Wednesday, May 8, 2013

Review: Carpe Corpus by Rachel Caine

Carpe Corpus (Morganville Vampires #6) by Rachel Caine

Synopsis (Goodreads):
In the small college town of Morganville, vampires and humans lived in (relative) peace-until all the rules got rewritten when the evil vampire Bishop arrived, looking for the lost book of vampire secrets. He's kept a death grip on the town ever since.

Now an underground resistance is brewing, and in order to contain it, Bishop must go to even greater lengths. He vows to obliterate the town and all its inhabitants-the living and the undead. Claire Danvers and her friends are the only ones who stand in his way. But even if they defeat Bishop, will the vampires ever be content to go back to the old rules, after having such a taste of power?
My Thoughts: Y'all want to know what I love about this book? SO MUCH STUFF HAPPENS! Seriously. So much. There's the usual dash of danger, bloodshed, heartache, threat of bodily injury, vampires, double-crossing, mayhem, and one brave girl who can't stand down when the people she loves are in danger. Also, there are some kisses that are downright swoon-worthy.

First and foremost, do I freaking love Myrnin or do I freaking love Myrnin? Honestly, he's cracked and sometimes creepy and then he has these moments of genuine caring. You never know what you're going to get and it's part of what makes him so irresistible to me. Also, I admire a man who can accessorize with Mardi Gras beads and flip flops. *thumbs up* to that, amirite?!?!

Claire's role is a little different in this book. While she's in the thick of things (as always), the binding that Bishop placed on her puts her in an awkward position. She can't be trusted. As much as she would never betray her friends on her own, Bishop's ability to compel her and bend her to his will makes her a liability to Amelie's faction. Poor Claire. She's caught between wanting to help and not being able to trust herself.

Several threads for the future are laid out. The answer to what powers the town is brought forward. Shane's father ends up in a place he doesn't want to be in.

Yep, just another day in Morganville.

Books in this series
1. Glass Houses
2. The Dead Girls' Dance
3. Midnight Alley
4. Feast of Fools
5. Lord of Misrule
6. Carpe Corpus - Paperback | Kindle
7. Fade Out
8. Kiss of Death
9. Ghost Town
10. Bite Club
11. Last Breath [Serial Killers review]
12. Black Dawn
13. Bitter Blood
14. Fall of Night
15. Daylighters

Author Links
| Website | Twitter | Facebook | Amazon |

No comments:

Post a Comment