Monday, January 25, 2016

Dragos Goes to Washington by Thea Harrison [Review]

 Dragos Goes to Washington by Thea Harrison
Dragos Goes to Washington (Elder Races #8.5) by Thea Harrison
Format: ebook
Source: purchased
Date read: November 9, 2015

Elder Races
1. Dragon Bound
2. Storm's Heart
3. Serpent's Kiss
3.5. True Colors
4. Oracle's Moon
4.5. Natural Evil
4.6. Devil's Gate
4.7. Hunter's Season
5. Lord's Fall
5.5. The Wicked
6. Kinked
6.5. Dragos Takes a Holiday
6.6. Pia Saves the Day
6.7. Peanut Goes to School
7. Night's Honor
8. Midnight's Kiss
8.5. Dragos Goes to Washington - Kindle
8.6. Pia Does Hollywood
8.7. Liam Takes Manhattan
9. Shadow's End

Thea Harrison
Website | Twitter | Facebook | Amazon |

Synopsis (Goodreads):
Dragos Cuelebre, Lord of the Wyr, needs to throw a party without maiming anyone. That isn’t exactly as easy as it might sound.

After the destructive events of the last eighteen months, the Elder Races are heading to Washington D.C. to foster peace with humankind. Not known for his diplomacy skills, Dragos must rely on his mate Pia to help navigate a battlefield of words and polite smiles rather than claws. With Dragos’s mating instinct riding close to the surface, his temper is more volatile than ever and the threat of violence hovers in the air.

Then the human spouse of a prominent politician winds up murdered and Dragos and Pia must race against time to hunt down those behind it before they are held responsible for the crime.

For fans of DRAGON BOUND and LORD’S FALL, the latest novella in the Elder Races holds passion, peril, political intrigue, and revelations that will change Dragos and Pia’s lives forever.
Thoughts on Dragos Goes to Washington: I have to say I've been consistently in awe of the level of story Thea Harrison packs into her novellas. There's a lot going on here and we don't get cheated out of either the sexy times between Dragos and Pia or the political issues that have flared up since book 8.

Frankly, the Elder Races are in a sticky place right now. The humans don't entirely trust them given the volatile atmosphere of the last several months. The different factions within the Elder Races butt heads upon occasion as it is. And Dragos isn't known for his diplomacy.

What better time to invite a group of politicians and heads of the various factions to a party, amirite?

Pia's dealing with some issues. Dragos is dealing with some. The Wyr are on edge. One thing's for certain, Dragos's party will be one people talk about for a long time.

(For the record, I'm both excited and worried about what Pia's novella is going to bring. *scared eyes*)

2 comments:

  1. I still need to get to this year's novellas. I love going back to the leading family of the Elder Races. Glad you enjoyed this one.

    Melanie @ Hot Listens & Rabid Reads

    ReplyDelete
    Replies
    1. Oh, yeah. The Cuelebres are awesome. I love reading their stories.

      Delete