Friday, September 30, 2016

RtP 2016 Series Tracking - July-September

While I'm not hosting an official Seriously Series Challenge this year, I liked being able to track series I've completed. So... here we are. Tracking some series.

By category:
Series started in 2016: 17/12
Series started before 2016: 16/12
Series rereads: 3/3

By month:
July
  • Started in 2016:
    • Completed: 3
      • Divergent (Divergent)
      • English (Dirty English, Filthy English)
      • Rain Chaser (Thunder Road)
    • In progress: 1
      • Ice Planet Barbarians (Barbarian Alien, Barbarian Lover, Barbarian Mine, Ice Planet Holiday, Barbarian's Prize)
  • Started before 2016:
    • Completed: 6
      • Brides of the Kindred (Hunted)
      • Colbana Files (Shadowed Blade)
      • Ellie Jordan, Ghost Trapper (Lullaby)
      • Eternal Mates (Haunted by the King of Death)
      • Graveyard Queen (The Sinner)
      • Rock Kiss (Rock Wedding)
    • In progress: 1
      • Kinky Chronicles (Kinky Curves)
  • Rereads:
    • Completed: -none-
    • In progress: 1
      • Elder Races (Dragon Bound, Storm's Heart, Serpent's Kiss, True Colors, Oracle's Moon, Natural Evil, Devil's Gate, Hunter's Season)
August
  • Started in 2016:
    • Completed: 5
      • The Custard Protocol (Prudence)
      • Gravity (Coming In From the Cold)
      • Knitting in the City (Neanderthal Seeks Human)
      • Last Call (Make it a Double, Sugar on the Edge, With a Twist, Shaken, Not Stirred)
      • Violet Graves Mystery (In Good Spirits)
    • In progress: 3
      • Ice Planet Barbarians (Barbarian's Mate, Having the Barbarian's Baby, Ice Ice Babies)
      • Sin City Collectors (Aces Wild) 
      • Telepathic Space Pirates (Pirate Bound)
  • Started before 2016:
    • Completed: 5
      • Cyborg Sizzle (Being Green)
      • Elder Races (Pia Does Hollywood, Shadow's End, Liam Takes Manhattan)
      • Kinky Chronicles (Cowboy Kinky)
      • Shifters Unbound (Wild Things)
      • Tarot Witches (Summer Court)
    • In progress: 3
      • Experiment in Terror (Ashes to Ashes)
      • Ivy Years (Blonde Date)
      • Sheerspace (Prince of Passion)
  • Rereads:
    • Completed: 1
      • Elder Races (Lord's Fall, The Wicked, Kinked, Dragos Takes a Holiday, Pia Saves the Day, Peanut Goes to School, Night's Honor, Midnight's Kiss, Dragos Goes to Washington)
    • In progress: -none-
September
  • Started in 2016:
    • Completed: 9
      • Gemini Series Novellas (Fish Out of Water)
      • Ice Planet Barbarians (Barbarian's Touch, Calm)
      • Into the Wild (Seduced)
      • Off-Campus (The Score)
      • Red Rock Alien Mail Order Brides (Quantum)
      • Scorpio (Year of the Scorpio Pt 1)
      • Space Gypsy Chronicles (Pirate)
      • Telepathic Space Pirates (Hunter Bond, Pirate Nemesis)
      • True Heroes (Absolute Trust)
    • In progress: -none-
  • Started before 2016:
    • Completed: 5
      • Experiment in Terror (Dust to Dust)
      • Geek Girl Mysteries (A Geek Girl's Guide to Justice)
      • Six Pack Ranch (Rocky Mountain Devil)
      • Through the Veil (Rejecting Destiny)
      • The Witches of Cleopatra Hill (Darkangel)
    • In progress: 1
      • Kate Daniels (Magic Tests, An Ill-Advised Rescue, Magic Rises)
  • Rereads:
    • Completed: -none-
    • In progress: -none-


Thursday, September 29, 2016

Ultimate Courage by Piper J. Drake [Review]

 Ultimate Courage by Piper J. Drake
Ultimate Courage (True Heroes #2) by Piper J. Drake
Format: ebook
Source: provided through NetGalley
Date read: May 29, 2016

True Heroes
1. Extreme Honor
2. Ultimate Courage - Paperback | Kindle
3. Absolute Trust

Piper J. Drake
Website | Twitter | Facebook | Amazon |

Synopsis (Goodreads):
LOVE IS AN ACT OF BRAVERY

Retired Navy SEAL Alex Rojas is putting his life back together, one piece at a time. Being a single dad to his young daughter and working at Hope's Crossing Kennels to help rehab a former guard dog, he struggles every day to control his PTSD. But when Elisa Hall shows up, on the run and way too cautious, she unleashes his every protective instinct.

Elisa's past never stays in her rearview mirror for long, and she refuses to put anyone else in danger. But with Alex guarding her so fiercely yet looking at her so tenderly, she's never felt safer . . . or more terrified that the secrets she keeps could put countless people in grave peril. The only way for both to fully escape their demons will take the ultimate act of courage: letting go and learning to trust each other.
Thoughts on Ultimate Courage: Hellllo, Alex Rojas. It's hard to dislike a man who's dedicated to his daughter while doing his best to deal with his personal demons. Plus, he sees straight to the heart of Elisa's issues and is pretty determined to do whatever he needs to do to help her find her happy place. Both mentally and physically. *finger guns*

As I was saying, Alex worked for me. His love for Boom shines through. His (eventual) willingness to address his PTSD worked for me. His gentleness with Elisa worked. Heck, I just liked the guy.

And then there's Elisa. She's wary and careful and no matter how far or fast she runs she can't quite catch a break. Meeting Alex and having him give her his time and protection so readily goes a long way toward helping her. The fact that Alex and his friends are badasses AND have friends they can draw on to help her out is a bonus.

I'm really enjoying this series. From the dog training to the men trying to fit back into civilian life and managing to find their lady loves as they work through their issues, it works for me. Book 3, I AM READY!

Wednesday, September 28, 2016

Undiscovered by Anna Hackett [Review]

 Undiscovered by Anna Hackett
Undiscovered (Treasure Hunter Security #1) by Anna Hackett
Format: ebook
Source: purchased
Date read: May 24, 2016

Tresaure Hunter Security
1. Undiscovered - Kindle
2. Uncharted
3. Unexplored

Anna Hackett
Website | Twitter | Facebook | Amazon |

Synopsis (Goodreads):
One former Navy SEAL. One dedicated archeologist. One secret map to a fabulous lost oasis.

Finding undiscovered treasures is always daring, dangerous, and deadly. Perfect for the men of Treasure Hunter Security. Former Navy SEAL Declan Ward is haunted by the demons of his past and throws everything he has into his security business--Treasure Hunter Security. Dangerous archeological digs - no problem. Daring expeditions - sure thing. Museum security for invaluable exhibits - easy. But on a simple dig in the Egyptian desert, he collides with a stubborn, smart archeologist, Dr. Layne Rush, and together they get swept into a deadly treasure hunt for a mythical lost oasis. When an evil from his past reappears, Declan vows to do anything to protect Layne.

Dr. Layne Rush is dedicated to building a successful career--a promise to the parents she lost far too young. But when her dig is plagued by strange accidents, targeted by a lethal black market antiquities ring, and artifacts are stolen, she is forced to turn to Treasure Hunter Security, and to the tough, sexy, and too-used-to-giving-orders Declan. Soon her organized dig morphs into a wild treasure hunt across the desert dunes. Danger is hunting them every step of the way, and Layne and Declan must find a way to work together...to not only find the treasure but to survive.

Note to readers: This action-adventure romance contains a lot of action (think treasure hunts and wild chases across the desert), cool offsiders (sexy former Navy SEALs) and a steamy romance (lots of sexy times between a former SEAL and a smart archeologist). This is treasure hunting Navy SEAL style. So if you like it fast, and fun, and sexy, this is for you!
Thoughts on Undiscovered: Buried treasure (of a sort), brainy women, and the men who find them irresistible. OH, YEAH. This book has those things. Also, danger, sandstorms, and unexpected kisses.

So. Layne and Declan. They don't necessarily hit it off in their first encounter. Layne's a wee bit opinionated about antiquities (THEY BELONG IN A MUSEUM) and Declan is willing to bend the rules if it means getting the job done. Given the bad guy angling for Layne's find, the job soon turns very personal. As in, Declan can't bear to see Layne hurt and he'll do anything he has to do to make sure she remains hale and hearty.

(Sexy times in the desert, people. YASSSSS!)

With a intriguing set of secondary characters (Declan's group gets a big nod of approval) and a great, big world to go hunting for treasure, I'm kinda excited to see where the next story takes us. Bring on the archaeological shenanigans!

Tuesday, September 27, 2016

Top Off Tuesday - This one is for all the danger seekers!

I've taken over the Top Off Tuesday meme (formerly hosted by Felicia, Christi and Amanda). Why? Because I can't resist gratuitous shirtless covers. Nothing says Tuesday like flashing some skin, amirite?!?!

Dangerous territory is RIGHT!

 Dangerous Territory by Emmy Curtis
Dangerous Territory (Alpha Ops #1) by Emmy Curtis
A SEXY STRANGER

Flirting with danger is reporter Grace Grainger’s modus operandi. But she’s learned the hard way not to grow attached to the soldiers she’s embedded with in Afghanistan. To escape from her pain and loneliness, she fantasizes about the hot night she spent with a gorgeous stranger three years before in D.C. Grace never thought she’d see him again—let alone need him to rescue her . . .

AN EXPLOSIVE NIGHT

Air Force Master Sergeant Josh Travers knows journalists are nothing but trouble. So when he has to risk his team’s lives to save some reporter who’s been separated from her patrol, he’s not happy—until he recognizes her stunning eyes and delicious curves. Josh has never wanted a woman like he wants Grace. He needs her—even in an Afghan cave with a sandstorm and enemy troops closing in. This might be the end for both of them—or one hell of a beginning.

Monday, September 26, 2016

Emmitt's Treasure by Melissa Haag [Review]

 Emmitt's Treasure by Melissa Haag
Emmitt's Treasure (Judgement of the Six Companion Series #2) by Melissa Haag
Format: ebook
Source: provided by the author for an honest review
Date read: May 21, 2016

Judgement of the Six
1. Hope(less)
2. (Mis)fortune
3. (Un)wise
4. (Un)bidden
5. (Dis)content

Judgement of the Six Companion Series
1. Clay's Hope
2. Emmitt's Treasure - Paperback | Kindle
3. Luke's Dream

Melissa Haag
Website | Twitter | Facebook | Amazon |

Synopsis (Goodreads):
After six years away from his pack, Emmitt realizes he has no idea what he wants from life. His parents want him to lead the pack, and the Elders expect him to further integrate his people into human society. His reluctance to take on the demanding responsibility of leadership has him dragging his feet to return home.

Finding his Mate changes everything. Michelle's shy and beautiful and on the run. She needs somewhere to stay and someone to take care of her. Suddenly, responsibility doesn't seem like such a burden to Emmitt. He'll do whatever it takes to earn her trust and keep her safe...even from one of his own kind.
Thoughts on Emmitt's Treasure: I've been a fan of the Judgement of the Six series since day 1. (I might be exaggerating. Slightly. It might have been day 2. Maybe I should say since I first picked up Clay and Gabby's book. Hooked, my friends. I was hooked with those two and things have only gotten more intense since then.) I kinda dig getting into the guys heads with the companion series. It adds a little something extra to the main books and I like extras. I like them a lot.

So. Emmitt and Michelle. He's not quite ready to take on the responsibility his parents need him to. She's running scared from something she can hardly believe in. Seeing how hard it was for him to go slow and easy to win Michelle's trust made me like him even more. On the other hand, knowing who and what Michelle's captors are, it was hard to watch the pack fumbling for answers. (Not too hard, just moderately hard. BAD THINGS ARE COMING! WATCH OUT!)

But seriously. I do enjoy seeing events from another perspective. I like watching the pack dynamics from the inside. I like getting into the heads of the guys and getting to experience them falling for their special ladies. *thumbs up*

Sunday, September 25, 2016

RtP Week in Review (09/25/16)

Reading the Paranormal's Week in Review
Bookish Delights
Globetrotting...

Saturday, September 24, 2016

Write On Review-a-thon [32]

 Write On Review-a-thon
There's another review-a-thon weekend coming up! I'm in!

A little about the Review-a-thon:
The Write On Review-a-Thon is a challenge hosted by Book Bumblings. From Friday through Sunday, we all band together and write as many reviews as possible. It’s a weekend for you to either catch up on reviews or get ahead on upcoming ones. It doesn’t matter if you write one review or 10 – if you write a review, you’re in.
This month's review-a-thon will run from Friday, September 30th to Sunday, October 2nd.

As for me...
Reviews to be written:
  • {coming soon}