Friday, November 28, 2014

Kissin' Hell by Jodi Redford [Review]

Kissin' Hell by Jodi Redford
Kissin' Hell (Soul Collections, Inc. #1, That Old Black Magic) by Jodi Redford
Format: ebook
Source: provided by the author for an honest review
Date read: October 16, 2014

Soul Collections, Inc.
1. Kissin' Hell - Kindle

Jodi Redford
| Website | Twitter | Facebook | Amazon |

Synopsis (Goodreads):
A brand spankin' new That Old Black Magic spin-off series is on it's way! Kissin' Hell is also part of the Red Hot Treats multi-author collection.

There are two certainties in life soul collector and hellhound Jericho Stryker knows too well—Death never takes a holiday, and women are typically more trouble than they’re worth. That goes double for his personal nemesis and regular pain in his backside, Lola McKenna. Sure, the luscious little hellcat gets his blood boiling in more ways than one, but some scratches are best left un-itched. That determination is strained to the max when a botched soul acquisition job lands him on the same case as Lola.

Fetching a stubborn soul from a haunted bordello should be a piece of cake. Unfortunately for Lola, she has to deal with Jericho horning in on her bounty. Attempting to keep her cool and her wits around her sinfully sexy adversary? Easier said than done. Especially when she finds herself locked overnight with Jericho. Not strangling him before sunrise? A faint possibility. Ignoring the lusty, depraved sexual fantasies he awakens in her? A snowball’s chance in hell of happening. But worst of all is the very real possibility that he could steal the one thing she most fears losing to him—her heart.
Thoughts on Kissin' Hell: I'll be the first to stand up and announce (loudly) that Jodi Redford's That Old Black Magic series makes me grin like a loon. It should go without saying I'm smitten with her writing. And this book? Hit the spot. My only complaint is that I would have loved to spend more time with the growly hellhound and his hissing hellcat lady friend.

BUT I'LL TAKE WHAT I CAN GET!

(But let me go on record as saying I want MOAR, Redford. MOAR! You know what shapeshifting sexy men do to me!)

Right. So. Jericho and Lola. They sure like needling one another. Evoking passionate responses is such a fun past time, isn't it? It's even better when the passionate responses involve kissing. And touching. And sexy times in a haunted bordello. Niiiiiice!

Being such a hardcore sucker for sassy leading ladies and surly heroes, I adored being back in this world. Soul collectors and snark. There's nothing better!

Thursday, November 27, 2014

Call of the Wild by T. Paulin [Review]

Call of the Wild by T. Paulin
Call of the Wild (Ghost Hackers #3) by T. Paulin
Format: ebook
Source: provided by the author for an honest review
Date read: August 31, 2014

Ghost Hackers
1. About Last Night
2. Bring on the Poltergeists
3. Call of the Wild - Kindle

T. Paulin
| Website | Amazon |

Synopsis (Goodreads):
Eli Carter is enjoying his new role as a para-professional, ridding the city of unwanted Disturbances.

A flurry of bookings brings the team to the suburbs, where residents are overrun with poltergeists and tiny dogs. They love the dogs, but want the ghosts gone.

When Eli makes a new friend, he discovers a shocking secret inside one of the suburban houses. It could cost him his life.
Thoughts on Call of the Wild: There's a point in this book where Val asks Eli what he is and... I'm kinda wondering that myself. Eli isn't always the sharpest pencil in the case (I'd say he's endearingly clueless if I was going to try to describe him), but he has a few abilities (for lack of a better word) that others don't.

And that chip. He has the chip that makes him tell the truth and embarrass himself terribly in front of people he admires. Which is weirdly funny in an OMG!POOR GUY! sort of way.

So. This time around the Ghost Hackers are working their paranormal mojo on an unsuspecting, freakishly neat suburban neighborhood. Eli gets things thrown at him. Khan does... whatever it is he does. Trapping the ghosts, I guess. They make a good team. Well, as long as Eli doesn't mind playing bait to wear the ghosts out.

They have a good gig in this place. Naturally, it won't last. Because if there's one thing I've learned from watching bad sci-fi/horror movies my entire life, it's that if things look to good to be true, there's probably a dragon hiding in a cellar who wants to EAT YOUR FACE OFF. (these events may or may not have happened in the course of this book.)

Anyway. This series is fun. It's quick and easy and you can get a giggle out of Eli's bumbling exploits. And his foray into experimenting with makeup. But that's another story. Not really. It's this story.

Oh, just go read it. I'm really not doing poor Eli justice.

PS - The Brenda interactions are kept to a minimum. Thank goodness. (Yes, I still don't particularly care for her. She's just so... Brenda.)

Wednesday, November 26, 2014

South of Surrender by Laura Kaye [Review]

South of Surrender by Laura Kaye
South of Surrender (Hearts of the Anemoi #3) by Laura Kaye
Format: ebook
Source: purchased
Date read: September 2, 2014

Hearts of the Anemoi
1. North of Need
2. West of Want
3. South of Surrender - Paperback | Kindle
4. East of Ecstasy

Laura Kaye
| Website | Twitter | Facebook | Amazon |

Synopsis (Goodreads):
She’s the only one who can see through his golden boy façade to the broken god within…

Chrysander Notos, Supreme God of the South Wind and Summer, is on a mission: save Eurus from his death sentence and prove his troubled brother can be redeemed. But Eurus fights back, triggering vicious summer storms that threaten the mortal realm, dangerously drain Chrys, and earn the ire of the Olympic gods who ordered Eurus dead.

Laney Summerlyn refuses to give up her grandfather’s horse farm, despite her deteriorating vision. More than ever, she needs the organized routine of her life at Summerlyn Stables, until a ferocious storm brings an impossible—and beautiful—creature crashing down from the heavens.

Injured while fighting Eurus, Chrys finds himself at the mercy of a mortal woman whose compassion and acceptance he can’t resist. As they surrender to the passion flaring between them, immortal enemies close in, forcing Chrys to choose between his brother and the only woman who’s ever loved the real him.
Thoughts on South of Surrender: Oh, Chrysander. That poor man. No lie, I kinda have my hate on for the way the brothers' father treated them. All of them. Even the immensely evil Eurus. Sure, Eurus has his evil on in a BIG way NOW, but daddy dearest kinda did a number on him as a kid. I don't like that.

But this isn't Eurus's story. It's Chrysander's. Bright, radiant Chrysander who isn't quite the playboy everybody thinks he is. Or, well, I guess he is the playboy, but not for the reasons everybody thinks. *shakes fist at Papa Supreme God*

Anyway. Chrys and Laney. She's the breath of fresh air Chrys needs in his life. He's the balm for her loneliness. And vice versa, really. It intrigues me that all the gods are so shocked when those around them make the choice to stand beside them in their time of need. Papa Supreme God kinda screwed them over in the trust and learning to rely on others department, didn't he? *continues to get my hate on*

Big things happen in this book. BIG THINGS. We get to revisit those we've met before, see a little more of the Greek gods side of the world (just a smidge, mind you), and get a feel for how far Eurus will go to get what he wants. (Hint: It's pretty far.)

Tuesday, November 25, 2014

Top Off Tuesday - *inarticulate noises*

I've decided to join Felicia, Christi and Amanda for their gratuitous shirtless covers on Tuesdays. Because nothing says Tuesday like flashing some skin! Hop over to Felicia's blog to see who else is participating!

I'm sorry. I got distracted by all the ridges and dips on this cover. I can't seem to take my eyes off them.

Rocky Mountain Freedom by Vivian Arend
Rocky Mountain Freedom (Six Pack Ranch #6) by Vivian Arend
Over the past year, Travis Coleman lost the two people he allowed closest to his heart. Both gave him ultimatums—then left. Hell if he needs that kind of pain again. Time to move forward without the friends he thought might save him from his dangerous cravings.

When Ashley Sims returns to Rocky Mountain House, her rambling lifestyle isn’t all she’s hoping to change. Travis snagged a piece of her, and while getting tangled in his issues again might be crazy, she hasn’t given up on him.

Nine months ago, Cassidy Jones walked away to stop his best friend from making a huge mistake. Temptation lingers, though, and when Travis shows up on his turf accompanied by a sensually uninhibited woman, the combination tosses fuel on the banked fire.
Passion flares among the three of them, as hot as the summer days. But are they willing to push the limits, and fight for love?

Warning: Dirty fighting, dirty talk, dirtier sex—secrets are coming out. Get ready for ménage a trois and cowboy-on-cowboy action, with ropes and crops and the kind of relentless love strong enough to set a man free.

Monday, November 24, 2014

(Un)bidden by Melissa Haag [Release Day Blitz]

UnBiddenBanner

 
(Un) Bidden by Melissa Haag
Unbidden_ebook
I left home because I didn’t want to end up in a cage like a lab rat. Hitching rides, begging for cash, and sleeping on the ground got old fast. That was the only reason I braved an overgrown path to a group of buildings. I’d hoped to find a bed and a decent night’s sleep. However, what I found was a place overrun by werewolves.

While on the run, Charlene finds herself surrounded by werewolves, creatures she can’t control with her mind like she can humans. Their existence has her believing she’s found a safe place to stay, a place where secrets are okay. However, she soon discovers she’s anything but safe. Charlene must learn how to use her abilities to influence the strange new species because if she can’t, the next bite she suffers might just kill her.

Read how the cycle begins, and have no doubt. Charlene’s past will shape the future of the Judgements.

BUY IT ON AMAZON: http://bit.ly/UnBiddenAM

Have you read the first book, Hope(less), in the series? It’s currently FREE!
Gabby's brain is like a human fish finder. It comes in handy when she wants to avoid people. Mostly men. They seem to like her a bit too much. It's lonely being different, but she's adapted to it. Really. She just wishes she knew why she is different, though.

In her search for answers, she discovers a hidden community of werewolves. She immerses herself in their culture, learning about their world until she meets Clay. He's unkempt, prone to mood swings, intense without saying a word, and he thinks Gabby is his.

It's going to take every trick she knows to convince Clay to go away, and every bit of willpower not to fall for him when she discovers the man beneath the rough exterior.

Delve into a riveting world of werewolves and young women with unexplained abilities, in Hope(less).

BUY IT AT:

~*~ABOUT THE AUTHOR~*~
MelissaH
Melissa Haag currently resides in Wisconsin with her husband and three children. Touch is her first published novel. She is currently working on book five of a separate six book series. To learn more about her upcoming projects, visit her at: http://melissahaag.com , and you can connect with her on: https://twitter.com/imagine2live & https://www.facebook.co m/author.MelissaHaag
Mark My Words Logo copy

Caressed by Shadows by Amanda J. Greene [Review]

Caressed by Shadows by Amanda J. Greene
Caressed by Shadows (Rulers of Darkness #4) by Amanda J. Greene
Format: ebook
Source: provided by the author for an honest review
Date read: October 7, 2014

Rulers of Darkness
1. Caressed by Moonlight
2. Caressed by Night
3. Caressed by a Crimson Moon
4. Caressed by Shadows - Kindle

Amanda J. Greene
| Website | Twitter | Facebook | Amazon |

Synopsis (Goodreads):
Black Knight, Falcon Kenwrec is powerful, relentless, and fiercely loyal, his only allegiance – to his king. But he is torn between duty and desire when the war between the vampire clans and the Red Order hunters escalates and the enemy captures the one woman he longs to claim as his own, Sonya Rebane, Queen of the Voidukas Clan. Falcon will risk everything to save her, even if it means forsaking his king.

After weeks of imprisonment, Sonya is stunned when the chivalrous knight that she has secretly loved from afar appears outside her cell. As they fight and struggle to elude their enemies, they must battle their overwhelming attraction for each other and their love that is forbidden.

As every perilous moment draws them closer together, every smoldering kiss drives them to the brink of a passionate destruction. Will they be able to resist temptation? Or will their love be their ruin?
Thoughts on Caressed by Shadows: It's been a while since I dipped my toes in this world and, oh, it's good to be back. The vampire politics of the various clans vs the hunters who are determined to wipe them out is so fun. Well, fun from where I'm standing. Probably not so much for the people and/or vampires they're attempting to drop the hammer on.

Good things those vampires have the help of some powerful witches on their side. And, you know, they're fast and strong and downright kickass.

So. Falcon and Sonya. We've seen hints of them in previous books and the forbidden aspect of their previous romance (if you can call it that since they both did their utter best to deny their feelings) made me wonder how they were going to work things out. Between vampire politics and Falcon's loyalty to his king, they seemed doomed to ever reach a HEA.

Not to mention that pesky curse the leaders of the vampire clans have to face if they don't find their destined mate. Madness doesn't look good on most people and it has Sonya in its sights.

Entertaining with some quality sexin', I'm looking forward to the next installment. That setup for book 5 was a doozy!

Sunday, November 23, 2014

RtP Week in Review (11/23/14)

Reading the Paranormal's Week in Review
Bookish Delights
Globetrotting...
Check it out!
  • Seriously Series weekly update:
    • Series started in 2014: 21/18 (+6 since last week)
    • Series started before 2014: 9/18 (+1 since last week)
    • Series rereads: 7/9 (+0 since last week)