Saturday, March 23, 2019

Write On Review-a-thon [62]

It's time for another installment of the Write On Review-a-thon. YAY!

A little about the Review-a-thon:
Brought to you by Reading the Paranormal and the #boutofbooks-ers facebook group. This monthly review-a-thon is a chance to get caught up on outstanding reviews. Bring your to-be-reviewed list, block out some time, write reviews. It's that simple.
This month's review-a-thon will run from Friday, March 29th to Sunday, March 31st.

To find out more about the review-a-thon and future dates, visit the Review-a-thon page.

As for me...
Reviews to be written:
  • Real Men Growl by Celia Kyle and Marina Maddox
  • Thick by Alexa Riley
  • Barbarian's Seduction by Ruby Dixon
  • In Her Sights by Katie Ruggle
  • Rising from the Depths by Tiffany Roberts

Friday, March 22, 2019

Cyborgs' Claim by Michele Mills [Review]

 Cyborgs' Claim by Michele Mills
Cyborgs' Claim (The Swirl #1) by Michele Mills
Format: ebook
Source: purchased
Date read: May 14, 2018

The Swirl
1. Cyborgs' ClaimKindle
2. Warriors' Claim

Michele Mills
Website | Twitter | Facebook | Amazon |

Synopsis (Goodreads):
Three outlaw Cyborgs. One human female...

Axel, Steel and Gage.

Merciless supersoldiers. Forbidden cybernetic experiments gone awry. They escaped from their Hurlian programmers and now live hidden in a desolate area of space where few enter and none leave.

They crave one female to claim, one who will satisfy all their desires. But Cyborgs are illegal, so finding a mate has proven difficult.

Until Megan.

As a survivor of horrific abuse at the hands of her alien captors, this tiny female from the original planet is both strong and fierce. Her white-hot desire brings all three men to their knees.

They want this female. Forever.

But will she choose to live on the bleak edge of space, with three exacting, contraband Cyborgs, who have been stripped of human emotions?

Or is their time up? Will the original programmers return for their ultimate weapons, destroying their female and all they’ve constructed?
Thoughts on Cyborgs' Claim: Outlaw cyborgs on the far end of the galaxy who need someone who calls to the three of them AND who's a-okay with their less-than-legal parts. That last part doesn't seem fair, really. I mean, it's not like the guys ASKED to be experimented on and had cybernetics implanted in them.

Those dang Hurlians better get what's coming to them at some point. I'm really not cool with those guys.

But let's talk about Axel, Steel and Gage. They're all grappling with new emotions after years of being without. Mostly without. Just go with it. They're supremely socially awkward, which makes for a few interesting moments, but they're also fiercely protective once they decide Megan's the one for them.

Meanwhile, Megan's dealing with some issues stemming from her capture and abuse at the hands of the alien jerkfaces who abducted her from Earth. Having three big, brawny, slightly scary dudes pop in out of nowhere and tell her she's safe now trigger a few bad episodes, but she's mostly okay with them. Her biggest issue is getting over the idea that she really CAN have three doting men to call her own.

Things happen quickly, but those cyborgs have to grab onto the things that are important when they're so far from civilized space. If they don't, their special someone might slip through their fingers before they realize it.

Thursday, March 21, 2019

Champion by Anna Hackett [Review]

 Champion by Anna Hackett
Champion (Galactic Gladiators #5) by Anna Hackett
Format: ebook
Source: purchased
Date read: May 12, 2018

Galactic Gladiators
1. Gladiator
2. Warrior
3. Hero
4. Protector
5. ChampionPaperback | Kindle
6. Barbarian
7. Beast
8. Rogue
9. Guardian
10. Cyborg

Anna Hackett
Website | Twitter | Facebook | Amazon |

Synopsis (Goodreads):
Fighting for love, honor, and freedom on the galaxy’s lawless outer rim…

Space marine Blaine Strong enjoyed being a composed, controlled member of space station security…until he was abducted by alien slavers. Forced into underground fight rings and pumped full of drugs, he’s now seething with anger and out for revenge.

Rescued by gladiators and fellow humans on the desert world of Carthago, Blaine is fighting to be the man he once was. But when the House of Galen is attacked, he must focus on joining the gladiators to fight back. That means teaming up with a tough, competitive female gladiator who not only challenges him at every turn, awakens a fierce desire he’s never felt before, but a woman who can sense the churning emotions inside him.

Gladiator Saff Essikani is the best net fighter in the Kor Magna Arena. Raised from young to fight, she bows to no man and uses her empathic abilities to win at whatever cost. With her House targeted and people under their care threatened, she’ll stop at nothing to find those responsible. But then she finds herself face to face with a big, tortured man from Earth who affects her like no man before. As Saff and Blaine head into the desert to uncover a conspiracy, their incendiary desire flares hotter than the desert suns. But as Blaine’s angry emotions rage out of control, Saff knows that unless he learns to embrace the man he is now, he has no chance of survival.

Note to readers: This sci fi romance contains a lot of action (think wild gladiatorial fights and daring rescues), tough gladiators (the warriors of the House of Galen) and a steamy romance (between a tough female gladiator and a tortured space marine). So if you like it fast, and gritty, and sexy, this is for you!
Thoughts on Champion: This time around we have a human male (the only one the gladiators have come across, come to think of it) and a female gladiator. Blaine has been drugged and tortured and forced to fight in the pits below the Kor Magna Arena and he's a bit of a mess when we first met him. He's come a long way since then, but he's still struggling to find himself.

While Blaine is the seething mass of rage and emotion, Saff is the cool, competent gladiator who knows what she wants and goes after it. While Blaine isn't her usual type, it turns out there EXTREMELY compatible. Both in temperament and otherwise, if you know what I mean.

With the three women Blaine was rescued with end up in the hands of some bad, bad people, the House heads out to save them. Because that's what they do. They save people.

Things are heating up for both humans and aliens alike. Conspiracies are being uncovered and more and more humans keep popping up. Which is AWESOME because that means I have more books to read.

Wednesday, March 20, 2019

Protector by Anna Hackett [Review]

 Protector by Anna Hackett
Protector (Galactic Gladiators #4) by Anna Hackett
Format: ebook
Source: purchased
Date read: May 11, 2018

Galactic Gladiators
1. Gladiator
2. Warrior
3. Hero
4. ProtectorPaperback | Kindle
5. Champion
6. Barbarian
7. Beast
8. Rogue
9. Guardian
10. Cyborg

Anna Hackett
Website | Twitter | Facebook | Amazon |

Synopsis (Goodreads):
Fighting for love, honor, and freedom on the galaxy’s lawless outer rim…

Cool and driven Madeline Cochran made a successful career for herself as civilian commander of a space station orbiting Jupiter…until the day it was attacked and she was abducted by alien slavers.

Her organized existence shattered, Madeline suffered during her captivity, but since her rescue by the tough gladiators of the House of Galen, she’s struggling to assimilate to her new life. As she navigates the desert world of Carthago and the gladiator city of Kor Magna, she desperately misses her teenage son back on Earth and throws herself into finding another human, space marine Blaine, still kept captive by the slavers. She also finds herself working harder than ever to avoid a certain charming showman gladiator who is far too attractive and far too tempting.

Gladiator Lore Uma-Xilene is a protector at heart and a sucker for a damsel in distress…although he’s well aware that the hard-shelled and sad-eyed Madeline wouldn’t appreciate the title. He knows what it feels like to be ripped from the family you love and have your life destroyed, and he wants to help Madeline heal. As the two of them go undercover into the dangerous world of underground gambling, Lore knows he’ll need all his patience, passion, and a whole lot of stubbornness to not only keep Madeline safe but to melt the icy shell around her heart.

Note to readers: This sci fi romance contains a lot of action (think wild gladiatorial fights and daring rescues), tough gladiators (the warriors of the House of Galen) and a steamy romance (between a cool, driven woman and a charming showman gladiator). So if you like it fast, and gritty, and sexy, this is for you!
Thoughts on Protector: Flashy, illusionist Lore is up this time and the human lady he's interested in is the (seemingly) uptight commander of the space station. Seemingly, because Madeline does figure out how to unwind. Eventually. You know, with Lore's attentive help and all that.

Honestly, Madeline needs A LOT of convincing to let down her walls. She blames herself for not being able to protect the people under her on the space station and she's still battling the demons that came part and parcel with her time spent in captivity. She's a bit of a mess, but she's finding her way again. Knowing Blaine is trapped in the underground fight rings she was rescued from gives her something to focus on. Lore gives her something to focus on. The friendship blossoming between her and the other stranded earth women gives her another.

Finding out there are more Humans being held captive only spurs her desire to get them all out.

Have I mentioned how much I like Lore? The guy comes from a matriarchal culture and he's not afraid of all the messy emotions that sometimes send other men into hiding. He's upfront and honest and I like that in an alien gladiator.

Frankly, while these gladiators are undefeated in the arena, they fall hard and fast once they meet their special someone. WHAT'S NOT TO LIKE ABOUT THAT?!?!

Tuesday, March 19, 2019

Space by Penny Reid [Review]


 Space by Penny Reid
Space (Laws of Physics #2, Hypothesis #2.2) by Penny Reid
Format: ebook
Source: provided by the author for review
Date read: February 2, 2019

Hypothesis
(Elements of Chemistry)
1.1. Attraction
1.2. Heat
1.3. Capture
(Laws of Physics)
2.1. Motion
2.2. SpacePaperback | Kindle
2.3. Time

Penny Reid
Website | Twitter | Facebook | Amazon |

Synopsis (Goodreads):
One week.
Private cabin.
Famous physicist.
Still an unrepentant slacker.
What’s the worst that could happen?

Mona’s meticulously planned allotment of relaxation is thrown into chaos by the unscheduled appearance of her older brother’s band of friends, including the one person she'd hoped to never face again. Abram still makes her feel entirely too much, which is one of the reasons she disappeared after their one week together. But now, trapped on a mountain of snow and things unspoken, Mona will have to find a way to coexist with Abram, chaos and all.
Thoughts on Space: I am LOVING the evolution of Mona and Abram's relationship. Mona did a thing that cut her deeply for a good reason and she's lived with the consequences of her actions since. Abram might not be as smart as Mona, but he's no slouch in the brains department either and he wants answers to the questions that have arisen from that week he and Mona/Lisa spent together.

It's not pretty. Both of them have to face a few hard truths and juuussssst when they think they've caught a break and things *might* be moving in the direction they want it to move in...THINGS HAPPEN.

Unfortunately, a lot of those things are in Mona's head. The odd circumstances of her childhood coupled with what is expected of her as such a brilliant, young mind have given her a warped perception of herself and those around her. She has more than a few mental/emotional roadblocks to resolve before she and Abram can ever really be a couple in the truest sense of the word.

Like I said, THINGS. They get in the way. In the best way, of course.

Honestly, this series is probably going to kill me of all the emotions before it's through. I want these two to find common ground so badly and yet life and circumstances keep pulling them in opposite directions.

Hope runs strong, though. Their HEA is going to rock my socks off.


Excerpt:

“Hi—hello,” she said, stepping forward but not out of the way, drawing my attention.

She was still staring at me, her face still pale, but her eyes had turned searching instead of stunned.

“I—” She stopped herself, swallowing, her gaze dropping to the front of my coat, a cute little frown furrowing her eyebrows. In the next moment, she was pulling off the glove of her right hand. Abruptly, she shoved the ungloved fingers toward me, returning her eyes to mine. “I’m Mona.”

I suppressed my disbelief at her small action before it could break my outward mask of calm. I wasn’t calm. Just to be clear, I was the opposite of calm.

The fact that she was introducing herself to me now meant that she thought I was too stupid to figure out her lies over the last two-and-a-half-fucking years. She was arguably one of the smartest people in the world, after all. To her, people like me must seem like housebroken pets. So it shouldn’t have surprised me. But it did. The tension and tightness around my ribs reappeared, squeezing uncomfortably.

Dropping my attention to her bare hand, I pressed my lips into a tighter line, dismissing the way my pulse jumped at the sight of her wrist, the olive tone of her skin under the yellow string lights overhead. Glaring at her outstretched offering, I considered telling her to go to hell.

I considered it, but I wouldn’t.

I didn’t trust myself to speak, that was reason number one.

The other reason was harder to explain, or use as a justification, or admit to myself. Staring at her hand, I braced against a sudden flare of hunger. She might consider me a lower life-form, but that didn’t change the fact that I wanted to touch her. I wanted to touch her more than I wanted to tell her to go to hell, and that was fucking pitiful.

But there it was.

Acting on the compulsion, I lifted my right hand and tugged off the ski glove, sliding my warm palm against her much colder one. Her hand felt good in my hand, the right weight, the right size, the right texture, and I inhaled freezing air.

Mona also seemed to suck in a slow but expansive breath as our hands touched, held. This brought my eyes back to hers in time to see her lashes flutter. Pink colored her previously pale cheeks. The sound of the wailing wind, the sting of the air and frost momentarily melted away, leaving just her, her soft skin warming against mine, her beautiful face filling my vision.

So beautiful.

She really was. She was stunning. I hated that she was still so beautiful to me.


Start the series today!
Motion
Amazon Worldwide: http://mybook.to/Motion
Google Play: http://bit.ly/2DoH8pv
Amazon Paperback: https://amzn.to/2T4ebo9


Pre-order the highly anticipated conclusion today!
Time
Amazon Worldwide: http://mybook.to/TimePR
Google Play: http://bit.ly/2Sm1Zmu
Amazon Paperback: https://amzn.to/2WSQbXe




Meet Penny Reid:
Penny Reid is the New York Times, Wall Street Journal and USA Today Best Selling Author of the Winston Brothers, Knitting in the City, Rugby, and Hypothesis series. She used to spend her days writing federal grant proposals as a biomedical researcher, but now she just writes books. She’s also a full time mom to three diminutive adults, wife, daughter, knitter, crocheter, sewer, general crafter, and thought ninja.

Connect with Penny:
Facebook: http://bit.ly/2AXQQxj
GoodReads: http://bit.ly/2sCQ1pi
Instagram: http://bit.ly/2W67eow
BookBub: http://bit.ly/2U3dKdW
Amazon: http://amzn.to/2lakzsD
Twitter: http://bit.ly/2FDLziw
Pinterest: http://bit.ly/2sDBr0u
Stay up to day with Penny by joining her mailing list: http://bit.ly/2szN34G
www.pennyreid.ninja



Monday, March 18, 2019

Tiger Striped by Jennifer Ashley [Review]

 Tiger Striped by Jennifer Ashley
Tiger Striped (Shifters Unbound #11.5) by Jennifer Ashley
Format: ebook
Source: purchased
Date read: June 9, 2018

Shifters Unbound
0.5. Shifters Made
1. Pride Mates
2. Primal Bonds
2.5. Bodyguard
3. Wild Cat
3.5. Hard Mated
4. Mate Claimed
4.5. Perfect Mate
4.6. Lone Wolf
5. Tiger Magic
5.5. Feral Heat
6. Wild Wolf
6.5. Bear Attraction
7. Mate Bond
7.25. Lion Eyes
7.5. Bad Wolf
7.75. Wild Things
8. White Tiger
9. Guardian's Mate
10. Red Wolf
11. Midnight Wolf
11.5. Tiger StripedPaperback | Kindle
11.75. A Shifter Christmas Carol

Jennifer Ashley
Website | Twitter | Facebook | Amazon |

Synopsis (Goodreads):
Tiger…

The call I must answer…

I wake in the night, knowing something is wrong. Carly, mate of my heart, is next to me, and I hear my son’s breathing. They are safe.

But someone, someone cries out with a despair I can’t ignore...

Carly won’t let me go alone, and neither will Connor, the cub who will become one of the greatest Shifters of us all—I know this. I see.

I can’t ignore the call. We take Dylan’s truck and head into the night, on what proves to be the most important mission of my life…
Thoughts on Tiger Striped: Based on the extremely weird order I read this series in, I'm going to go out on a limb and say I haven't yet read Tiger's book. Which was actually okay as far as keeping up with what was going on, because some things are universal with these shifters. The restrictive rules, the shadowy background characters, and a shifters driving need to protect his mate at all costs.

Of course, Tiger isn't exactly standard shifter fare. His ability to track is unparalleled and his strange knowing is...well, maybe that part was explained in his book. Whether it was or not, he knows things sometimes. And this time he knows someone needs him even though he doesn't know who they are or where they're being held.

He just knows, man. He just knows.

Being awesome, Carly doesn't try to stop him when the need to follow his knowing kicks in. She simply puts on her shoes and follows her dude wherever he leads.

Good thing, too, because Tiger *needed* to do this thing. He needed to.

It probably doesn't need to be said, but I liked this book and I'm still digging the Shifters Unbound world.

Sunday, March 17, 2019

RtP's Week in Review (03/17/19)

Reading the Paranormal's Week in Review
Bookish Delights
Globetrotting...