Wednesday, September 19, 2018

Wild Blood by Naomi Lucas [Review]

 Wild Blood by Naomi Lucas
Wild Blood (Cyborg Shifters #1) by Naomi Lucas
Format: ebook
Source: purchased
Date read: October 8, 2017

Cyborg Shifters
1. Wild Blood - Kindle
2. Storm Surge
3. Shark Bite
4. Mutt
5. Ashes and Metal

Naomi Lucas
| Website | Facebook | Amazon |

Synopsis (Goodreads):
Dommik was a monster, a Monster Hunter, and an alpha. Part of an elite group that dealt with the horrors of the universe. At least that was what everyone at the spaceport was whispering as he walked by. A Cyborg, a hunter, a beast with eyes as dark as the pits of Hell and the stride of a predator.

Katalina was a nobody who was intimate with death. It clung to her like a shroud, It followed her like the plague, and infected her like a parasite. When she overheard that the Monster Hunter needed an assistant, she took the job. And when the Cyborg’s eyes caught hers, she knew getting closer to death might just bring her back to life.

The Cyborg didn’t scare her.
So she followed him and left fate up to chance.
Thoughts on Wild Blood: I didn't dislike this book by any means, but I felt like I was missing something as I read it. I don't know how to put it. I felt like there was a layer of world building I missed and I'm guessing it had to do with the companion series. I dunno. The Space Lords seemed to have things going on I wasn't aware of and that kind of took something away from the interactions he had with Dommik and Kat.

Beyond that, Dommik's ability to shift was...interesting. Not something normally seen, at least. Kat was kind of clueless when it came to the big, bad galaxy, but since that was something Dommik seemed to like, I guess it worked.

They clash. They find a grudging balance. They clash some more. Kat gets turned on. Dommik can't quite believe it. Honestly, Dommik's not the best at interacting with humans and his way of doing things isn't easy. But, again, Kat seemed to like that about him, so...there you go.

I did like the other cyborg shifters Dommik came into contact with and I'm curious what their hidden abilities might be. They're rough and surly and not always nice, but they intrigue me.

Tuesday, September 18, 2018

When Love Surprises by Christi Snow [Review]

 When love Surprises by Christi Snow
When Love Surprises (When the Mission Ends #6) by Christi Snow
Format: ebook
Source: provided by the author for review
Date read: August 20, 2018

When the Mission Ends
0.5. Before the Mission Begins
1. Operation: Endgame
2. Operation: Endeavor
3. Operation: Endurance
4. When Love Intrudes
5. When Love Comes Back
6. When Love Surprises - Paperback | Kindle

Christi Snow
Website | Twitter | Facebook | Amazon |

Synopsis (Goodreads):
Raised in a religious household, being gay was never an option for Steven, but when an injury left him incapacitated, he was forced to face those urges that he’s been able to ignore for the last thirty-eight years of his life...

Lost...

Three months ago, Major Steven Hardesty’s life sat on the precipice of perfection. Now he’s trying to come back from a life-threatening injury and a devastating romantic loss all while trying to figure out what he’s going to do after separating from the Air Force.

Alone...

Billy Starr never planned on running his family ranch by himself. He was supposed to be doing it with his sister, Whitney. But when she died in a freak accident, it sent his life in a tailspin of despair and alcohol.

Healing...

Steven and Billy were friends. Billy offered the ranch as a good, private place where Steven could recover, but as their friendship deepened, so did other feelings. Is it possible that a love affair between the two of them could heal them both? Or break them even more?
Thoughts on When love Surprises: Yassss. Steven, Felicia's upstanding ex (seriously, the guy was pretty awesome and I'm PLEASED to see him find his happy place), gets his story. And it's certainly packed with surprises as the title suggests. In a good way, though. In a good way.

Deeply in the closet thanks to his upbringing and the power his parents wield, Steven has a lot of speed bumps to get past as he deals with his attraction to Billy. Throw in a BIG surprise (in a little package) and suddenly what should be a happy exploration between two people discovering love becomes a lot more complicated.

Meanwhile, Billy has his own issues. He might be unabashedly out and willing to explore this thing with Steven, but his past has the potential to do some damage. In more ways than one. (For the record, I got a little crazy eyed when Billy had that THING happen to him. You know, the THING. Oh, Billy.)

I always have a tough time saying goodbye to a series I've been with since the beginning. This particular series has been a wild ride. In the best way, of course. I'm sad to see it go, but I'm satisfied with where it ended.

Monday, September 17, 2018

The Road to Helltown by S.M. Reine [Review]

 The Road to Helltown
The Road to Helltown (Preternatural Affairs #9) by S.M. Reine
Format: ebook
Source: provided by the author
Date read: October 23, 2017

Preternatural Affairs
1. Witch Hunt
2. Silver Bullet
3. Hotter Than Helltown
4. Shadow Burns
5. Deadly Wrong
6. Ashes and Arsenic
7. Once Darkness Falls
8. Bitter Thirst
9. The Road to Helltown Kindle

S.M. Reine
Website | Twitter | Facebook | Amazon |

Synopsis (Goodreads):
My name's Cèsar Hawke, and the people in my life are filled with good intentions.

We all know where that ends up.

A fissure to Hell has ripped from Las Vegas to Los Angeles and now half the City of Dis is in my hometown. Helltown's hotter than ever. Demon dynasties are on the rise. Nightmares are out to get me.

Staying alive means forgiving people I've kicked out of my life, it means getting vicious with magic, and yeah, it means I'm dealing with dead bodies. Lots of them.

I'm Cèsar Hawke. I used to be an agent with the Office of Preternatural Affairs. And this is how the world ends.
Thoughts on The Road to Helltown: Gotta admit, I'm going to miss Cèsar. I genuinely like the guy. I mean, he can be sort of clueless and a little bumbling at times, but his heart is generally in the right place. Even when he's making all sorts of mistakes with the various relationships in his life. At one point, Cèsar is described as a big, goofy golden retriever and yeaaaaaah. That's it. That's him in a nutshell.

Cèsar is the puppy you can't stay mad at even after he piddles on the rug because he gives you *that look* and your mad just falls to pieces.

Man, I really am going to miss this guy.

But let's talk about this book. Things aren't looking too great for the PA crew. The Breaking has ripped the world open and there's lots of flailing and general craziness. Some of it even from the demons. Cèsar is playing for both OPA and the Apple and THAT'S NOT A GOOD PLACE TO BE, MY FRIEND.

(As an aside, Suzy telling her side of the story when it came to Cèsar gave me a case of the giggles. Who knew her buttoned-up persona hid such a horndog? MAN, I like her and Cèsar together.)

Cèsar, as usual, has managed to get himself in a tough situation. Also as usual, he handles it by causing more chaos than one person should rightfully be able to cause on their own. Stuff happens and he dives into the middle of things and makes even more stuff happen. Often in a spectacular fashion.

Like I said, I'm going to miss this guy.

A solid ending to a series that hands out craziness like candy at Halloween. Here's to demons and magic and people dying left and right. And to Cèsar who somehow ends up on top no matter how insane things get around him.

Sunday, September 16, 2018

RtP's Week in Review (09/16/18)

Reading the Paranormal's Week in Review
Bookish Delights
Globetrotting...

Saturday, September 15, 2018

Hitting on the Hooker by Mina Carter [Quickie Review]

 Hitting on the Hooker by Mina Carter
Hitting on the Hooker (Strathstow Sharks #1) by Mina Carter
Format: ebook
Source: purchased
Date read: March 7, 2017

Strathstow Sharks
1. Hitting on the Hooker - Kindle
2. Seduced by the Scrum-Half
3. Playing with the Prop

Mina Carter
Website | Twitter | Facebook | Amazon |

Synopsis (Goodreads):
Hacked off after being stood up, Fern Morgan doesn't much fancy hanging around when local Rugby team, the Strathstow Sharks crash the bar, so makes rapid plans to leave.

One look at the cute brunette trying to make a break for it and Sharks player, Tom Sexton, has plans all of his own. Plans that involve getting her out of the bar and into his bed...
Thoughts on Hitting on the Hooker: This is a fast and dirty little story about a date that went bad and a one night stand that went well. Verrrrrrry well. Fern wasn't interested in scoring a rugby player until Tom had her locked in his sights. Then it was all smoldering looks and steamy moments.

Definitely short, but with enough heat to have you itching to check out a rugby game or two. Why? One word: Stamina.

Friday, September 14, 2018

Claiming Her Alien Warrior by Mina Carter [Review]

 Claiming Her Alien Warrior by Mina Carter
Claiming Her Alien Warrior (Warriors of the Lathar #4) by Mina Carter
Format: ebook
Source: purchased
Date read: October 5, 2017

Warriors of the Lathar
1. Captured by the Alien Lord
2. Saved by the Alien Lord
3. Bonded to the Alien Lord
Her Alien Lord
4. Claiming Her Alien Warrior - PaperbackKindle
5. Pregnant by the Alien Healer

Mina Carter
Website | Twitter | Facebook |  Amazon |

Synopsis (Goodreads):
In a race against the clock, she must betray his trust to achieve her mission… But fooling a Latharian warrior comes with a price.

A guest of the Lathar, Jane Allen hasn’t forgotten what she is: a hard as nails marine major. Tasked with finding a way to beat the technologically advanced, biologically superior warrior race, she needs to find answers for her superiors… before they arm the nukes and give the Lathar an excuse for war. Because the little green men aren’t so little. Or green… they’re large, ripped, scarily-attractive alpha male warriors hot enough to make any red-blooded woman weak at the knees. Especially one particular warrior with black hair and a sexy growl she can’t resist…

She’s his… she just doesn’t know it yet.

Karryl K’Vass has wanted the little human warrioress, Jane, from the moment he saw her. But she’s a tricky one, evading his claim even though he knows she desires him. His campaign for her heart is stalled when duty calls him away; a mission into a dangerous part of space to gather intelligence on the Empire’s enemies. A beautiful stowaway is the last thing he needs, even if she does make his body burn. He’ll finish his mission and get her back to the safety of Lathar Prime…

But no plan survives contact with the enemy. Reptilian mercenaries, a crash landing, and a case of amnesia later and they land in the clutches of their enemies who think it would be better if Karryl took a long walk out of a short airlock…
Thoughts on Claiming Her Alien Warrior: Oh, Karryl. OH, Karryl. You have it bad and you're really not choosing the best path to woo Jane to your side. I mean, you don't do terribly in the beginning, but she's a lady who has no problem holding her own against any man and she REALLY doesn't like being lied to when it happens.

Which is a teeny bit ironic because Jane's not telling all the truth either.

But let's ignore that for the moment and focus on the thrilling ride Karryl and Jane end up on. A crash, amnesia, sexy times in a very cold place, and danger lurking around every corner. Okay, maybe not EVERY corner, but there is danger and Jane without her memories is a Jane who can't defend herself which is tricky.

I'm digging these aliens and their search for their special someone.

Thursday, September 13, 2018

Her Alien Lord by Mina Carter [Review]

 Her Alien Lord by Mina Carter
Her Alien Lord (Warriors of the Lathar #1-3) by Mina Carter
Format: ebook
Source: purchased
Date read: October 5, 2017

Warriors of the Lathar
1. Captured by the Alien Lord
2. Saved by the Alien Lord
3. Bonded to the Alien Lord
Her Alien Lord - Kindle
4. Claiming Her Alien Warrior
5. Pregnant by the Alien Healer

Mina Carter
Website | Twitter | Facebook |  Amazon |

Synopsis (Goodreads):
Captured by the Alien Lord -

He's big, sexy and even his muscles have muscles. Any other day, she'd climb him like a tree... If he hadn't captured her, and her entire base that is.

Sergeant Cat Moore has a little problem. Well, actually a big problem... a big alien war-group sized problem. When her base is attacked and boarded by a Lathar war group, she finds herself in the sights of their leader, Tarrick K'Vass.

The strong, not so silent and ruthless type, Tarrick's duty as a war commander means little time for himself. With no women of their own, a base full of human women is a bounty he can't ignore. Nor can he ignore the little human whose voice called out to him across the galaxy, a woman he'll stop at nothing to make his own. Even if it means a little blackmail...

Saved by the Alien Lord -

Earth girls might be popular...but they're definitely not easy.

Kidnapped by sexy aliens, Cat and the women of the Sentinel Five base are looking for a way home. Their captors might be ripped, hot warriors looking for that one special woman, but these girls have this little thing against being slaves. Even if their leader is well on his way to stealing Cat's heart as well as her body...

Then a new player enters the arena. A dangerous rival war-commander has challenged the K'Vass claim on Terran held space and all it's women. Tarrick K'Vass can't afford to let any of the earth women be captured, especially not his little human, Cat.

When his human is taken, he'll do anything to rescue her... Anything. Up to and including starting an intergalactic war.

Bonded to the Alien Lord -

Today is a good day to... get married?

Kidnapped by her very own alien hunk, Cat Moore is rapidly adapting to life as the chosen woman of bad-ass War Commander Tarrick K'Vass. It's not so bad. Her sexy alien has a thing about making sure her every need is met and has some very inventive ways of doing so. Until she gives him a bad case of mating marks around his wrist, and all bets are off. They're married without so much as a bended knee in sight, then summoned to the Imperial Court so the Emperor can bless their union.

Why? Because her sexy alien lover left one thing out when he introduced himself. Like being a freaking alien prince.

But someone doesn't want humans and lathar getting it on, and they certainly don't like the possibility of little human-lathar babies. In fact, they'd be more than happy if Cat and the other women didn't survive past the wedding.

Hell hath no fury like a woman scorned? Try a bride whose alien wedding just got gatecrashed. Seems humans might be more like the Lathar than anyone thought...
Thoughts on Her Alien Lord: When I first started this book, I wasn't sure if I'd like these Lathar with their rather antiquated ideas about women. I got where they were coming from since their women are all but extinct and they aren't used to the idea that females shouldn't be coddled and locked away, but...well, it took me a while to warm up to Tarrick and his man.

Given that the group they captured were soldiers, Tarrick and his crew were decidedly unprepared for them being willing to wade into the thick of battle and kick some alien backside when it was needed. And there were definitely times it was needed.

The women kicked butt, the aliens eventually figured out that these women weren't delicate flowers, and things worked out in the end. As they should.