Friday, October 24, 2014

Trapped by Caris Roane [Review]

Trapped by Caris Roane
Trapped (Blood Rose Tales #1) by Caris Roane
Format: ebook
Source: purchased
Date read: July 7, 2014

Blood Rose Tales
1. Trapped - Kindle
2. Hunger

Caris Roane
| Website | Twitter | Facebook | Amazon |

Synopsis (Goodreads):
Mastyr Vampire Zephyr, a one-man fighting force, struggles to save the life of a woman who despises his warrior ways.

He won’t give up his warrior life to please a woman…

Zephyr can’t keep away from Alesia and feels obligated to keep her safe. They’d broken up, unable to reconcile painfully opposing views on what should be done to the evil Invictus pairs. But when several wraith-pairs attack her diner, he flies her to safety, taking her home where they’re trapped together for the entire day. His chronic blood-starvation problem surfaces and it soon becomes apparent that she’s the key to taking away decades of suffering. But if she offers to take care of his needs, will he be drawn in once more only to have her disapproval ruin the moment yet again?

Surrendering is dangerous…

Alesia wishes Zephyr would just leave her alone. She broke up with him months ago and wants to start a new life. The trouble is, he’s still the one man who can curl her toes. But when several deadly Invictus pairs attack her diner, Alesia has no choice but to go home with Zephyr, something she’s promised herself never to do. Trapped all day with the powerful warrior, she finds it hard to resist the comfort of his arms and the sensual feel of his lips pressed to hers. Will it hurt to offer to meet his blood-needs just this once or will surrendering leave her more vulnerable than ever?
Thoughts on Trapped: I had a tough time with this book. I spent the first half of it trying to understand what was going on (I'm still a little unclear on what Invictus pairs are, to be honest, but I think I stopped trying after a while) and the second half realizing that although this is book 1 in a series, it's a spin-off from another series. I really think I would have been more engaged if I had either known that before or if there was a little more explanation in the beginning. Stepping into an established world can be tough and I never quite caught up with what was going on.

So. Zephyr and Alesia have some issues they need to work out. They dated, they broke up, they both still want each other. If Alesia had simply explained why she took the stance she did on Zephyr's fighting, I think a lot of misunderstandings could have been avoided and they could have kept on having stellar sex without taking a break.

So it goes.

Meanwhile, there's this whole Blood Rose thing. Again, stepping into an established world isn't easy when it's assumed you know some of what came before. In this case I didn't and I stumbled.

Ultimately, I think this seems like an interesting world, I just wish I hadn't started it with this book. A little prior knowledge of the world would have gone a long way in this case.

Thursday, October 23, 2014

The Mating Heat by Bonnie Vanak [Review]

The Mating Heat by Bonnie Vanak
The Mating Heat (Werewolves of Montana #0.5) by Bonnie Vanak
Format: ebook
Source: purchased
Date read: July 6, 2014

Werewolves of Montana
0.5. The Mating Heat - Kindle
1. The Mating Chase
2. The Mating Hunt
3. The Mating Seduction
4. The Mating Rite
4.5. The Mating Intent
5. The Mating Challenge
6. The Mating Season

Bonnie Vanak
| Website | Twitter | Facebook | Amazon |

Synopsis (Goodreads):
After an explosive kiss that awakened a burning passion, Lupine Kara Mitchell is certain she will never see Ryder Carrington again. Her alpha father punished them for their illicit love and Kara fled their home with her brother Aiden to start a new life in Montana. Left scarred by her father’s ugly cruelties, she is certain no Lupine can ever love her. When Aiden faces financial ruin, she risks going back to find her family’s cache of gold and is captured by Ryder.

Former Omega werewolf Ryder Carrington spent ten hellish years living under the thumb of his cruel, violent leader. After killing his alpha in a Challenge to save the pack, Ryder now rules, but needs a mate to bring peace to his fractured people. Kara is his and his alone. He will never let her go, despite Aiden’s demands to release her. Ryder will do anything to claim her, even risk an all-out pack war that could cost them everything…
Thoughts on The Mating Heat: Aww. I felt for both Kara and Ryder in this book. Ryder suffered both physical and emotional abuse under the despotic reign of the former alpha and Kara was left with very visible reminders of how unhinged her father had become before she ran away. They both have boatloads of issues to work through. The difference is that Kara hides herself away on her brother's ranch, while Ryder did what he needed to do to keep the pack safe.

Seriously, I felt for them.

For the record, while Kara did hide on her brother's ranch, she was quick to step up when she saw a way to help him out of his financial difficulties. I can almost applaud Ryder's manipulation because it forced Kara out of her shell AND helped his pack.

An overall sexy read, the entire book came together nicely. I like the world. I like the characters. *thumbs up*

Wednesday, October 22, 2014

The Forbidden Life of Alex Moore by Erin Quinn [Review]

The Forbidden Life of Alex Moore by Erin Quinn
The Forbidden Life of Alex More (Beyond #1.5) by Erin Quinn
Format: ebook
Source: purchased
Date read: July 5, 2014

Beyond
1. The Five Deaths of Roxanne Love
1.5. The Forbidden Life of Alex Moore - Kindle
2. The Three Fates of Ryan Love
3. The Seven Sins of Ruby Love

Erin Quinn
| Website | Twitter | Facebook | Amazon |

Synopsis (Goodreads):
Alex’s mission: Kill the hellhounds that have invaded earth and return to his home in the Beyond. But from the start, things go horribly wrong. The hounds are cunning and a human female witnesses their attack—she intervenes and saves Alex’s life. Now he must keep the alluring Lilly alive while fighting his desire for her. When passion flares, Alex risks all to protect her and defend the forbidden life he craves.
Thoughts on The Forbidden Life of Alex Moore: I didn't quite know what to expect from this book when I picked it up, but I really enjoyed it. The Beyond sounds like a pretty craptastic place to live and I totally understand why those who can are jumping ship to earth.

Alex might come from a place that sucks the joy right out of you (totally seems that way, anyway), but Lilly's life isn't easy, either. She lost her sister not long after finding her and she's adrift now. When she helps Alex, she doesn't know what she's getting into, but she can't walk away. It helps that he's smokin' hot and can possibly give her some answers to the weirdness going on around her.

I kinda liked the hellhounds. Not all of them, but a few of them had their moments. Between Alex and the hellhounds, there's a lot of exploration about the capacity to change and daring to want something that seems out of reach.

Enjoyable enough I'm eyeballing the others in the series now. Good stuff, man. Good stuff.

Tuesday, October 21, 2014

Write On Review-a-thon [9]

Write On Review-a-thon
It's time for some review writin'! That's right, folks, the Write On review-a-thon is back and I'm going to get my currently reading shelf down to... umm, what I'm actually currently reading. Because right now there are several books I've read but haven't reviewed yet.

What is the Write On review-a-thon? you ask. Allow me to have Brianna explain...

From The Book Vixen:
The Write On review-a-thon is a monthly event created and hosted by Brianna at The Book Vixen. It’s 2 days dedicated to getting reviews done, whether you have one review to write or 30+. This edition of the review-a-thon takes place all day Friday, October 24th and Saturday, October 25th. Let’s get those reviews done!
Reviews to be written (can be added to or otherwise altered as needed, bitchcakes!):
  • Where There's a Will by Stacy Gail
  • A Secret to Die For by Sierra Dean
  • Primal Instinct by Sydney Somers
  • The Seduction of Sophie Seacrest by Mary Campisi
  • Sarlight by Mimi Strong
  • Starfire by Mimi Strong
(and if I'm feeling extra motivated, I might throw down some Top Off Tuesday posts and get those off my plate. *slow motion finger guns*)

Top Off Tuesday - More muscles for you!

I've decided to join Felicia, Christi and Amanda for their gratuitous shirtless covers on Tuesdays. Because nothing says Tuesday like flashing some skin! Hop over to Felicia's blog to see who else is participating!

Eve Langlais gave the first book in her cyborg series a reboot and I must say I have NO complaints. MUSCLES!

C791 by Eve Langlais
C791 (Cyborgs: More Than Machines #1) by Eve Langlais
Machines aren't supposed to feel, but this cyborg can't help falling in love.

Assigned as a specimen collector for a captured cyborg, Chloe is intrigued by the machine disguised as a man. Kidnapped during his daring escape, he shows her that despite the chip in his brain, his humanity is not completely lost.

Formerly known as unit X109GI, Joe is on a quest to discover his origin. While he doesn't find the answers he's looking for, he does discover that affection and lust aren't just for humans. But when it comes to a battle between logic and love, which side will the cybernetic organism--once a man--choose?

Evaluating his feelings will have to wait though because the military isn't done with Joe. But their threats against him pale in comparison before the shocking discovery of project C791, the revelation of which stuns the rebel cyborgs--and ignites a fury for vengeance.

Monday, October 20, 2014

Gun Shy by Eleri Stone [Review]

Gun Shy by Eleri Stone
Gun Shy (Reaper #2) by Eleri Stone
Format: ebook
Source: provided by the author for an honest review
Date read: August 22, 2014

Reaper
1. Reaper's Touch
2. Gun Shy - Kindle

Eleri Stone
| Website | Twitter | Facebook | Amazon |

Synopsis (Goodreads):
Before the cure, Lieutenant Lyle Dalton's job was simple: kill the Reapers. Now, under orders to inject all captured flesh eaters with the serum that restores their humanity, his Rangers at Fort Dougan face entirely new dangers. Someone wanted the Reaper cure badly enough to spill blood for it, and Lyle needs to steal it back if he hopes to hold the border.

Jane Fisher escaped Scraper crime boss Gideon Moore with only the clothes on her back. What he took from her can never be replaced, but her new home at Fort Dougan is the first safe one she's known. Or was, until the remaining supply of serum was stolen, flown high into the mountains on Gideon's command. Serving as Lyle's guide through Scraper territory means revisiting her own personal hell, but it's also an opportunity—for closure or revenge, Jane isn't quite sure.

Beautiful, proud and haunted, Jane is a temptation Lyle's worked hard to avoid. The mountains are the last place she needs to be. But if Jane can find the courage to face down a man like Gideon for the sake of the fort, no force on earth will keep Lyle from her side.
Thoughts on Gun Shy: I completely love the idea that Reapers/zombies can be given their humanity back. And the problems that arise for the Rangers because of this. Instead of killing them all willy-nilly, they now have to capture them and do what they can to help them.

Difficult under the best circumstances. The fact Reapers will be trying to EAT THEM as they try to help adds to an already dangerous situation.

Anyway. Lyle. I like the guy. I really do. His reaction (or lack of one because he's REALLY GOOD at hiding how much he wanted Jane) to Jane's continued pursuit of fellow Ranger Cam kinda slayed me. I wasn't sure how things were going to play out and was pleasantly surprised as secrets were revealed and Lyle's desires began to shine through.

Meanwhile, those secrets... Jane sure had them. Her devastation at what had happened before she fled to Fort Duggan was totally founded. The lady went through a lot and she managed to survive and thrive despite it. Sure, she was a wee bit damaged, but she found her place and made things work for her.

I LOVED getting to revisit Jake and Abby's relationship. Watching tough Abby trying to play nice with the city folk was... enlightening. The hints (sometimes more than hints) of corruption in the higher-ups was chilling.

I really REALLY like the worldbuilding we were given. From the Reapers and Rangers to those who want to exploit them in different ways, it's never a dull moment. *thumbs up*

Sunday, October 19, 2014

RtP Week in Review (10/19/14)

Reading the Paranormal's Week in Review
Bookish Delights
Globetrotting...
Check it out!
  • Seriously Series weekly update: Let's go, team!
    • Series started in 2014: 8/18 (+3 since last week)
    • Series started before 2014: 3/18 (+3 since last week)
    • Series rereads: 7/9 (+0 since last week)