Tuesday, October 17, 2017

Hold Tight by Alexa Riley [Review]

 Hold Tight by Alexa Riley
Hold Tight (For You #2) by Alexa Riley
Format: ebook
Source: provided through NetGalley
Date read: August 18, 2017

For You
1. Stay Close
2. Hold TightKindle
3. Don't Go

Alexa Riley
Website | Twitter | Facebook | Amazon |

Synopsis (Goodreads):
A hotshot consultant hired to streamline Osbourne Corp. meets his match in Pandora Justice—the more she plays hard to get, the more he wants her.

They say that like recognizes like, and the day I looked into her deep blues, I met my other half.

Pandora Justice took over as head of security at Osbourne Corp. after her father’s retirement. Eighty-hour workweeks are normal; being bossed around by handsome outsiders is not. And she doesn’t like it. Not even one bit.

It’s amazing how easily she can lie to herself.

I had to have her. Plain and simple.

The first time Pandora sees Royce in the ring—all tattoos and sinew, covered in sweat—he looks at her like he’s just won more than the fight. Like he won her.

I won’t play games with her. I’ll wait, and it will kill me, but I’ll do it for her.

Royce’s cocky grin with deep dimples makes Pandora melt. Once she wanted to smack that look off his face—now all she wants to do is kiss it. For the rest of her life.

The thought of spending the rest of my life with Pandora warms the place in my chest I didn’t think was alive. I’ve put my claim on her—she’s the one, and I’m done. It’s that simple.
Thoughts on Hold Tight: Pandora's turn! While her twin found her special someone back in high school (I kinda dig those two together. STILL!), Pandora has taken a decidedly different route from her homebody sister and poured everything she has into work. And she's happy. Mostly. Then she lays eyes on Royce and her life goes sideways.

In a good way.

He's HARDCORE smitten with her and she's equally as smitten with him, but VERY good at hiding it. Even from herself.

When they run into each other outside of work--BOOM--THINGS HAPPEN. In that glorious Alexa Riley way.

Fast-paced with enough spice to satisfy, I'm very curious to see how far and hard the hero of the next book falls.

Monday, October 16, 2017

Barbarian's Choice by Ruby Dixon [Review]

 Barbarian's Choice by Ruby Dixon
Barbarian's Choice (Ice Planet Barbarians #12) by Ruby Dixon
Format: ebook
Source: purchased
Date read: February 26, 2017

Ice Planet Barbarians
1. Ice Planet Barbarians
2. Barbarian Alien
3. Barbarian Lover
4. Barbarian Mine
5. Ice Planet Holiday
6. Barbarian's Prize
7. Barbarian's Mate
7.5. Having the Barbarian's Baby
7.6. Ice Ice Babies
8. Barbarian's Touch
8.5. Calm
9. Barbarian's Taming
9.5. Aftershocks
10. Barbarian's Heart
11. Barbarian's Hope
12. Barbarian's ChoiceKindle
13. Barbarian's Redemption
14. Barbarian's Lady

Ruby Dixon
Website | Amazon |

Synopsis (Goodreads):
I might be the only unmated female in my tribe, but it doesn’t mean I’ve given my heart. I’m waiting. I want resonance, and I won’t settle for anything less.

But when an alien ship lands and a handsome stranger steps out, I know he’s the one. His name’s Mardok and he’s fascinatingly different – and distractingly appealing. But Mardok can’t stay on the ice planet, and he says he can take me with him.

Now, I must make a choice. Do I stay and lose my mate forever? Or do I follow him to the stars and leave behind everything I know?
Thoughts on Barbarian's Choice: Holy wow, I sincerely love these books. Each one gives a little more depth to the world the humans found themselves stranded on and where the tribe has made their home.

Farli's story has been a long time coming. She's grown from a sweet, gangly girl into a confident hunter. And she's held true to her desire to wait for a mate she resonated with, even if it was years in the making. I honestly enjoyed how she and Mardok came together so seamlessly. Well, mostly seamlessly. I liked their differences (hellllllo, piercings!) and how they managed to figure things out despite the initial language barrier.

Speaking of figuring things out, Mardok had some issues he needed to work through. Poor guy. Good thing he had Farli there to dull the pain of being unceremoniously stranded on a frozen planet. And, you know, to help keep him warm.

I'm excited for the possibilities opened up with this book and can't wait to see how the next couple overcome their own issues. Of which I'm sure there will be many, seeing how we're finally going to get Bek's story.

Sunday, October 15, 2017

RtP's Week in Review (10/15/17)

Reading the Paranormal's Week in Review
Bookish Delights
Globetrotting...
  • KellyApple.com
    • On Tuesday, the first of what I'm hoping is an ongoing set of slice of life shorts for my various series went up. Our first victim? Mason and Natalie from the Anderson High Wolves series. (I say I hope because sometimes my muse digs in her heels and demands I write something completely unrelated to whatever it is I have planned. Ha. Oh, muse. How'd you get so stubborn?)

Saturday, October 14, 2017

Spotlight On... Search and Rescue by Katie Ruggle

QUICK! SOMEBODY ASK ME HOW HARD I LOVE THE SEARCH AND RESCUE SERIES!

SO HARRRRRD! SOOOOOO HARD! SO MUCH LOVE! I'M RIDICULOUSLY SMITTEN! *drools all over everyone in my excitement*

Following a small town search and rescue team, each book works its way through the troubling investigation of a body found in the ice. AND IT'S SO GOOD.

By the by, given that the overarching investigation continues in each book, I highly HIGHLY recommend not skipping around. Just sayin'.

 On His Watch by Katie Ruggle
On His Watch (Search and Rescue #0.5)
In the remote Rocky Mountains, lives depend on the Search & Rescue brotherhood. But in a place this far off the map, trust is hard to come by and secrets can be murder...

Ice rescue diver Derek Warner never meant to be a hero. But when two little girls go missing, he's the first in line to bring them home-even if that means scouring the wilderness with the woman he once loved and lost, Artemis Rey.

Artemis has never stopped wanting Derek. Now, racing to find the girls before it's too late, minutes turn to hours. Night falls. Old flames rekindle. And a danger grows in the darkest wilderness that may be more than even the Search and Rescue brotherhood can hope to face...

 Hold Your Breath by Katie Ruggle
Hold Your Breath (Search and Rescue #1)
As the captain of Field County's ice rescue dive team, Callum Cook is driven to perfection. But when he meets new diver Louise "Lou" Sparks, all that hard-won order is obliterated in an instant. Lou is a hurricane. A walking disaster. And with her, he's never felt more alive...even if keeping her safe may just kill him.

Lou's new to the Rockies, intent on escaping her controlling ex, and she's determined to make it on her own terms...no matter how tempting Callum may be. But when a routine training exercise unearths a body, Lou and Callum find themselves thrust into a deadly game of cat and mouse with a killer who will stop at nothing to silence Lou-and prove that not even her new Search and Rescue family can keep her safe forever.

 Fan the Flames by Katie Ruggle
Fan the Flames (Search and Rescue #2)
As a Motorcycle Club member and firefighter, Ian Walsh is used to riding the line between the good guys and the bad. He may owe the Club his life, but his heart rests with his fire station brothers...and with the girl he's loved since they were kids, Rory Sorenson. Ian would do anything for Rory. He'd die for her. Kill for her. Defend her to his last breath-and he may just have to.

Every con in the Rockies knows Rory is the go-to girl for less-than-legal firearms, and for the past few years, she's managed to keep the peace between dangerous factions by remaining strictly neutral. But when she defends herself against a brutal attack, Rory finds herself catapulted into the center of a Motorcycle Club war-with only Ian standing between her and a threat greater than either of them could have imagined.

 Gone Too Deep by Katie Ruggle
Gone Too Deep (Search and Rescue #3)
George Holloway has spent his life alone, exploring the treacherous beauty of the Colorado Rockies. He's the best survival expert Search and Rescue has, which makes him the obvious choice to lead Ellie Price through deadly terrain to find her missing father. There's just one problem-Ellie's everything George isn't. She's a city girl, charming, gregarious, delicate, small. And when she looks up at him with those big, dark eyes, he swears he would tear the world apart to keep her safe.

With a killer on the loose, he may have no choice.

Ellie's determined to find her father no matter the cost. But as she and her gorgeous mountain of a guide fight their way through an unforgiving wilderness, they find themselves in the crosshairs of a dangerous man in search of revenge. And they are now his prey...

 In Safe Hands by Katie Ruggle
In Safe Hands (Search and Rescue #4)
It's all come down to this...

Daisy Little has lived in agoraphobic terror for over eight years. Trapped within a prison of her own making, she watches time pass through her bedroom window. Daisy knows she'll never be a part of the world...until the day she becomes the sole witness of a terrible crime that may finally tear the Search and Rescue brotherhood apart for good.

 After the End by Katie Ruggle
After the End (Search and Rescue #4.5)
For fans of sexy, brooding ice divers
Motorcycle Club bad boys turned firefighters
Tall, dark, and silent wilderness guides
And cops with hearts of gold...
The end is just the beginning.

What happens after happily ever after? Now that the murderer has been caught and the arsonist is behind bars, the town of Simpson, Colorado has returned to its sleepy, picturesque former glory. Yet for the heroes of Search & Rescue, work is never done...

...especially not if the extraordinary women if their lives have anything to say about it.

Told in alternating chapters focusing on four unforgettable romances, this slice-of-life novella catches up with fan favorites from Katie Ruggle's Search & Rescue series—proving once and for all that the end is just the beginning.
Katie Ruggle
Website | Twitter | Facebook | Amazon |

Friday, October 13, 2017

Stardog by Laurie A. Green [Review]

 Stardog by Laurie A. Green
Stardog (Inherited Stars) by Laurie A. Green
Format: ebook
Source: purchased as part of the Pets in Space anthology
Date read: February 15, 2017

Inherited Stars
0.5. Farewell Andromeda
1. Inherit the Stars: Flight
2. Inherit the Stars: The Network
3. Inherit the Stars: Sacrifice
StardogKindle

Laurie A. Green
| Website | Twitter | Facebook | Amazon |

Synopsis (Goodreads):
Navigator Taro Shall has a mission no one wants – find a way to eradicate snakes on a starship. He never expects to find the answer to his problem in a charming street vendor named Adini. His already unusual mission becomes more complicated when he suddenly acquires an adorable StarDog that soon sweeps him and Adini into the maw of a brewing insurrection.
Thoughts on Stardog: I liked this one. A lot. The worldbuilding was intriguing. A little complex, but the fun type of complex. The bad guys were only touched upon, but they seemed awful enough to carry their villainy through an entire series. The good guys were...well, mostly good. I assume. They sorta skated that border between doing good and doing questionable things to keep the bad guys on their toes.

It worked. That's what I'm trying to say. It worked and I liked it. I liked the technology. I liked Taro and Adini. I liked Adini's contribution to the crew of the starship.

I'm intrigued and want to read more.

Thursday, October 12, 2017

Intertwined Hearts by Christi Snow [Review]

 Intertwined Hearts by Christi Snow
Intertwined Hearts (Snowcroft Men #3) by Christi Snow
Format: ebook
Source: provided by the author for an honest review
Date read: October 4, 2017

Snowcroft Men
1. Snowcroft Lost
2. Snowcroft Safehouse
3. Intertwined HeartsKindle
4. Snowcroft Restoration

Christi Snow
Website | Twitter | Facebook | Amazon |

Synopsis (Goodreads):
Three people who’ve given up on love...

Hudson:
After a brutal, late-night attack in his restaurant left Chef Hudson Richmond too traumatized to even enter his restaurant again, he escaped to Snowcroft. Now he’s trying to find a new normal when the reality of his world is a man’s touch makes him sick and his dream has become his nightmare.

Leigh:
Leigh Vaughn lives in a man’s world running Vaughn Construction with her brother, Jamie. She’s tried to be feminine and failed over and over again. Growing up with only her brother, father, and construction crews to guide her, Leigh has no idea what a feminine wile is, much less how to deploy them. But when Jamie and Trevor begin to research finding a surrogate to carry their baby, she knows this is something she can do. Hell, it’s not like those parts are getting used for anything else.

David:
When this small town came looking for a new police chief, David Warner jumped at the chance. After a traumatic betrayal by his partner on the police force, he’s burnt out and jaded. And his love life has been even more depressing than his work life. He’s made one true connection in the last five years, but she disappeared without a trace the next morning.

Three people who have given up on love, may just find a new beginning where they least expect it...in Snowcroft. But love is only supposed to happen in twos. How can they make it work with three intertwined hearts?

Trigger warning: This book features story-lines that involve past assaults and betrayals, but has a guaranteed HEA for three people who couldn’t deserve it more. male/male/female.
Thoughts on Intertwined Hearts: Oh, my heart! Leigh and Hudson and David worked so nicely for me. They all have baggage and they find one another when they need it most. Even though they don't necessarily KNOW they need it.

Let's just say they all benefit from their unconventional arrangement. Leigh's so used to being alone, she doesn't realize how lonely she is. Hudson needs something to give his life purpose again after his attack. David needs to find balance after what happened with his partner. Of the three, David's the most open to exploring what's between the three of them. He's the one who presents it as a viable option and the one who gently pushes them into considering it.

MAN, it's a good thing he did. Because each of them needs the others. Pregnancy and the emotional aftermath of an attack and general burnout throw each of them for a loop. Their sexy times and deepening relationship are a textbook example of the benefits of sexual healing. (I'm being flip, but the three really do start to figure things out as they learn to lean on one another as they relationship progresses.)

We were given some sweet setup for the next book (Law!) and a whole lot of steam between our three leads. *thumbs up*

Wednesday, October 11, 2017

Spotlight On...Cherish Hard by Nalini Singh [Cover Reveal]


New York Times bestselling author Nalini Singh kicks off her new Hard Play contemporary romance series with a sizzling story that’ll leave you smiling…

Meet Sailor & Isa on November 14th!
Pre-order your copy today!


☆☆☆☆☆☆

CHERISH HARD
A Hard Play Novel by Nalini Singh

New York Times bestselling author Nalini Singh kicks off her new Hard Play contemporary romance series with a sizzling story that’ll leave you smiling…

Sailor Bishop has only one goal for his future – to create a successful landscaping business. No distractions allowed. Then he comes face-to-face and lips-to-lips with a woman who blushes like an innocent… and kisses like pure sin.

Ísa Rain craves a man who will cherish her, aches to create a loving family of her own. Trading steamy kisses with a hot gardener in a parking lot? Not the way to true love. Then a deal with the devil (aka her CEO-mother) makes Ísa a corporate VP for the summer. Her main task? Working closely with a certain hot gardener.

And Sailor Bishop has wickedness on his mind.

As Ísa starts to fall for a man who makes her want to throttle and pounce on him at the same time, she knows she has to choose – play it safe and steady, or risk all her dreams and hope Sailor doesn’t destroy her heart.

☆☆☆☆☆☆

EXCERPT

Fuming, Ísa made sure to set the alarm system and lock up. Everyone else was already well into their summer vacation—the sole reason Ísa was here was because she hadn’t been able to work on her lesson plans at home.

Her upstairs neighbor was having repairs done to her bathroom that required banging and hammering.
Not all of it involved nails and wood.

Hopefully the repairs would be finished by now. There was only so much ecstatic orgasmic screaming that a single woman in online-dating purgatory could stand without being driven to violence.

She spotted the tan-colored gardening truck the instant she came down the front steps of the school’s imposing redbrick main building and turned left to head toward her car. The hot gardener had parked it right next to her zippy blue compact. The front of the truck had four doors with tinted windows while the large bed was piled with shovels and other manly tools as well as a huge sack of clippings.
His light brown T-shirt was hanging over the top of the tailgate.

Which meant he was still walking around topless somewhere around here.

“Get in your car, Ísa,” she muttered to herself, well aware what would happen if she came face-to-face with that delicious hunk of manhood. Because while she might’ve conquered her shyness, she knew her limits.

Confronted by a bare-chested man who made her ovaries explode, she’d turn bright pink, lose her ability to form speech, and end of story. “Oh—”

She would’ve bounced off that sculpted chest if he hadn’t grabbed her by the hips.

“Hey, sorry,” he said with a startled smile that lit up the dazzling blue of his eyes. “I didn’t see you.”

“No, um, my fault.” It looked as if he’d crouched down to check one of his tires or something else but had risen to his feet right when she swung around to get into her car. And God, his skin was so hot and smooth and he was so tall and his shoulders were so broad and her mouth was drying up. The stuttering would begin at any moment.

The same stuttering Suzanne had mocked relentlessly when they were fourteen. Until Ísa had gone silent around everyone except the few friends she trusted. And now that horrible, ugly-hearted girl was getting married, having a baby, getting a happily-ever-after. Added to which, Ísa’s mother was jerking her on a string like she was a marionette, and her last “date” had asked her to call him Woofy and reward him with doggy biscuits.

The blue of the gardener’s eyes flickered with a hot flame.

And she thought… I know him. But before she could follow that faint thread, all the fury and hurt and frustration and sheer aggravation in Ísa ignited into an incandescent inferno.

She went mad.

Grabbing the hot gardener’s beautiful face in her hands, she said, “I want to kiss you.”

A wicked grin. “Go on ahead.”

And Ísa pressed her lips to his.

Copyright © 2017 by Nalini Singh


Meet the Author

Nalini Singh is the New York Times and USA Today bestselling author of the Psy-Changeling, Guild Hunter, and Rock Kiss series. She lives and works in beautiful New Zealand, and is passionate about writing.

If you’d like to explore her other books, you can find lots of excerpts and free short stories on her website. Slave to Sensation is the first book in the Psy-Changeling series, while Angels’ Blood is the first book in the Guild Hunter series. The Rock Kiss books are all stand alone and can be read in any order.

FIND HER: Website | Facebook | Instagram | Twitter | Goodreads