Monday, July 25, 2016

Head Above Water by Hailey Edwards [Review]

 Head Above Water by Hailey Edwards
Head Above Water (Gemini #2) by Hailey Edwards
Format: ebook
Source: provided through Netgalley
Date read: April 29, 2016

Gemini
1. Dead in the Water
2. Head Above Water - Kindle
3. Hell or High Water

Hailey Edwards
Website | Twitter | Facebook | Amazon |

Synopsis (Goodreads):
Camille Ellis has tracked many killers during her career,but this time it's personal. Cut off from conclave resources, she won't let a small thing like a suspension keep her from accepting Cord Graeson's offer of help.

Pretending to be mated to him is one way to secure allies, but the best that can be said of the Chandler Pack is they haven't killed or eaten her. Yet. Between the alpha's displeasure and the pack's distrust of fae, she's working overtime to keep her head above water.

Just when the fur starts to fly, a tip cracks her case--and her life--wide open.
Thoughts on Head Above Water: Soooo. I might have been the tiniest bit enamored of the whole Cam/Graeson dynamic after book 1. Tiny amount. You probably barely noticed. Let's just say that I would have broken my cardinal rule of series reads if book 2 had been out when I finished book 1. That's right, I WOULD HAVE PICKED UP BOOK 2 BEFORE WRITING THE FIRST REVIEW.

I KNOW! Calm down. But I stand by that statement. I would have read this book immediately. As it turns out, I would have been well within my rights to my fangirling, giddy feelings because this book gave me more delicious Cam/Graeson interactions. *makes incoherent swoony noises*

I seriously loved how Cam had to readjust her thinking where the big guy was concerned. I loved how she had to come to terms with what he was willing to give up to give her freedom. I loved so SO SO SO much about them. Honestly, Cord (and I'm going back on forth on what to call him, this might be confusing) made some mistakes where Cam was concerned. He's domineering and autocratic at times and I totally get why.

Beyond the beginnings of a relationship those two are dancing around, there's the whole case Cam is working on, but not really working on because she's supposed to be suspended. There are layers to the bad guy Cam is tracking down and the more that's uncovered, the more dangerous her involvement becomes. Book 3 can't come fast enough, I SWEAR.

I guess I'm trying to say I liked the book. I know I hide it well, but there it is. THIS SERIES MAKES ME SO INSANELY GREEDY FOR MORE. Which naturally means I'm going to dip into Thierry's books so I can wallow a bit longer.

Sunday, July 24, 2016

RtP Week in Review (07/24/16)

Reading the Paranormal's Week in Review
Bookish Delights
Globetrotting...

Saturday, July 23, 2016

Write On Review-a-thon [30]

It's time for another installment of the Write On Review-a-thon. YAY!

A little about the Review-a-thon:
The Write On Review-a-Thon is a challenge hosted by Book Bumblings. From Friday through Sunday, we all band together and write as many reviews as possible. It’s a weekend for you to either catch up on reviews or get ahead on upcoming ones. It doesn’t matter if you write one review or 10 – if you write a review, you’re in.
This month's review-a-thon will run from Friday, July 29th to Sunday, July 31st.

As for me...
Reviews to be written:
  • {coming soon}


Friday, July 22, 2016

Deadly Testimony by Piper J. Drake [Review]

 Deadly Testimony by Piper J. Drake
Deadly Testimony (Safeguard #2) by Piper J. Drake
Format: ebook
Source: provided through NetGalley
Date read: May 3, 2016

Safeguard
1. Hidden Impact
2. Deadly TestimonyKindle
3. Contracted Defense

Piper J. Drake
Website | Twitter | Facebook | Amazon |

Synopsis (Goodreads):
The stakes have never been higher as an elite team member must outwit a dangerous killer and save the man she's sworn to protect. The second installment of the exhilarating Safeguard series from Piper J. Drake.

Kyle Yeun didn't start out bad and he doesn't intend to end his life while on the wrong side of the law, either. His testimony to his former employer's environmental misdeeds has earned him a protection detail compliments of the US government. But due to a dark international conspiracy Kyle was unaware of, his former employers have made ending his life a top priority. Realizing he needs more protection than the US Marshals can provide, he turns to Safeguard after seeing the beautiful, deadly Lizzy Scott in action.

One look at Kyle, and sniper Lizzy Scott knows this isn't going to be an easy protection job. He's arrogant, irritating and almost irresistible. Instead of being put off by her hardened attitude, Kyle seems to thrive off the challenge. And she's slowly giving in to his charms.

After narrowly escaping the latest assassination attempt, Lizzy starts taking dangerous risks to keep him safe. But the last thing Kyle wants is another life ruined because of his actions. He found his redemption in Lizzy's arms and he'll risk everything to make sure they both make it out alive. As will she, even if it means walking away from him to keep him safe.
Thoughts on Deadly Testimony: MAN, I was in the mood for some romantic suspense when I picked this book up. And I got it. WHICH MAKES ME HAPPY!

*ahem* Where the last Safeguard mission was more of a team affair, this time we get Lizzy going in on her own to keep someone safe. It certainly gave us a different dynamic since solo Lizzy does things differently than she would if she had backup. (No worries, though, the Safeguard crew has her back when she needs it. They're good like that.)

Speaking of which, Lizzy is solo for a reason. She's good at it and she prefers keeping her distance from others to protect herself. She has a few issues. As one does. Kyle balances her in a lot of ways. He appreciates that she's willing to explain why he needs to do certain things and he's more willing to go along with her plans when he understands the reasoning behind it. Which makes sense since he's the type of man who prefers to be in control.

I liked these two. There's a sort of moral gray area between them that made them interesting. Lizzy's a sniper, which means she isn't afraid to take a kill shot. Kyle turned a blind eye to actions he knew were wrong, although he's working on fixing those wrongs now. Neither of them are perfect. They work through their issues a step at a time and they have to invest a lot of trust in one another along the way. Which, let's face it, is fun!

I'm curious to see who's going to be the next team member to find their match.

Thursday, July 21, 2016

Dead in the Water by Hailey Edwards [Review]

 Dead in the Water by Hailey Edwards
Dead in the Water (Gemini #1) by Hailey Edwards
Format: ebook
Source: purchased
Date read: April 19, 2016

Gemini
1. Dead in the Water - Paperback | Kindle
2. Head Above Water
3. Hell or High Water

Hailey Edwards
Website | Twitter | Facebook | Amazon |

Synopsis (Goodreads):
Camille Ellis is the Earthen Conclave’s golden girl. Her peculiar talent solves cases with a touch. She isn’t afraid of getting her hands dirty, but every bright star casts a shadow, and her deepest scars lurk just beneath the skin.

A routine consultation goes sideways when a victim’s brother gets involved in the investigation. Riding the edge of grief, the warg will go to any lengths to avenge his sister’s death. Even if it means ensuring Cam’s cooperation at the jaws of his wolf.

When the killer strikes again, Cam is caught between a warg and a hard place. To save the next victim, she must embrace her past. Even if it means dragging her darkest secrets into the light of day.
Thoughts on Dead in the Water: I have to get this out of the way first - I am deeply enamored of the whole Graeson/Cam dynamic. DEEPLY. He might have messed up with his interactions with Cam, but the sparks they throw off when they're together make me giddy.

*draws glitter hearts around them*

So. This is a spin-off of the Black Dog series. I've only read one book in that series (although I have several percolating on the ereader) and there is some character cross-over, but nothing that will detract from the story itself if you're not familiar with them. Suffice to say, the world is laid out pretty cleanly and the mysteries of who and what populate it are revealed fairly quickly.

Cam has her own mysteries and those aren't as easily unearthed. She's fascinating in her deep sorrow as she wrestles with an old grief. I ended up getting a little wibbly when she touched on the bond between pack members for a moment only to have it ripped away. *sniffle*

There are quite a few questions left unanswered, plus the whole Graeson/Cam thing. Which, again... YASSSS. Book two needs me to read it. IT NEEDS ME. I can feel it.

Wednesday, July 20, 2016

The Tracker's Dilemma by Ruby Lionsdrake [Review]

 The Tracker's Dilemma by Ruby Lionsdrake
The Tracker's Dilemma (The Mandrake Company #6) by Ruby Lionsdrake
Format: ebook
Source: purchased
Date read: April 12, 2016

The Mandrake Company
1. Mercenary Instinct
2. Trial and Temptation
3. The Assassin's Salvation
4. The Ruins of Karzelek
5. Mercenary Courage
5.5. The Pirate Captain's Daughter
6. The Tracker's Dilemma - Kindle

Ruby Lionsdrake
Website | Amazon |

Synopsis (Goodreads):
Sergeant Heath “Tick” Hawthorn, the best tracker in Mandrake Company and the captain’s right-hand man, has been admiring microbiologist Lauren Keys from afar for months. Unfortunately, she’s dedicated to her science and doesn’t seem to have any interest in relationships. He’s not even sure she knows his name.

Determined to change that, Heath develops a surefire plan: he signs up to be a specimen in her latest study. Once she gets to know him better, he’s positive she’ll find his charms appealing.

But when he starts overhearing other people's thoughts and receiving eerie premonitions, he questions the wisdom of turning himself into a lab rat. On a mission planet-side with Lauren, they finally have some time alone together, but he’s too worried he’s turning into a freak to be charming. Further, the outing soon turns dangerous, as predators and bounty hunters show an interest in the party. If he and Lauren aren’t careful, they’ll end up dead instead of dating. Maybe Heath's plan wasn’t as surefire as he thought.
Thoughts on The Tracker's Dilemma: Tick couldn't have picked a more uninterested woman than Lauren. Which could have been a recipe for disaster for the poor guy since she doesn't pick up on social cues and he's too much a gentleman to push once she declines him. BUT... it works. Lauren doesn't go for loud and uncouth (*cough*Striker*cough*) and Heath's steady, undemanding presence settles into her brain until she's forced to notice him.

That massage he gave her might have helped a little, too.

Lauren is Lauren and she's as focused on her work as ever. I didn't really care for her sister (those two have an interesting relationship, to say the least), but it seems the single-mindedness when it comes to work runs strong in their family because Hailey will do anything to succeed in the goals she set for herself.

Some interesting theories about the Grenavinians surface and I am CURIOUS how that will play out. The inhabitants of that now-dead planet have a few secrets they might not even know about. Which makes sense since most of their secrets would have gone down with their planet. Still, secrets and bubbling backstory. I like them.

Tuesday, July 19, 2016

Top Off Tuesday - BEAR!

I've taken over the Top Off Tuesday meme (formerly hosted by Felicia, Christi and Amanda). Why? Because I can't resist gratuitous shirtless covers. Nothing says Tuesday like flashing some skin, amirite?!?!

I present this bear in all his shirtless glory. ENJOY!

 Bear to the Rescue by Terry Bolryder
Bear to the Rescue (Bear Claw Security #3) by Terry Bolryder
Bronson is the best bear in the business when it comes to personal protection. As the owner and founder of Bear Claw Security, he takes bodyguarding to a whole new level. And while he's used to ladies coming on to him for his good looks and easy smile, he has never had a problem staying professional. That is, until his new employee turns out to be a sassy, curvy, sharp-witted hacker who needs his protection and may just be his mate.

Tech expert Regan is only working at Bear Claw as a favor to a friend. She's definitely not planning to stay long term. Not when it puts her next to a gigantic, handsome, overwhelming bear shifter that makes her weak in the knees if she looks at him too long. She doesn't need or want a mate, no matter how much the animal inside her begs for a taste of her sexy, alpha male boss. But when a close call lands her under his protection and in his house, Regan isn't sure she can hold off much longer.

With two alpha bear shifters in close quarters, it's easy for things to get steamy and complicated. But Bronson knows he wants Regan for keeps. Now to convince her that he's a bear she can trust, while keeping her safe from the forces following her, and the skeletons in his own closet that are threatening to break out.