Tuesday, January 23, 2018

Top Off Tuesday - Oh, yeah!

I've taken over the Top Off Tuesday meme (formerly hosted by Felicia, Christi and Amanda). Why? Because I can't resist gratuitous shirtless covers. Nothing says Tuesday like flashing some skin, amirite?!?!

I...find his muscles to be very distracting. *THUMBS UP*

 Bad Judgment by Meghan March
Bad Judgment by Meghan March
A deliciously sexy enemies-to-lovers STANDALONE from USA Today bestselling author Meghan March.

He’s arrogant.

She’s self-righteous.

I hate him.

I want her.

I’ve been turning him down for two years straight.

Every shut-down makes me work harder.

I’m not a one-night stand kind of girl.

She doesn’t realize I won’t settle for only one night.

He’s a distraction I don’t need.

She’ll say yes eventually because I’m not giving up.

Monday, January 22, 2018

Fire in His Blood by Ruby Dixon [Review]

 Fire in His Blood by Ruby Dixon
Fire in His Blood (Fireblood Dragons #1) by Ruby Dixon
Format: ebook
Source: purchased
Date read: April 29, 2017

Fireblood Dragons
1. Fire in His Blood - Paperback | Kindle
2. Fire in His Kiss

Ruby Dixon
Website | FacebookAmazon |

Synopsis (Goodreads):
Years ago, the skies ripped open and the world was destroyed in fire and ash. Dragons - once creatures of legend - are the enemy. Vicious and unpredictable, they rule the skies of the ruined cities, forcing humanity to huddle behind barricades for safety.

Claudia's a survivor. She scrapes by as best as she can in a hard, dangerous world. When she runs afoul of the law, she's left as bait in dragon territory. She only has one chance to survive - to somehow 'tame' a dragon and get it to obey her.

Except the dragon that finds her is as wild and brutal as any other...and he's not interested in obeying.

What he is interested in is a mate.
Thoughts on Fire in His Blood: Broken worlds do it for me, man. Broken cities. Broken societies. Broken EVERYTHINGS. All things considered, Kael fits into that category, too. He's lost to his madness until Claudia gives him a reason to claw his way out of it.

Frankly, Kael is adorable. You know, for a jet-sized monster out of humanity's worst nightmares. So he has a few flaws. Who doesn't? He works on figuring out what Claudia needs and he's not always right, but his persistence is impressive. Plus, anyone who's willing to fight to the death to make sure their special someone is safe gets a thumbs up from me.

Meanwhile, Claudia's confusion on whether she should remain loyal to the humans who left her to die or one of the dragons who devastated their world was understandable. Kael's devotion to her made her question everything she thought she knew about dragons. Yet, her sister and friend are still back with the humans and...she's torn. She wants it all.

Frankly, I liked this book. I liked broken society. I liked that the dragons have a lot of issues to overcome (OMG, A LOT!). I liked that Claudia and the others are (mostly) scrappy survivors. I'm in for the long haul!

Sunday, January 21, 2018

RtP's Week in Review (01/21/18)

Reading the Paranormal's Week in Review
Bookish Delights
  • Books added to the pile
  • Currently reading 
    • Spellbinder by Thea Harrison
Globetrotting...

Saturday, January 20, 2018

Write On Review-a-thon [48]

It's time for another installment of the Write On Review-a-thon. YAY!

A little about the Review-a-thon:
Brought to you by Reading the Paranormal and the #boutofbooks-ers facebook group. This monthly review-a-thon is a chance to get caught up on outstanding reviews. Bring your to-be-reviewed list, block out some time, write reviews. It's that simple.
This month's review-a-thon will run from Friday, January 26th to Sunday, January 28th.

To find out more about the review-a-thon and tentative future dates, visit the Review-a-thon page.

As for me...
Reviews to be written:



Friday, January 19, 2018

Sweep in Peace by Ilona Andrews [Review]

 Sweep in Peace by Ilona Andrews
Sweep in Peace (Innkeeper Chronicles #2) by Ilona Andrews
Format: ebook
Source: purchased
Date read: April 27, 2017

Innkeeper Chronicles
1. Clean Sweep
2. Sweep in PeacePaperback | Kindle
3. One Fell Sweep

Ilona Andrews
Website | Twitter | Facebook | Amazon |

Synopsis (Goodreads):
Dina DeMille doesn’t run your typical Bed and Breakfast. Her inn defies laws of physics, her fluffy dog is secretly a monster, and the only paying guest is a former Galactic tyrant with a price on her head. But the inn needs guests to thrive, and guests have been scarce, so when an Arbitrator shows up at Dina's door and asks her to host a peace summit between three warring species, she jumps on the chance.

Unfortunately, for Dina, keeping the peace between Space Vampires, the Hope-Crushing Horde, and the devious Merchants of Baha-char is much easier said than done. On top of keeping her guests from murdering each other, she must find a chef, remodel the inn...and risk everything, even her life, to save the man she might fall in love with. But then it's all in the day's work for an Innkeeper…
Thoughts on Sweep in Peace: Oh, man, I'm LOVING this series. It's hitting all the right notes for me. Plus, CROSSOVER! Kinda dark crossover, but STILL. We got to see some of the Edge kids all grown up. They're as dark and complicated as I'd expect them to be and I seriously loved visiting with them. (Plus, the possibilities! OMG! The possibilities their presence in Dina's world opens up!)

Enough about all those other fabulous characters, let's get to Dina and her issues. With her inn needing guests, Dina agrees to host peace talks at the inn. Things go pretty much exactly as she imagined they would--which is to say, they go a little crazy pretty much from the get-go.

The charming Arland returns with his space vampires. The Hope-Crushing Horde is...kinda rough around the edges at first glance, but I liked them. And the merchants. Those guys. With three very different groups to tend to, all with reasons for their hatred, Dina's hands are full. Meanwhile, Sean is still out among the stars and Dina misses him. Awww.

I'm so entranced by this entire series. SO entranced. Book 3 is waiting for me.

Thursday, January 18, 2018

Clean Sweep by Ilona Andrews [Review]

 Clean Sweep by Ilona Andrews
Clean Sweep (Innkeeper Chronicles #1) by Ilona Andrews
Format: ebook
Source: purchased
Date read: April 27, 2017

Innkeeper Chronicles
1. Clean Sweep - Paperback | Kindle
2. Sweep in Peace
3. One Fell Sweep

Ilona Andrews
Website | Twitter | Facebook | Amazon |

Synopsis (Goodreads):
On the outside, Dina Demille is the epitome of normal. She runs a quaint Victorian Bed and Breakfast in a small Texas town, owns a Shih Tzu named Beast, and is a perfect neighbor, whose biggest problem should be what to serve her guests for breakfast. But Dina is...different: Her broom is a deadly weapon; her Inn is magic and thinks for itself. Meant to be a lodging for otherworldly visitors, the only permanent guest is a retired Galactic aristocrat who can’t leave the grounds because she’s responsible for the deaths of millions and someone might shoot her on sight. Under the circumstances, "normal" is a bit of a stretch for Dina.

And now, something with wicked claws and deepwater teeth has begun to hunt at night....Feeling responsible for her neighbors, Dina decides to get involved. Before long, she has to juggle dealing with the annoyingly attractive, ex-military, new neighbor, Sean Evans—an alpha-strain werewolf—and the equally arresting cosmic vampire soldier, Arland, while trying to keep her inn and its guests safe. But the enemy she’s facing is unlike anything she’s ever encountered before. It’s smart, vicious, and lethal, and putting herself between this creature and her neighbors might just cost her everything.
Thoughts on Clean Sweep: Holy wow. After reading this book, I'm determined to glom the rest of this series like it's going out of style. Because I like the crazy. I like it a lot. From an innkeeper who will risk practically everything to protect her house and the secrecy of what's hiding in plain sight to the badass werewolf I want to see more of. I even liked the vampire. Frankly, that doesn't happen all that often, so that's BIG NEWS.

So. Dina's world is not your typical jaunt through an urban fantasy landscape. Yes, there's plenty of magic and sometimes unexplainable things, but the sci-fi aspects throw a curve ball I loved. Distant worlds, genetically engineered super soldiers who can shapeshift like a BOSS, and vampiric political maneuvering that would make our own politicians weep with envy. Things are dangerous in this world and Dina is standing as a bastion of strength against, well, anything that would threaten her guests. Which she currently has only one of, but I'm sure things will look up.

Sure of it.

This lady has her house, her dog, and a healthy dose of magic when she's on her grounds. She also has two attractive men putting the moves on her and a seriously sociopathic guest who's settled in for the long haul. Then there are those deadly creatures roaming the neighborhood. And a suspicious cop. And a stone cold killer on the loose.

It'll be fiiiiiine. I'm sure of it.

Wednesday, January 17, 2018

Spotlight On...Living Out Loud by Staci Hart [Cover Reveal]

The wait is over! We have our first stunning Staci Hart cover for 2018.


Living Out Loud
Staci Hart
Publication Date: February 1, 2018
Cover Photo: Perrywinkle Photography
Cover Design: QuirkyBird Designs
Goodreads: http://bit.ly/2mHfcEu


When Annie Daschle arrives in New York City, the only thing she can control is her list.

Not her father’s death or the loss of her home. Not the hole in her heart or the defective valve that’s dictated so much of her life. But she can put pen to paper to make a list of all the ways she can live out loud, just like her dad would have wanted.

See the city from the top of the Empire State Building: Check.
Eat hot dogs on the steps of The Met: Check.
Stand in the middle of Times Square: Check.
Get a job at Wasted Words: Check.

Two things not on her list: Greg Brandon and Will Bailey. And just like that, she finds herself caught in the middle of something she can’t find her way out of, with no clear answers and no rules.

List or no list, she realizes she can’t control anything at all, not even her heart.

Not the decisions it makes, and not the moment it stops.

*Standalone contemporary romance Inspired by Jane Austen's Sense and Sensibility.*



About the Author
Staci has been a lot of things up to this point in her life -- a graphic designer, an entrepreneur, a seamstress, a clothing and handbag designer, a waitress. Can't forget that. She's also been a mom, with three little girls who are sure to grow up to break a number of hearts. She's been a wife, though she's certainly not the cleanest, or the best cook. She's also super, duper fun at a party, especially if she's been drinking whiskey. When she's not writing, she's reading, sleeping, gaming, or designing graphics.

Amazon | Facebook | Twitter | Pinterest | Website | Newsletter