Thursday, December 5, 2019

Cyborg Pool Boy by Naomi Lucas [Review]

 Cyborg Pool Boy by Naomi Lucas
Cyborg Pool Boy (Cyborg Shifters #0.5) by Naomi Lucas
Format: ebook
Source: purchased
Date read: January 7, 2019

Cyborg Shifters
0.5. Cyborg Pool BoyKindle
1. Wild Blood
2. Storm Surge
3. Shark Bite
4. Mutt
5. Ashes and Metal

Naomi Lucas
Website | Facebook | Amazon |

Synopsis (Goodreads):
What could a fabulously wealthy heiress possibly do when an alien monster takes up residence in her pool? Call a Cyborg Monster Hunter, obviously.

OBVIOUSLY.

Little did she know that she just hired a monster to take out another monster.
Thoughts on Cyborg Pool Boy: Oh, man. This book gave me a happy. A shapeshifting, possessive cyborg with a sense of humor and a softer side? THIS IS WHAT I DREAM ABOUT.

Seriously. Moss and Lucy were adorably sweet together. Sure, sure. He's a genetically modified abomination according the bulk of the galaxy, but he's a sweetie all the same. And Lucy? She might be a heiress and have access to an obscene amount of money and resources, but she's kind hearted and not willing to stand by while someone she could potentially care about puts himself in danger for her.

Which leads to a few tense moments between the two after she rushes in to save him. And by "tense", I mean sex-ay.

You know what? I like that's she's totally unfazed by his shifted form. She's just like "that's cool, man, but did you SEE the giant plant thing? Crazy, huh?"

I got a kick out of this one. Cyborgs and aliens and heiressess. Oh, my!

Wednesday, December 4, 2019

Mission: Her Security by Anna Hackett [Review]

 Mission: Her Security by Anna Hackett
Mission: Her Security (Team 52 #3) by Anna Hackett
Format: ebook
Source: borrowed through Kindle Unlimited
Date read: January 8, 2019

Team 52
1. Mission: Her Protection
2. Mission: Her Rescue
3. Mission: Her Security - Paperback | Kindle
4. Mission: Her Defense
5. Mission: Her Safety
6. Mission: Her Freedom

Anna Hackett
Website | Twitter | Facebook | Amazon |

Synopsis (Goodreads):
When sweet, smiling Kinsey is kidnapped by unknown forces, former SEAL and Team 52 operator Smith Creed will risk anything to get her back.

Kinsey Beck is used to life knocking her down. She escaped her past and came to Las Vegas for a new start. So what if she didn’t achieve her dream of being a showgirl, instead, she now has an awesome job as logistics manager for the covert, black ops Team 52. She loves all the team…especially big, gruff mountain man Smith, even if he isn’t interested in her the way she’d like. But when Kinsey is kidnapped, she finds alone and herself trapped in a deadly fight for survival…

Smith Creed is a loner who prefers his own company, his dog, and his mountain cabin. Working for Team 52 lets him use his unique skills to help ensure pieces of powerful ancient technology don’t fall into the wrong hands. It also brings him in close contact with a woman he knows isn’t for him—sweet, beautiful Kinsey. But when he learns she’s been snatched, her life hanging in the balance, he’ll tear the world apart to bring her home safely.

But rescuing Kinsey uncovers a deeper plot and a shadowy group out to destroy the world. Smith and Team 52 will be forced to make tough decisions—revolving around a dangerous, ancient artifact—and even when Kinsey is back in Smith’s arms, she still isn’t safe. With danger at every turn, Smith with sacrifice everything to ensure Kinsey’s security, but the greatest danger of all might be to Smith’s closed-off heart.
Thoughts on Mission: Her Security: Big, bad, STOIC Smith Creed is the next up on the team to find his special someone. I do enjoy when the closed off ones (*slowly*) figure out the thing they need most in the world is right under their nose.

In this case, the thing Smith needs is sunny, sweet Kinsey. She's had a pretty craptastic life and yet she still manages to find the bright side of things. She's genuinely kind and she doesn't let life knock her down for long no matter how hard it tries. Which is a *bit* of a difference from Smith. Just a bit, though. The guy's a little jaded, okay? He's closed himself off from even the idea of having a relationship after a disastrous marriage soured him.

Kinsey's abduction makes him face up to the fact that he likes her sweetness. He wants to make sure she has a chance to keep spreading her kindness and light and that means doing whatever needs to be done to keep his lady safe.

Yep, I like it when the big, stoic ones take the fall.

For her part, Kinsey's known for ages that Smith is the one for her. She doesn't believe it will ever happen, but she likes the guy and her abduction lowers some of the walls she has around her heart and lets her get closer to him than she imagined she could.

Team 52, man. They fight hard and love harder all while saving the world from bad guys intent on mass destruction. Good times!

Tuesday, December 3, 2019

Shelf Awareness by Katie Ashley [Review]


 Shelf Awareness by Katie Ashley
Shelf Awareness (Green Valley Library #4) by Katie Ashley
Format: ebook
Source: provided for review
Date read: October 29, 2019

Green Valley Library
1. Love in Due Time
2. Crime and Periodicals
3. Prose Before Bros
4. Shelf AwarenessPaperback | Kindle

Katie Ashley
| Website | Twitter | Facebook | Amazon |

Synopsis (Goodreads):
After catching her husband in a compromising position, the last thing that Finley Granger wants is to enter the insanity that is the dating world. She’s dealing with enough upheaval: she’s quit her job as a journalist in Atlanta to start over as a librarian in the backwoods town of Green Valley, Tennessee. But her grandmother has other ideas. When GramBea teams up with her sister, Dot, and their best friend, Estelle, Finley finds herself surrounded by a trio of well-meaning yet incredibly bumbling matchmakers.

In spite of their efforts, there’s only one man she’s curious about, and that’s Zeke Masters, the library’s volunteer IT specialist. Sure, he’s 6’4”, impossibly built, ridiculously good-looking, and gets her nether regions tingling. However, it’s the tingle of her journalist spidey-senses that holds her attention most as she wonders why he’s on sabbatical from Seattle. Is he on lam, or on the run from a bad relationship? As Finley finds herself reluctantly drawn to the gorgeous IT guy, she can’t help but wonder: should she indulge in a little rebound fun with the mysterious Zeke – or has she finally met her match?
Thoughts on Shelf Awareness: *rubs hands together* Okay. We're back in Green Valley--and the Green Valley Public Library, to be precise--where Finley retreats to her grandmother's house after finding out her husband is cheating on her. (As an aside, Finley is WAY chill about the entire situation. More so than I personally thought she should be, but I'm starting to think I'm a deeply vindictive person who longs to see cheats and liars get their just desserts in the most Cletus way possible.)

Needless to say, Finley isn't really in the headspace to consider romance, but her heart doesn't really care about that. It sees Zeke and gives her the type of feelings that had been missing from her marriage for a fair amount of time. Which isn't to say everything is easy. The woman fights her attraction at first. Understandably, since she's coming off a broken marriage and he's only in Green Valley temporarily.

For his part, Zeke is volunteering his time at the library for reasons of his own and he, too, knows his time in GV is limited. He doesn't fight it nearly as hard as Finley does, though, and his easy going manner finally breaks through her defenses.

Some old faces, some new faces, and time spent in the library. What's not to love?


Download your copy today or read FREE in Kindle Unlimited!


Add to GoodReads: http://bit.ly/2lAahaG

Excerpt

As Zeke worked on uploading the census records, I hoisted one of the many boxes from the Henderson’s donation onto the table. It kicked up an epic dust cloud. I reached inside to pluck out one of the moldering tomes of historical literature. Wrinkling my nose, I fought the urge to sneeze. Instead, I cleared my throat. When it still felt like I had swallowed a wad of sawdust, I coughed. And that was my grievous mistake.

The force of the cough dislodged the Ben Wa ball, sending it into an epic downward dive. Yes, ladies and gentlemen the Ben Wa ball had left the building. Whirling away from Zeke, I used my hand to try an inconspicuous crotch shuffle to send the ball back to its point of origin. What happened next was truly against the laws of motion. Because the universe apparently hated me, the ball escaped the confines of my thong. As it started its descent down my thigh, I squeaked and clamped my knees together.

“Are you all right?” Zeke asked behind me.

I threw a glance at him over my shoulder. “Uh, yeah, I . . .” Okay, I had no idea how I was going to get out of this one. It wasn’t like I could say, “Well, here’s the thing. The Ben Wa ball I was using to strengthen my pelvic floor muscles to keep my vagina healthy for the D just slipped out and is about to make a very unhappy trail down my leg.”

“I think a bug bit me or something.”

“Oh no. Want me to take a look?”

“No!” When Zeke’s eyes widened at my outburst, I said, “Sorry. I’m okay.”

“If you’re sure.”

“Totally.”

“I think I might’ve found something interesting for your research.”

The only thing I was interested in at the moment was getting the Ben Wa ball out of my pants without Zeke seeing it. “Oh?”

“I definitely see some Native American female names.”

Damn him for being enthusiastic about my research. The last thing I wanted to do was walk the couple of steps back over to him while trying to keep a Ben Wa ball from rolling down my pants leg. Since I couldn’t see any other way out of it, I nodded. Gritting my teeth, I started shuffling over to him.

When I started lurching like Frankenstein’s monster, Zeke tilted his head curiously at me. “Are you sure you’re okay?”

“Yep. Totally fine,” I muttered.

Just as I reached his chair, my knee shifted because of what I imagined was panic sweat overtaking me. As the ball became dislodged, I bit down on my lip to keep from squealing again. There was no saving the ball now or my humiliation for that matter.

As soon as it plopped onto my shoe, I flung my foot, sending it ricocheting into the desk. Of course, it’s size caused it to make a tremendous ching-ching noise, which in turn caused Zeke to rip his attention away from the screen. “What was that?”

“What was what?” I questioned innocently.

He furrowed his brows at me. “You didn’t hear that noise?”

“Uh, no.” Plastering a smile on my face, I said, “I’m sorry. I was just so into what you were saying.”

Ignoring my response, Zeke quickly assessed the area around us. After I’d flung the ball away, it had come to a rest to the right of his desk chair. When he bent over to examine the ball, I inwardly began screaming noooooo while at the same time cursing Estelle for even bringing the Ben Wa ball into my orbit.

Since the universe hadn’t tortured me quite enough yet, Zeke picked up the ball. “Interesting,” he murmured as he twisted it between his fingers.

I decided it was best to play absolutely and completely clueless in this situation. “What is it?” Silently, I prayed he wouldn’t respond with, “It looks like one of those sex balls you shove up your cooch.”

“I don’t know. Maybe a part off one of the desks or chairs. I should probably give it to maintenance, so they can check all the furniture in here.”

Oh hell no. Without a second thought, I snatched the ball out of his hands. Since I did it rather abruptly, Zeke’s surprise was apparent on his face. Waving my free hand dismissively, I said, “Don’t bother yourself with that. I’ll take it to them.”

“Thanks, Finley.”

After wheezing out a breath, I replied, “You’re welcome.” I jerked my thumb over my shoulder. “I’ll go do that right now.”

I didn’t bother waiting for Zeke to reply. Instead, I power walked right out of the history room. I’m sure if he was watching me he would have been puzzled at my miraculous recovery, considering I’d been limping earlier.

At the first trash can I could find, I deposited the Ben Wa ball. It seemed abundantly clear that neither I nor my vagina were quite ready to handle the responsibility.

About Katie Ashley
Katie Ashley is a New York Times, USA Today, and Amazon Top Five Best-Selling author of both Indie and Traditionally published books. She lives outside of Atlanta, Georgia with her daughter, Olivia, her two rescue dogs named for Disney Princesses, Belle & Elsa, an out-numbered cat, Harry Potter, and one Betta fish. She has a slight obsession with Pinterest, The Golden Girls, Shakespeare, Harry Potter, and Star Wars.

Connect with Katie Ashley

Connect with Smartypants Romance

The Princess Beard by Delilah S. Dawson and Kevin Hearne [Review]

 The Princess Beard by Delilah S. Dawson and Kevin Hearne
The Princess Beard (Tales of Pell #3) by Delilah S. Dawson and Kevin Hearne
Format: ebook
Source: provided through NetGalley
Date read: September 16, 2019

Tales of Pell
1. Kill the Farm Boy
2. No Country for Old Gnomes
3. The Princess BeardHardcover | Kindle

Delilah S. Dawson
Website | Twitter | Facebook | Amazon |

Kevin Hearne
Website | Twitter | Facebook | Amazon |

Synopsis (Goodreads):
Shave the princess? Inconceivable! The hilarious bestselling authors of Kill the Farm Boy and No Country for Old Gnomes are back with a new adventure in the irreverent world of Pell.

Once upon a time, a princess slept in a magical tower cloaked in thorns and roses.

When she woke, she found no Prince Charming, only a surfeit of hair and grotesquely long fingernails--which was, honestly, better than some creep who acted without consent. She cut off her long braids and used them to escape. But she kept the beard because it made a great disguise.

This is not a story about finding true love's kiss--it's a story about finding yourself. On a pirate ship. Where you belong.

But these are no ordinary pirates aboard The Puffy Peach, serving under Filthy Lucre, the one-eyed parrot pirate captain. First there's Vic, a swole and misogynistic centaur on a mission to expunge himself of the magic that causes him to conjure tea and dainty cupcakes in response to stress. Then there's Tempest, who's determined to become the first dryad lawyer--preferably before she takes her ultimate form as a man-eating tree. They're joined by Alobartalus, an awkward and unelfly elf who longs to meet his hero, the Sn'archivist who is said to take dictation directly from the gods of Pell. Throw in some mystery meat and a dastardly capitalist plot, and you've got one Pell of an adventure on the high seas!

In this new escapade set in the magical land of Pell, Delilah S. Dawson and Kevin Hearne lovingly skewer the tropes of fairy tales and create a new kind of fantasy: generous, gently humorous, and inclusive. There might also be otters.
Thoughts on The Princess Beard: Oh, man. These adventures in Pell just keep getting more wonderfully ridiculous. No, wait. I'm wrong. The level of ridiculousness has remained constant in THE BEST WAY. They're just a rollicking ride from beginning to end.

The Princess and her beard are no exception. Because waking up after a cursed sleep to find yourself crusty and overgrown is only the beginning of Morgan's journey. I mean, the lady definitely finds herself along the way. And a cause. A cause that strikes her in the deepest part of her heart and which she can't walk away from.

You know, because otters.

Well, otters and friends. Sure, sure. Sometimes, these friends are the type of people who you don't exactly know are friends until the chips are down and they've got your back with tea cakes, glitter, and rage. Glorious, glorious rage.

Adventure on the high seas comes with monsters, introspection, swole pony boys, and more than a few ARRRGHS. GOOD TIMES!

Monday, December 2, 2019

Catalyst by Anna Carven [Review]

 Catalyst by Anna Carven
Catalyst (Hidden Planet #2) by Anna Carven
Format: ebook
Source: borrowed through Kindle Unlimited
Date read: January 4, 2019

Hidden Planet
1. Destroyer
2. CatalystKindle

Anna Carven
Facebook | Amazon |

Synopsis (Goodreads):
Stranded on a remote planet with no hope of escape.
Stuck in the unforgiving wilderness, where monsters hunt in the skies above.
No signal, no spacecraft, no translator.

Esania thought she and her people were escaping to the sanctuary planet of Torandor. Instead, she's ended up on a wild, uncharted nightmare called Khira, where the violet-skinned savages who guard them are just as poisonous as the deadly flora and fauna.

And the pale-winged demon who's just dropped from above might be the most dangerous of them all.
Thoughts on Catalyst: After the events in book 1, Esania and her, err, handmaidens (I guess? People? The one's she's looking after?) are stranded on Khira with the rest of the mercenaries and a group of Vradhu after the crazed living ship they were on...MAN, book one was a wild ride, wasn't it? Totally wild.

Anywho. Esania and the rest are now planetside and things aren't going great. On the plus side, they're all alive. But they're stranded far from home without any of the creature comforts they've come to depend on and there are a sadistic bunch of blue-skinned aliens who want to harvest the humans for their life force. Which, let's face it, probably sucks.

Imril doesn't much help their plight when he chances on them. Weakened after a several-hundred years hibernation, he's mostly instinct and hunger. So when he snatches Esania for the life force she gives off, things seem to go from bad to worse for her.

Except that's not exactly true. Imril might be a bit arrogant and a lot unaware of what's been going on while he was in his healing sleep, but he realizes soon enough that Esania is something special. Facing his failings to his people and making peace (of a sort) with his (formerly insane) twin brother mellows him. Sort of.

Bottom line, I like these fierce aliens. I like their human(-ish) counterparts. I'm digging this world and all the craziness that comes with it.

Sunday, December 1, 2019

RtP's Week in Review (12/01/19)

Reading the Paranormal's Week in Review
Bookish Delights
  • Books added to the pile
    • Err...I didn't keep track this week. Whoops!
    • Currently reading 
      • An Office Alien Christmas: Bia by V.C. Lancaster


    Saturday, November 30, 2019

    Flight Risk by Alexa Riley [Review]

     Flight Risk by Alexa Riley
    Flight Risk by Alexa Riley
    Format: ebook
    Source: borrowed through Kindle Unlimited
    Date read: May 19, 2019

    Purchase Links: Kindle

    Alexa Riley
    Website | Twitter | Facebook | Amazon |

    Synopsis (Goodreads):
    Sophia Adams has lived her whole life sheltered from the world. Her parents are workaholics, she goes to an all-girls school, and isn’t allowed outside the boundaries that have been set for her. So when she secretly gets a passport and packs a bag the day it arrives, she thinks all of her dreams are finally coming true. That is, until the airport security pulls her out of line and she discovers that maybe she’s more innocent than she thought.

    Lincoln Gray owns everything he could ever want. And that includes the dark-haired beauty he catches sight of. One look at Sophia and he’s making sure she’s the carry-on he’s taking to his next stop. She’s too naive to travel the world alone, and luckily for her, he’s the one to protect her. He’s never been told no, and it’s not about to start now. How can a woman resist being given all she’s dreamed of?

    Warning: This short story is insta-love faster than a Nighthawk (It’s the fastest plane in the world. Trust us, we Googled.) Make sure your tray tables are in their upright and locked position and your laptop is in a bin by itself. We’ve got a filthy little quickie ready to please!
    Thoughts on Flight Risk: Another OTT romance from AR and I'm LOVING IT. Sometimes you need snarly alpha males who know EXACTLY what they want the moment they lay eyes on the lady of their dreams and these books are perfect in that respect.

    This time around, we have Lincoln and Sophia. He's big, rich, and a little domineering. She's sheltered, sweetly naive, and falls just as hard for him as he falls for her.

    Over-the-top. Insanely addictive. Ridiculously fun. AR books are quick, wonderfully naughty, and they hit the spot in the best way. No innuendo intended. Ehh, maybe it was a little intended. *thumbs up*