Sunday, August 25, 2019

RtP's Week in Review (08/25/19)

Reading the Paranormal's Week in Review
Bookish Delights
Globetrotting...
  • KellyApple.com
    • Feature Friday took us back to Ari's first (complete) adventure with Monstrous Tales: The Complete Series. AND GUESS WHAT? Heart of Stone, the 1st book in the Monstrous World series is COMING SOON!
Check it out!
  • Bout of Books is almost over, but the next one is already being planned!

Saturday, August 24, 2019

Built for Her by Alexa Riley [Review]

 Built for Her by Alexa Riley
Built for Her by Alexa Riley
Format: ebook
Source: borrowed through Kindle Unlimited
Date read: April 1, 2019

Purchase Links: Kindle

Alexa Riley
Website | Twitter | Facebook | Amazon |

Synopsis (Goodreads):
Genevieve has just purchased a beautiful historic home that needs a lot of love. Okay, maybe more than a lot, but she’s determined to make her dreams come true, so she hires a contractor to help her make that a reality. But when Barrett Cooper steps on her property, it’s like Thor himself has fallen out of the sky. How can she possibly think straight while having a heat stroke?

Barrett Cooper is focused on his business and nothing else. He loves restoring old homes but doesn’t get the chance to as much as he wants. When he gets a call about a job that piques his interest, he takes one look at the owner and knows this is going to be a hands-on project.

Warning: There’s a lot to love about his hulking alpha who knows how to build a house. But hands off, because he’s falling hard and fast for the woman who has stolen his heart. With someone else trying to threaten what’s his, you’ll find out just how possessive a guy with a big hammer can be.
Thoughts on Built for Her: Growly, possessive Barrett and sweet, smiling Ginny. GOOD TIMES! I don't know what it is about a man who works with his hands, but YASSSSS, Barrett. You do your thing.

So. Ginny's new house is a hot mess, but Barrett has all the right tools (and vision) to help her fix it up. Things would be peaches and cream except Ginny unwittingly caught the eye of a man who isn't so nice and doesn't like the idea of someone else getting their hands on what he considers his.

As it turns out, Barrett's also a little possessive (in THE BEST possible way) and will do whatever is necessary to protect the woman he loves.

No lie, I love me some Alexa Riley romances. They're always exactly what I'm looking for when I pick one up.

Friday, August 23, 2019

Levi by Anna Hackett [Review]

 Levi by Anna Hackett
Levi (Hell Squad #15) by Anna Hackett
Format: ebook
Source: borrowed through Kindle Unlimited
Date read: October 23, 2018

Hell Squad
1. Marcus
2. Cruz
3. Gabe
4. Reed
5. Roth
6. Noah
7. Shaw
8. Holmes
9. Niko
10. Finn
11. Devlin
12. Theron
13. Hemi
14. Ash
15. LeviPaperback | Kindle
16. Manu
17. Griff
18. Dom
19. Tane

Anna Hackett
Website | Twitter | Facebook | Amazon |

Synopsis (Goodreads):
In the middle of an alien invasion, a bad boy berserker collides with a spunky mechanic on a dangerous sabotage mission.

Levi King has always lived rough. Raised by a biker dad, he fought for everything he had—including being president of the Iron Kings motorcycle club. But when the aliens invaded, he lost it all. Now he wades through the muck with his fellow berserkers, fighting to protect the last of the human survivors. He fights hard and parties harder, and follows no one’s rules but his own. But then he finds himself fascinated by a mouthy, auburn-haired mechanic who isn’t afraid to give him a piece of her mind.

Chrissy Hagan survived months of alien captivity and now she’s found a purpose at the Enclave—as mechanic in charge of the armored Hunter vehicles. She keeps her babies purring…and hates every scratch the soldiers put on them, especially when a certain arrogant, cocky, and annoying biker is responsible. Did she mention annoying? What about tattooed, man-bunned, and far too sexy? Chrissy and Levi do more than strike sparks of each other…they start full blown infernos, and she isn’t afraid to use her wrench on his hard head when required.

But then a vital mission requires Chrissy to step out of the safety of the Enclave, and sabotage and steal an alien vehicle. Working side by side, desire burns white-hot. Levi discovers he will give everything he’s got to keep Chrissy safe and claim her as his…if they both get through the deadly mission alive.
Thoughts on Levi: Those berserkers, man. They're a hoot. Hemi's maniacal laughter whenever he's in the heat of battle started my love and the more I read about Squad Three's insane heroics, the more I like them.

They're insane. In the best possible way. And that makes me grin.

But enough about me. Let's talk about Levi and Chrissy. Levi definitely lives by the work hard, play hard motto. And once he locks onto how Chrissy fires him up, he's 100% focused on her. Which is always fun to watch. Chrissy, on the other hand, sees Levi as a cocky, arrogant former biker and gives him hell for it.

Trust me when I say Chrissy's sass and sarcasm only gets Levi hotter.

More aliens, more tech they have to figure out, more danger for our survivors. I'm LOVING how things are unfolding for Hell Squad and the others and am completely down with watching the Gizzida get their butts kicked until they run whimpering from the planet. *thumbs up*

Thursday, August 22, 2019

Ash by Anna Hackett [Review]

 Ash by Anna Hackett
Ash (Hell Squad #14) by Anna Hackett
Format: ebook
Source: borrowed through Kindle Unlimited
Date read: October 22, 2018

Hell Squad
1. Marcus
2. Cruz
3. Gabe
4. Reed
5. Roth
6. Noah
7. Shaw
8. Holmes
9. Niko
10. Finn
11. Devlin
12. Theron
13. Hemi
14. AshPaperback | Kindle
15. Levi
16. Manu
17. Griff
18. Dom
19. Tane

Anna Hackett
Website | Twitter | Facebook | Amazon |

Synopsis (Goodreads):
In the middle of an alien invasion, will the bad boy berserker catch the geeky tech genius?

Computer genius Marin Mitchell is doing her part to help humanity survive the raptor invasion, working tirelessly to decrypt alien data. She spends her days working and drooling over a certain tattooed, biker berserker from Squad Three. But Marin knows the rules: geeks do not snag sexy bad boys. She spends her nights playing her favorite computer game where she is a kick-butt badass, and a match for her mysterious online fight partner, SuperSoldier3.

A member of the Squad Three berserkers, Ash Connors knows that whenever he reaches for something good, life slaps him back down. He gave up on his dreams a long time ago, and instead, focused on running his motorcycle club with his best friend. But after the alien invasion, he does what he does best, fight and take down the aliens. When cute, smart, and sweet Marin catches his eye, he tries to steer clear, but can't seem to stay away...online or in real life.

When Marin discovers information about a central alien data hub, her skills are needed to hack into the system. That means a deadly mission deep underground, right into the heart of alien territory. That throws her right into Ash's tattooed arms. As the sexy berserker fights to keep her safe, he also vows to show Marin that while she might follow the rules, he likes to break them.
Thoughts on Ash: Oh my goodness. Ash and Marin WORKED for me. The big, bad, tattooed former biker-turned-soldier and the sweet, geeky techie with ZERO chill in social interactions. MAN, I liked them. A lot.

What can I say except I like it when a badass has a hidden softer side. Ash is undeniably a badass, too. First off, he's a berserker. He gets prime badassery points for that alone. Throw in his past as a biker mixed with his desire to help others and he has a whole lot of layers all of a sudden.

Marin, on the other hand, is sort of entrenched in her role as part of the geeks. She absolutely can't understand how someone like Ash would want someone like her, but she's smart enough to listen when Ash tries to convince her. Figuring things out in the middle of an apocalyptic alien invasion isn't easy, but they get there. Both of them.

More about the aliens and their...well, I don't know if I'd call it a scheme or plan at this point, because details are coming to light, but we don't really know what they're planning. So, we're learning more about the Gizzida. And the things the survivors are learning could help destroy the stranglehold they have on earth. Eventually.

Levi's up next!

Wednesday, August 21, 2019

Hemi by Anna Hackett [Review]

 Hemi by Anna Hackett
Hemi (Hell Squad #13) by Anna Hackett
Format: ebook
Source: borrowed through Kindle Unlimited
Date read: October 19, 2018

Hell Squad
1. Marcus
2. Cruz
3. Gabe
4. Reed
5. Roth
6. Noah
7. Shaw
8. Holmes
9. Niko
10. Finn
11. Devlin
12. Theron
13. HemiPaperback | Kindle
14. Ash
15. Levi
16. Manu
17. Griff
18. Dom
19. Tane

Anna Hackett
Website | Twitter | Facebook | Amazon |

Synopsis (Goodreads):
In the middle of an alien invasion, a big, tough, tattooed former mercenary is finally going to chase down his woman.

Camryn McNab knows love is a lie. Okay, maybe not for everybody--her fellow soldiers on Squad Nine have managed to fall in love in the middle of a vicious alien attack. But it's not for her. She comes from two people incapable of love. For now, her life is about survival, fighting to protect others, and kicking some alien raptor butt. What she doesn't need is a certain wild, bearded, tattoo-covered soldier always underfoot, messing with her things, and driving her crazy. But no matter how hard she tries to outrun Hemi Rahia, she can't seem to shake him, and a terrified part of doesn't even want to...

A member of the Squad Three berserkers, Hemi knows his squad has a reputation for not following the rules and being a little wild. Former bikers, mercenaries, and...other less savory things, they fight hard and party harder. But Hemi has known for a while now that there is only one woman for him. One courageous, sexy, attitude-filled woman he wants to claim as his own. But he has to catch her first.

Tasked with a top-secret mission deep in alien creeper territory, Hemi and Cam will fight side-by-side to achieve their dangerous goal. Their chemistry is off the charts, but persistent Hemi wants more than Cam's body...he wants her heart and soul as well. As their battle with the aliens turns deadly, they will have to fight not only for their love, but for their very survival.
Thoughts on Hemi: HEMI! Man, I like this guy. The gleefully chaotic beserker has insane focus when it comes to the woman he's determined to woo. He's just...he's just Hemi, okay? He throws himself into everything he does whole-heartedly and gives it his all. It doesn't matter if it's regarding eliminating an alien threat or trying to convince Cam how perfect they'd be together. The guy goes all in and doesn't back down.

Cam, on the other hand, is a little more reserved. She's more guarded with her heart and more careful when it comes to putting herself in danger. Which isn't a bad thing, necessarily, because saying hale and hearty is kinda important. But the heart thing sucks for poor Hemi. He really has to fight to show her that he's in it for the long haul and isn't looking for a simple fling.

Beyond the romantic entanglements, things are heating up with the Gizzida. The new weapon (or at least I assume what was revealed was the weapon they'd been hunting for. Maybe I'm wrong!) is nasty and could spell the end of humanity if it isn't stopped. Naturally, the survivors put their all into doing what they do best and kicking alien butt while taking names.

I knew I'd love the beserkers when I got to their books and I'm thrilled so far. Ash is up next. I'm ready for him!

Tuesday, August 20, 2019

Priest of Skulls by S.M. Reine [Review]

 Priest of Skulls by S.M. Reine
Priest of Skulls (Tarot Witches: The Raven Knights Saga #2) by S.M. Reine
Format: ebook
Source: provided by the author for review
Date read: July 28, 2019

Tarot Witches: The Raven Knights Saga
1. Knave of Blades
2. Priest of SkullsKindle

S.M. Reine
Website | Twitter | Facebook | Amazon |

Synopsis (Goodreads):
Allene Whelan is trapped in the True Kingdom, held captive by their cruel leader Macsen. It’s her job as the newest Raven Knight to assassinate him by any means necessary. As a sylph whose greatest weapon is her body, that means seducing him…all the way to the grave.

But the closer Allene gets to Macsen, the more she realizes he’s being played by a crueler enemy: Morgause, the manipulative sidhe he regards as mother. And Macsen doesn’t seem interested in hurting Allene. The closer they grow, the less she wants to kill him.

Trapped by passion in a shadowy labyrinth of lies, Allene forces Macsen to make a choice. Does the Priest of Skulls want to rule through death, or through love?
Thoughts on Priest of Skulls: Allene is finding her way into her powers a little more as she connects with the next member of her cabal. Not that Macsen is part of her cabal yet, but it's only a matter of time once the cards start appearing, amirite?

Plus, for all he's kinda terrifying and fierce, Macsen has it bad for Allene ever since she dosed him with her pollen and gave him his chance with Leander. Wait up. There are other reasons he likes the sylph. She makes him...not human exactly, but she wakes him up when he's been comfortably numb for so long.

And for a guy whose power could trigger something world changing, waking up could go either way. Macsen just needs to decide if he's willing to open his eyes and truly see or continue blindly following.

THINGS are happening, people. BIG THINGS. Sexy things and dangerous things and OMG! THINGS! So exciting!

Monday, August 19, 2019

Close to the Bone by Kendra Elliot [Review]

 Close to the Bone by Kendra Elliot
Close to the Bone (Widow's Island #1) by Kendra Elliot
Format: ebook
Source: borrowed through Kindle Unlimited
Date read: October 24, 2018

Widow's Island
1. Close to the Bone - Kindle
2. A Bone to Pick
3. Whisper of Bones
4. Bred in the Bone

Kendra Elliot
Website | Twitter | Facebook | Amazon |

Synopsis (Goodreads):
FBI Special Agent Cate Wilde is back home on a remote Pacific Northwest island when she gets the call: a teenager’s skeletal remains have been found on a nearby island.

Together with Tessa Black, a childhood friend turned local deputy, Cate confronts dreary weather and bleak leads to make sense of the death. The complications pile up as Cate is distracted by the coroner on the case—and by nagging memories that draw her twenty years into the past. The remains suggest eerie similarities between this victim, and Cate and Tessa’s friend Samantha, who disappeared when she was fourteen.

Cate finds herself up against closemouthed locals, buried town secrets, and even her own heart. As the case unravels, will she be able to cut through the fog and find justice for the missing and the dead.
Thoughts on Close to the Bone: Yesss. A new series to sink my teeth into. I've gotta say the history of the islands is almost as compelling as the characters who populate it. Well, that and the weirdness he police force has to deal with.

Speaking of which, Cate is...dealing with stuff. On leave after an injury puts her temporarily out of commission, she's willing to step in and be the FBI presence on the island when bones are found, but she's not moving at full speed. Which doesn't ultimately slow her down, because her brain's in full working order, but still. She's a little damaged and a still nursing some emotional fallout from what brought her home.

The new town doc stirs things up for her even more. Plus, the memories of losing one of her best friends twenty years earlier.

I dig the history. I like the characters. I'm kinda excited to see what the next couple books bring.