Sunday, January 26, 2020

RtP's Week in Review (01/26/20)

Reading the Paranormal's Week in Review
Bookish Delights

Saturday, January 25, 2020

Ice Bound by Tiffany Roberts [Review]

 Ice Bound by Tiffany Roberts
Ice Bound by Tiffany Roberts
Format: ebook
Source: purchased
Date read: January 9, 2019

Purchase linksKindle

Tiffany Roberts
Website | Twitter | Facebook | Amazon |

Synopsis (Goodreads):
Anna knows the loss and pain that can be wrought by winter’s harshness intimately. For years, she’s isolated herself, refusing the let go of the guilt that consumes her – until the winds of a blizzard bring a stranger to her door. With his compelling tales and heated kisses, Anna fears she hasn’t only opened her home to him, but also her heart.
Thoughts on Ice Bound: A wintry short story that pairs a lost, broken young woman up with a man who has the ability to heal her if she can find the courage to let him in. Definitely fun (in a literary sense, not what Anna went through) and it satisfied my desire for a story set against a snowy backdrop. (What? It's a thing. I like when two people are trapped by the harsh realities of snow and frost and all that jazz.) (Trust me, it's a THING. A thing I like.)

Anywho. Anna is a lot broken and she's isolated herself to the point where even the hint of someone invading her space sends her into a tailspin. Fortunately for her, Neledrim is patient and careful and his kindness and care creep under her shields to give her a chance at living again.

Like I said, it hit the spot for me. *thumbs up*

Friday, January 24, 2020

High Moon by Kati Wilde [Review]

 High Moon by Kati Wilde
High Moon by Kati Wilde
Format: ebook
Source: borrowed through Kindle Unlimited
Date read: March 5, 2019

Related Books
Beauty in Spring
High Moon - Paperback | Kindle
Teacher's Pet Wolf

Kati Wilde
Website | Twitter | Amazon |

Synopsis (Goodreads):
Her mother always told her not to feed stray wolves...

Running a ranch is hard enough, so Makena Laine doesn't need any complications in her life. But the development company that's determined to take her land isn't giving her much choice. They've run off her help, pulled down her fences...and she's afraid they've only just begun.

So when she stops alongside the road to assist a cowboy with a broken-down truck, she isn't looking for more trouble, no matter how gorgeous that trouble is. Ethan Grimmson is bigger than any man has a right to be, doesn't say much, and—if she's honest—he’s also a bit scary. Yet considering that she's in danger of losing her ranch...maybe scary is exactly what she needs.

If so, that's exactly what she's going to get—in the form of a giant werewolf. Because Ethan’s got teeth and claws, and he’s been hunting a long time, trying to track down the murderers who killed his family—until an irresistible scent drags him straight to Makena's ranch. Eventually, he'll have to rip out his heart and leave her behind; but for now, he'll protect her from the vultures circling her land. Except the threat stalking them is bigger than either could have imagined, and is leading to a showdown that might destroy them both...
Thoughts on High Moon: Yesssss. A wolf looking for answers who's been drifting since his family was murdered and a woman who miiiiight have a few answers for him. Well, the answers don't come from her exactly, but he gets them by being in her orbit and I'm here for that.

Actually, I here for all of it.

Seriously. I like Makena and Ethan. I like that they seem like polar opposites on paper (a drifter who goes from town to town and a woman who's very tied to the land she lives on), but they aren't all that different once they start digging deeper. I like the shadowy threat hanging over them. Okay, wait. I don't like the threat, exactly, but I like how complex and insidious it is.

There are layers here, people. LAYERS.

Makena and Ethan have them. Her uncle has them. Her parents have them even in death. The bad guy...well, I don't know that he has layers exactly, but he has baggage.

And that cover! LOVE!

Side note: Since this book is loosely tied into Kati Wilde's Beauty in Spring, we get a little more backstory on some of the events/happenings in that book. Or, I guess, a little more insight into the cursed and born wolves and the differences between them. Either way, DOUBLE YESSSSS.

Thursday, January 23, 2020

Closer by Alexa Riley [Review]

 Closer by Alexa Riley
Closer by Alexa Riley
Format: ebook
Source: borrowed through Kindle Unlimited
Date read: February 28, 2019

Purchase Links: Kindle

Alexa Riley
Website | Twitter | Facebook | Amazon |

Synopsis (Goodreads):
Ava fudged a little on her résumé to land her dream job. She’s been working her curvy booty overtime to get her boss’s new lingerie line off the ground. But when her boss’s brother comes in and says Ava should be the face—and body—of the campaign, she’s having second thoughts.

Lucas knows what he wants, and the second he sees every lush inch of Ava all bets are off. She’s not only the one for the job but the one for him, and he’ll do whatever it takes to make her see it.

Warning: This obsessed hero doesn’t hold back, and we were more than happy to let him take the reins. Find out what happens when the thick girl gets the alpha and things really heat up!
Thoughts on Closer: Focused, driven Lucas finds his special someone when he crosses paths with his sister's personal assistant. Seeing as how Ava's had a long-distance crush on Lucas since she first saw his picture, this works out nicely. Especially since it's pretty much love at first sight (with a healthy dose of lust thrown in there) between the two of them.

Yup, another focused, growly, sometimes overbearing hero sees his special lady friend and becomes utterly smitten. Frankly, it was exactly what I wanted when I picked up this book so BIG thumbs up from me.

Big. Just like Lucas and his over-the-top love.

Wednesday, January 22, 2020

Real Men Snarl by Celia Kyle and Marina Maddox [Review]

 Real Men Snarl by Celia Kyle and Marina Maddox
Real Men Snarl (Real Men Shift #2) by Celia Kyle and Marina Maddox
Format: ebook
Source: borrowed through Kindle Unlimited
Date read: March 1, 2019

Real Men Shift
1. Real Men Howl
2. Real Men SnarlKindle
3. Real Men Growl
3.5. Real Men Heal
4. Real Men Bite
5. Real Men Claim

Celia Kyle
Website | Twitter | Facebook | Amazon |

Marina Maddox
Website | Twitter | Facebook | Amazon |

Synopsis (Goodreads):
Ally doesn't want to have anything to do with werewolves. Kade is a werewolf who wants to do everything to Ally.

Just because Ally Rose can turn into a wolf, doesn't mean that she's happy about her status as a shape-shifting, occasionally howling, never-butt-sniffing werewolf. As a result, she has only two rules in life: 1) avoid werewolf packs at all costs and 2) stay the hell away from the man who turned her against her will. Packs are evil…violent…deadly… And the wolf who turned her is the worst of the worst.

Just because Kade Blackwood is the Alpha’s brother, doesn’t mean he can ignore a direct order — even when it’s something as mundane as packing up an old woman’s belongings and hauling them back to the pack house in Ashwood. But all of his good intentions fly out of the window the moment he steps foot in tiny Pepper, Georgia…and smells her. His mate.

He wants her. Craves her. Aches for her. But first he has to find her…before the wolf hunting Ally gets his paws on her.
Thoughts on Real Men Snarl: It's the next Blackwood brother's turn and he's got his hands full with a wolf who was abused by her former pack. Or...not really HER pack. Just the jerkfaces who forced her into her current situation.

By the by, that pack is messed up.

But Kade! He's not messed up. He's a little obsessive when he first scents his mate. Not in an overbearing way, though. More like, he knows she's there and he knows he needs to find her and everything else can take a back seat to that. Then he does find he rand she's wary and doesn't want much of anything to do with him.

Which has to suck for a werewolf who just found his special someone.

As for Ally, she has a lot of adjusting to do. Her past experiences with wolves and packs isn't anything like the Blackwood pack and it takes some time for her and her wolf to come to terms with that. But once she does and she starts talking, things fall into place. Not just for her, but for Lucy, too. Answers. Ally has a few and that's a good thing.

My love of all things werewolves continues with this series and I'm ALL IN for Gavin's book.

Tuesday, January 21, 2020

The Spellslinger by S.M. Reine [Review]

 The Spellslinger by S.M. Reine
The Spellslinger (A Fistful of Daggers #4) by S.M. Reine
Format: ebook
Source: provided by the author for review
Date read: December 19, 2019

A Fistful of Daggers
1. Lonesome Paladin
2. Spellsmoke
3. Hell's Hinges
4. The SpellslingerKindle

S.M. Reine
Website | Twitter | Facebook | Amazon |

Synopsis (Goodreads):
Lincoln Marshall has failed. The Godslayer is trapped in her worst nightmares. His only chance of repairing the timeline is dead. He's stuck a decade in the past with Sophie Keyes, and the world is falling apart.

Held captive by the Union, Lincoln and Sophie must fight to repair a timeline rapidly unraveling.

James Faulkner has survived, but he's not whole. He's divided into angel and demon--his ambition and obsession severed from his power and passion. His angel side wants to rescue Elise. His demon side wants to rescue the world, at any cost--even if it means letting Elise die. Between their brilliant minds, they've conceived a plan that can repair the timeline. The only price is their lives.
Thoughts on The Spellslinger: Messed up timelines and gods gone wild and CRAZINESS of the highest order...yessssssss. I always know I'm going to get a whole lot of insanity when I pick up a S.M. Reine book and this fractured timeline is certainly holding up to that.

Lincoln and Sophie are caught in the middle of something insanely huge. Their foray into the past has far-reaching consequences and their capture by the Union leaves them little wiggle room for fixing it. As an aside, the Union has more than their fair share of jerks working for it. Just, SO MANY JERKS.

On the other end of the craziness, James and Elise are not who they need to be yet to defeat Adam. Given that James is literally divided between two aspects and Elise is trapped in a nightmare of godly proportions, I mean this in the most fundamental sense. Elise doesn't know of all the strings James has been manipulating through her life and James is equal parts obsessed and driven depending on which aspect you're talking to.

To say things are complicated and twisted and downright bizarre at times would be an understatement.

BUT...all this does bring Lincoln one step closer to being the Brother Marshall we met in the future. Things might be insane and complex, but they're putting Lincoln (and Sophie, I presume) where he needs to be and that's a good thing. I think.

Crazy. Intense. Weird. Monstrous. World-ending. Everything I enjoy when I step into the Decentverse.

Monday, January 20, 2020

Heart of the Deep by Tiffany Roberts [Review]

 Heart of the Deep by Tiffany Roberts
Heart of the Deep (The Kraken #4) by Tiffany Roberts
Format: ebook
Source: borrowed through Kindle Unlimited
Date read: March 1, 2019

The Kraken
1. Treasure of the Abyss
2. Jewel of the Sea
3. Hunter of the Tide
4. Heart of the DeepKindle
5. Rising from the Depths
6. Fallen from the Stars

Tiffany Roberts
Website | Twitter | Facebook | Amazon |

Synopsis (Goodreads):
HIS HUNTRESS AND HIS HEART

Larkin has spent almost a year hunting the monstrous kraken in the hope that they knew the whereabouts of her missing brother. Her efforts finally come to fruition when she and the other rangers capture three of the beasts — but the reality is nothing like the stories they’ve been told, and the kraken are not the monsters she expected. Dracchus awes her, captivates her, and makes her long for things she’d never dared dream. With tensions between their people escalating, can she jeopardize everything by trusting him? Is a taste of him worth her life?

HER WARRIOR AND HER REFUGE

Dracchus has risked himself countless times for the sake of his people, doing anything and everything to protect and provide for them. Between the vocal, anti-human kraken at home and the hunters prowling the seas, everything is falling apart around him. But when he meets Larkin, he allows himself hope — hope for a mate of his own, for a family of his own. She is his match, unlike any female he’s ever known. To have her, he’ll have to endanger her, along with all those he’s come to care for. After years of selflessness, how much is he willing to gamble to fulfill his own desires?
Thoughts on Heart of the Deep: OH MY GOODNESS, I like Dracchus. He's wise enough to question his leadership all while ALWAYS doing what's best for the kraken he's trying to protect. I absolutely respect a leader who checks himself like that.

Plus, Dracchus is just a big sweetie pie under all the muscles and massive tentacles. He thinks things through and weighs the consequences of his actions. And when he commits to something, he is ONE HUNDRED PERCENT committed.

That includes Larkin. I mean, let's face it, Larkin's introduction to the kraken isn't all that flattering. She helps capture them and that could have automatically put her on their poop-list. But Dracchus takes the time to observe her and he sees how she tries to help his captured comrades in whatever way she can.

As for Larkin, as much as she wants to find her missing brother, she can't condone the path her father is taking to do it. She's honorable enough to try to fix things in her own small way. Plus, she's willing to confront her father when she thinks he's taking things too far.

These kraken have had a rough time of it, but, as Dracchus said, change is coming whether the kraken are going to be ready for it or not.

I am SO ready to see what happens with Kronos now.