Thursday, February 9, 2012

Review & Uber-Giveaway: Scars of Silver (Rise of the Unseelie #2) by S.A. Archer & S. Ravynheart

Synopsis (Goodreads):
You’d think the fey would have each others' backs. That’s what you’d think… if you never met any.

Malcolm is Sidhe, the only race that possesses the coveted magic of the Touch. He’s also an untrained teenage runaway who only just discovered that he’s fey. He thought the fey would have each others' backs. That’s what he honestly thought…

Until he met a Changeling.
My Thoughts: *whimpers* This book ripped my heart out. Clean out. It was sitting beside me all red and oozy and I was all "Well, crap. Now what do I do?" I just want to gather Malcolm close and make him safe from the big, bad things that go bump in the night. *whimpers again*

For me, this was by far the most heart-wrenching installment thus far. Malcolm's capture and imprisonment are made even more horrible by the ignorance his father kept him in. If he had been taught about his heritage and trained in even the most basics of what to expect from other fey, he might have managed on his own. He might not have been chained in a cave and used by an unscrupulous Changeling. He might not have had his innocence ripped from him.

As I write this, I'm pretty sure I flat out hate his dad. I hope that if we meet up with him again he either gets what's coming to him or he has some deep, dark secret that made him act like a total tool. *deep breath*

Okay. I'm over it. Sort of. Donovan, once again, shows the lengths he's willing to go to make sure his people are safe. The guy grows on my every time he pops up. I just... respect the things he does for his people. I don't think I'd want to meet him in a dark alley or anything, but I can stand behind a guy who's trying to save his people from extinction or worse.

While this is my favorite of the stories so far, I wouldn't suggest reading it without reading the others in the series first simply because you'll lose some of the impact of what the fey have to gone through up to this point. That said, this is still the installment that grabbed me by the throat and refused to let go.

Also, I want more. MORE!

Suggested story reading order:
End of the World (Champions of the Sidhe #1)
Aftershock (Rise of the Unseelie #1)
Cursed (Touched #1)
Champion of the Fey (Champions of the Sidhe #2)
Addicted (Touched #2)
Scars of Silver (Rise of the Unseelie #2)

More books by S.A. Archer
More book by S. Ravynheart

Reading challenges: Ebook Challenge
Scars of Silver was provided by the author in exchange for an honest review.

S.A. Archer and S. Ravynheart have generously donated a complete ebook set of The Sidhe series for one lucky reader. This set includes all 5 books in the 3 intertwining storylines. Books 1 & 2 in each series are out now, book 3 in each series comes out this spring, books 4 in the summer, and books 5 in the fall. Winner will receive their copies of books 3-5 as they come out.

Fill out the Rafflecopter form below for your chance to win this fantastic series in its entirety.
a Rafflecopter giveaway


  1. I like stories about the Fey so this sounds intriguing. I hadn't heard of this series before but I'll be looking for it.

  2. Oh, wow...this sounds really good! smiles...

  3. Well, I haven't read the first one, but if I win the second I'll buy the first one... ;)

    1. You will be happy to hear that the giveaway is for all the books in the series- all 5 books in each of the three sub-series.

    2. Well duh! I suppose if I actually READ the fine print o.O I would have noticed that ;) Yay!