Monday, September 27, 2021

Weapons Master by Anna Hackett [Review]

Weapons Master by Anna Hackett
Weapons Master (Galactic Gladiators: House of Rone #6) by Anna Hackett
Format: ebook
Source: borrowed through Kindle Unlimited
Disclaimer: As an Amazon Associate, I earn from qualifying purchases.
Date read: August 12, 2020

Galactic Gladiators
(Find all the books in this amazing series on the 1st book review)
1. Gladiator

Galactic Gladiators: House of Rone
1. Sentinel
2. Defender
3. Centurion
4. Paladin
5. Guard
6. Weapons MasterKindle

Anna Hackett
Website | Twitter | Facebook | Amazon |

Synopsis (Goodreads):
A grumpy cyborg weapons master collides with a feisty mechanic from Earth who turns his ordered existence upside down.

Abducted from her exploration ship and enslaved on a desert world, mechanic Bellamy Walsh has fought for her survival. She’s had to fight for everything in her life, and she doesn’t ever expect things to be easy. After being rescued by the tough, deadly cyborgs of the House of Rone, she is shocked to find herself drawn to a grumpy beast of a cyborg. A genius weapons master who prefers his solitude. A man with scars of his own. A man whose brawny arms are the only thing that chase away Bellamy’s nightmares.

Maxon Shaye likes to be left alone to work. He doesn’t mind his fellow cyborg brethren, but he finds people annoying and chaotic. He’s disconcerted by his growing need to keep Bellamy Walsh safe, and thinks she’s irritating and brash. The woman keeps invading his workshop, getting in his space, and…the even more infuriating thing is that he’s actually starting to like her there. What he doesn’t like is her burning need to throw herself back into danger.

Bellamy is determined to help bring down her captors—the metal-scavenging Edull and their deadly desert battle arena—and that makes her a target. She knows too much and the Edull will stop at nothing to silence her. Maxon will do anything to keep her safe, even if that means threatening the growing bond between them. But in order to destroy the Edull’s arena once and for, Maxon and Bellamy will put everything on the line—their desire, their love, their lives.
Thoughts on Weapons Master: It's time for grumpy Maxon and determined Bellamy to do their thing. He's gloriously anti-social, talented at crafted weapons, and not looking to get involved in ANYTHING that involves interacting with others. She's one of the abducted Earth women who's been making trouble for the Edull while trying to figure out a way to escape their clutches.

For all Maxon doesn't want to get involved, he's been drawn to Bellamy since he first laid eyes on her. When she fell back into the hands of her captors, he was driven to rescue her. And once she was safe? Well, he's still protective and grumpy and somehow that's exactly what Bellamy needs.

Well, she needs a protective, scowly weapons master AND to exact revenge on those who held her captive. The lady has STYLE when it comes to wholesale destruction, btw. She's good at causing messes. Especially when she has the right tools at hand and allies at her back.

I've been loving these books since we were first introduced to Carthago and the gladiators who worked to help others behind the scenes. This arc might have ended (gloriously, might I add), but it looks like there's more in store with the introduction of one hunky king. I CAN'T WAIT!

Sunday, September 26, 2021

RtP's Week in Review (09/26/21)

Reading the Paranormal's Week in Review
Bookish Delights
Globetrotting...
  • KellyApple.com
    • This week's Feature Friday gives us a kraken/human pairing with Deep. You know what they say...the bigger the monster, the harder they are the hide!

Saturday, September 25, 2021

Dark Light by Jayne Castle [Review]

Dark Light (Ghost Hunters #5, Harmony #5) by Jayne Castle
Format: ebook
Source: purchased
Disclaimer: As an Amazon Associate, I earn from qualifying purchases.
Date read: February 8, 2021

Ghost Hunters
0.5. Bridal Jitters
1. After Dark
2. After Glow
3. Ghost Hunter
4. Silver Master
5. Dark Light - Paperback | Kindle
6. Obsidian Prey
7. Midnight Crystal
8. Canyons of Night
9. The Lost Night
10. Deception Cove
11. The Hot Zone
12. Siren's Call
13. Illusion Town
14. Guild Boss

Jayne Castle (AKA Jayne Ann Krentz)
| Website | Twitter | Facebook | Amazon |

Synopsis (Goodreads):
Reporter Sierra McIntyre's stories on Crystal City's ghost hunters—and their mysterious guild—have earned her tabloid a bit of respect. It helps that she has her incredible intuition to fall back on. Especially when she interviews Ghost Hunter Guild Boss John Fontana about the disappearances of retired, homeless hunters.

Sierra doesn't want to trust the physically and psychically powerful man, but her senses—and her pet dust bunny, Elvis—give her the green light. To uncover the conspiracy within his own organization, Fontana proposes . . . marriage. And though it's purely a business arrangement, there is nothing pure about the attraction that sizzles between them.
Thoughts on Dark Light: This was supposed to be a re-read, but...I don't think I read this one originally (I also somehow skipped book 2 in my years-ago reading binge, so there's that). Anywho. Ghost hunters with mysterious powers and the ladies who are more than a match for their ways. I'm still in!

Sierra and Fontana. He's pretty much smitten from the moment he lays eyes on her. She's wary because he's a Guild boss. And by that, I mean she's SUPER suspicious of pretty much everything he does. This might be a deal-breaker, but it's not. Because, as mentioned, Fontana is smitten.

On the plus side, Sierra's suspicion isn't unfounded. Fontana might be one of the good guys, but there are plenty of other people out there who are willing to do bad things for power and money. And guess what? Sierra's investigative stories aren't making them happy. Fortunately, she has Fontana on her side and he's a powerful ghost hunter who isn't going to let his new special someone fall prey to the baddies.

A little danger, a quiet moment or two (in an underground alien jungle, no less!), sexy times, uncovering the truth, and two people figuring things out. I like!

Friday, September 24, 2021

Delivering Evil for Experts by Annette Marie [Review]

Delivering Evil for Experts (The Guild Codex: Demonized #4) by Annette Marie
Format: ebook
Source: borrowed through Kindle Unlimited
Disclaimer: As an Amazon Associate, I earn from qualifying purchases.
Date read: October 16, 2020

The Guild Codex: Demonized
1. Taming Demons for Beginners
2. Slaying Monsters for the Feeble
3. Hunting Fiends for the Ill-Equipped
4. Delivering Evil for ExpertsKindle

Annette Marie
Website | Facebook | Amazon |

Synopsis (Goodreads):
I promised to avenge my parents.

But their killer is still on the loose, and he's stolen more than my parents' lives. Now, as he draws closer to his mysterious goals, he's poised to destroy what little I have left.

I promised to translate an ancient grimoire.

But it holds the secrets of my family--and the secret history of demon summoning. I fear its answers as much as I need them. Who was the foremother of Demonica...and who am I?

I promised to send my demon home.

But the way he watches me, the way he protects me, the way he touches me--how can I cast him away forever? I swore I would do this for him, but can I? Should I?

But I promised--and I will keep my promises even if they cost me my heart, my soul, and my life.
Thoughts on Delivering Evil for Experts: I'm always a little bummed to have a series I'm invested in end, but MAN did this one give me everything I wanted. Running parallel to Tori and her crew's actions to save Ezra, we get to see how Robin, Zylas, and Amalia figured out the spells to help Ezra in his fight. We got to see the epic battle between the cultists and the guilds from Robin's point of view and we got to spend LOTS of quality time with the summoner and her demon as they worked together to fulfill Robin's promise to send Zylas home.

Which isn't exactly what Robin wants, but she did make a promise. Robin is still running scared when it comes to her feelings (understandably) and she's terrified of the day she'll be abandoned by the person who means the most to her (again) and these two have to figure out how to share all those scary emotions bubbling up between them. Let's just say it's a bumpy road to get where they need to be and it's not made any easier by (a) the loss of their telepathic link and (b) the reality of how the next spell they need to cast needs to play out in order for it to work.

Yeah, it's a bumpy road. But it's so so SO gloriously worth it when things finally come together.

A little infighting, some surprisingly allies, magic, mayhem, and steamy kisses (among other things). Like I said, I'm bummed to see this series come to end, BUT WHAT A WAY TO GO.

Thursday, September 23, 2021

Unleashed by her Bear by Felicity Heaton [Review]

Unleashed by her Bear (Black Ridge Bears #4) by Felicity Heaton
Format: ebook
Source: provided for review
Disclaimer: As an Amazon Associate, I earn from qualifying purchases.
Date read: September 7, 2021

Black Ridge Bears
1. Stolen by her Bear
2. Rescued by her Bear
3. Saved by her Bear
4. Unleashed by her Bear - Paperback | Kindle
5. Awakened by her Bear

Felicity Heaton
Website | Twitter | Facebook | Amazon |

Synopsis (Goodreads):
Bear shifter Rune hates wolf shifters. Wolves and the hunter organisation Archangel have taken too much from him and the only good wolf is a dead wolf… so when a howl goes up in Black Ridge territory, Rune is out for blood. Only he’s not prepared for the sleek, beautiful and fiery female he finds trapped in a hunter’s snare… or the shadow of his past she has on her tail.

On the run from a pack leader determined to enslave her, Callie is desperate to reach the sanctuary of the White Wolf pack. When she finds herself caught in a trap, things look as if they can’t get any worse… until a mountain of a man emerges from the night, an ice-cold bear who is equal parts alluring and terrifying, and might just be the key to securing her freedom.

Can Callie crack the ice around Rune’s heart and convince him to help her? And when the price of his revenge is risking getting another female killed, will Rune be willing to pay it?
Thoughts on Unleashed by her Bear: It's Rune's turn to find his happily ever after and he...well, he fights against that HEA pretty hard. I mean, the guy DOES NOT want to even *like* the wolf he's found on Black Ridge territory. Much less contemplate anything more than escorting her off their land.

Except, he's just stubborn enough to want answers on why she's running and who she's on the run from. Seeing as Callie's nearly as stubborn as him, getting those answers is difficult. And once he DOES find out the whys and whos, he's kind of stuck on seeing things through to the end. Again, because he's kind of stubborn and stuff.

On Callie's end, she ran from a bad situation and she's not about to put herself at the mercy of someone who snarls and lashes out at everyone. Except, the more she learns about Rune, the more she sees that he's not nearly as hard-hearted as he pretends to be. Which isn't to say things are easy between the two of them because two stubborn shifters going toe-to-toe make sparks!

Familiar faces, a new shifter group tossed into the mix, steam, growls, and closure for more than one person. These bears grumble hard and fall even harder and I am so here for that!

Damned Souls and a Sangria by Annette Marie [Review]

Damned Souls and a Sangria (The Guild Codex: Spellbound #8) by Annette Marie

Format: ebook
Source: borrowed through Kindle Unlimited
Disclaimer: As an Amazon Associate, I earn from qualifying purchases.
Date read: October 6, 2020

The Guild Codex: Spellbound
1. Three Mages and a Margarita
2. Dark Arts and a Daiquiri
3. Two Witches and a Whiskey
4. Demon Magic and a Martini
5. The Alchemist and an Amaretto
6. Druid Vices and a Vodka
7. Lost Talismans and a Tequila
8. Damned Souls and a SangriaKindle

Annette Marie
Website | Facebook | Amazon |

Synopsis (Goodreads):
Once upon a time, I was your average spunky redhead with the lamest employment history ever, a shaky relationship with my only family member, and no idea what I was doing with my life.

Now, I'm a pseudo mythic with the best bartending job in the world, the most amazing (and hot) best friends I never knew I needed, and a guild of misfit magic-users who've become my extended family.

And I'm about to lose it all.

In my desperation to save Ezra, I stumbled into a web of ruthless deception—and seriously pissed off a sleeping hydra. Now its every murderous head is turned toward me and my guild, and I don't know how to stop it. I'm not sure I can.

I'm not sure anyone can.

But if we don't, we're all doomed—Ezra, Aaron, Kai, and my beloved guild.
Thoughts on Damned Souls and a Sangria: Oh, what a satisfying ending to everything Tori and her guild have been through. Bad guys were confronted, allies were unearthed (not literally). Heck, Tori, who struggled so valiantly with finding her place in the world when we first met her, has done just that. She has friends and family and a certain special someone who will support her through anything that gets thrown in her direction.

But before she reaches that point, the group has several hurdles to overcome. You know, things like Ezra's demon and the twisted guild on their trail and MagiPol making unilateral decisions that paints a target on everyone's back.

The hurdles are pretty big, but they have a solid crew and a lot of can-do spirit. And a few of those aforementioned allies who help in big ways.

Satisfying, a little bloody, and a whole lot of fun. I'm always sorry to see a series of this caliber end, but BOY did I like where it went. *thumbs up*

Wednesday, September 22, 2021

For Love or Honey by Staci Hart [Review]

For Love or Honey by Staci Hart
Format: ebook
Source: provided for review
Disclaimer: As an Amazon Associate, I earn from qualifying purchases.
Date read: September 16, 2021

Purchase LinksPaperback | Kindle

Related Books
Bet the Farm
Friends with Benedicts
For Love or Honey
Honey-side Up

Staci Hart
Website | Twitter | Facebook | Amazon |

Synopsis (Goodreads):
When the devil comes to town, you have to meet him head-on.

Which is exactly what I did when Grant Stone rolled into our small Texas town, driving a sports car I could fit in the bed of my truck, wearing a suit as black as his soul. He’s here to acquire mineral rights to half a dozen farms in town.

And there’s no way he’s getting mine.

I don’t make deals with the devil.

So when he challenges me to show him the small town ropes, my motivation is the prospect of seeing him make a fool of himself. He might have an angle, but if he thinks he can finagle me into endangering my bee farm, he’s got another thing coming.

Until the line in the sand is washed away.

My farm in danger. A town in upheaval. A man who will stop at nothing to get what he wants.

And me in the middle.

When the devil comes to town, you have to meet him head-on.

And when he sneaks into your heart, he’ll only break it.
Thoughts on For Love or Honey: The Blum family is front and center and they do NOT disappoint. Jo is sassy, gifted with bees, and determined to show Grant Stone that there's nothing he can do that will convince her or her family to sign away the mineral rights on their farm. Unfortunately for her, the more time she spends with Grant trying to get under his skin, the more he gets under hers.

And somewhere along the way, her heart gets involved.

As for Grant, he's good at a job he's indifferent to, trying to prove himself to a man he hates, and he's finding he likes Lindenbach and the Blum family and a certain sassy woman who threw an egg in his face far more than he expected. But he's still there for a reason and no matter how much Jo gets under his skin (in a good way!), he has a job to do.

Yeah, you can see the potential for disaster between these two long before it ever happens and WOW it stings painfully hard when it hits. Grant's not a bad guy, he's just chosen a path that puts him at odds with the woman he's falling for. Jo never intended to actually LIKE Grant and she certainly never meant to fall in love, so his actions cut deep when everything is revealed.

That said, Jo's fierce and Grant's strong enough to take a stand when it matters most and ... *squishes these two together*

Have I mentioned Jo's sisters? Yeah, they're pretty spectacular. Sassy and spunky and full of all the love a close-knit family has fermenting inside them. Am I looking forward to watching Daisy get bit by the love-bug next? YOU BET I AM!