Tuesday, October 21, 2014

Top Off Tuesday - More muscles for you!

I've decided to join Felicia, Christi and Amanda for their gratuitous shirtless covers on Tuesdays. Because nothing says Tuesday like flashing some skin! Hop over to Felicia's blog to see who else is participating!

Eve Langlais gave the first book in her cyborg series a reboot and I must say I have NO complaints. MUSCLES!

C791 by Eve Langlais
C791 (Cyborgs: More Than Machines #1) by Eve Langlais
Machines aren't supposed to feel, but this cyborg can't help falling in love.

Assigned as a specimen collector for a captured cyborg, Chloe is intrigued by the machine disguised as a man. Kidnapped during his daring escape, he shows her that despite the chip in his brain, his humanity is not completely lost.

Formerly known as unit X109GI, Joe is on a quest to discover his origin. While he doesn't find the answers he's looking for, he does discover that affection and lust aren't just for humans. But when it comes to a battle between logic and love, which side will the cybernetic organism--once a man--choose?

Evaluating his feelings will have to wait though because the military isn't done with Joe. But their threats against him pale in comparison before the shocking discovery of project C791, the revelation of which stuns the rebel cyborgs--and ignites a fury for vengeance.

Monday, October 20, 2014

Gun Shy by Eleri Stone [Review]

Gun Shy by Eleri Stone
Gun Shy (Reaper #2) by Eleri Stone
Format: ebook
Source: provided by the author for an honest review
Date read: August 22, 2014

Reaper
1. Reaper's Touch
2. Gun Shy - Kindle

Eleri Stone
| Website | Twitter | Facebook | Amazon |

Synopsis (Goodreads):
Before the cure, Lieutenant Lyle Dalton's job was simple: kill the Reapers. Now, under orders to inject all captured flesh eaters with the serum that restores their humanity, his Rangers at Fort Dougan face entirely new dangers. Someone wanted the Reaper cure badly enough to spill blood for it, and Lyle needs to steal it back if he hopes to hold the border.

Jane Fisher escaped Scraper crime boss Gideon Moore with only the clothes on her back. What he took from her can never be replaced, but her new home at Fort Dougan is the first safe one she's known. Or was, until the remaining supply of serum was stolen, flown high into the mountains on Gideon's command. Serving as Lyle's guide through Scraper territory means revisiting her own personal hell, but it's also an opportunity—for closure or revenge, Jane isn't quite sure.

Beautiful, proud and haunted, Jane is a temptation Lyle's worked hard to avoid. The mountains are the last place she needs to be. But if Jane can find the courage to face down a man like Gideon for the sake of the fort, no force on earth will keep Lyle from her side.
Thoughts on Gun Shy: I completely love the idea that Reapers/zombies can be given their humanity back. And the problems that arise for the Rangers because of this. Instead of killing them all willy-nilly, they now have to capture them and do what they can to help them.

Difficult under the best circumstances. The fact Reapers will be trying to EAT THEM as they try to help adds to an already dangerous situation.

Anyway. Lyle. I like the guy. I really do. His reaction (or lack of one because he's REALLY GOOD at hiding how much he wanted Jane) to Jane's continued pursuit of fellow Ranger Cam kinda slayed me. I wasn't sure how things were going to play out and was pleasantly surprised as secrets were revealed and Lyle's desires began to shine through.

Meanwhile, those secrets... Jane sure had them. Her devastation at what had happened before she fled to Fort Duggan was totally founded. The lady went through a lot and she managed to survive and thrive despite it. Sure, she was a wee bit damaged, but she found her place and made things work for her.

I LOVED getting to revisit Jake and Abby's relationship. Watching tough Abby trying to play nice with the city folk was... enlightening. The hints (sometimes more than hints) of corruption in the higher-ups was chilling.

I really REALLY like the worldbuilding we were given. From the Reapers and Rangers to those who want to exploit them in different ways, it's never a dull moment. *thumbs up*

Sunday, October 19, 2014

RtP Week in Review (10/19/14)

Reading the Paranormal's Week in Review
Bookish Delights
Globetrotting...
Check it out!
  • Seriously Series weekly update: Let's go, team!
    • Series started in 2014: 8/18 (+3 since last week)
    • Series started before 2014: 3/18 (+3 since last week)
    • Series rereads: 7/9 (+0 since last week)

Saturday, October 18, 2014

Rise of the King by R.A. Salvatore [Review]

Rise of the King by R.A. Salvatore
Rise of the King (Companions Codex #2, The Legend of Drizzt #26) by R.A. Salvatore
Format: ebook
Source: provided by Wizards of the Coast through NetGalley
Date read: September 23, 2014

Companions Codex
1. Night of the Hunter
2. Rise of the King - Hardcover | Paperback | Kindle

R.A. Salvatore
| Website | Twitter | Facebook | Amazon |

Synopsis (Goodreads):
In the second book of the Companions Codex, the latest series in the New York Times best-selling saga of dark elf Drizzt Do'Urden, R.A. Salvatore picks up with the fan-favorite storyline of dwarf king Bruenor Battlehammer and his bloody feud with the orc kingdom of Many Arrows.
Thoughts on Rise of the King: I've been enjoying this series overall, but MAN is it tough for me to keep all the background players straight. Remembering who did what and how they relate to Drizzt and company kept me on my toes. In all honesty, I like the time spent with the Companions the best and, for me, the rest of the action is just setup for Drizzt and his crew to kick butt and be awesome.

Because even when things look like there's no way out, those resourceful Companions find a way to make it work.

So. Dwarfs and Orcs. Yeah, things look bad. The kingdoms are in upheaval, the orc army has spread like a plague across the land, and the shadowy machinations of the drow continue. There is some serious craziness going on and the Companions keep finding themselves smack-dab in the middle. Well, wait. Actually, they sort of put themselves in the middle. You know, because they're good guys and they don't stand by idly when bad, bad things happen.

Enjoyable, I still find myself the most engaged in the story lines dealing directly with the Companions. They're just so... fun. Weird and offbeat and kinda bloodthirsty. You know, fun!

(I'm a little sad I don't get to make any "tangled web" spider jokes this review, but what can you do?)

Friday, October 17, 2014

A Demon and His Psycho by Eve Langlais [Review]

A Demon and His Psycho (Welcome to Hell #2) by Eve Langlais
A Demon and His Psycho (Welcome to Hell #2) by Eve Langlais
Format: ebook
Source: purchased
Date read: July 5, 2014

Welcome to Hell
1. A Demon and His Witch
2. A Demon and His Psycho - Paperback | Kindle
3. Date With Death
4. A Demon and Her Scot
5. Hell's Kitty

Eve Langlais
| Website | Facebook | Amazon |

Synopsis (Goodreads):
Welcome to Hell where the rules are always changing, the ash is constantly raining, and Lucifer is watching, waiting to steal your soul...

With a giggle and an outrageous mouth - perfect for things other than talking - Katie comes flying into Xaphan's life, upsetting centuries of self-inflicted misery. How can he stay true to the one he lost when a bubbly psycho, with mismatched eyes, keeps consuming his thoughts - and awakening his desire?

So she was a tad bit nuts, Katie's insanity came in handy as the Devil's favorite problem solver. But killing's not on the menu when a dragon goes missing, and worse, Lucifer teams her up with Hell's grumpiest demon. His rejection of her advances only makes her more determined to seduce him. And despite her violent reputation, a part of her is oddly tempted to let him live.

Warning: This story centers around a grumpy demon holding onto an ancient vow and a perky psycho (with killer tendencies) who is determined to make him snap. There's cursing, melt-your-screen hotness, messed up religious tropes and snort out loud fun. If you already know you're going to Hell, then dive on in.
Thoughts on A Demon and His Psycho: HOLY WOW! If Katie's psychopathic tendencies don't make you giggle... wait. What does it say about me that I find her particular brand of crazy highly entertaining? Don't answer that.

Right. So. Katie and Xaphan. She's Lucifer's favorite assassin, he's a demon determined to uphold his vow. Which drives Luc absolutely bonkers, btw. What sort of demon holds true to a vow he made three hundred years ago? Xaphan, that's who. But when he breaks it, he breaks it in a big way.

Honestly, he and Katie are made for one another. They both have skill sets that are in demand and they both relish the kill. Oh, and they both have some anger/jealousy issues. THOSE TWO.

As always, Eve Langlais has created characters who are as bloodthirsty as they are turned on. Katie is sassy and wicked good with her knives and Xaphan has a mouth on him when he finally unbends enough to unleash it. Together, they're downright combustible.

Also, that cover? It hits all my hot buttons.

Thursday, October 16, 2014

Rogue's Passion by Laurie London [Review]

Rogue's Passion (Iron Portal #2) by Laurie London
Rogue's Passion (Iron Portal #2) by Laurie London
Format: ebook
Source: purchased
Date read: July 3, 2014

Iron Portal
1. Assassin's Touch
2. Rogue's Passion - Paperback | Kindle

Laurie London
| Website | Twitter | Facebook | Amazon |

Synopsis (Goodreads):
Hidden within the rugged mountains of the Pacific Northwest, Iron Portals separate the modern and ancient worlds. Only a chosen few, Warriors of the Iron Guild, know their locations.

For years, Olivia Crawford has kept a low profile in order to keep her para-ability secret. If the army finds out she’s a Healer-Talent, they’ll force her to work for them—just like her brother who was taken as a boy and never seen again.

But when a terrible explosion rocks New Seattle, she risks everything to save the injured, including a handsome stranger with secrets of his own.

Blaming himself for the death of a friend, Iron Guild warrior Asher Kane vows to bring those responsible to justice. After he’s hurt on a mission and nursed back to health by a beautiful yet mysterious woman, this dangerously sexy bad-boy finds himself falling for her…even as he struggles to stay away.

But stalking them on the streets of New Seattle is a cruel and vengeful evil—one that threatens to destroy them both…
Thoughts on Rogue's Passion: I like the idea behind this series a lot. I wasn't in love with this book itself, but the factions pushing against one another (the army vs the Cascadians) intrigued me.

Olivia's talent worked for me overall. I don't think she was particularly smart about staying hidden, but I can understand why she'd be driven to help in situations like the one she was in. I have to say, I'm kind of a sucker for the army being the bad guys and the so-called enemies only trying to do their best to keep their people safe. Especially as the story reveals some of what had happened in Cascadia in the past.

Not having read book one, I was a little iffy on the dynamics of the Iron Guild warriors. Asher goes off on an unsanctioned mission of revenge and nobody really bats an eye about it. I guess that's cool. Any chance to stick it to the army and all that, right?

Meanwhile, I do wish the D/s leanings had been explored a little more. What we got here was more of a tease than anything. Enjoyable enough, but only touched on despite how adamant Asher was that he'd be in charge.

Overall, this might be one book where I'd have been better off reading book 1. The characters didn't do all that much for me, but the world kinda rocked. So. You know. Yeah.

Wednesday, October 15, 2014

Darkness Falls by Erin Kellison [Review]

Darkness Falls (Reveler #1) by Erin Kellison
Darkness Falls (Reveler #1) by Erin Kellison
Format: ebook
Source: purchased
Date read: June 30, 2014

Reveler
1. Darkness Falls - Kindle
2. Lay Me Down
3. Darksider

Erin Kellison
| Website | Twitter | Facebook | Amazon |

Synopsis (Goodreads):
Agent Malcolm Rook is hunting for people with the rarest of talents—the ability to master dreams. He finds the undeniably gifted Jordan Lane, but she’s wary of mysterious Rook and resists his pursuit as long as she can. Yet the dreamwaters they enter are too exhilarating to resist, and attraction soon ignites electric passions. Delving too deep stirs a nightmare, one they must defeat, or be forever lost to darkness.

Fans of paranormal romance and bad boys, get ready for a dark, sexy plunge into fantasy and desire. The Reveler Series is set in a contemporary world in which people can indulge in RĂªve, or shared dreaming—a pop culture phenomenon sweeping the world. Imagine being able to fall asleep at night, only to wake in a dream world, one in which you are lucid and in control—where you can be anything you want to be and do anything you like. But you must be careful…dreaming can be as dangerous as it is seductive.
Thoughts on Darkness Falls: I like the idea behind this series A LOT. That said, I thought the ending was incredibly abrupt. Not only in terms of not tying up the overall arc (I'm assuming that carries over into the next book), but in terms of how the relationship between Malcolm and Jordan played out. Everything seemed to be moving forward and working nicely and then, BOOM, they're together and that's that.

Okay, wait. It's not so much that they were together (let's be honest, I expected that), but that we got no closure to Malcolm admitting it. "This is my special lady friend." *end scene* I had to go back and reread the last few pages to see if I'd missed something. For the record, I didn't.

Beyond that, the idea of Reve was fascinating. Shared dreaming, billed as being completely safe and non-addictive, yet with a dark side no one talks about. Malcolm is very predatory in his pursuit of Jordan. He knows her world is going to change the moment she steps into the dreaming and he's not very sympathetic to that at first. As he gets to know her and sees how she got drawn into everything because of her desire to help, he begins to see her in a different light. Still, he's rough around the edges and comes across as hard and tough more often than not.

Meanwhile, I can appreciate Jordan's desire to keep her sister out of trouble, but Maisie made me raise my eyebrows more than once. She's so willfully clueless at times, it hurts. Jordan's life was put in danger because of her. Jordan's entire life is uprooted because of her untruths and the position she'd put herself in. While I'll admit Maisie couldn't have known that Jordan would have drawn the type of interest she did when she stepped into the dreaming, I had a hard time liking her.

(This isn't even Maisie's book and she got more paragraph time in the review than Jordan. Go figure.)

Imaginative and enjoyable (up until the abrupt ending), I'm curious how the overall arc will play out. Something bad is in the dream world and I want to know what it is.