Sunday, January 24, 2021

Saturday, January 23, 2021

Write On Review-a-thon [84]

It's time for another installment of the Write On Review-a-thon. YAY!

A little about the Review-a-thon:
Brought to you by Reading the Paranormal and the #boutofbooks-ers facebook group. This monthly review-a-thon is a chance to get caught up on outstanding reviews. Bring your to-be-reviewed list, block out some time, write reviews. It's that simple.
This month's review-a-thon will run from Friday, January 29th to Sunday, January 31st.

To find out more about the review-a-thon and future dates, visit the Review-a-thon page.

As for me...
Reviews to be written:
  • {coming soon}

Friday, January 22, 2021

The Interdimensional Lord's Earthly Delight by Elsa Jade [Review]

The Interdimensional Lord's Earthly Delight by Elsa Jade
The Interdimensional Lord's Earthly Delight (Black Hole Brides #3) by Elsa Jade
Format: ebook
Source: purchased
Disclaimer: As an Amazon Associate I earn from qualifying purchases.
Date read: May 24, 2020

Black Hole Brides
1. The Intergalactic Duke's Inconvenient Engagement
2. The Interstellar Rake's Irresistible Kiss
3. The Interdimensional Lord's Earthly DelightKindle

Elsa Jade
Website | Twitter | Facebook | Amazon |

Synopsis (Goodreads):
After a bad divorce, Lishelle Lewis was finally ready to put herself out there. She just had no idea how far out there. Abducted by a cruel, heartless alien and then rescued along with the rest of the Black Hole Brides, she’s trying to find herself again in a big universe. At least she has a big wedding where she’s a bridesmaid to distract her. Now she just needs a date for the wedding…

But there are more powerful forces at play in the universe than quantum entanglement and buttercream frosting. And Lishelle, who has always kept a piece of her heart locked away, will have to open herself—mind, body, and soul—to the chance of a love bigger than galaxies, deeper than space, and more consuming than any black hole.
Thoughts on The Interdimensional Lord's Earthly Delight: Hoo-boy. Lishelle might be final bride to open her heart to love, but she does it in the potentially most catastrophic way a person could. And by that, I mean her honey bunny is both a whole lot more and a whole lot less than what (and who) he seems on the surface.

Interdimensional lords, man. They make big waves even when they don't mean to.

To be fair, a big portion of Tynan's issues aren't of his making. The physical part, that is. He didn't ask to wear the body of a sociopath, but there he is. Living the life he's been given. However, his warlord tendencies (technically, also an issue not of his making if you consider him to be a product of his time) left him acting on instinct at times before thinking things through. Abducting someone, even if it's for their own good/safety, is still abduction and he had to work his head around why Lishelle would be opposed to such an action.

On the plus side, their forced alone time did give them a chance to get to know one another better and that worked out well for both of them.

Black holes, warlords, gods, mercenaries, and dastardly plots. Everything I expect from the Black Hole Brides.

Thursday, January 21, 2021

The Interstellar Rake's Irresistible Kiss by Elsa Jade [Review]

The Interstellar Rake's Irresistible Kiss by Elsa Jade
The Interstellar Rake's Irresistible Kiss (Black Hole Brides #2) by Elsa Jade
Format: ebook
Source: purchased
Disclaimer: As an Amazon Associate I earn from qualifying purchases.
Date read: January 9, 2020

Black Hole Brides
1. The Intergalactic Duke's Inconvenient Engagement
2. The Interstellar Rake's Irresistible KissKindle
3. The Interdimensional Lord's Earthly Delight

Elsa Jade
Website | Twitter | Facebook | Amazon |

Synopsis (Goodreads):
Imprisoned on an abandoned space station orbiting a black hole, Trixie Boudreaux prayed for just one chance to escape…and she failed. When she and the other Black Hole Brides are rescued, she’s left adrift between the coward she was and the new universe ahead of her. If only she had a guide she could trust…

Nor irThorkonos paid good galactic credits for his captain’s commission on the flagship dreadnaught, and how many erstwhile interplanetary pirates have come as far? If he has a secret that the Azthrnos nobles mustn’t discover, well, certainly one skittish Earther girl won’t be the one to find him out.

But when interstellar imprisonment can’t hold an old evil, Trixie and Nor must save not only the worlds of Azthronos but each other.
Thoughts on The Interstellar Rake's Irresistible Kiss: Trixie isn't loud and flashy or take charge like the other Black Hole Brides. In fact, she's sort of overwhelmed by everything that's happened. Which is understandable when a person's been kidnapped by a madman and held in stasis on the edge of a black hole, rescued by a bunch of hot aliens, and now has to figure out what to do with the rest of their life.

Yeah, Trixie's kind of floundering. Finding her feet isn't easy, but she has a determined ex-pirate (mostly ex, that is. He just likes to plunder occasionally now, if you know what I mean.) who isn't willing to let her hide herself away from the new world she's been dumped into. Or maybe he's not willing to let her hide herself away from him.

Not that Nor looks at it that way. Somehow, Trixie gets under his skin and makes him want to be more than a former pirate who bought his way into a position of power. She might uncover his secrets, but he's not about to let her fight her demons on her own. Especially since he knows just how damaging one's demons can be.

I'm digging these Black Hole Brides and all the crazy that comes along with being abducted to the far end of the universe on the whim of a madman. And if two people who don't quite fit in with those around them happen to find their way together and find blissful happiness, EVEN BETTER.

Wednesday, January 20, 2021

The Intergalactic Duke's Inconvenient Engagement by Elsa Jade [Review]

The Intergalactic Duke's Inconvenient Engagement by Elsa Jade
The Intergalactic Duke's Inconvenient Engagement (Black Hole Brides #1) by Elsa Jade
Format: ebook
Source: purchased
Disclaimer: As an Amazon Associate I earn from qualifying purchases.
Date read: January 6, 2020

Black Hole Brides
1. The Intergalactic Duke's Inconvenient Engagement - Kindle
2. The Interstellar Rake's Irresistible Kiss
3. The Interdimensional Lord's Earthly Delight

Elsa Jade
Website | Twitter | Facebook | Amazon |

Synopsis (Goodreads):
Turns out, alien abduction is a thing. Who would’ve believed it? Not Rayna Quaye, hard-headed, hard-working Earth girl. But when she wakes up on an abandoned space station orbiting a black hole many, many lightyears from home, she gets a crash course in such extraterrestrial inconveniences.

Speaking of inconveniences… His Grace, Aelazar Amrazal Thorkonos, Duke of Azthronos, has enough problems on his interplanetary plate. His inherited solar system is in debt, his mother wants to marry him off, and now Raz has to rescue some baffled back-world female.

But then the Black Holes Brides are bequeathed the salvaged space station. Faster than light, Rayna has fortune hunters after her. Conveniently, the Duke of Azthronos has an engaging idea...
Thoughts on The Intergalactic Duke's Inconvenient Engagement: First off, this title is ridiculously long (especially when you have to type it several times), but MAN I like the energy behind it. There's so much going on here it makes me giddy with delight. Throwback to old school romance titles? YOU BET! Intergalactic mayhem and shenanigans? SUPER YES! Awesomeness on so many levels.

But let's talk about the book itself. Raz and Rayna. He's the beleaguered new duke of an empire teetering on the brink of financial ruin. She's an off-worlder from a backwater planet who's been kidnapped for unknown reasons and is reeling from everything she's experienced. To say they're from two completely different social backgrounds probably would be understating things. I mean, if Blackworm hadn't kidnapped her, they'd be LITERAL worlds apart.

But Rayna was kidnapped and Raz helped rescue her and now he's getting pressure from his domineering mama to do what's right for their people. While I do understand where his mother was coming from, putting events in motion that had the potential to hurt people who had already been victimized was low, man. Low.

Fortunately, Raz does have a backbone and he did what was right despite the pressure on him. AND MAGIC HAPPENED.

An intergalactic duke, a battered, but still strong woman, and a black hole on the edge of a solar system. GOOD STUFF.

Tuesday, January 19, 2021

Married to Krampus by Marina Simcoe [Review]

Married to Krampus (My Holiday Tails #1) by Marina Simcoe
Format: ebook
Source: borrowed through Kindle Unlimited
Disclaimer: As an Amazon Associate I earn from qualifying purchases.
Date read: December 5, 2020

My Holiday Tails
1. Married to Krampus - Paperback | Kindle
2. My Tiny Giant

Marina Simcoe
Website | Facebook | Amazon |

Synopsis (Goodreads):
My husband has horns, hooves, fur, and a tail.
His Krampus-like appearance didn’t scare me away from marrying him. Forever an optimist, I eagerly agreed to be the first bride shipped under the new liaison program to Voran, a country on the newly discovered planet Neron. The Colonel also has two little boys—a huge plus for me since I adore children.

My down-to-earth sister says I live with my head in the clouds. And maybe I naively hoped for an out-of-this-world romance.

What I didn’t expect was an out-of-this-world brute. The scowling, growling, rough-around-the-edges Colonel proves hard to live with and impossible to love. He’s also proud and possessive and is dead set on keeping me as his wife.

Did I mention he has horns? Well, he’s also horny… And our expectations of marriage don’t exactly align.

There is something behind the scowl of this infuriating man, though, that intrigues me. Catching glimpses of his strong, fur-covered body makes my stomach flutter with excitement.

I came to Voran hoping to find my place in its culture and in the Colonel’s heart.
Could there be a way to make this thing between us work?
Thoughts on Married to Krampus: Upbeat heroines thrown into unknown situations (which really wasn't Daisy's fault in this case since she was shafted {snerf} on relevant info on the planet and people she was heading to) who persevere despite everything thrown at them are my THANG, people. Throw in a grumpy, possessive alien (Hellllllo, Colonel!) and I'm a goner.

Alright. So. Daisy. She's perky, optimistic, and she's kind of thrilled at the chance to interact with the Colonel's kiddos. She's also woefully unprepared for a lot of things when it comes to marriage to Grevar. Like, how his kids live at the academy (not at home as Daisy was expecting) and Grevar is kind of non-communicative. No, that's not right. He communicates, he's just not big on small talk or being friendly.

On his end, Grevar is determined to make this marriage work. As the first Voranian to take a human bride, he's absolutely not going to let this thing that have going on between them fail. But he's...well, there are a few missteps on everyone's side here and things don't go as the Colonel plans. Not at first, at least.

They both have to bend a little to meet in the middle and it's just a fun ride to get them to that point. Because plucky heroines and growly heroes are enjoyable!

Monday, January 18, 2021

Unidentified by Anna Hackett [Review]

Unidentified by Anna Hackett
Unidentified (Treasure Hunter Security #7) by Anna Hackett
Format: ebook
Source: purchased
Disclaimer: As an Amazon Associate I earn from qualifying purchases.
Date read: February 23, 2020

Treasure Hunter Security
1. Undiscovered
2. Uncharted
3. Unexplored
4. Unfathomed
5. Untraveled
6. Unmapped
7. UnidentifiedPaperback | Kindle
8. Undetected

Anna Hackett
Website | Twitter | Facebook | Amazon |

Synopsis (Goodreads):
The Emerald Tear: ambitious archeologist Oliver Ward leads a dig in the wild jungles of Ecuador and collides with feisty, independent treasure hunter Persephone.

Oliver Ward loves getting his boots dirty on fascinating digs, and investigating strange ruins in Ecuador is no exception. When bandits threaten his team, a small, tough treasure hunter bursts into his world to save the day. He finds himself captivated by the bright, vibrant woman and sucked into a wild and dangerous treasure hunt for a lost Incan emerald.

Daughter of a con artist, Persephone Blake trusts no one and has a plan—find and sell artifacts until she can retire on a white-sand beach. But her plans are derailed when a handsome, smart, and stubborn archeologist pushes his way onto her hunt. She finds herself irresistibly tempted by Oliver, and as they trek deeper into the jungle, danger follows. And Persephone isn’t sure what is in more danger—her body or her heart.

The Emerald Butterfly: former Navy SEAL Diego Torres finds himself helping the one woman who drives him crazy—the DEA agent who boarded his ship and handcuffed him.

Injured and tortured on a mission, Diego Torres was ready to leave the SEALs and loves being captain of his salvage ship, the Storm Nymph. As he begins his vacation, he planned for solitude, late mornings, and drinking beers while watching the Florida sunsets, what he didn’t plan for was the gorgeous DEA agent who boarded his ship several months before. And he really didn’t plan for an underwater expedition in search of a shipwreck and a priceless Incan emerald.

Sloan McBride’s grandfather dreamed of finding the Emerald Butterfly his entire life. Now he’s dying and she vows to find it for him…even if she has to work with the hard-bodied ex-SEAL she got off to a very wrong start with. But as Sloan and Diego work side by side, dogged by dangerous black-market thieves Silk Road, they uncover a scorching hot passion. They will do anything to protect each other, including calling in their friends from Treasure Hunter Security, and they’ll risk everything to beat Silk Road to the emerald.
Thoughts on Unidentified: THS is gearing up to bring down Silk Road and...well, there are a few things that still need to fall into place before that can happen.

In The Emerald Tear, we get to see Mama and Papa Ward meet, fall in love, and thwart some bad guys. Honestly, it's a little more complicated than that (because Persephone FIGHTS feeling any emotions for Oliver something fierce) and the thwarting came with substantial danger attached to it. Which is pretty much how their kids do things, come to think of it, so it's par for the course when it comes to romance and artifact gathering on this one.

(BUT SERIOUSLY, Persephone and Oliver are pretty dang steamy and they made some OUTSTANDING kids, so I was really loving this story.)

In The Emerald Butterfly, Sloan's grandfather was on the dig where Oliver and Persephone found the Tear and he's been searching for its other half ever since. Sloan teams up with an sexy ex-SEAL she butted heads with in the past to find it and bring some closure to his search. It all sounds fine and dandy, but both Sloan and Diego are pretty distracted by the sparks they generate around one another which makes for an interesting trip.

Plus, you know, there's the danger and bad guys that go hand in hand with treasure hunting. That made it interesting, too.

ANYWHO. I'm loving digging into these novellas and seeing Silk Road get what's coming for them. *thumbs up*