Tuesday, July 24, 2018

Kill the Farm Boy by Delilah S. Dawson and Kevin Hearne [Review]

 Kill the Farm Boy by Delilah S. Dawson and Kevin Hearne
Kill the Farm Boy (Tales of Pell #1) by Delilah S. Dawson and Kevin Hearne
Format: ebook
Source: provided through NetGalley
Date read: May 5, 2018

Tales of Pell
1. Kill the Farm Boy - Hardcover | Kindle
2. No Country for Old Gnomes

Delilah S. Dawson
| Website | Twitter | Facebook | Amazon |

Kevin Hearne
Website | Twitter | Facebook | Amazon |

Synopsis (Goodreads):
In an irreverent new series in the tradition of Terry Pratchett novels and The Princess Bride, the New York Times bestselling authors of the Iron Druid Chronicles and Star Wars: Phasma reinvent fantasy, fairy tales, and floridly written feast scenes.

Once upon a time, in a faraway kingdom, a hero, the Chosen One, was born . . . and so begins every fairy tale ever told.

This is not that fairy tale.

There is a Chosen One, but he is unlike any One who has ever been Chosened.

And there is a faraway kingdom, but you have never been to a magical world quite like the land of Pell.

There, a plucky farm boy will find more than he's bargained for on his quest to awaken the sleeping princess in her cursed tower. First there's the Dark Lord who wishes for the boy's untimely death . . . and also very fine cheese. Then there's a bard without a song in her heart but with a very adorable and fuzzy tail, an assassin who fears not the night but is terrified of chickens, and a mighty fighter more frightened of her sword than of her chain-mail bikini. This journey will lead to sinister umlauts, a trash-talking goat, the Dread Necromancer Steve, and a strange and wondrous journey to the most peculiar "happily ever after" that ever once-upon-a-timed.
Thoughts on Kill the Farm Boy: If you're looking for punny prose and shenanigans of a sometimes bloody nature, THIS BOOK IS FOR YOU. Seriously, the puns are off the hook in THE BEST sort of way and there's a lot of blood. Because swords. And assassins. And fighters.

And bread. SO MUCH BREAD.

But let's not get ahead of ourselves...Ahh, you know what? I'm not sure WHAT I can say about this book that won't give away some of the weirdest/funniest things. Let's just say there's a Chosen One who doesn't have the best luck. A goat who has some mighty fine moves. A Dark Lord who...likes cheese. Honestly, I find no fault with Toby's love of cheese. Cheese is delicious. Then there's a cursed bard, a clumsy assassin who has issues with chickens, and a fighter who only wants to find some peace and grow roses.

And...THAT DOESN'T DO IT JUSTICE. The puns, man. The PUNS.

Yes, I'm a sucker for a good play on words.

Puns and shenanigans. That's what you need to know.

No comments:

Post a Comment