Sunday, April 23, 2017

RtP's Week in Review (04/23/17)

Reading the Paranormal's Week in Review
Bookish Delights
Globetrotting...
Check it out!

Saturday, April 22, 2017

Bout of Books 19

 Bout of Books
That's right, my little darlings, it's almost that time again! Time to get our read on with Bout of Books! *insert wild cheering here* And, you guessed it, I will be participating. Go forth and sign up on the Bout of Books blog! You won't regret it.

For those that don't know what Bout of Books is... here you go:
The Bout of Books read-a-thon is organized by Amanda @ On a Book Bender and Kelly @ Reading the Paranormal. It is a week long read-a-thon that begins 12:01am Monday, May 8th and runs through Sunday, May 14th in whatever time zone you are in. Bout of Books is low-pressure. There are challenges, giveaways, and a grand prize, but all of these are completely optional. For all Bout of Books 19 information and updates, be sure to visit the Bout of Books blog. - From the Bout of Books team
JOIN US! No, really. Join us. It's totally fun. WITH BOOKS! WHEEEEE!

Friday, April 21, 2017

Promise the Moon by Hailey Edwards [Review]

 Promise the Moon by Hailey Edwards
Promise the Moon (Lorimar Pack #1) by Hailey Edwards
Format: ebook
Source: provided through Netgalley
Date read: October 8, 2016

Lorimar Pack
1. Promise the Moon - PaperbackKindle
2. Wolf at the Door

Hailey Edwards
Website | Twitter | Facebook | Amazon |

Synopsis (Goodreads):
War is a constant threat on Dell Preston's horizon. As beta of the Lorimar pack, her job is to maintain the peace on the new border between Faerie and Earth at all costs. Even if that means playing nice with her ex, Isaac, the fae who savaged her wolf's soul, and Enzo Garza, the flirty witch who ought to be focused on building up their magical defenses instead of tearing down the walls around Dell's heart.

Butler, Tennessee is a pinprick on the map with a diverse population of supernaturals. It's also chockful of humans who are unaware of the magical rift bruising the sky or the otherworldly insurgents raining down into their zipcode.

A local fae's disappearance catches Dell's attention, but she dismisses it as an isolated event. Until it happens again. Unable to ignore the strange happenings in her town, she begins an investigation that uncovers so much more than a simple rash of kidnappings.

Now Dell finds herself at the sharp end of a pointed ultimatum. Find the missing and return them to their families or get ready for prime time. Botch this job, and forget coming soon. The war will become tomorrow's featured attraction instead.
Thoughts on Promise the Moon: Ohhh my dear GAWD. I love this world. I sincerely love it. I mean, sure, I'd die in it in a heartbeat, but I completely love reading about it. I guess I'm trying to say that stepping into Dell's head as she attempts to keep the Lorimar pack doing their thing while the alphas are off playing nice with the conclave makes me happy. So happy. Even when things are all sorts of messed up, I'm thrilled.

And things are all sorts of messed up. Dell's running on fumes. Isaac's reappearance into her life after loving and leaving throws her for a loop. Enzo's nice as far as witches who tortured her packmates go, but he's not the one who's renting space in her heart and there's not much she can do about that.

Oh, and there's the matter of those missing folks.

Things are complicated for the Lorimar pack right now and they really don't look like they'll be getting any better in the near future. FOR REASONS. Big reasons.

Buuuut, we did get some flirty time with Dell's two dudes. Admittedly, one's more flirty than the other, but that happens. I'm rooting for Isaac. He gave us a few hints that there's more to him than you can see on the surface and I like him and Dell together. But all good things take time. That's what I keep telling myself.

Right. So go out and read everything you can find with these characters and this world and this crazy war that's brewing. You'll thank me later. Promise.

Thursday, April 20, 2017

Escaping Fate by Regine Abel [Review]

 Escaping Fate by Regine Abel
Escaping Fate (Veredian Chronicles #1) by Regine Abel
Format: ebook
Source: provided by the author
Date read: April 8, 2017

Veredian Chronicles
1. Escaping Fate - Paperback | Kindle

Regine Abel
| Twitter | FacebookAmazon |

Synopsis (Goodreads):
Born and raised on a slaver's ship, Amalia is a survivor of a race believed to have been extinguished in a planetary disaster. For three generations, her family has been the prized property of Gruuk. In the next few days, she will be forced to participate in her master’s psi talent breeding program. Escaping and attending the Fastening ceremony on Xelix Prime to find a mate and protector is her only hope.

Like most Xelixian males, cousins Khel and Lhor are Tainted. They are shunned by their own people because of the disease that mars their bodies and ensures a painful early death. It can only be reversed by mating. Xelixian females are rare. Pearls, the females that produce the curative chemical, are even more so. The chances of finding two Pearls, of any species, willing to accept heavily Tainted males, are virtually non-existent. Despite their status and wealth, the cousins are running out of time.

Between Gruuk’s dogged pursuit, deadly rivalries, assassins and corrupted nobles, can they keep Amalia safe or will their respective feelings for her tear them apart?

This MFM novel is a constant toe-curling, action-packed thriller, and the first book in the Veredian Chronicles series. It is a standalone with no cliffhanger.
Thoughts on Escaping Fate: Good GRAVY, I liked this book. As a sci-fi romance junky, this book made me SO HAPPY. It had everything I wanted AND MORE. I mean, LOOK! It's making me review in sporadic caps. THAT'S VERY TELLING.

Things I adored: the worldbuilding. SO GOOD. From the genetic taint that is killing Khel and Lhor and others of their kind to the slavers running their flesh trades to the quirks of Amalia's heritage (quirks she isn't even aware of since she's one of the last of her kind), I was smitten. The more we learned of the world/universe, the more I WANTED to know.

*draws sparkly hearts around it all*

As for the romance, I was VERY curious how the very possessive Khel would reach the point where he was willing to see Amalia in another's arms. Whether his cousin or someone else. Honestly, it took time. His possessive streak runs deep and he had to come to terms with things in his head before he was comfortable with seeing her with another.

I'm incredibly excited about this series in general and CAN'T WAIT to see what's up next with the Veredians.

Wednesday, April 19, 2017

Black Magic Bayou by Sierra Dean [Review]

 Black Magic Bayou by Sierra Dean
Black Magic Bayou (Genie McQueen #2) by Sierra Dean
Format: ebook
Source: provided by the author for an honest review
Date read: October 4, 2016

Genie McQueen
1. Bayou Blues
2. Black Magic Bayou - Kindle

Sierra Dean
Website | Twitter | Facebook | Amazon |

Synopsis (Goodreads):
Genie McQueen never thought she’d be an alpha.

She grew up apart from her pack, trying to hone her dangerous magical gifts, while her twin brother Ben stayed home to be groomed for a leadership role. But after proving her mettle to her uncle Callum, the King of the South, she’s suddenly found herself the alpha of New Orleans.

As she tries to adapt to her new, powerful position—and a blossoming relationship with the werewolf outcast, Wilder Shaw—Genie is confronted with something that only the witch part of her can fix.

It seems the sorority sisters at Delta Phi have been going missing, but leaving everything they own behind. Those remaining in the house have reported strange happenings since the girls have gone missing. With no bodies, and no clues, Genie’s ex Cash turns to her for help on behalf of his new girlfriend.

Can Genie unravel the mystery of the vanished girls, maintain order in the New Orleans pack, and keep herself alive long enough for a night out with Wilder?

Genie’s about to find out what’s scarier—a haunted house or going on your first date ever in your twenties.
Thoughts on Black Magic Bayou: The McQueen genes run true, don't they? Secret might have had the vamp hunting thing down, but Genie isn't afraid to throw herself wholeheartedly into all manner of dangerous situations if she thinks she's needed. Which is a good trait for an alpha to have, mind you. The leader of a pack needs to be willing to put herself on the line for her people.

Genie certainly does that. She also puts herself on the line for those she thinks are innocent, wolf or otherwise.

Also, Wilder? RAWR. I do enjoy an outcast werewolf mechanic with a protective streak.

Things I'm not too keen on: Genie's brother. That guy can go suck on a lit stovepipe. His douchery is through the roof and I can't imagine things are going to go smoothly between Genie and Ben until he understands that she's not going to give up her position. As alpha, Genie can't afford to let him get away with the things he's trying to do. (but that's another problem for another day. Just like that little issue Genie ran into at the end of the book. WOWSERS, GADGET! Some girls just can't catch a break, can they?)

Deals, romance, unexpected shenanigans, and danger are all part of Genie's life. What's not to like?

Tuesday, April 18, 2017

Spotlight on... The Hot Shot by Kristen Callihan [Excerpt]




First we were friends. Then we were roommates. Now I want more…

What can I say about Chess Copper? The woman is capable of bringing me to my knees. I know this about five minutes after getting naked for her.

No one is more surprised than me. The prickly photographer my team hired to shoot our annual charity calendar isn’t my usual type. She’s defense to my offense, a challenge at every turn. But when I’m with her, all the regrets and darkness goes away. She makes life fun.

I want to know Chess, be close to her. Which is a bad idea.

Chess is looking for a relationship. I’ve never given a woman more than one night. But when fate leaves Chess without a home, I step up and offer her mine. We’re roommates now. Friends without benefits. But it’s getting harder to keep our hands off each other. And the longer we live together the more I realize she’s becoming my everything.

Trick is… Now that I’ve made her believe I’m a bad bet, how do I convince her to give this player a true shot at forever?

AMAZON | iBooks | B&N | KOBO | Paperback


CHESS


Grumbling, I toss on some black lounge pants and my oversized Tulane t-shirt and head to the drugstore.

My head throbs by the time I get there, and my insides are writhing. I rest my hand against my lower stomach and grab a basket before calling James to complain.

“I swear,” I tell him as I grab a bottle of painkillers. “It’s like this entire day has been cursed.”

He snickers. “Curse. Get it? Curse?”

I roll my eyes, even though he can’t see me. “Laugh it up. Meanwhile, it feels as if someone is playing Battleship in my uterus.”

“Poor Chessie bear. At least we know why you were in such a foul mood.”

A flush washes over my cheeks. “Yeah.” Lie. Lie. Lie. A tub of salted caramel gelato makes its way into the basket.

“Tell me you’re getting some gelato,” James says.

I smile. “Just grabbed it.”

“Salted caramel?”

“You know it.”

I find the feminine products aisle and search for my brand. “I’m going to go home, take a long bath with my gelato, and forget this fucking day.” Forget Finn. “And then I’m going to go on Amazon and buying a freaking year’s supply of tampons so I don’t have to make these kinds of emergency runs anymore.”

A low, deep chuckle rumbles from behind me, and all the tiny hairs lift on my arms.

“But you’ll still need your gelato,” a familiar—fuck me, seriously?—voice points out.

My insides swoop even as my cheeks burn.

“Who is that?” James asks in my ear.

I slowly turn on one heel. “The plague,” I say, glaring up at Finn Mannus’s smiling face.

“From asshat to plague.” Finn scrunches up his brow. “I’m not sure if that’s a step down or a tie.”

“Who is that?” James nearly yells now.

I don’t take my eyes off Finn. “I’ll call you back.”

James’s squawks of protest cut off as I hit the end button.

“Are you stalking me, Mannus?”

Finn a rests his hands low on his lean hips. “Having a healthy amount of conceit myself, I have to admire yours, but no, buttercup. My buddy Woodson lives a few blocks away. It’s poker night. I’m stocking up on beer.”

It’s only then I notice a twelve pack tucked under his other arm.

“And tampons?” I ask, with a pointed look around the aisle we’re standing in.

“Not tonight,” he says easily. “Though we used to keep a pack of them back in college. Light flows were perfect for stopping up bloody noses.”

A snort escapes me. “Now there’s a visual.” Somehow, I’ve taken a step closer to him. He’s freshly showered, the golden brown strands of his hair still damp at his temples. And I wonder if he’s just come from the gym or practice. “So back in college you went and bought these tampons?”

“Nah,” he says with a cheeky smile. “I’d ask one of the girls hanging around to get me some.”

“Of course you did.” My nose wrinkles with annoyance.

“Give me a little credit, Chess. I’d buy them now if I had to.”

“Hmm…” I eye him, trying not to return his smile. If only because it’s more fun when he teases. “So why are you in this aisle now, if not for potential nosebleed needs?”

“That’s easy.” He steps closer, a warm wall of muscle and clean scent. “I heard your voice.”

For a second I just blink. “You recognized my voice?”

His gaze darts over my face as if he’s trying to get a read on why I’m gaping at him. “Not to be…ah…rude, but you’re loud when you talk on the phone.”

“Yeah, but… You recognized it.” We’d only just met. It occurs to me that I’d recognized his both times he’d snuck up on me. Then again, his voice is distinctive, flowing like hot honey when he’s relaxed or hammering down like iron to rock when he’s taking command of a situation.

A soft flush of pink tints the tips of his ears. If I wasn’t staring at him, I might have missed it. He shifts his weight. “Was I not supposed to?”

“No. Yes.” I shake my head and laugh. “I don’t know.”

He grins then. “You’re cute when you’re flustered.”

“I’m not flustered.” I am.






KCauthor
Kristen Callihan is an author because there is nothing else she’d rather be. She is a three-time RITA nominee and winner of two RT Reviewer’s Choice awards. Her novels have garnered starred reviews from Publisher’s Weekly and the Library Journal, as well as being awarded top picks by many reviewers. Her debut book FIRELIGHT received RT Magazine’s Seal of Excellence, was named a best book of the year by Library Journal , best book of Spring 2012 by Publisher’s Weekly, and was named the best romance book of 2012 by ALA RUSA. When she is not writing, she is reading.

WEBSITE / FACEBOOK / TWITTER / AMAZON AUTHOR PAGE


Monday, April 17, 2017

Year of the Scorpio: Part 1 by Stacy Gail [Review]

 Year of the Scorpio: Part 1 by Stacy Gail
Year of the Scorpio: Part 1 (Scorpio #1) by Stacy Gail
Format: ebook
Source: provided by the author for an honest review
Date read: September 26, 2016

Scorpio
1. Year of the Scorpio: Part 1 - Kindle
2. Year of the Scorpio: Part 2

Stacy Gail
Website | Twitter | Facebook | Amazon |

Synopsis (Goodreads):
***TRIGGER WARNING: This is a DARK mafia romance. In addition to several scenes with strong sexual content, there are also scenes involving violence, death, gun play, mention of sexual abuse, and adult language. Due to the nature of this book, it is intended for 18+ audiences only***

They call me Dash.

Sixteen years ago my brother and I were kidnapped. The Scorpeones believed our father, boss of the Vitaliev Bratva, could be pressured into relinquishing his hold on Chicago’s underworld.

They were dead wrong.

Ultimately the Scorpeones made the youngest of their family pay for their sins. I tried not to care. Marco Polo Scorpeone, the hostage whose life was forfeit if his family moved on the Vitalievs, was the enemy. Why should I care if he was tortured worse than a prisoner of war?

Except I did care.

For sixteen years I’ve cared, more than I can say.


They call me Scorpio.

There was no light in my world. Then I saw Dash smile.

No voice could pierce my darkness. Then I heard Dash speak.

I’ve killed to survive. Killed to please my handler. Hell, I’ve killed to please myself. Killing is what I do.

I know I’m not good enough for Dash, but it doesn’t matter. What matters is that she’s mine, from now until the end of time. But that time might be nearer than I think, because someone deadlier than me is closing in…
Thoughts on Year of the Scorpio: Part 1: Holy crumb, guys. THIS BOOK. It's dark and there's definitely violence and it smothered me in inconvenient emotions when I was out in public places. That last part is really my fault, though. I should know better than to read a Stacy Gail book around people. I get twitchy and a little growly when random characters start to show their true colors and sometimes I get a tiny bit teary-eyed at the things that happen. My cold, dead heart only allows me to show emotion a small percentage of time, so it's kinda a big deal when I say that.

The point I'm trying to make is that Polo and Dash *might* have pierced the emotionless void in my chest and made me have to put the book down to give myself a moment to regroup. Maybe.

Why? you ask. Oh, Polo had a craptastic childhood. And Dash is trying so hard to build something for herself and circumstances which shall not be named are trying to tear those plans down around her. And together they're finally finding a moment of happiness and THINGS ARE HAPPENING AROUND THEM.

It was terrible. In a good way.

OH, and there's a cliffhanger of epic proportions. I'm going to assume everything will turn out fine in the end or I'll quietly cry until part 2 comes out, but...*shakes fist at Stacy Gail*

That said, don't let the cliffie deter you. This book is good. And ...IT'S GOOD. You should read it. Immediately, if not sooner. Polo and Dash are smokin' hot and I adore their chemistry. Especially when Polo is trying to be a better boyfriend. For a deadly dude, he's completely adorable with the woman he's pledged himself to.