Tuesday, December 11, 2018

Death Knell by Hailey Edwards [Review]

 Death Knell by Hailey Edwards
Death Knell (The Foundling #3) by Hailey Edwards
Format: ebook
Source: provided through NetGalley
Date read: November 24, 2018

The Foundling
1. Bayou Born
2. Bone Driven
3. Death KnellKindle

Hailey Edwards
Website | Twitter | Facebook | Amazon |

Synopsis (Goodreads):
War burned her. Famine nearly killed her. Now Death is at her heels.

After her two worlds clashed apocalyptically, Luce Boudreau needed some time out. But Destiny had other ideas. When bodies begin washing ashore down the Mississippi River, Luce discovers they are part of a gruesome, lethal message. Her final sister, Death, is trying to break through.

Every sign is clear: the end is coming, but earth will be destroyed - quite literally - over Luce's dead body, even if that means she'll be battling her own nature. And her coterie will stand with her, though Cole keeps standing one step too goddamn far away. Her mysterious new partner, Adam Wu, on the other hand, seems determined to keep her close at all times. And the more Luce learns about the new world she's part of, the deeper the secrets go. Who - if anyone - can she really trust?

As the final pieces of an ancient war come together, Luce's chance to fight back comes sooner than she expected. Death can come at her . . . she's eager to return the favour.
Thoughts on Death Knell: This series continues to keep me on my toes. Luce's battle against who she is now and what her previous incarnations have done just...I don't know. I'm hooked. Luce is a hot mess who's trying to reconcile the her from before with the morality her human father has instilled in her. And it's fascinating.

Throw in her overwhelming attraction to Cole and the drive within her to keep her coterie safe PLUS a few HUGE revelations about the hows and whys of what she's doing on earth and my head is spinning. In the best possible way, of course.

Not only do we get some big things happening, we also get to see a new side of Conquest's sisters. War and Famine hit hard and fast when they got to earth, but Death seems to have another tactic in mind and it's not what Luce was expecting. In any way. Any. At all.

Things continue to progress. I'm talking relationships, friendships, and alliances. Luce and Cole are finally reaching the point where they're not perpetually pushing against one another and it's fantastic. I like those two together. There are so many layers between them and they're a bit of a mess right now, but they're working things out. Slowly.

THINGS are happening. Holy wow, so many things. The next book will likely blow all the theories I've been putting together out of the water. And I'm okay with that. I'm completely ready to see where Luce's story leads me.

Monday, December 10, 2018

Wallbanger by Alice Clayton [Review]

 Wallbanger by Alice Clayton
Wallbanger (Cocktail #1) by Alice Clayton
Format: ebook
Source: purchased
Date read: February 19, 2018

Cocktail
1. Wallbanger - Paperback | Kindle
2. Rusty Nailed
3. Screwdrivered
4. Mai Tai'd Up
4.5. Last Call

Alice Clayton
| Website | Twitter | Facebook | Amazon |

Synopsis (Goodreads):
The first night after Caroline moves into her fantastic new San Francisco apartment, she realizes she's gaining an intimate knowledge of her new neighbor's nocturnal adventures. Thanks to paper-thin walls and the guy's athletic prowess, she can hear not just his bed banging against the wall but the ecstatic response of what seems (as loud night after loud night goes by) like an endless parade of women. And since Caroline is currently on a self-imposed dating hiatus, and her neighbor is clearly lethally attractive to women, she finds her fantasies keep her awake even longer than the noise. So when the wallbanging threatens to literally bounce her out of bed, Caroline, clad in sexual frustration and a pink baby-doll nightie, confronts Simon Parker, her heard-but-never-seen neighbor. The tension between them is as thick as the walls are thin, and the results just as mixed. Suddenly, Caroline is finding she may have discovered a whole new definition of neighborly...
Thoughts on Wallbanger: Okay, I liked this book overall, but I'm weirdly weirded out by how some people (I'm being intentionally vague here) went out of their way to conceal their matchmaking from Caroline and Simon. It's a relatively minor plot point and I have NO IDEA why it bothers me, but it does.

That said, Caroline and Simon were a hoot. She draws conclusions about him based on a very limited understanding of his actions (to be honest, I kinda did, too. I mean, the guys seems like a pretty big manwhore from the slice of his life we first glimpse. BUT...he surprised me.) and he sees her as his own personal, err, sexual shenanigan blocker. Which is true, is some regards.

You know how it is...a guy meets a girl he can't get out of his head and suddenly all the others in his harem aren't doing it for him anymore. In the same vein, Simon's vigorous late-night shenanigans give Caroline some VIVID material for her spank bank.

Simon surprised me, Caroline's situation was cringe-worthy (and by that I mean both her inability to complete and having to listen to her neighbor giving it to someone REPEATEDLY), and the story was fun. Here's to more wallbanging in the future!

Sunday, December 9, 2018

RtP's Week in Review (12/09/18)

Reading the Paranormal's Week in Review
Bookish Delights
  • Books added to the pile
    • Uggh. I know I picked up a few new books this week, but I wasn't real great about tracking them, yo.
    • Currently reading 
      • Jock Rule by Sara Ney
    Globetrotting...

    Saturday, December 8, 2018

    Dirty Uncle by Alexa Riley and Jessa Kane [Review]

     Dirty Uncle by Alexa Riley and Jessa Kane
    Dirty Uncle by Alexa Riley and Jessa Kane
    Format: ebook
    Source: purchased
    Date read: December 22, 2017

    Purchase LinksKindle

    Alexa Riley
    Website | Twitter | Facebook | Amazon |

    Jessa Kane
    Amazon |

    Synopsis (Goodreads):
    Rex spends a lot of time on king crab fishing boats. So much time that he can’t remember the last time he felt the warmth of a woman. So when his barely legal, half-naked niece lands in his lap, he can’t seem to control himself.

    Clara is old enough to make her own decisions, and she’s decided she wants her step-uncle Rex. He’s big and dirty, but tell that to her aching body.

    Warning: When Jessa and Alexa team up you know it’s going to be terrible. Turn down the lights and grab some fresh batteries. This one is straight filth!
    Thoughts on Dirty Uncle: I know I say this about EVERY Alexa Riley book I read, but, MAN, they are ridiculously over the top fun. I just like them. Two people want one another and they might fight the attraction, but they ultimately find a fantastic HEA.

    In this case, Rex is dead set against defiling his extremely innocent step-niece. She, however, knows that the only person who's ever made her feel alive is the gruff, rough-around-the-edges man who tries to hide his lusty looks. THINGS HAPPEN and everybody ends up in their happy place.

    Sexy times, a lonely man coming to terms with the nature of their relationship, and a young woman determined to grab onto her happiness with both hands. <3

    Friday, December 7, 2018

    When He Was Bad by Shelly Laurenston, Cynthia Eden [Review]

     When He Was Bad by Shelly Laurenston, Cynthia Eden
    When He Was Bad by Shelly Laurenston, Cynthia Eden
    Format: ebook
    Source: purchased
    Date read: January 4, 2018

    Amazon links
    When He Was Bad - Paperback | Kindle

    Shelly Laurenston
    Website | Amazon |

    Cynthia Eden
    Website | Twitter | Facebook | Amazon |

    Synopsis (Goodreads):
    A scorching after-dark anthology featuring Alpha males so hot, so wild, and so bad, they may just be the best you've ever had...

    Shelly Laurenston
    Miss Congeniality

    I'm young, good looking, and one day I'll be Alpha Male of my family's Pack. But Professor Irene Conridge acts like I don't even exist. Now she's got enemies coming out of the woodwork and I have to protect her. Of course, it doesn't hurt that while I work to secure her safety, she'll be hanging out at my house--right where I want her.

    Cynthia Eden
    Wicked Ways

    When I hear my sexy new neighbor scream one night, the absolute last thing I expect to see is Miranda Shaw--star of my hottest fantasies--being attacked by a vampire. Too bad for him I'm a badass shifter ready to fight for my fantasies. And Miranda, well, she's so busy watching out for him that she won't see me closing in on her. .
    Thoughts on When He Was Bad: I honestly can't resist Shelly Laurenston's shifters. They're like furry crack to me. No, wait. That sounds wrong.

    Anyway.

    Miss Congeniality - Oh, MAN. Going back to before Van was the Alpha of the Van Holtz pack and before he and Irene had mated was HILARIOUS. Mostly because Irene was so wonderfully pragmatic about everything. Literally everything. Sex. Her looks. People who can turn into animals at will. The lady is logical and blunt to a fault and I LOVED her for it. Plus, she's brutally efficient when she needs to be. When surrounded by predators that's not a bad thing to be. At all.

    The men are relentless. The women hold their own. The sex is smokin'. This story was everything I've come to expect from Shelly Laurenston's shifters.

    Wicked Ways - Miranda and Cain. The human who accidentally gets tangled up with a sadistic vampire and the shifter who takes it on himself to keep her safe. Given that Cain has a deep, deep craving for Miss Miranda, you can probably see how things progress. To be fair, Cain does try to control himself. It's just, you know, hard when the lady of your dreams is teasing your senses.

    A nasty vampire, a hot-blooded shifter, and the lady who suddenly finds herself smack dab in the middle of a hidden supernatural world. *thumbs up*

    Thursday, December 6, 2018

    Solar Storm by Mina Carter [Review]

     Solar Storm by Mina Carter
    Solar Storm by Mina Carter
    Format: ebook
    Source: purchased
    Date read: January 1, 2018

    Mina Carter
    Website | Twitter | Facebook | Amazon | Kindle |

    Synopsis (Goodreads):
    She’s the one who got away. Now she’s uncharted territory…

    Ten years after rich-girl life fell apart, Rhys Devin is a changed woman—her name, her face, and her attitude. Now the fast-talking, hard-as-nails captain of the Grey Lady sails the most dangerous solar roads in the universe. Times are tough, but she gets the job done, sailing alone. Always watching over her shoulder.

    The last thing she needs is a delay, but when she runs across a stranded sailor, she has no choice. The law of the road demands she rescue him.

    Kelwin Sayeed is a soldier without a war. The retired War Commander’s latest and most ambitious hobby, the solar flyer Artemis, was supposed to prove him worthy of the famously reclusive Solar Sailors. Instead a catastrophic computer failure has him at the mercy of the most hazardous road of all; Icaria.

    Confident he won’t be left to die in the golden spray, he waits for another sailor to come along. One that’s born and bred to the roads, with skin wizened like beaten gold. What he gets is a woman whose voice does things to his body that should be illegal. Whose golden-tinted skin sparks erotic fantasies.

    The bride who ran from him a decade ago…

    **Contains a self re-invented woman with a low tolerance for bullshit and a tendency to snark, a hot former soldier with a brutal approach to protecting what’s his, and a solar-kissed romance that spans years.**
    Thoughts on Solar Storm: Okay, I'm a sucker for second chance romances. Kelwin was all focused determination and sexy smolder while Rhys/Nerys was determined to have the wedding night she never got the first time around. That part probably would have gone better if she'd told him who she was on the outset, but live and learn. Right, Rhys?

    Anywho. I'm not normally a big fan of assumptions and misunderstandings tearing a couple apart, but given Rhys's upbringing and her young age when everything went down, I can understand this one. Plus, her dad was kinda a pro at manipulating people, so a sheltered young woman wouldn't have much of a chance of standing up against him. Still, she managed to get away, even if she didn't get the dream husband she thought she was getting. On the other hand, living your life on the run and always watching your back gets old after a while.

    A neat world, a dangerous calling, and a couple who are meant to cross paths no matter what or who tries to keep them apart. I liked it.

    Wednesday, December 5, 2018

    Creative Incentives by Kit Rocha [Quickie Review]

     Creative Incentives by Kit Rocha
    Creative Incentives (Beyond #9.1) by Kit Rocha
    Format: ebook
    Source: free through author's site
    Date read: January 1, 2018

    Beyond
    1. Beyond Shame
    2. Beyond Control
    2.5. Beyond Denial
    3. Beyond Pain
    3.5. Beyond Temptation
    4. Beyond Jealousy
    4.5. Beyond Solitude
    5. Beyond Addiction
    5.5. Beyond Possession
    6. Beyond Innocence
    6.5. Closed Doors
    6.6. Blank Canvas
    7. Beyond Ruin
    8. Beyond Ecstasy
    9. Beyond Surrender
    9.1. Creative Incentives - author's site

    Kit Rocha
    Website | Twitter (Kit Rocha) | Twitter (Donna) | Twitter (Bree) | Facebook | Amazon |

    Synopsis (Goodreads):
    This story is a short vignette voted on by our Patreon supporters. In it, Cruz figures out some creative ways to convince Ace to keep up with the physical therapy that is restoring his strength after his injuries in Beyond Surrender. It's short, it's filthy, and it's a lot of fun. (Note: Patreon stories are exclusive to subscribers for the first six months. After that, they'll be available to download free on our website.)

    Set after the end of Beyond Surrender, this story contains spoilers for basically the whole Beyond Series. If you don't like spoilers, don't read on!!!
    Thoughts on Creative Incentives: I LOVE getting a chance to look back on previous couples in a series. And Rachel, Ace, and Cruz are sex-ay even when they're not actively trying to be. Then Cruz goes and starts actively trying and the three of them generate enough steam to power a small city.

    THAT'S WHAT IT'S ALL ABOUT, MY FRIENDS! Connections and sexy times found in unexpected places.

    Considering how much I love this world and these characters, I'll be snatching these up as soon as they come available. *draws sparkly hearts around these rough and tumble men and women*