Thursday, October 30, 2014

West of Want by Laura Kaye [Review]

West of Want by Laura Kaye
West of Want (Hearts of the Anemoi #2) by Laura Kaye
Format: ebook
Source: purchased
Date read: July 13, 2014

Hearts of the Anemoi
1. North of Need
2. West of Want - Paperback | Kindle
3. South of Surrender
4. East of Ecstasy

Laura Kaye
| Website | Twitter | Facebook | Amazon |

Synopsis (Goodreads):
Betrayal is all he's ever known, but in her, he'll find a love strong enough to be trusted...

When Marcella Raines' twin brother dies, she honors his request to be buried at sea, never expecting the violent storm that swamps her boat. Though she's gravely injured--and still emotionally damaged from her recent divorce--Ella fights to survive.

Zephyros Martius is the Supreme God of the West Wind and Spring, but being the strongest Anemoi hasn't protected him from betrayal and loss. Worse, he's sure his brother Eurus is behind it. When Zeph's heartbreak whips up a storm that shipwrecks a human, his guilt forces him to save her.

Ella is drawn to the vulnerability Zeph hides beneath his otherworldly masculinity and ancient blue eyes. And her honesty, empathy, and unique, calming influence leave Zeph wanting...everything. When Eurus threatens Ella, she and Zeph struggle to let go of the past, defend their future, and embrace what they most want--a love that can be trusted.
Thoughts on West of Want: Holy bananas. Zeph is so ever lovin' tormented. It killed me. And a lot of what he felt guilt for were things that weren't his fault. Poor guy. He needs hugs. And cookies. Someone get on that.

Loved, loved, loved how Ella was so willing to accept Zeph and what he had to offer. When confronted with the supreme weirdness of gods and elemental power, she handled it incredibly well. Sure, she had questions and dealing with Eurus was no picnic, but she listened to her gut and trusted the man who seemed like he had the weight of the world on his shoulders.

Meanwhile, the feud between Zeph and Eurus was kinda heartbreaking. Seeing the lengths Eurus will go to to make Zeph hurt made me want to punch him in the junk. Nobody likes being punched in the junk, Eurus. Straighten up.

I'm really enjoying the mythology and world that's been built with this series. Family can suck sometimes. A family of gods who have to maintain balance seems to suck even harder. I'm excited to see what's in store for Chrys in the next book.

Wednesday, October 29, 2014

Diamond Dust by Vivian Arend [Review]

Diamond Dust by Vivian Arend
Diamond Dust (Takhini Wolves #3) by Vivian Arend
Format: ebook
Source: purchased
Date read: July 8, 2014

Takhini Wolves
1. Black Gold
2. Silver Mine
3. Diamond Dust - Kindle
4. Moon Shine

Vivian Arend
| Website | Twitter | Facebook | Amazon |

Synopsis (Goodreads):
She can’t shift, but she can shake their world.

Caroline Bradley is having one hell of a week. Her wolf lover has sniffed out his mate, making her an instant free agent. Not only that, Takhini territory has been overrun with aggressive bear-shifters electing a clan leader, and the wolf pack is feeling the effects—pushing her diplomatic skills to the limit.

Tyler Harrison is a grizzly on a mission. If he’s going to win the majority of the bears’ votes, he needs one final thing: a female companion. The only woman in town with influence over wolves, humans, and more bears than he’d like to admit, is Caroline.

Despite the sexual pull between them, though, Tyler’s not seeking a permanent relationship. And Caroline isn’t looking to be anyone else’s political pawn. But she should have remembered that when shifters are involved, changes happen in the blink of an eye.

Warning: Billionaire bear hero plus kick-ass human heroine equals a sexually volatile power struggle. Get ready for what might be the naughtiest game of tag that’s ever been played in the great outdoors.
Thoughts on Diamond Dust: Oh, shapeshifters. I just can't quit you! (Not that I'd want to. I <3 shapeshifters!) It doesn't matter what you shift into, you're all so delectable when you go all growly and mine.

Tyler's a total sweetheart of a bear. Not going to lie, when Caroline gets up close and personal with his grizzly and he went all puddly, I was loving it. Big men brought down by little ladies make me smile. Especially when the little lady is a pure human and the man in question is one of the powerhouses in the wild.

There's a lot going on in this book. We get to see the bear shifters meeting to elect their leader--and aren't there some interesting dynamics going on with those bears?--and Caroline trying to keep things running smoothly, first for the wolves, then for Tyler. I like Caroline's balls to the wall attitude with the wolves (and later the bears). She might not be a shifter, but she's carved out a place for herself among them.

I'm digging on this series. It's fun, sexy, and full of just the right amount of shapeshiftery goodness.

Tuesday, October 28, 2014

Top Off Tuesday - Revel this!

I've decided to join Felicia, Christi and Amanda for their gratuitous shirtless covers on Tuesdays. Because nothing says Tuesday like flashing some skin! Hop over to Felicia's blog to see who else is participating!

This one is a good series AND it has hunkalicious covers. What more can one reader ask for?

Lay Me Down by Erin Kellison
Lay Me Down (Reveler #2) by Erin Kellison
Able to navigate sleep’s vast dreamwaters, wild child Maisie Lane makes easy money as a courier delivering packages from one dream to another. So what if her employers are on the shadier side of the law? Her sister thinks she’s living for the pleasure of the moment. Pleasure is involved—why shouldn’t it be?—but every step Maisie takes is part of a careful plan. That is, until she crosses into a dream so evil, she has no choice but to run.

Special Agent Steve Coll is tasked to recruit Maisie for Chimera, the organization that polices shared dreams. At first he’s taken with her funny and carefree spirit, then brought to his knees by her tough and passionate soul. Touching her is forbidden ecstasy, but Steve can’t resist breaking the rules with Maisie. A darkness is gathering, evil preparing to strike, and only Maisie stands between it and innocent lives. No matter what happens, Steve won’t let her stand alone—he’ll die before he leaves her side.

Monday, October 27, 2014

Beyond Addiction by Kit Rocha [Review]

Beyond Addiction by Kit Rocha
Beyond Addiction (Beyond #5) by Kit Rocha
Format: ebook
Source: provided by the author for an honest review
Date read: August 24, 2014

Beyond
1. Beyond Shame
2. Beyond Control
2.5. Beyond Denial
3. Beyond Pain
3.5. Beyond Temptation
4. Beyond Jealousy
4.5. Beyond Solitude
5. Beyond Addiction - Kindle
5.5. Beyond Possession
6. Beyond Innocence
6.5. Beyond Ecstasy
7. Beyond Ruin

Kit Rocha
Kit Rocha is the non-paranormal pen name for the fabulous writing duo Bree and Donna. They also write paranormal sexiness as Moira Rogers.
| Website | Twitter (Kit Rocha) | Twitter (Donna) | Twitter (Bree) | Facebook | Amazon |

Synopsis (Goodreads):
She’s fought like hell to leave the past behind.

Trix changed her name and her life when she got clean four years ago. Now, she has a new family and a job she loves—tending bar and dancing at the Broken Circle. As an O’Kane, she’s happy, untouchable. Until a nightmare from her old life tears her away from her home and drags her back to Hell—also known as Sector Five.

He’s still living—and dying—in it.

Losing Trix was the kick in the head Finn needed to get sober, but working as an enforcer for a man he hates is slowly crushing his soul. The only thing that keeps him going is his determination to destroy Sector Five from the inside. Then Trix comes back into his life—alive, in danger—and nothing else matters.

Getting her home could be a suicide mission. The only thing deadlier is the old spark that flares to life between them. Soon, Finn and Trix are battling the one addiction neither of them ever managed to kick—each other. And it could cost them everything.
Thoughts on Beyond Addiction: I am honestly so smitten with this series. It's dark. It's gritty. It's sexy beyond belief. And, HOLY HANNAH, THESE CHARACTERS! They tie me up in knots and leave me anxiously reading to find out how they're going to untangle themselves as the story progresses.

I've said this before... it's not just the main characters who capture my attention. It's those who've come before and those who haven't yet had their story told. It's Ace and the dirty flirting he uses to hide his fragile side. It's Dallas and the weight of so many lives he has to keep safe. It's Lex and her devotion to Dallas and everything he stands for. It's the strength all the O'Kanes find in one another and the lengths they'll go to keep each other and their Sector safe.

Finn and Trix might be the newest component, but all of them wrap me up in the insanity and debauchery of Sector Four.

Frankly, Finn and Trix have a few speed bumps to get past in their relationship. Addiction, a betrayal that probably saved them both, relearning each other and learning to trust that they deserve some happiness after everything they've endured. I loved that they had a past. They were tangled up tight before Trix had to walk away.

And once they find one another again, things get hot and heavy fast.

More sector politics are laid out, danger and heartache and that glimmer of hope that Dallas can inspire in those around him by choosing to fight for what's right, even when it's not the easiest path to take. Yes, this book was outstanding. It gave me everything I wanted with a side order of those delectable O'Kanes.

Sunday, October 26, 2014

RtP Week in Review (10/26/14)

Reading the Paranormal's Week in Review
Bookish Delights
Globetrotting...
Check it out!
  • Seriously Series weekly update: *pulls on big girl panties and get to those before 2014 books*
    • Series started in 2014: 10/18 (+2 since last week)
    • Series started before 2014: 4/18 (+2 since last week)
    • Series rereads: 7/9 (+0 since last week)

Saturday, October 25, 2014

Blog Housekeeping [48]


It's that time again! Time to polish up your blog until it shines!

Update:
  • review archive - are you responsible for sites other than your own? Don't forget about those
  • sidebar - check for buttons or links for events that have ended. Have any new events coming up? Now's the time to add them.
  • reading challenges - update your progress, add links to challenges where you can link up. If you're a challenge host, do you try to comment on linked reviews? Now's your chance!
  • blogrolls -  clean 'em up!
  • crosspost - do you crosspost to Amazon, B&N, Goodreads, Library Thing? Don't forget to add your reviews to Netgalley or Edelwiess for those ARCs.
  • check your subscription and social media links - if this isn't something that you normally check, now's an excellent time to make sure it's doing what it should be doing. (check out Felicia's Tech Tips for ideas on what to do if you're getting errors on your subscription link)
  • check your static pages (About, Review Policy, etc) for outdated information, broken links, etc.
  • review your profiles - when was the last time you updated your Goodreads or Facebook profiles? Is everything up to date?
Get ahead:
  • October is winding down! Now's the time to draft up any month-end or beginning of the month posts. Think creatively. What can you do to get ahead and make the end of the month easier on you?
Misc:
  • respond to review requests and other bloggy emails
  • check your spam folder - legitimate emails can sometimes slip through, catch them now.
  • check the spam filter on the blog - get rid of the spam! save the legits!
  • make the rounds - check back on blogs where you left comments, maybe spread a few new comments around like candy.
Did you do everything that applies to you? Well done! Now...

BACK UP YOUR BLOG!

The next Blog Housekeeping is scheduled for 11/8! I hope to see you there!

Friday, October 24, 2014

Trapped by Caris Roane [Review]

Trapped by Caris Roane
Trapped (Blood Rose Tales #1) by Caris Roane
Format: ebook
Source: purchased
Date read: July 7, 2014

Blood Rose Tales
1. Trapped - Kindle
2. Hunger

Caris Roane
| Website | Twitter | Facebook | Amazon |

Synopsis (Goodreads):
Mastyr Vampire Zephyr, a one-man fighting force, struggles to save the life of a woman who despises his warrior ways.

He won’t give up his warrior life to please a woman…

Zephyr can’t keep away from Alesia and feels obligated to keep her safe. They’d broken up, unable to reconcile painfully opposing views on what should be done to the evil Invictus pairs. But when several wraith-pairs attack her diner, he flies her to safety, taking her home where they’re trapped together for the entire day. His chronic blood-starvation problem surfaces and it soon becomes apparent that she’s the key to taking away decades of suffering. But if she offers to take care of his needs, will he be drawn in once more only to have her disapproval ruin the moment yet again?

Surrendering is dangerous…

Alesia wishes Zephyr would just leave her alone. She broke up with him months ago and wants to start a new life. The trouble is, he’s still the one man who can curl her toes. But when several deadly Invictus pairs attack her diner, Alesia has no choice but to go home with Zephyr, something she’s promised herself never to do. Trapped all day with the powerful warrior, she finds it hard to resist the comfort of his arms and the sensual feel of his lips pressed to hers. Will it hurt to offer to meet his blood-needs just this once or will surrendering leave her more vulnerable than ever?
Thoughts on Trapped: I had a tough time with this book. I spent the first half of it trying to understand what was going on (I'm still a little unclear on what Invictus pairs are, to be honest, but I think I stopped trying after a while) and the second half realizing that although this is book 1 in a series, it's a spin-off from another series. I really think I would have been more engaged if I had either known that before or if there was a little more explanation in the beginning. Stepping into an established world can be tough and I never quite caught up with what was going on.

So. Zephyr and Alesia have some issues they need to work out. They dated, they broke up, they both still want each other. If Alesia had simply explained why she took the stance she did on Zephyr's fighting, I think a lot of misunderstandings could have been avoided and they could have kept on having stellar sex without taking a break.

So it goes.

Meanwhile, there's this whole Blood Rose thing. Again, stepping into an established world isn't easy when it's assumed you know some of what came before. In this case I didn't and I stumbled.

Ultimately, I think this seems like an interesting world, I just wish I hadn't started it with this book. A little prior knowledge of the world would have gone a long way in this case.