Tuesday, January 16, 2018

Top Off Tuesday - Alien love!

I've taken over the Top Off Tuesday meme (formerly hosted by Felicia, Christi and Amanda). Why? Because I can't resist gratuitous shirtless covers. Nothing says Tuesday like flashing some skin, amirite?!?!

A scaled, alien dragon. YESSSSSS!!!

 Jarek by Erin Tate
Jarek (Dragons of Preor #1) by Erin Tate
What’s hotter than an alien with scales? An alien with wings and scales, not to mention a hot body.

At 457 Preor years old, Jarek sen Claron is a dragon ready for his final flight into the skies. This voyage to Earth as the War Master of the third fleet will be his final assignment. Once he has helped his fellow Preors secure human mates, he will return to Preor before the madness of loneliness overtakes his mind.

That all changes when he meets Melissa. Human Melissa with her sparkling eyes, bright smile, and body that would make any hot-blooded male drool. Unfortunately, she never registered as a Preor mate hopeful. No matter, the Knowing stretches between them and there is no way she can resist him. Until she does.

Jarek wishes to give her the choice to mate him, while everything inside him screams to take Melissa beneath his wing, now. No choosing necessary.

But should he draw her to his side when his enemies are circling? Many males do not believe the son of a Preor mass murderer deserves to have a mate. Can he survive the coming battles? Or will he die without tasting sweet Melissa’s lips? 

Monday, January 15, 2018

Burn for Me by Ilona Andrews [Review]

 Burn for Me by Ilona Andrews
Burn for Me (Hidden Legacy #1) by Ilona Andrews
Format: ebook
Source: purchased
Date read: April 26, 2017

Hidden Legacy
1. Burn for Me - Paperback | Kindle
2. White Hot
3. Wildfire

Ilona Andrews
Website | Twitter | Facebook | Amazon |

Synopsis (Goodreads):
Nevada Baylor is faced with the most challenging case of her detective career—a suicide mission to bring in a suspect in a volatile case. Nevada isn’t sure she has the chops. Her quarry is a Prime, the highest rank of magic user, who can set anyone and anything on fire.

Then she’s kidnapped by Connor “Mad” Rogan—a darkly tempting billionaire with equally devastating powers. Torn between wanting to run or surrender to their overwhelming attraction, Nevada must join forces with Rogan to stay alive.

Rogan’s after the same target, so he needs Nevada. But she’s getting under his skin, making him care about someone other than himself for a change. And, as Rogan has learned, love can be as perilous as death, especially in the magic world.
Thoughts on Burn for Me: I can't remember the last time a book/series grabbed me this hard. I'm tempted to indulge in an immediate reread because, HOO-BOY, Mad and Nevada WORK FOR ME on so many levels. His focus and relentless power. Her unwillingness not to bend when it comes to certain issues. Plus, those two are SMOKIN' hot together. They barely touched in this book and I'm feeling a little swoony about them.

*fans self*

So. Nevada. There's far more to her than what she lets others see. Given some of the hints Mad (I'm going back and forth on what to call him. Mad? Connor? Rogan? I'm probably going to skip between all three. Sorry!) dropped, I imagine there's far more to her than even she realizes. Her power is rare enough to be something she needs to hide, but it's the strength she's hiding from herself that I think is going to end up being the gamechanger.

And Connor/Mad/Rogan. He's...slightly sociopathic. And for some reason it works for him. Hard. He's been shaped by his power and the things he's had to do with it. He's ruthless and sometimes terrible and I liked him SO MUCH. Especially once he and Nevada were forced to spend time together on her case.

SO GOOD!

I'm making grabby hands at the next book in the series. And the one after that. They can't get here soon enough.

Sunday, January 14, 2018

RtP's Week in Review (01/14/18)

Reading the Paranormal's Week in Review
Bookish Delights
  • Books added to the pile
    • Nothing? Really? GO ME! Time to whittle away at the TBR pile!
    • Currently reading 
      • Uhh...I don't know. WHAT AM I READING? This week is a blur of fantastic books!
    Globetrotting...

    Saturday, January 13, 2018

    Spotlight On...Beyond HEA by Kit Rocha

    The Beyond series is one of my favorites and I was THRILLED when I saw we were going to get little outtakes and slices of life for our favorite couples. While these stories were written for Kit Rocha's Patreon backers, they're now being released into the wild. One a month. HOW FANTASTIC!

    Sexy and smokin' hot, I'm IN LOVE with the first of the Beyond HEAs.

    Creative Incentives (Beyond HEA)
    Caution: this story is not meant to stand alone. The Beyond Happily Ever After stories are vignettes and outtakes showing the O'Kanes in their daily lives, in between the adventures and often after their happy endings. These stories were written exclusively for readers and fans of the series, and will probably not make very much sense to anyone not familiar with the characters.

    Creative Incentives: July 2017 Patreon Reward Story. This story is a short vignette voted on by our Patreon supporters. In it, Cruz figures out some creative ways to convince Ace to keep up with the physical therapy that is restoring his strength after his injuries in Beyond Surrender. It's short, it's filthy, and it's a lot of fun. (Note: Patreon stories are exclusive to subscribers for the first six months. After that, they'll be available to download free on our website.)
    Kit Rocha
    Website | Twitter (Kit Rocha) | Twitter (Donna) | Twitter (Bree) | Facebook | Amazon |

    Friday, January 12, 2018

    Haven by Rebekah Weatherspoon [Review]

     Haven by Rebekah Weatherspoon
    Haven (Beards & Bondage #1) by Rebekah Weatherspoon
    Format: ebook
    Source: provided through NetGalley
    Date read: April 21, 2017

    Beards & Bondage
    1. Haven - Paperback | Kindle

    Rebekah Weatherspoon
    | Website | Twitter | Facebook | Amazon |

    Synopsis (Goodreads):
    A week-long getaway…

    City girl Claudia Cade's carefree life is plunged into chaos when a camping trip with her brother in the national forests of Northern California turns into a deadly dash for her survival.

    A solitary world turned upside down…

    Nature photographer Shepard Olsen has resigned himself to a quiet existence, with only his dog by his side, until a woman in need of his protection shows up on his doorstep and throws his universe into disarray.

    Two lives linked by tragedy…

    Claudia is desperate to heal from her traumatic loss, but can’t stop thinking about her run-in with evil….or the grizzled mountain man whose quick thinking and good aim saved her life. When she shows up on Shep's doorstep again, she finds she isn't the only one who can't move on.

    …saved by bliss.

    The two begin an intense, passionate relationship of Dominance and submission, pleasure and pain, but with dark memories haunting them and decisions about the future rapidly approaching, Claudia can’t help but wonder...how long can they be each other's haven?

    *** WARNING: This book contains a sexual relationship between a fashionista and a cranky mountain man who are dealing with physical and emotional trauma. And a very big, cuddly dog.***
    Thoughts on Haven: Cranky mountain men are THE BEST. Seriously. I adore all their grumbling and groaning and how they end up doing the right thing even as they're fighting against it. Throw in a city girl in a bad situation (seriously, Claudia's introduction to Shep's mountain is nothing short of deeply traumatic) and it's fantastic.

    Not that Claudia's trauma was good, mind you, but it put her in Shep's orbit and they took it from there. Eventually. They both had things they had to come to terms with before they found their happily ever after (death and mayhem will do that to a person's psyche, you know), but they worked through them.

    Between the gorgeous cover and the sexy times with an experienced Dom (it's been a while since I read one of these books, btw, and I totally remember why I dig a well-written one!), I was hooked. I'm very curious who the next book is going to be about. Verra curious.

    Thursday, January 11, 2018

    Hostage to the Stars by Veronica Scott [Review]

     Hostage to the Stars by Veronica Scott
    Hostage to the Stars (Sectors SF #7) by Veronica Scott
    Format: ebook
    Source: purchased
    Date read: April 20, 2017

    Sectors SF
    1. Wreck of the Nebula Dream
    2. Escape from Zulaire
    3. Mission to Mahjundar
    4. Star Cruise: Marooned
    5. Star Cruise: Outbreak
    6. Lady of the Star Wind
    7. Hostage to the Stars - PaperbackKindle
    8. Star Cruise: Rescue
    9. Trapped on Talonque
    10. Star Cruise: Stowaway
    11. Star Survivor
    12. Danger in the Stars

    Veronica Scott
    Website | Twitter | Facebook | Amazon |

    Synopsis (Goodreads):
    He rescued her from space pirates … but can he keep them both safe from the far greater evil stalking a deserted planet?

    Space travel without Kidnap & Ransom insurance? Not a good idea. University instructor and researcher Sara Bridges can’t afford it, so when pirates board her cruise liner, she’s taken captive along with the mistress of a wealthy man, and brought to a deserted planet. When a military extraction team sent to rescue the mistress refuses to take Sara too, she’s left to the mercies of a retired Special Forces soldier, along as consultant.

    Reluctantly reactivated and coerced into signing up for the rescue operation to the planet Farduccir where he once was deployed, Sgt. Johnny Danver just wants to get the job done. But when the team leader leaves one captured woman behind, he breaks away to rescue her himself.

    As Johnny and Sara traverse the barren landscape, heading for an abandoned base where they hope to call Sectors Command for help, they find villages destroyed by battle and stripped of all inhabitants. A lone survivor tells a horrific tale of the Sectors’ alien enemy, the Mawreg, returning after being pushed out …

    Searching for evidence to give the military, Johnny is captured. He regains consciousness in a Mawreg cage–with Sara next to him. Death is preferable to what the aliens will do to them… And even if they do escape their captors, can they alert the military in time to prevent another invasion of the Sectors?
    Thoughts on Hostage to the Stars: MAN, I like these special forces gentleman. They're calm, cool, and deadly. Plus, they have a softer side. They don't shy away from their emotions. At least Johnny doesn't. He shoves them down a bit because he wants to give Sara time to recover from the trauma of her ordeal, but he admires her strength and spirit and...Man, I just like these guys.

    So. Space pirates. The bad kind. Taken from the cruiser because she doesn't have K&R insurance, Sara's in a world of hurt. And since nobody really knows she's been taken, things aren't looking good for her.

    Good thing Johnny was called in as a consultant on the mission to rescue the other woman taken with Sara or she'd suffer far worse than she already had. But SF men don't leave anybody behind. So Johnny steps in to save the day.

    Being on the run on an unforgiving planet it bad enough, but the information they find out as they make their way to an abandoned base is even worse. Yep, I'm loving these guys and their battle against the awful aliens trying to gain a toehold in the Sectors.

    I can't get enough of them!

    Wednesday, January 10, 2018

    Hard Mated by Jennifer Ashley [Review]

     Hard Mated by Jennifer Ashley
    Hard Mated (Shifters Unbound #3.5) by Jennifer Ashley
    Format: ebook
    Source: purchased
    Date read: April 20, 2017

    Shifters Unbound
    0.5. Shifters Made
    1. Pride Mates
    2. Primal Bonds
    2.5. Bodyguard
    3. Wild Cat
    3.5. Hard Mated - Paperback | Kindle
    4. Mate Claimed
    4.5. Perfect Mate
    4.6. Lone Wolf
    5. Tiger Magic
    5.5. Feral Heat
    6. Wild Wolf
    6.5. Bear Attraction
    7. Mate Bond
    7.25. Lion Eyes
    7.5. Bad Wolf
    7.75. Wild Things
    8. White Tiger
    9. Guardian's Mate
    10. Red Wolf

    Jennifer Ashley
    Website | Twitter | Facebook | Amazon |

    Synopsis (Goodreads):
    A short novel of the Shifters Unbound series. Spike, a wildcat Shifter and the champion fighter of Shiftertown, is stunned when Myka, the best friend of a dying human woman, announces that Spike has fathered a cub. What's more, the mother is giving the boy to Spike to protect and raise.

    Myka, who'd been raised by an abusive stepfather, is not sure that a wild fighter named Spike is the best man to bring up the cute little jaguar cub. She goes to Shiftertown to check out Spike, and finds that the man behind the name is a lonely Shifter who's lost most of his family and is a fierce caretaker to those he has left.

    Spike is torn between the cub and his duties as tracker to the Shiftertown leader, and begs Myka, the only person who understands, to help him. He starts to like the sassy Myka, a horse trainer who's not afraid of working with animals, even if they're wildcats who turn into humans.

    When Spike's job puts his cub and Myka in danger, Spike is forced to choose between those to whom he's pledged his loyalty and his need to protect the woman and cub he's come to love.
    Thoughts on Hard Mated: MAN, those shapeshifters have some complicated dominance issues they dance around. Complicated in a fun way. And then there's the whole mating thing, which is hot hot hot.

    I don't know. Something about a stronger than average shifter willing to devote his EVERYTHING to the one lady who calls to him on a visceral level works for me. MOAR MATE CLAIMS, PLEASE!

    Frankly, Spike is not your average tracker. He's smart, but he hides it. He's pledged himself to the Morrisseys, but his new cub and Myka shift something in him that he can't turn away from. Under all the tattoos and willingness to fight lies the heart of a terribly sweet, lonely man. I liked the dude. A lot.

    Meanwhile, Myka is torn between her loyalty in carrying out her friend's dying wish and... well, there's the attraction. And her worries about Jordan. And the things she's dealing with in her human life. She has a lot on her plate. Spike is a complication before things turn dangerous. But Myka knows how to deal with dominant animals and she doesn't back down when things get dicey.

    Shifters, man. They do it for me.