Tuesday, June 27, 2017

The Debt Series by M. O'Keefe [Review]

The Debt Series by M. O'Keefe
Format: ebook
Source: provided by the author for an honest review

The Debt
0.5. The Debt - Kindle
1. Lost Without You - Kindle
2. Where I Belong - Kindle

Molly O'Keefe
Website | Twitter | Facebook | Amazon |

 The Debt by Molly O'Keefe
The Debt (The Debt #0.5)
Date read: June 3, 2017

Synopsis (Goodreads):
LOVE AND SECOND CHANCES ARE NOT FREE

For the five kids who live at St. Jude’s Home for Court Placed Juveniles, life is a nightmare.

Carissa, the youngest, has been there the longest. And barely speaks. Rosa is sixteen and pregnant.

Simon keeps his head down and studies, hoping to get back the life he lost.

Beth and Tommy, in the middle of the darkness, have found each other, and all they want is to be together. But when they get caught making out at school, it puts everyone in danger. Tommy is used to the beatings from their foster father, but when Beth is singled out for punishment, Tommy can’t sit back and let it happen.

AND ALL DEBTS MUST BE PAID

What happens that night rips apart the lives of the five teenagers forever.

After the blood has been spilled, a bargain is made. A deal with the devil that should have solved things. It should have fixed everything.

But nothing is free - not love, not innocence, and certainly not freedom. And sooner or later, all debts must be paid...
Thoughts on The Debt: I hit a point early on in this book where I had to put it down for a bit because I could SEE something bad on the horizon and I didn't feel like I was emotionally equipped to handle it. (To be fair, I got a lot of sun today and my cold, dead heart can't handle EMOTIONS on top of sunlight. So part of this may be on me. But part of it was totally not on me, too. Because EMOTIONS.)

This is the setup, guys. This is where the wheels are put in motion and they're some mighty big wheels. The St. Jude's kids are in a bad place and they make a series of choices that leave them with only one way out. Well, I guess they could have taken their chances with the police, but I somehow doubt that would have turned out any better.

Book 2 awaits!


 Lost Without You by Molly O'Keefe
Lost Without You (The Debt #1)
Date read: June 14, 2017

Synopsis (Goodreads):
ALL DEBTS MUST BE PAID

Tommy

Seven years ago, I thought I could save Beth, the girl I loved from the monster who was supposed to take care of us. I thought I could keep Beth and all the other kids at St. Jude’s Home for Court Placed Juveniles safe.

I failed. Badly. Now we all have blood on our hands and owe a dangerous man a very dangerous debt. We don’t know when he’ll come calling for payment, but when he does – we pay, or we suffer.

When my turn comes, I’m ready for anything.

Except seeing Beth again.

LOVE IS NEVER FREE

Beth

No one ever tells you that the cost of having your dreams come true is literally every single other part of your life. Yes, I’m a huge pop star these days, but I’m pretty much a mess, too.

I’ve spent my life hiding behind disguises, make-up and costumes, all to protect myself from the kind of pain that comes from revealing your true self to someone.

I did that once. With Tommy. The only person I ever loved. It didn’t turn out so well.

And now, with everything else falling apart around me, I’m suddenly in the backseat of his car.

Being kidnapped.

And the past we’ve both tried to run from is catching up with us.
Thoughts on Lost Without You: Okay. So. Things have gone a little sideways since the night the kids at St. Jude's protected one of their own from what the Pastor had planned. Some of them haven't been seen from since while others have tried to stick together. Somewhat.

Tommy is drifting. Beth--the girl he sacrificed everything for--has gone off the radar and his only old contact is Simon. And there's that debt hanging over his head. He has no idea when it will be called in or what he'll be asked to do, and he's sort of in a holding pattern.

Then the moment happens and his life shifts irrevocably off course. With Beth in his orbit again, all those old feelings bubble up. But...BUT...if he doesn't follow through with what he's been asked to do, he'll be in a world of hurt.

Meanwhile, Beth's a hot mess. HOT. MESS. And her secrets look like they have secrets. While we don't have all the answers we need to fill in the blanks, a picture is beginning to form and, well, things don't necessarily look good. Tommy's in trouble and Beth needs to do something about it.

Somehow.

I'm ready to see how this all plays out.



 Where I Belong by Molly O'Keefe
Where I Belong (The Debt #2)
Date read: June 22, 2017

Synopsis (Goodreads):
THE GIRL I LOVED IS THE WOMAN I CAN’T HAVE

It was simple: Pay the debt and I stay out of jail. Pay the debt and I stay alive.

But I sacrificed it all for Beth.

I didn’t pay what I owed. I’m sure punishment is coming, but I can take it - as long as Beth is safe. Away from her mother and everyone else who would hurt her.

I gave it all up for two days with her. And it was worth it.

She always was.

THE SECRETS WE KEEP ARE WHAT TEARS US APART

We’re supposed to be done. Over. Tommy goes his way, I go mine. Cue the heartbreaking music.

I’m supposed to forget him, but I don’t think I can. And when the danger closes in on Tommy, we’re on the run again. From Bates. From my mother. From our past. And there are no safe places to hide.

Except one. And it’s the place that will hurt Tommy the most.

But maybe it’s time for me to face my past. My demons.

Maybe it’s time for me to save Tommy for once.
Thoughts on Where I Belong: Holy wow. Tommy and Beth. Those two are messed up, but perfect for one another. The fact they spent seven years apart because of what happened *that night* is sort of heartbreaking. On the other hand, I don't think Tommy would have got the closure he needed if things hadn't worked out the way they did.

But let's backtrack for a second. When Tommy disregarded the orders he was given in terms of dropping Beth off, he put himself in a bad situation. BAD. Like, dudes are gunning for him and all that jazz. Considering Beth is a fairly well known pop star and they're still traveling together, this makes things problematic.

But Tommy can't walk away from Beth when she's in danger. So he sucks it up and they end up in the one place Tommy never dreamed he'd be. Literally never dreamed it. It was so far off his radar, it wasn't a blip. On top of that, he had Beth in his bed, but he's trying his hardest to shield his heart from the inevitable loss of her.

It's ROUGH.

Meanwhile, Beth is coming to terms with her own past. All of it. Her reasons for being at St. Jude's. What happened to all of them *that night*. She's been a pro at pushing everything aside, but things are bubbling to the surface and she has to choose between continuing to hide and losing Tommy for good or dealing with it all.

I REALLY liked these two. They're messed up and ragged around the edges, but they were right for one another.

Guess what? There are more debts that need to be paid. (Which I'm excited about! From a literary standpoint. I'm sure the characters will be dragged down and roughed up a bit, but that's what makes like FUN, isn't it?!?!)

Monday, June 26, 2017

Spotlight On...The Debt by Molly O'Keefe

WHERE_RBbanner
THE DUET IS COMPLETE
Where I Belong by M. O'Keefe is NOW LIVE!
"[T]otally one-clickable!" — J. Kenner NYT and Internationally Best Selling Author

MOWhereIBelongBookCover6x9_HIGH

THE GIRL I LOVED IS THE WOMAN I CAN’T HAVE

It was simple: Pay the debt and I stay out of jail. Pay the debt and I stay alive.

But I sacrificed it all for Beth.

I didn’t pay what I owed. I’m sure punishment is coming, but I can take it - as long as Beth is safe. Away from her mother and everyone else who would hurt her.

I gave it all up for two days with her. And it was worth it.

She always was.

THE SECRETS WE KEEP ARE WHAT TEARS US APART

We’re supposed to be done. Over. Tommy goes his way, I go mine. Cue the heartbreaking music.

I’m supposed to forget him, but I don’t think I can. And when the danger closes in on Tommy, we’re on the run again. From Bates. From my mother. From our past. And there are no safe places to hide.

Except one. And it’s the place that will hurt Tommy the most.

But maybe it’s time for me to face my past. My demons.

Maybe it’s time for me to save Tommy for once.

START THE SERIES TODAY!
Lost Without You is live!

MOLostWithYouBookCover6x9_HIGH
BUY NOW!

Beautiful young couple hugging and kissing isolated on black background.

ALL DEBTS MUST BE PAID
Tommy

Seven years ago, I thought I could save Beth, the girl I loved from the monster who was supposed to take care of us. I thought I could keep Beth and all the other kids at St. Jude’s Home for Court Placed Juveniles safe.

I failed. Badly. Now we all have blood on our hands and owe a dangerous man a very dangerous debt. We don’t know when he’ll come calling for payment, but when he does – we pay, or we suffer.

When my turn comes, I’m ready for anything.

Except seeing Beth again.

LOVE IS NEVER FREE

Beth

No one ever tells you that the cost of having your dreams come true is literally every single other part of your life. Yes, I’m a huge pop star these days, but I’m pretty much a mess, too.

I’ve spent my life hiding behind disguises, make-up and costumes, all to protect myself from the kind of pain that comes from revealing your true self to someone.

I did that once. With Tommy. The only person I ever loved. It didn’t turn out so well.

And now, with everything else falling apart around me, I’m suddenly in the backseat of his car.

Being kidnapped.

And the past we’ve both tried to run from is catching up with us.

Contains The Debt: A Prologue and 50,000 more words in the continuation of Tommy and Beth's story


About the Author:
Molly O'Keefe is an award-winning author of over 30 romance novels. She lives in Toronto, Canada with her family and the largest heap of dirty laundry in North America. Sign up for her newsletter to get release day news, exclusive excerpts, sale announcements and in-depth author interviews!

Connect with Molly:

Encrypted by Lindsay Buroker [Review]

 Encrypted by Lindsay Buroker
Encrypted (Encrypted #1) by Lindsay Buroker
Format: ebook
Source: purchased
Date read: November 30, 2016

Encrypted
1. Encrypted - Paperback | Kindle
1.5. Enigma
2. Decrypted

Lindsay Buroker
Website | Twitter | Facebook | Amazon |

Synopsis (Goodreads):
Professor Tikaya Komitopis isn't a great beauty, a fearless warrior, or even someone who can walk and chew chicle at the same time, but her cryptography skills earn her wartime notoriety. When enemy marines show up at her family's plantation, she expects the worst.

But they're not there to kill her. They need her to decode mysterious runes, and they ask for help in the manner typical of a conquering empire: they kidnap her, threaten her family, and throw her in the brig of their fastest steamship.

Her only ally is a fellow prisoner who charms her with a passion for academics as great as her own. Together, they must decipher mind-altering alchemical artifacts, deadly poison rockets, and malevolent technological constructs, all while dodging assassination attempts from a rival power determined the expedition should fail. As if the situation weren't treacherous enough, this new "ally" may turn out to be the last person Tikaya should trust. Those runes cloak more than mysteries, however, and he's the only one who can help her unravel them before their secrets destroy the world.
Thoughts on Encrypted: This was a book I didn't know I wanted to read until I picked it up. Which sounds kinda weird, but it made sense when I thought it. Like, I didn't know I wanted a heroine with impressive linguistic skills who is far, far stronger than she gives herself credit for until I started reading about Tikaya. Not only is she wicked smart and able to parse out unknown languages practically in her sleep, she's quick and adaptable and willing to push boundaries to find out answers.

I totally appreciate a lady who does what needs to be done despite her fear and the potential danger to herself.

Surprise allies, hidden betrayal, and one teenage assassin get tangled together to make Tikaya's...err, what do you call it? Her forced deciphering for the enemy? Whatever. Tikaya ends up with a lot on her plate. And that's before the deadly robots make an appearance.

Might I just say, this book could very well be the impetus I needed to start Sicarius's series. The kid intrigued me. Quite a bit.

Sunday, June 25, 2017

RtP's Week in Review (06/25/17)

Reading the Paranormal's Week in Review
Bookish Delights
Globetrotting...

Saturday, June 24, 2017

Spotlight On... Dangerous Curves by Kelly Apple

Looking for some big cats who know what they want and go for it? HAVE I GOT A BOOK FOR YOU! Sam and Luna. They have a few communication problems. Namely that Sam gets tongue tied around the lady he's smitten with.

Shapeshifters, man. Gotta love 'em!

 Dangerous Curves by Kelly Apple
Dangerous Curves (Wicked Pride #2)
Samuel Delaney’s had a rough couple of months. Not only did he find out his mom works for the government in a job she stubbornly refuses to speak about, now he’s helping his alpha deal with a sudden influx of wolves after their alpha mated with one of the cats from his pride.

Most importantly, the leopardess he’s been half in love with his entire adult life is actively looking for a mate.

And Sam isn’t even a footnote on her list of potentials.

Convincing the lovely Luna North to give him a chance would be a hell of a lot easier if he didn’t get tongue tied whenever she was around. He’ll have to rely on his cat’s instinctive ability to land on its feet if he hopes to make any headway with the stubborn beauty.

Because when a lion chooses his mate, he doesn’t back down.

Ever.
You can pick up Dangerous Curves at: Amazon | Barnes & Noble | iTunes | Kobo

Add Dangerous Curves on Goodreads

Friday, June 23, 2017

Barbarian's Heart by Ruby Dixon [Review]

 Barbarian's Heart by Ruby Dixon
Barbarian's Heart (Ice Planet Barbarians #10) by Ruby Dixon
Format: ebook
Source: purchased
Date read: November 26, 2016

Ice Planet Barbarians
1. Ice Planet Barbarians
2. Barbarian Alien
3. Barbarian Lover
4. Barbarian Mine
5. Ice Planet Holiday
6. Barbarian's Prize
7. Barbarian's Mate
7.5. Having the Barbarian's Baby
7.6. Ice Ice Babies
8. Barbarian's Touch
8.5. Calm
9. Barbarian's Taming
9.5. Aftershocks
10. Barbarian's Heart - PaperbackKindle
11. Barbarian's Hope
12. Barbarian's Choice
13. Barbarian's Redemption
14. Barbarian's Lady

Ruby Dixon
Website | Amazon |

Synopsis (Goodreads):
I’ve never spent a day without my mate since arriving on the ice planet. I’m happy and in love, and we have a beautiful child together. All that changed when the world shook.

My mate nearly died.

He wakes up from his coma…and he can’t remember me. Or our son. Every memory of the past two years is gone. And that changes everything between us. How can I love someone that doesn’t remember me?

How can I not, when I know he’s still my mate underneath it all?
Thoughts on Barbarian's Heart: Oh, this book hurt a little. I seriously felt for Stacy as she struggled to come to terms with Pashov's missing memories. And when Pashov realized what he'd lost...*sniffle*

Admittedly, there was a part of me that wanted to give Stacy a good shake and remind her that Pashov hadn't asked to have two years of his life erased. But I also got where she was coming from. She'd had her entire world upended and she was struggling to make sense of things. Seeing as how Pashov doesn't know how to act around this alien everyone is telling him is his mate, there's a lot of missed opportunities for communication between them. Throw in the lack of privacy as the tribe travels to their potential new home and you could see how things could fall apart every time it looked like they're making strides forward.

Then Pashov steps up and enacts a crazy plan to find some time alone with his small family and ...well, things get better. Because these hunky blue aliens like to spirit their lady friends away every once in a while and the human ladies don't seem to mind. Well, some of them do. But Stacy doesn't and that's what matters this time.

There are still mysteries to unravel on this frozen planet and I'm getting mighty curious about who or what created the village. Here's to hoping we have plenty more adventures with these blur-skinned hunks!

Thursday, June 22, 2017

Over the Moon by Hailey Edwards [Review]

 Over the Moon by Hailey Edwards
Over the Moon (Gemini #6, Lorimar Pack #3) by Hailey Edwards
Format: ebook
Source: provided by the author for an honest review
Date read: June 16, 2017

Gemini
1. Dead in the Water
2. Head Above Water
3. Hell or High Water

Lorimar Pack
1. Promise the Moon
2. Wolf at the Door
3. Over the MoonKindle

Hailey Edwards
Website | Twitter | Facebook | Amazon |

Synopsis (Goodreads):
Dell has persuaded the Bloodless army to fight alongside her pack in Butler, but she still has to get there. Halfway home, the rift detonates, blasting out a magic surge that sweeps across the globe, frying electronics and spells alike. Leaving her with no way to get home except on her own two--or four--feet.

Dangerous times demand equally lethal alliances, and she has to make a risky deal if she wants to reach the front lines before it's too late. The bargain grants an ancient fae power over her, a hold she vowed no man would ever have on her again, but freedom requires sacrifice.

As the threshold between Earth and Faerie erodes, humans and supernaturals alike are in danger of being erased as the fae seek to claim this world as their own. This is the moment when new legends arise and old gods fall, when fates unspool and futures unravel, when battles are won and lives are lost.

The war isn't just coming. It's here.
Thoughts on Over the Moon: OMG. *makes flaily noises that can probably only be heard by dogs and possibly a handful of supernaturals* This book gave me everything I didn't know I needed and I LOVED IT. No joke. It got me all riled up to go back and read about Thierry and Shaw and Cam and Graeson again. So much goodness. So much.

So. This adventure Dell's on has definitely made her a little more careful. I don't know if that's quite the correct word considering how often she ends up nearly dead, but she's thinking about her actions before she jumps and that's something. I guess when a full blown war is ready to break out between Earth and Faerie, you end up brushing up against death more often than normal. In other words, not all those near death experiences are her fault.

But I digress. With the Lorimar pack trying to hold the line against Rilla's vendetta and the hordes of fae swarming into their land, Dell and Isaac are hard pressed to stay in one piece. They're making deals and trusting that their allies are going to hold up their side of them. It's a bad place to be, but under the circumstances it has to be done.

Again, this installment gave me everything I needed before I knew I needed it. We got heartache and reconciliation and hard choices. And I loved it. So much. I'm sad to see this series end, but I loved how it went out. *draws glittery hearts around it and reminds myself I can always do a full series reread*