is an enforcer and Sicarius is the assassin everybody loves to fear. With good reason, mind you. Sicarius has a habit of killing first and asking questions later. Something I have a feeling Amaranthe will work on as their adventures continue.

But that's down the road. Right now, Sicarius is deadly and doesn't like to leave survivors who might give away key elements of his plans if they ever part ways. Which makes for an interesting group dynamic, don't you think.

Amaranthe doesn't let little things like Sicarius's flexible morality and skill with a knife keep her from using him to put events in motion. When she unwittingly gets pulled into the middle of a conspiracy against the emperor, she recruits the notorious assassin and puts together a motley crew of misfits to save the day.

Except things don't always go as planned. Not when (outlawed) magic is involved and you're being hunted by the very people you're trying to help.

Good gravy, I'm ready to dive into this whole series. Amaranthe and Sicarius are like day and night in a lot of ways and I can't WAIT to see how the former enforcer and the assassin make things work.

Monday, June 11, 2018

The Unyielding by Shelly Laurenston [Review]

 The Unyielding by Shelly Laurenston
The Unyielding (Call of Crows #3) by Shelly Laurenston
Format: ebook
Source: purchased
Date read: August 12, 2017

Call of Crows
1. The Unleashing
2. The Undoing
3. The UnyieldingPaperback | Kindle

Shelly Laurenston
Website | Amazon |

Synopsis (Goodreads):
Stieg Engstrom, Angriest Viking Ever, has got big problems. The human Viking Clans of earth are in danger of being obliterated—along with the rest of the world—and the only one who may be able to save them is a super pain-in-the-ass Crow. Most people annoy Stieg, but this is the one woman he really can’t stand…

Erin Amsel loves being a Crow! Why wouldn’t she when the other Viking Clans are so hilariously arrogant and humorless? She’s not about to let all that come to an end! She just didn’t expect to be shoulder to shoulder in battle with Stieg. Then again, he’s so easy to torment—and also kind of cute.

With the future of the world riding on them, Stieg knows he’ll have to put aside his desperate need to kiss the smirk right off Erin’s face. Wait. What? He didn’t mean that—did he? No! They have one goal: To conquer the idiots. Because nothing bugs Stieg more than when idiots win. If only he can keep himself from suddenly acting like one….
Thoughts on The Unyielding: If you're in the mood for fast-paced action, borderline-to-all-the-way insane heroes and heroines, and possible world-ending shenanigans, THIS SERIES IS FOR YOU. THINGS HAPPEN in it from the get-go and you're pretty much hysterically laughing as you try to keep up.

In case you're wondering, by THINGS HAPPEN I mean a power-hungry goddess is trying to start Ragnarok and destroy life as we know it and the Vikings are sort of the only thing standing between her and complete destruction. Fortunately for the world at large, the Clans are super-charged and ready to throw themselves into battle all willy-nilly.

Even Erin and Stieg. Erin, who's made it her life's mission to irritate, annoy, and otherwise piss off everybody--mortal and god alike. And Stieg, Mr. Grumpy Pants.

They're kinda awesome together. Mostly because they're both so put out to realize that they *like* one another. Vikings, man. You gotta love 'em.

This book gives us closure on the whole Ragnarok thing (this time, I assume. Ragnarok isn't really a one and done, is it? I mean, any number of events could trigger it again, right? The Clans still have to hold the line and keep the crazy in check.), while opening up another can of worms. The Crows are just as hysterically insane as ever and the men who fall for them are sort of resigned to being pulled into their crazy.

In other words, THEY'RE FUN!