Sunday, April 21, 2024

RtP's Week in Review (04/21/24)

Reading the Paranormal's Week in Review Bookish Delights

Saturday, April 20, 2024

Have Tail, Will Travel by Nancey Cummings [Review]

Have Tail, Will Travel (Tail and Claw #1) by Nancey Cummings
Format: ebook
Source: purchased
Disclaimer: As an Amazon Associate, I earn from qualifying purchases.
Date read: July 30, 2023

Tail and Claw
1. Have Tail, Will Travel - Paperback | Kindle
2. Pulled by the Tail
3. Tail, Dark and Handsome
4. Tattle Tail
5. Tail Me No Lies

Nancey Cummings
| Website | Amazon |

Synopsis (Goodreads):
Wife Wanted: Single Alien Dad Needs a Mate

Tragedy left Merit as the guardian to two young kits and he’s in over his head. He needs help. He has no time for romance and doesn’t think he needs it. He applies to Celestial Mates, willing to take the first available female, even a flat-faced, ugly human.

What he gets is a woman whose mind challenges him and patience humbles him.

He brought her to his planet under false pretenses. Now he hopes he can make it right before she leaves for good.
Thoughts on Have Tail, Will Travel: Merit joins Celestial Mates so he could find someone to help him with the day-to-day stuff he's getting buried under after suddenly becoming guardian to his brother's two children. The romance side would be nice, but he's tells himself he won't be upset if it doesn't happen. Uh-huh. Right.

Kal, on the other hand, is hoping her "perfect match" is just that. She doesn't mind that he has two children. She doesn't mind that he lives on a distant planet. She really just wants someone who wants her, the rest can be dealt with. Except...Merit has secrets and his sister is constantly poking at Kal and, while she likes the children, she wants to be more than a nanny and housekeeper.

Not going to lie, while I kind of get why Merit didn't spill all his reasons and secrets from the get-go, he put Kal in some not so great situations by not explaining things. That said, everything worked out in the end. It only took a little danger and Kal being understanding enough to not walk away to make things work.

Friday, April 19, 2024

Nun Too Soon by Lissa Sharpe [Review]


Nun Too Soon (Bad Habit Book Club #1) by Lissa Sharpe
Format: ebook
Source: provided for review
Disclaimer: As an Amazon Associate, I earn from qualifying purchases.
Date read: March 6, 2024

Bad Habit Book Club
1. Nun Too Soon - Paperback | Kindle

Lissa Sharpe
| Amazon |

Synopsis (Goodreads):
Helen is just your normal, everyday librarian who writes romance novels on the side… except she also happens to be a former nun, new to life outside the order and to the dating scene. Helen isn’t just a virgin in her 30s– she’s never had a boyfriend, never kissed anyone, never even so much as held someone’s hand. Becoming a nun was always her path, until it wasn’t anymore, and trying to forge a new path in life has been…tricky.

What isn’t tricky? Her unrequited crush on the handsome library patron that Helen and her friends have affectionately nicknamed ‘The Red Unicorn’ -- a man who loves to read, looks great in glasses, and has red hair, aka Helen’s dream man. But the idea of dating is still intimidating, so Helen prefers to daydream about Thad from afar, turning him into her perfect romance novel hero.

Thad is far from perfect, not like the smart, sexy librarian he’s been surveilling. Thad is a bounty hunter who’s determined to find Helen’s brother, Dean, and he’s certain Helen is the key to tracking Dean down. Thad never plans to approach Helen or insert himself into her life–until it becomes clear he’s not the only one looking for Dean. The other people after him are bad news, and Helen’s going to get caught in the crossfire if Thad doesn’t intervene.

As Thad and Helen work together to find Dean, they actually get to know each other, soon realizing that the perfect, ideal versions they have of each other couldn’t be more wrong…but that who they are together might actually be just right.
Thoughts on Nun Too Soon: We're back in Chicago with a former nun and the bounty hunter on the trail of her brother. Which sounds complicated, but Helen's a forgiving sort, so the fact Thad is looking for her brother doesn't faze her nearly as much as how much she's attracted to Thad. Seeing how Thad really does want to do what he thinks is best for her brother, the fact he misled her with the books and the pretend reading (which is just a CRIME in my book, thankyouverymuch) is just a drop in the bucket to Helen.

That attraction, though. HOO-BOY.

Yeah, Helen likes a lot of things about Thad. Coming to terms with her wants and desires outside the church? That's kind of the thing that trips her up. When you've been told you're one thing your entire life, it's hard to change gears and realize you can be your version of you when you hardly know what your version is. That might sound complicated, but Helen has some figuring out to do and I am here for it. (Also, the mental picture of Dan and Quinn not knowing what to do with themselves when they see her thanks to the aforementioned previous sister-hood is one I'm going to hold close because HA.)

On Thad's end, he's a genuinely good guy, but he's wary. Given the family issues and general dynamic he has to deal with there, it's no surprise that he saw Helen in a very different light before he got to know her. His wariness made him suspicious of her actions when, in truth, Helen is pretty much an open book. Once he realized that, THINGS HAPPENED.

A little subterfuge, a road trip, a few dangerous moments, a party bus full of friendly co-eds, a man who doesn't know what to do with the open, honest Helen, and a former nun trying to find herself in a big way. *thumbs up*



Reserve your copy TODAY!


Limelight by E. Davies [Review]

Limelight (Vino and Veritas) by E. Davies
Format: ebook
Source: borrowed through Kindle Unlimited
Disclaimer: As an Amazon Associate, I earn from qualifying purchases.
Date read: May 3, 2023

Vino and Veritas
Roommate
Featherbed
Headstrong
Heartscape
Aftermath
Undercover
Booklover
Flipcup
Hideaway
Unguarded
Turnabout
Daybreak
Insatiable
Heartsong
Limelight - Paperback | Kindle
Undone
Showstopper
Unforgettable
Stronghold

Related Series:
(find all the books in the series on the 1st book review)
The Busy Bean
1. Sweetheart

In Vino Veritas
1. Wildfire

Moo U
1. Boyfriend

Speakeasy
1. Touchstone

True North
1. Bittersweet

E. Davies
| Website | Amazon |

Synopsis (Goodreads):
Save the bees, ride a rock star.

Formerly famous . . . and planning to keep it that way.

After my band kicked me out, I ran away to Vermont, changed my name, and kept my head down. So far, it’s working and nobody knows who I am. Or who I was. Until I see geeky poet Caleb stumbling through his first open mic night and I can’t help rescuing him. He’s as sweet as the honey my bees make and sexy enough to make me rethink so many things. But I can’t tell him my secret, or I’ll lose the anonymous life I worked so hard to build.

Everyone warns me he’s too good to be true.

I can’t believe a gorgeous, successful winemaker like Tag is into shy, geeky little accountant me. But he helps me blossom and believe in my talent, and works his way into my heart and my bed… not necessarily in that order. I’m falling for a man for the first time, and now I know what the missing number in my equation has always been.

When lies are revealed, though, someone’s going to get stung . . .
Thoughts on Limelight: I feel like I need to preface this review by saying I didn't hate this book. BUT...there was one thing in it that is sort of a pet peeve of mine and once I see it, I can't unsee it. So, yeah. The book itself was okay. I just happen to not love one little thing that started giving me an eye twitch early on.

As an aside, I'm aware of how lame and petty this sounds. Completely. But again, once I see it, I can't unsee it and here we are.

I kind of loathe when characters giggle incessantly. Once or twice I can handle because it's a legitimate expression of mirth. But giggling on every page or every other page? It grates on me. Then I start waiting for that next giggling moment and kind of stop caring about what's actually going on with the plot.

Tag and Caleb were fine as a couple (excluding the incessant giggling). Their issues were understandable because who wants to spill all their darkest secrets on their first date (or during their first week of dating, even), amirite? I didn't hate the book, I just got caught up in that one little issue that derailed my pure enjoyment of their story.

Thursday, April 18, 2024

Stage Smart by Aly Stiles [Review]


Stage Smart (Work For It #8) by Aly Stiles
Format: ebook
Source: provided for review
Disclaimer: As an Amazon Associate, I earn from qualifying purchases.
Date read: March 4, 2024

Work For It
1. Street Smart
2. Heart Smart
3. Book Smart
4. Smart Mouth
5. Play Smart
6. Look Smart
7. Smart Move
8. Stage Smart - Paperback | Kindle

Aly Stiles
| Website | Amazon |

Synopsis (Goodreads):
My record label had one rule… and I broke it.

In my defense, “don’t fall in love with your producer” isn’t exactly fair when your producer is Val Andrews, a sweet, talented, totally genuine prince in an industry of egotistical frogs. It’s especially not fair when your forbidden crush becomes a constant temptation while on tour with a vengeful ex and an enigma named Chad.

All I want to do is make incredible music and show the world I’m more than a vapid starlet. But when a cryptic memo reveals a sinister plot to destroy my career, it becomes clear there’s only one person I can trust—the one they said I can’t have.
Thoughts on Stage Smart: Okay. I'm going to say that I 100% know this is Val and Larinda's book, but Chad. Chad has grown on me. He's clueless and has the painful ability to make everything awkward within moments of starting a conversation, but he's not terrible. I mean, I kind of knew that from Nate and Nat's book, but this one really sealed the deal.

But enough about Chad and his Mer-Nuts and Mer-Kins and whatever other thing he comes up with that makes little to no sense. This is Val and Larinda's story. Val, who has been kicked around by his parents his entire life and doesn't see how wonderful and kind and TALENTED he is because of it. And Larinda, who doesn't know how to say no. Straight up, the lady is surrounded by people who do not have her best interests at heart and they put in her terrible situations and she just keeps going along with it because she's categorically unable to say NO.

Just about the only thing she's really fought for was having Val produce her album. And her record company is still trying to do everything possible to ruin that.

Now she and Val are on the road for her album tour and things are getting more and more complicated every time they turn around. Probably in part because of Chad, but that's another story for another day. Let's just say that Larinda is told to stay away from Val, the two of them can't stop chemistry-ing around one another, Larinda's sort-of ex is making everyone's life miserable, and Val and Larinda are forced to sneak around so nobody finds out about their relationship.

It's complicated and tangled and there's some double-agent spy stuff going on thanks to Chad. Because Chad.



Reserve your copy TODAY!


Heartsong by A.E. Wasp [Review]

Heartsong (Vino and Veritas) by A.E. Wasp
Format: ebook
Source: borrowed through Kindle Unlimited
Disclaimer: As an Amazon Associate, I earn from qualifying purchases.
Date read: May 1, 2023

Vino and Veritas
Roommate
Featherbed
Headstrong
Heartscape
Aftermath
Undercover
Booklover
Flipcup
Hideaway
Unguarded
Turnabout
Daybreak
Insatiable
Heartsong - Paperback | Kindle
Limelight
Undone
Showstopper
Unforgettable
Stronghold

Related Series:
(find all the books in the series on the 1st book review)
The Busy Bean
1. Sweetheart

In Vino Veritas
1. Wildfire

Moo U
1. Boyfriend

Speakeasy
1. Touchstone

True North
1. Bittersweet

A.E. Wasp
| Website | Amazon |

Synopsis (Goodreads):
"It just figures that the first guy I’m bringing back to my place is cute, single, and totally off-limits..."

Sean Anderson has spent his life waiting to get the hell out of West Virginia. His plans got derailed when his dad shipped him off to “pray the gay away,” but he’s over it, ready to prove that he’s a grown-ass man who can take care of himself. Of course, he’d have a better chance convincing himself if he could stop lusting after his grumpy roommate.

Army veteran Cooper Hill returned to Vermont minus one leg and one career, but determined to build a new life. When an army buddy asks Cooper to keep an eye on his nephew, a junior at the local college, Cooper can’t say no. He’s expecting a sheltered kid. What he gets is a gorgeous young man whose brilliant poetry gives voice to everything Cooper’s been trying to express. He wants Sean more than he’s ever wanted anything. And somehow, miraculously, Sean wants him too.

But wanting each other isn’t the same as being good for each other . . . especially when past pain threatens to write its own verse in their song.
Thoughts on Heartsong: We're back in Burlington with a little age gap romance. You know what? It's not even that much of an age gap. Especially given that Sean is dealing with some deeply internalized baggage and was forced to grow up way too quickly. But we'll get to that in a bit.

First: Sean and Cooper. Sean needs a place to stay while he's in starting college away from his family, Cooper needs a little help around the house. The situation works for both of them, although they both have a little crisis of conscience (or something) as they imagine all the ways them starting a relationship could go wrong with them living together.

It turns out that's not really an issue. Neither is Cooper's age. Sean likes Cooper just the way he is and Cooper likes showing Sean the relationshippy ropes. So to speak. The bulk of their issues stem from Sean being told for a big portion of his life that loving another man is wrong. Plus, his dad did something utterly reprehensible and pretty much emotionally scarred Sean in ways Sean didn't realize.

A three-legged pup, quality time spent working on Cooper's house, some steamy evening encounters, and a whole lot of love and support when it's needed most. *thumbs up*

Wednesday, April 17, 2024

Insatiable by Rhys Everly [Review]

Insatiable (Vino and Veritas) by Rhys Everly
Format: ebook
Source: purchased
Disclaimer: As an Amazon Associate, I earn from qualifying purchases.
Date read: January 28, 2024

Vino and Veritas
Roommate
Featherbed
Headstrong
Heartscape
Aftermath
Undercover
Booklover
Flipcup
Hideaway
Unguarded
Turnabout
Daybreak
Insatiable - Paperback | Kindle
Heartsong
Limelight
Undone
Showstopper
Unforgettable
Stronghold

Related Series:
(find all the books in the series on the 1st book review)
The Busy Bean
1. Sweetheart

In Vino Veritas
1. Wildfire

Moo U
1. Boyfriend

Speakeasy
1. Touchstone

True North
1. Bittersweet

Rhys Everly
| Website | Amazon |

Synopsis (Goodreads):
It was just a bet . . . until feelings got involved.

This job sucks but someone’s got to do it. My readers expect me to chronicle my very real, very steamy encounters in my novels. I’d never want to disappoint my fans, but the creative well has run a bit dry. Burlington, Vermont, seems like a good place to fill it up. This town offers a tempting array of artists, craftsmen, farmers, lumbersexuals . . . and so many beards.

But no one prepared me for Brody. He’s young. He’s hot. He’s definitely a grump. And he's getting under my skin. Where I want him is under my bed sheets.

When my friend bets I’ll never be able to get Brody there, I make winning my mission. Turns out being with Brody is more than a plot device. He’s so very wrong for my life . . . but is he right for my heart?
Thoughts on Insatiable: We're back in Burlington and a (flirty) writer and a (grumpy) maple wine maker. Logan is...honestly, he's not terribly likeable in the beginning. Which I think might be a me-thing (but maybe not) because I am NOT a fan of bets that lead to people trying to get someone in bed. To be fair, Brody is also kind of unlikeable because the guy has a massive chip on his shoulder and is just kind of an a-hole when we first meet because of it.

Brody grew on me once he grudgingly accepted Logan's help with his maple wine marketing and started getting excited about life. (No joke, the guy was a walking thundercloud when we first get introduced to him, so getting excited about anything was a VERY good thing.) Logan took a little longer to warm up to. On the plus side, he didn't try to get in anyone's pants (except Brody's) once he met Brody.

A little drama, a jealous ex, a boyfriend of the ex who was actually a pretty decent dude, maple wine, pancakes, heartache, a romance book, a writer finding his inspiration, and a wine maker who needs to find his center. It is good to be back in Burlington again!