Thursday, December 13, 2018

Her Alien Warrior by Mira Maxwell [Review]

 Her Alien Warrior by Mira Maxwell
Her Alien Warrior (Guards of Attala #4) by Mira Maxwell
Format: ebook
Source: provided by the author for review
Date read: January 6, 2018

Guards of Attala
1. Her Alien Bodyguard
2. Her Alien Protector
3. Her Alien Commander
4. Her Alien Warrior Kindle
5. Her Alien Defender

Mira Maxwell
Amazon |

Synopsis (Goodreads):
Savannah Gray is homesick. Her part of the mission has turned out to be a bust (nobody needs a medic when you’re dealing with giant self-healing aliens). She can’t wait to leave the ice planet Attala in her dust and head back to Earth.

Until she meets Ozmyx.

Ozmyx, the second-in-command of the elite Attalan Guard, is assigned as her alien bodyguard. The fierce warrior was raised by a severe father and is only interested in fighting. Until Savannah thaws his ice-cold heart with her sweet Southern charm. Suddenly, he’s questioning everything he’s ever known.

Things heat up when they’re forced to rely on each other for survival in the harsh winter landscape. Will she be able to break through the walls he has built up around his heart? Or will Ozmyx let his fated mate slip out of his grasp?
Thoughts on Her Alien Warrior: Big, tough aliens falling for human woman is one of those tropes I ADORE. I enjoy watching men who have no intention of falling for the women who are so unlike women on their own planet end up hopelessly tangled up in relationships with them.

Savannah and Ozmyx have their share of difficulties. Mostly in that Ozmyx is determined to NOT fall into the trap of mating one of the humans like his warrior brothers have. Which means Savannah spends most of her time on Attala with a surly, gruff warrior she's sure doesn't like her. Until, of course, Savannah's life if threatened and Ozmyx realizes he could be letting his greatest treasure go without even trying.

A few secrets are uncovered, the crew have to face that they're going to need to do something radical to get one of their own back, and a surprise announcement or two are made. Considering Earth needs the mineral the crew has found to keep from dying, I'm wondering how things are going to play out in the final book.

Wednesday, December 12, 2018

Space Ranger by Lea Kirk [Review]

 Space Ranger by Lea Kirk
Space Ranger (Prophecy) by Lea Kirk
Format: ebook
Source: purchased as part of the Pets in Space anthology
Date read: February 16, 2017

Prophecy
1. Prophecy
2. Salvation
3. Collision
4. Lost
5. Hunted
All of Me
Space Ranger - Kindle

Lea Kirk
| Website | Twitter | Facebook | Amazon |

Synopsis (Goodreads):
Graig Roble is the Senior Commander of security for the Guardian Fleet. His expertise as a weapons specialist and combat master is his world, what he was born to do – or so he thought until he finds his resolve and focus inexplicably wavering. Even returning to his position aboard the Atlantis can’t save him; if anything, it has left him questioning his own motives. He never thought that could happen until he met Simone Campbell.

Simone’s focus is on her home world – Earth. She thought her life was full with her research as a botanist. After all, she always believed that helping the people of her world become self-sufficient should take all of her concentration – except it doesn’t. There is one man that keeps pulling her attention, and her heart, away from her job.

Graig’s gift of a puppy to keep her company does more than that, it keeps him in her dreams. How can such a simple gift bring her comfort and make her long for more? Graig and Simone are about to find out that sometimes love can blossom from the smallest, furriest ties.
Thoughts on Space Ranger: Aliens, man. You gotta love their commitment to their people. Well, I mean, you don't have to, but it is sort of admirable that Graig would put his own wants aside to help his people do their thing out in space. It did suck for Simone--and Graig, come to think of it--but he proved he had scruples if nothing else.

I liked that Graig had his booty handed to him by a human female when he refused to admit he had a problem. I liked that he took steps to make things right.

Interesting world and characters with the potential for plenty of adventures. I like adventures and potential.

Tuesday, December 11, 2018

Death Knell by Hailey Edwards [Review]

 Death Knell by Hailey Edwards
Death Knell (The Foundling #3) by Hailey Edwards
Format: ebook
Source: provided through NetGalley
Date read: November 24, 2018

The Foundling
1. Bayou Born
2. Bone Driven
3. Death KnellKindle

Hailey Edwards
Website | Twitter | Facebook | Amazon |

Synopsis (Goodreads):
War burned her. Famine nearly killed her. Now Death is at her heels.

After her two worlds clashed apocalyptically, Luce Boudreau needed some time out. But Destiny had other ideas. When bodies begin washing ashore down the Mississippi River, Luce discovers they are part of a gruesome, lethal message. Her final sister, Death, is trying to break through.

Every sign is clear: the end is coming, but earth will be destroyed - quite literally - over Luce's dead body, even if that means she'll be battling her own nature. And her coterie will stand with her, though Cole keeps standing one step too goddamn far away. Her mysterious new partner, Adam Wu, on the other hand, seems determined to keep her close at all times. And the more Luce learns about the new world she's part of, the deeper the secrets go. Who - if anyone - can she really trust?

As the final pieces of an ancient war come together, Luce's chance to fight back comes sooner than she expected. Death can come at her . . . she's eager to return the favour.
Thoughts on Death Knell: This series continues to keep me on my toes. Luce's battle against who she is now and what her previous incarnations have done just...I don't know. I'm hooked. Luce is a hot mess who's trying to reconcile the her from before with the morality her human father has instilled in her. And it's fascinating.

Throw in her overwhelming attraction to Cole and the drive within her to keep her coterie safe PLUS a few HUGE revelations about the hows and whys of what she's doing on earth and my head is spinning. In the best possible way, of course.

Not only do we get some big things happening, we also get to see a new side of Conquest's sisters. War and Famine hit hard and fast when they got to earth, but Death seems to have another tactic in mind and it's not what Luce was expecting. In any way. Any. At all.

Things continue to progress. I'm talking relationships, friendships, and alliances. Luce and Cole are finally reaching the point where they're not perpetually pushing against one another and it's fantastic. I like those two together. There are so many layers between them and they're a bit of a mess right now, but they're working things out. Slowly.

THINGS are happening. Holy wow, so many things. The next book will likely blow all the theories I've been putting together out of the water. And I'm okay with that. I'm completely ready to see where Luce's story leads me.

Monday, December 10, 2018

Wallbanger by Alice Clayton [Review]

 Wallbanger by Alice Clayton
Wallbanger (Cocktail #1) by Alice Clayton
Format: ebook
Source: purchased
Date read: February 19, 2018

Cocktail
1. Wallbanger - Paperback | Kindle
2. Rusty Nailed
3. Screwdrivered
4. Mai Tai'd Up
4.5. Last Call

Alice Clayton
| Website | Twitter | Facebook | Amazon |

Synopsis (Goodreads):
The first night after Caroline moves into her fantastic new San Francisco apartment, she realizes she's gaining an intimate knowledge of her new neighbor's nocturnal adventures. Thanks to paper-thin walls and the guy's athletic prowess, she can hear not just his bed banging against the wall but the ecstatic response of what seems (as loud night after loud night goes by) like an endless parade of women. And since Caroline is currently on a self-imposed dating hiatus, and her neighbor is clearly lethally attractive to women, she finds her fantasies keep her awake even longer than the noise. So when the wallbanging threatens to literally bounce her out of bed, Caroline, clad in sexual frustration and a pink baby-doll nightie, confronts Simon Parker, her heard-but-never-seen neighbor. The tension between them is as thick as the walls are thin, and the results just as mixed. Suddenly, Caroline is finding she may have discovered a whole new definition of neighborly...
Thoughts on Wallbanger: Okay, I liked this book overall, but I'm weirdly weirded out by how some people (I'm being intentionally vague here) went out of their way to conceal their matchmaking from Caroline and Simon. It's a relatively minor plot point and I have NO IDEA why it bothers me, but it does.

That said, Caroline and Simon were a hoot. She draws conclusions about him based on a very limited understanding of his actions (to be honest, I kinda did, too. I mean, the guys seems like a pretty big manwhore from the slice of his life we first glimpse. BUT...he surprised me.) and he sees her as his own personal, err, sexual shenanigan blocker. Which is true, is some regards.

You know how it is...a guy meets a girl he can't get out of his head and suddenly all the others in his harem aren't doing it for him anymore. In the same vein, Simon's vigorous late-night shenanigans give Caroline some VIVID material for her spank bank.

Simon surprised me, Caroline's situation was cringe-worthy (and by that I mean both her inability to complete and having to listen to her neighbor giving it to someone REPEATEDLY), and the story was fun. Here's to more wallbanging in the future!

Sunday, December 9, 2018

RtP's Week in Review (12/09/18)

Reading the Paranormal's Week in Review
Bookish Delights
  • Books added to the pile
    • Uggh. I know I picked up a few new books this week, but I wasn't real great about tracking them, yo.
    • Currently reading 
      • Jock Rule by Sara Ney
    Globetrotting...

    Saturday, December 8, 2018

    Dirty Uncle by Alexa Riley and Jessa Kane [Review]

     Dirty Uncle by Alexa Riley and Jessa Kane
    Dirty Uncle by Alexa Riley and Jessa Kane
    Format: ebook
    Source: purchased
    Date read: December 22, 2017

    Purchase LinksKindle

    Alexa Riley
    Website | Twitter | Facebook | Amazon |

    Jessa Kane
    Amazon |

    Synopsis (Goodreads):
    Rex spends a lot of time on king crab fishing boats. So much time that he can’t remember the last time he felt the warmth of a woman. So when his barely legal, half-naked niece lands in his lap, he can’t seem to control himself.

    Clara is old enough to make her own decisions, and she’s decided she wants her step-uncle Rex. He’s big and dirty, but tell that to her aching body.

    Warning: When Jessa and Alexa team up you know it’s going to be terrible. Turn down the lights and grab some fresh batteries. This one is straight filth!
    Thoughts on Dirty Uncle: I know I say this about EVERY Alexa Riley book I read, but, MAN, they are ridiculously over the top fun. I just like them. Two people want one another and they might fight the attraction, but they ultimately find a fantastic HEA.

    In this case, Rex is dead set against defiling his extremely innocent step-niece. She, however, knows that the only person who's ever made her feel alive is the gruff, rough-around-the-edges man who tries to hide his lusty looks. THINGS HAPPEN and everybody ends up in their happy place.

    Sexy times, a lonely man coming to terms with the nature of their relationship, and a young woman determined to grab onto her happiness with both hands. <3

    Friday, December 7, 2018

    When He Was Bad by Shelly Laurenston, Cynthia Eden [Review]

     When He Was Bad by Shelly Laurenston, Cynthia Eden
    When He Was Bad by Shelly Laurenston, Cynthia Eden
    Format: ebook
    Source: purchased
    Date read: January 4, 2018

    Amazon links
    When He Was Bad - Paperback | Kindle

    Shelly Laurenston
    Website | Amazon |

    Cynthia Eden
    Website | Twitter | Facebook | Amazon |

    Synopsis (Goodreads):
    A scorching after-dark anthology featuring Alpha males so hot, so wild, and so bad, they may just be the best you've ever had...

    Shelly Laurenston
    Miss Congeniality

    I'm young, good looking, and one day I'll be Alpha Male of my family's Pack. But Professor Irene Conridge acts like I don't even exist. Now she's got enemies coming out of the woodwork and I have to protect her. Of course, it doesn't hurt that while I work to secure her safety, she'll be hanging out at my house--right where I want her.

    Cynthia Eden
    Wicked Ways

    When I hear my sexy new neighbor scream one night, the absolute last thing I expect to see is Miranda Shaw--star of my hottest fantasies--being attacked by a vampire. Too bad for him I'm a badass shifter ready to fight for my fantasies. And Miranda, well, she's so busy watching out for him that she won't see me closing in on her. .
    Thoughts on When He Was Bad: I honestly can't resist Shelly Laurenston's shifters. They're like furry crack to me. No, wait. That sounds wrong.

    Anyway.

    Miss Congeniality - Oh, MAN. Going back to before Van was the Alpha of the Van Holtz pack and before he and Irene had mated was HILARIOUS. Mostly because Irene was so wonderfully pragmatic about everything. Literally everything. Sex. Her looks. People who can turn into animals at will. The lady is logical and blunt to a fault and I LOVED her for it. Plus, she's brutally efficient when she needs to be. When surrounded by predators that's not a bad thing to be. At all.

    The men are relentless. The women hold their own. The sex is smokin'. This story was everything I've come to expect from Shelly Laurenston's shifters.

    Wicked Ways - Miranda and Cain. The human who accidentally gets tangled up with a sadistic vampire and the shifter who takes it on himself to keep her safe. Given that Cain has a deep, deep craving for Miss Miranda, you can probably see how things progress. To be fair, Cain does try to control himself. It's just, you know, hard when the lady of your dreams is teasing your senses.

    A nasty vampire, a hot-blooded shifter, and the lady who suddenly finds herself smack dab in the middle of a hidden supernatural world. *thumbs up*