Wednesday, September 17, 2014

Terrorcota by C.E. Martin [Review]

Terrorcota by C.E. Martin
Terrorcota (Stone Soldiers #8) by C.E. Martin
Format: ebook
Source: provided by the author for an honest review
Date read: May 25, 2014

Stone Soldiers
0.1. Stone Soldier
0.2. Stone Soldiers: Catching Fire
0.3. Stone Soldiers: City of Bones
0.4. Stone Soldiers: Sea of Monsters
1. Mythical
2. Brothers in Stone
3. Blood and Stone
4. Shades of War
5. Black Knight Down
6. Armageddon Z
7. Seven Deadly Sons
8. Terrorcota - Kindle

C.E. Martin
| Website | Amazon |

Synopsis (Goodreads):
General Zou Zheng Duan is a man driven by ambition--the ambition to rule the world. He believes that a China united under his guidance can do just that, defeating even the United States. But first he has to make them fight. To do that, Zou has stolen the greatest magical artifacts in history from beneath the Forbidden City. Chief among these weapons of magical destruction is the Nlai Wan--the Clay Cloud--a bomb capable of turning living matter to hard, brittle clay. Zou believes that releasing the bomb on America will trigger the world war he so desperately needs. Unfortunately for him, the Stone Soldiers already know he's coming...
Thoughts on Terrorcota: Just when you think things can't get worse than they did in the previous a book, a madman pops up with the intention of ruling the world. Oh, and he also turns people to clay. And is NIGH INVINCIBLE! He's still no match for Kenslir and his crew, though.

Well, he's kind of a match. Like, if you tilt your head and squint. I mean, he puts up a good fight. Being NIGH INVINCIBLE does that to a person. They can give it their all-- or just their half, whatever's striking their fancy that day --and not get beat down by the man. Well, wait. I guess if The Man is Kenslir, he does get a beating. There's just a lot of fighting. On both sides. I mean, let's think about this. Where would the fun be if Kenslir just wiped the floor with the bad guys? We'd be bored is where. And nobody likes it when I'm bored. TRUST ME ON THIS.

Wait. What were we talking about again?

So. Sometimes awkward family dynamics. The heartbreak of evisceration. Dangerous magical artifacts. Oh, hey. There's Kenslir and his team right in the middle of everything. KICKING BUTT. And killing things. Because sometimes you have to do some rending and tearing to save the world. AMIRITE?!?!?

Tuesday, September 16, 2014

Top Off Tuesday - Demon!

I've decided to join Felicia, Christi and Amanda for their gratuitous shirtless covers on Tuesdays. Because nothing says Tuesday like flashing some skin! Hop over to Felicia's blog to see who else is participating!

This one's MY BOOK! And look, he's got all sorts of chesticles for you to ogle. Which is JUST THE WAY I LIKE IT!

Demon Besieged by Kelly Apple
Demon Besieged (The Demonkind Chronicles #2) by Kelly Apple
She’s determined to avenge her sister’s death.

Jazz’s journey to the demon plane takes an unexpected turn when she finds not only her sister alive but shacked up with the very demon who was supposed to have killed her. And the worst part? An infuriating demon bodyguard stirs longings in Jazz that she doesn’t want to face.

He sees something more.

Arix is intrigued by the sassy werewolf. Even when she’s making a mess of things, her fiery personality calls to him. She might be rough around the edges, but he senses a heart of gold under all her bluster.

Together they could be perfect.

What’s a demon to do when the wolf he wants to claim is determined to stay single? Turn up the heat and show her what she’ll be missing, of course.

Warning: This book contains a werewolf who constantly puts her foot in her mouth and a demon who likes a challenge. Never underestimate the power of good innuendo.

Monday, September 15, 2014

Fairy Luck by J.L. Bryan [Review]

Fairy Luck by J.L. Bryan
Fairy Luck (Songs of Magic #6) by J.L. Bryan
Format: ebook
Source: provided by the author for an honest review
Date read: July 20, 2014

Songs of Magic
1. Fairy Metal Thunder
2. Fairy Blues
3. Fairystruck
4. Fairyland
5. Fairyvision
6. Fairy Luck - Kindle

J.L. Bryan
| Website | Twitter | Facebook | Amazon |

Synopsis (Goodreads):
While the Zebras reel from the loss of Erin, Erin herself makes some troubling discoveries while connecting with her ancestors.

In Faerie, Aoide and her troupe seem to finally be enjoying their big break...but danger is on the way, and nothing is ever what it seems when you're dealing with leprechauns and the treacherous Queen Mab.
Thoughts on Fairy Luck: I've been consistently amazed at how J.L. Bryan can come up with such an utterly off-kilter world as I've worked my way through the series. This book cemented the fact the guy has a twisted brain. As it turns out, I like twisty things. Huh. I think I just implied I like J.L. Bryan's brain. This is true. It's very fun to squeeze. Strange things fall out and I get to play with them. But not in a creepy way. (because squeezing someone's brain is TOTALLY not creepy, amirite?!?!)

Right. So. The Zebras. Tragedy struck at the end of book 5 and we get to see the aftermath of it here. With Erin gone, Jason falls apart. He has no interest in the band and he's ready for his life to go back to normal. Except, how normal can things be when you were once a world famous rock star? Mitch is his usual abrasive self and Dred has found a way to keep doing what she loves. Meanwhile, Erin is learning some very interesting things about herself and her family. I spent a good chunk of this book upset with the way she didn't seem to care about how her disappearance would affect her family or friends, but there are forces at play here and I'm curious how it'll all play out.

Back in Faerie, Mad Queen Mab's plot is unfolding and things look bleak. Methinks a certain leprechaun bit off more than he could chew when he took up with the mad queen. If I'm reading the signs right, it doesn't look like things are going according to his plans. Unless he's just that crafty. And, honestly, he might be.

Entertaining, fast paced, and so odd it'll leave you smiling, this series is gearing up toward a big finish. Events have been set in motion and answers will (more than likely) be coming. Until then, we have to content ourselves with giant puppies, a nutty queen, and one oversized cat. Good times.

Sunday, September 14, 2014

RtP Week in Review (09/14/14)

Reading the Paranormal's Week in Review
Bookish Delights
  • Books added to the pile - 4
  • Books read - 15
  • Currently reading 
    • High Moon by Jennifer Harlow
Globetrotting...
Check it out!
  • Seriously Series weekly update: *rolls up sleeves and vows to finish that before 2014 section before the month is out!*
    • Series started in 2014: 20/18 (+3 since last week)
    • Series started before 2014: 14/18 (+1 since last week)
    • Series rereads: 7/9 (+0 since last week)

Saturday, September 13, 2014

Blog Housekeeping [45]


It's that time again! Time to polish up your blog until it shines!

Update:
  • review archive - are you responsible for sites other than your own? Don't forget about those
  • sidebar - check for buttons or links for events that have ended. Have any new events coming up? Now's the time to add them.
  • reading challenges - update your progress, add links to challenges where you can link up. If you're a challenge host, do you try to comment on linked reviews? Now's your chance!
  • blogrolls -  clean 'em up!
  • crosspost - do you crosspost to Amazon, B&N, Goodreads, Library Thing? Don't forget to add your reviews to Netgalley or Edelweiss if you use those sites.
  • check your subscription and social media links - if this isn't something that you normally check, now's an excellent time to make sure it's doing what it should be doing. (check out Felicia's Tech Tips for ideas on what to do if you're getting errors on your subscription link)
  • check your static pages (About, Review Policy, etc) for outdated information, broken links, etc.
  • review your profiles - when was the last time you updated your Goodreads or Facebook profiles? Is everything up to date?
Get ahead:
  • We're at the halfway-ish point for September. Do you have reoccurring posts (memes, weekly wrap-ups, etc) drafted or scheduled so you don't have to worry about them?
Misc:
  • respond to review requests and other bloggy emails
  • check your spam folder - legitimate emails can sometimes slip through, catch them now.
  • check the spam filter on the blog - get rid of the spam! save the legits!
  • make the rounds - check back on blogs where you left comments, maybe spread a few new comments around like candy.
Did you do everything that applies to you? Well done! Now...

BACK UP YOUR BLOG!

The next Blog Housekeeping is scheduled for 9/27. Stay tidy, my friends!

Friday, September 12, 2014

Here There Be Monsters by Meljean Brook [Review]

Here There Be Monsters (Iron Seas #0.5) by Meljean Brook
Here There Be Monsters (Iron Seas #0.5) by Meljean Brook
Format: ebook
Source: purchased
Date read: May 15, 2014

Iron Seas
0.5. Here There Be Monsters - Kindle
1. The Iron Duke
2. Heart of Steel
3. Riveted
4.1. The Kraken King and the Scribbling Spinster
4.2. The Kraken King and the Abominable Worm
4.3. The Kraken King and the Fox's Den
4.4. The Kraken King and the Inevitable Abduction
4.5. The Kraken King and the Iron Heart
4.6. The Kraken King and the Crumbling Walls
4.7. The Kraken King and the Empress's Eyes
4.8. The Kraken King and the Greatest Adventure

Meljean Brook
| Website | Twitter | Facebook | Amazon |

Synopsis (Goodreads):
Two years ago, blacksmith Ivy, desperate to flee London, purchased her overseas passage by agreeing to spend the voyage in the bed of the pirate captain, Mad Machen. Saved at the last minute by his rival, Ivy scraped out a new life in Fool’s Cove…until Mad Machen finds her, forces her to accept a job that will create a monster, and reminds her that she still owes him the price of a journey…
Thoughts on Here There Be Monsters: I am so enraptured of the Iron Seas series right now. Meljean Brook could write about a gentle Kraken trying to reconcile with his Kraken wife while dealing with the stresses of his day job and I'd be all "WOOT! MOAR IRON SEAS!"

Okay. Maybe that wasn't the best scenario, but YOU GET THE POINT.

This world. SO GOOD. I'm all flaily hands and crazy eyes about it. It's kinda an awesome feeling.

This time around, we're given a pirate and a blacksmith. Both of them have their secrets and I ADORED watching their story unfold. I mean, I wasn't a huge fan of what Lady Corsair did, BUT I TOTALLY UNDERSTAND AT THE SAME TIME.

Bonus: Ivy's way of bolstering  Mad's reputation CRACKED ME UP. Gotta love a girl with spirit!

Bottom line -- I'm in love with this entire series and WANT MOAR!

Thursday, September 11, 2014

The Alpha's Mate by Michelle Fox [Review]

http://www.amazon.com/gp/product/B00FHFODOM/ref=as_li_ss_tl?ie=UTF8&camp=1789&creative=390957&creativeASIN=B00FHFODOM&linkCode=as2&tag=ufya-paranormalreviews-20
The Alpha's Mate (Bring Her Wolf #2) by Michelle Fox
Format: ebook
Source: provided for review as part of the Fated Mates bundle
Date read: June 21, 2014

Bring Her Wolf
1. Make Her Howl
2. The Alpha's Mate - Kindle

Michelle Fox
| Website | Facebook | Amazon |

Synopsis (Goodreads):
Little known fact about being a werewolf: There are always wolves at your door and some of them are up to no good.

Chloe Weiss’ dreams have finally come true: She's a null no more, her wolf has finally come. She's now a full member of her pack in the remote Appalachian ‘weretown’ of Hunstville. Even better, she's mated to the pack's next alpha, Jackson Swift. However, now that she's on the other side of her happy ending, things aren't quite as rosy as she'd expected.

The women of her pack resent her status as alpha's mate and suddenly there are rumors that Chloe is an Omega, a werewolf so weak they are banned from ever mating. Worse, an old friend of Jackson's blows into town full of disapproval....and competition. It seems no one likes Chloe except Jackson.

Then women start disappearing, violently kidnapped from their homes and never heard from again. There's a killer on the loose in the small town of Huntsville, and the one wolf he'd do anything to have is Chloe.

Now Chloe will have to fight...for Jackson, her place in the pack, and her life.
Thoughts on The Alpha's Mate: When I heard there was a follow-up book to the super sexy Make Her Howl, I was all excited! Finding out how the former null and her hunky mate were faring since she found her wolf and shifted was high on my list of things I wanted to read.

Not going to lie, I like where this book went.

Chloe might be a full werewolf who's mated to the future Alpha, but she's hardly comfortable in her skin yet. Never having been a full member of the pack, she doesn't know how to act or how to assert herself with the eyes of everyone on her.

Frankly, Jackson doesn't give her a lot of backup in the beginning. They might be dynamite between the sheets, but they know next to nothing about one another outside the bedroom. He brushes off her valid concerns about the way she's being challenged and doesn't see the potential for disaster in allowing the pack to continue to treat Chloe like she's not quite one of them.

Chloe is full of doubt about herself and her wolf. Being a non-entity for so long leaves her floundering when she and Jackson are suddenly the center of attention. Women who had ignored her before now actively hate her for mating the future Alpha. It's not a fun place to be and Chloe deals with it as best she can.

Throw in a rogue Alpha and a wolf from Jackson's old pack who doesn't know the definition of personal space and things get rough.

Yeah, I'm totally loving this book. I liked that everything wasn't perfect between Chloe and Jackson just because they were mated and that Chloe really did find her inner strength and come into her own. Also, the sex was smokin'. *slow thumbs up to that*