Monday, June 14, 2021

Thanatos by Felicity Heaton [Review]

Thanatos (Guardians of Hades #8) by Felicity Heaton
Format: ebook
Source: provided for review
Disclaimer: As an Amazon Associate, I earn from qualifying purchases.
Date read: June 2, 2021

Guardians of Hades
1. Ares
2. Valen
3. Esher
4. Marek
5. Calistos
6. Daimon
7. Keras 
8. ThanatosKindle

Felicity Heaton
Website | Twitter | Facebook | Amazon |

Synopsis (Goodreads):
Thanatos, god of death, has a mission: scour the unknown realms of the Underworld and retrieve the only daughter of his god-king, Hades. Murdered six centuries ago and her soul captured before it could pass on, she now falls under Thanatos’s domain. Armed with only a description of the location of her prison seen in a vision by her oldest brother, Thanatos has spent four years hunting for her, determined to complete his task and save her.

But when he locates Calindria, she’s not the delicate little girl he remembers—she’s a fierce, bewitching and beautiful warrioress who stirs unwanted feelings in his black heart and she’s on a mission of her own.

Calindria, daughter of Hades, has a mission: escape her prison, hunt down the ones who murdered her twin brother, and then make her family pay for abandoning her. But the Fates have other plans, placing a distractingly gorgeous god of death in her path—a warrior who is determined to convince her that what she believed is the truth is in fact a lie.

In a realm that turns memories against them and where anything can be an illusion, can Calindria and Thanatos learn to trust each other enough to work together to escape the hellish domain, or will the darkest moments of their past prove too powerful to overcome?
Thoughts on Thanatos: Just when you thought things were looking up for the boys in the Underworld, the truth that Calindria did NOT die as everyone thought drops on them. While it seems like a good thing on the surface, the fact no one knew where she was being held (or how ANY of this had happened in the first place) makes it a tough pill to swallow. So Hades sent Thanatos to track her down and, well, he's been toiling at that task for a while now.

Not going to lie, Calindria is a hot mess of epic proportions. Tormented and held captive in a realm that continually uses her worst fears against her, she's not in a great place (either physically, mentally, or emotionally) when Thanatos stumbles over her. On the plus side, she (accidentally) figured out she has a pretty powerful ability. On the down side, she's kind of terrified she'll kill anyone she's around since she absolutely doesn't know how to control said power. Yeah, she has some things to deal with. Not the least of which is being held captive and thinking the worst of her family for several centuries.

Meanwhile, Thanatos has to deal with his own issues (of which he is a champion avoider) while trying to get Calindria to safety. Everything from the critters in the realm to the bad guys trying to get her back make things as difficult as possible for him. Plus, his champion avoiding abilities mean his issues rear their ugly heads at the WORST possible moments.

A little backstabbing, more than a little danger, a whole lot of baggage on both Thanatos and Calindria's parts, and some steamy moments they manage to steal between the dangerous times. As a bonus, there are THINGS afoot that look to bring more chaos to the family in the future. *thumbs up*

The Skeleton in the Closet by Angie Fox [Review]

The Skeleton in the Closet by Angie Fox
The Skeleton in the Closet (Southern Ghost Hunter Mysteries #2) by Angie Fox
Format: ebook
Source: purchased
Disclaimer: As an Amazon Associate, I earn from qualifying purchases.
Date read: May 16, 2020

Southern Ghost Hunter Mysteries
1. Southern Spirits
1.5. A Ghostly Gift
2. The Skeleton in the Closet - PaperbackKindle
2.5. Ghost of a Chance
3. The Haunted Heist
4. Deader Homes and Gardens
4.5. Dog Gone Ghost
5. Sweet Tea and Spirits
6. Murder on the Sugarland Express
7. Pecan Pies and Dead Guys
8. The Mint Julep Murders
8.5. The Ghost of Christmas Past
9. Southern Bred and Dead
10. The Haunted Homecoming

Angie Fox
Website | Twitter | Facebook | Amazon |

Synopsis (Goodreads):
A haunted library is no place for a girl who can see ghosts, but when Verity Long stumbles on a dead body in the middle of the main reading room, she has to believe someone… even a dead someone… must have witnessed the crime.

Her ghostly sidekick Frankie warns her to stay out of it. The very alive, very handsome deputy sheriff, Ellis Wydell, inadvertently places her directly in the middle of it. And her ex-fiancĂ©, Ellis’s brother, is back with an agenda of his own.

Undaunted, Verity presses forward, uncovering scandalous secrets, long-forgotten ghosts, and a shocking trail of clues that places her directly in the path of a killer.
Thoughts on The Skeleton in the Closet: I've been reading this series for a while now and have no idea how I just sort of skipped over book 2. Weird, but I kinda dig going back and seeing Verity before she really got comfortable with what she can do. On the other hand, it was a bit jarring to take a step back on her relationship with a certain tall, dark copper who we get to see a whole lot of in later books.

But this isn't ALLLLL about Verity and her relationships. There's a murder to unravel, a couple of ghosts to spend time with, and Frankie's rose bush to...do that thing with. Regardless, there are THINGS Verity needs to focus on that aren't all about Ellis's hot bod and sexy smiles.

As always, I get a kick out of Verity being Verity. She's sweet and kind, but she also has a backbone. As one must both physiologically and when dealing with Mama Wydell. Verity's in a weird situation there seeing as she was almost married to one Wydell and now's she's kinda, sorta dating another. So she puts up with Virginia's jabs and does what she has to do to keep the peace.

Ghosts, danger, murder, long buried secrets, and a hot cop. Everything I was looking for!

Sunday, June 13, 2021

RtP's Week in Review (06/13/21)

Reading the Paranormal's Week in Review
Bookish Delights
  • Books added to the pile 
    • None? Whoa.
    • Currently reading 
      • Cornflowers and Corpses by London Lovett
    Globetrotting...
    • KellyApple.com
      • Feature Friday took us back to the first book in the Wicked Pride series, No Reservations. A blind date leads to a wild adventure!

    Saturday, June 12, 2021

    His Human Surrogate by Michele Mills [Review]

    His Human Surrogate (Monsters Love Curvy Girls #2) by Michele Mills
    Format: ebook
    Source: borrowed through Kindle Unlimited 
    Disclaimer: As an Amazon Associate, I earn from qualifying purchases.
    Date read: October 9, 2020

    Monsters Love Curvy Girls
    1. His Human Nanny
    2. His Human SurrogateKindle
    3. His Human Assistant
    4. His Human Organizer
    5. His Human Ward

    Michele Mills
    Website | Twitter | Facebook | Amazon |

    Synopsis (Goodreads):
    I’m house sitting for a male who had me impregnated in a med lab.

    Bergelmir, my secret crush.

    That rich, scary devil outbid everyone at the virtual auction and got himself to the top of the list (pissing off a lot of other Hyrrokin) and, gulp, I’m his surrogate. And…now I’m carrying Bergelmir’s baby. But I have my head on straight about this. I’m doing this so my friend can be a father. Because that’s all we are—friends.

    But I have a shameful secret I’ve told no one: I wish this baby was mine. And I love that fire-breathing Hyrrokin with all of my heart.

    If only he felt the same way.
    Thoughts on His Human Surrogate: Aliens, man. They do...weird things sometimes. Like hide out in their own house and keep themselves hidden away from the lady they want above all others (while she's living in the house, mind you) because they don't want to put her in danger. Which I get, but I WOULD NOT BE NEARLY AS FORGIVING AS CHLOE IF I WERE IN HER SHOES.

    But I'm not, so let's move on.

    Chloe's way into Bergelmir. WAY into him. But newly established planetary laws leave her high and dry on that front, so she keeps that little tidbit tucked away. Plus, the only way she can be on planet (with her BFF!) is if she's gainfully employed. The only employment open to humans that she can slide into easily is...surrogacy.

    Okay. I'm down with all this and I actually do understand Berg's reasoning as to why he kept himself hidden (communicating via tablet and whatnot so their budding romance can blossom and all that), but I have a harrrrrrrrrrd time with the whole "it really is *their* baby and he let Chloe believe it wasn't" side of things. Dude. You had best become a world champion groveler to make it up to her because that is NOT COOL. Not cool at all.

    The Hyrrokin are a little over the top (as fire breathing aliens sometimes are) and their laws are a bucket of monkey turds. BUT...it all worked out in the end. Which is a yay in my book!

    Friday, June 11, 2021

    Dash by Kelsey Nicole Price [Review]

    Dash by Kelsey Nicole Price
    Dash (The Cyborg Chronicles #1) by Kelsey Nicole Price
    Format: ebook
    Source: purchased
    Disclaimer: As an Amazon Associate, I earn from qualifying purchases.
    Date read: May 15, 2020

    The Cyborg Chronicles
    1. Dash - Paperback | Kindle
    2. Reaper
    3. Acer
    4. Dax

    Kelsey Nicole Price
    | Amazon |

    Synopsis (Goodreads):
    When the Global Allegiance terminated all Cyborgs, rumors were rampant that they still existed, either hidden away with wealthy collectors or—even more scandalous—part of the Cyborg Rebellion.

    Iris

    I collect stuff. Some call me a hoarder. I prefer the term treasure hunter. In my wildest dreams I never thought I’d find a cyborg but maybe my dreams should have been wilder because that’s exactly what I find.
    Big, blue and now mine, I take him home promising him that he is now free.
    I can’t help the fact he is sexy as hell...and that blue is my favorite color.

    478 Dash 942

    I have been kept locked in a box, hidden away and forgotten.
    Then I am pulled from my box by a strange human female who calls herself Iris.
    Iris gives me a name and promises that I am no longer just a possession.
    That my job is no longer only to serve.
    The thought is terrifying but for the first time I feel hope.
    Maybe this human is truly different.
    One thing I know for sure is that Iris is fascinating and...tempting.
    Thoughts on Dash: I have to admit I don't like when cyborgs are used and abused and then forcibly terminated. Actually, I don't like it when that happens to anything or anyone. But cyborgs are my personal kryptonite. So, yeah. Dash and his brethren totally have reason to rise up against the GA and cause a little havoc, in my book.

    Let's look at how things played out, shall we? Dash is created, abused, and boxed up before the GA can grab him. He's lived a life of pain and humiliation and he's still bound to serve whoever finds him. Which blows, man. Hard. Fortunately for him, Iris isn't vindictive or cruel. She's a little confused by finding a cyborg while treasure hunting, but she never treats him like he's less than her.

    As it turns out, that's what matters to Dash and his fellow cyborgs.

    When a mission to save Iris's friend goes horribly wrong, everyone realizes how much much these two mean to one another and the lengths they'll go to never leave the other's side.

    I have to say, I liked Dash, but I'm even more intrigued by the other models introduced along the way. Here's to seeing how their story plays out.

    Thursday, June 10, 2021

    A Few Cyborgs More by Honey Phillips [Review]

    A Few Cyborgs More by Honey Phillips
    A Few Cyborgs More (Cyborgs on Mars #3) by Honey Phillips
    Format: ebook
    Source: borrowed through Kindle Unlimited
    Disclaimer: As an Amazon Associate, I earn from qualifying purchases.
    Date read: May 14, 2020

    Cyborgs on Mars
    0.5. High Plains Cyborg
    1. The Good, the Bad, and the Cyborg
    2. A Fistful of Cyborg
    3. A Few Cyborgs MorePaperback | Kindle
    4. The Magnificent Cyborg
    5. The Outlaw Cyborg

    Honey Phillips
    Amazon |

    Synopsis (Goodreads):
    A gruff older warrior. A hopeful young cyborg. A frightened woman on the run.

    J-817 would never forgive himself for the terrible mistake he had made - a mistake which resulted not only in his conversion to a cyborg but caused the same fate for his young private. Determined to atone for his failings, he protects B-669 during the long hard years terraforming Mars and even agrees to try his hand at mining the new planet.

    Frantic to get away from Earth, Daisy seizes the opportunity to become part of the Martian mail order bride program, even though it means a dangerous new planet and an unknown husband. She doesn’t expect to find herself married by proxy to a stern older cyborg who refuses to let her close to him, but whose intense gaze creates a storm of longing inside her. And his young partner is just as attractive.

    B-669 owes everything to J-817, but the other male is too buried in guilt to accept his gratitude. In an attempt to overcome the trauma of the past, B-669 arranges for a bride for J-817. Despite J-817’s original rejection of the delicate little human, B-669 can see the longing in his eyes when he watches Daisy. It’s just a matter of time before he succumbs. The only problem is, B-669 wants her just as much.

    When danger threatens, can they overcome their past fears and learn to live - and love - together in this harsh new world?
    Thoughts on A Few Cyborgs More: Cyborgs, man. I like them gruff and grumbly and I like them fresh faced and eager. With Jonah and Bill, we get both sides of the cyborg coin as they work on incorporating Daisy into their lives. While Jonah thinks Daisy would be better off with a cyborg without all his baggage, Bill is sure Daisy can help Jonah work through his issues and keep him firmly rooted in the present.

    As it turns out, however, Daisy likes both her cyborgs and refuses to choose one over the other. Which isn't all that much of a problem in the end since the cyborgs work well together as a team. Having two cyborgs also turns out to be fortuitous when a blast from Daisy's past threatens their newly formed family.

    Meanwhile, things on Mars are moving forward. And by "things" I mean it looks like there's going to be a reckoning between the settlers and the company working on their nefarious plot behind the scenes. I can't imagine any of the cyborgs who have found their special someone (not to mention the humans who escaped earth to get away from the politics and rigid rules) are going to let their new home fall prey to any of the people who want to use it the way they used earth.

    A little danger, a little simmering sexual tension, a few familiar faces. Good stuff!

    Wednesday, June 9, 2021

    One Moment Please by Amy Daws [Review]

    One Moment Please by Amy Daws
    One Moment Please (Wait With Me #3) by Amy Daws
    Format: ebook
    Source: borrowed through Kindle Unlimited
    Disclaimer: As an Amazon Associate, I earn from qualifying purchases.
    Date read: May 13, 2020

    Wait With Me
    1. Wait With Me
    2. Next In Line
    3. One Moment PleasePaperback | Kindle

    Amy Daws
    Website | Twitter | Facebook | Amazon |

    Synopsis (Goodreads):
    That awkward moment when an ER doctor has to inform you that you’re pregnant…with his baby.

    Three things Lynsey Jones knows about the hot doctor: he’s grouchy, an arrogant jerk, and strangely obsessed with pie.

    Three things Dr. Dick knows: he doesn’t talk about his past, he doesn’t do relationships, and the crazy girl in the hospital cafeteria who ate a fistful of French silk pie…is annoyingly irresistible.

    After a chance meetup at a bar and a heated cab ride together, things come to a head and now instead of hating each other, they’re horizontal in a bed.

    Three months later, the weird cafeteria stalker who crept out of Dr. Dick’s house like a thief in the night, winds up as his patient in the ER after her Tinder date from hell.

    Dr. Dick is prepared to keep it cool and professional. That is until her bloodwork reveals that she’s pregnant.

    What really throws him for a loop…is that the surprise baby…is his.
    Thoughts on One Moment Please: Apparently scowly, grumpy heroes are my things right now. The hot doc was hilarious in his first attempts to flirt/irritate/woo Lynsey. His reasons for being scowly and grumpy were kind of heartbreaking, but his complete inability to stop being a jerk to Lynsey was weirdly fun to watch.

    As for Lynsey...surprise pregnancy! She might not be in the best place financially or job-wise, but she has her friends and Josh is grumblingly supportive in his scowly way. On the down side, Josh also has a boatload of baggage he needs to unpack and a whole lot of walls she needs to get past before they can be more couple-y and less roommate-y.

    A few road bumps...okay, more than a few. Some blisteringly hot sexy times. Friends who have your back. Old hurts being confronted. Yep, I really do like scowly, grumpy heroes finding their ray of sunshine and grudgingly letting them in. *thumbs up*