Tuesday, February 21, 2017

Ares by Felicity Heaton [Review]

 Ares by Felicity Heaton
Ares (Guardians of Hades #1) by Felicity Heaton
Format: ebook
Source: purchased
Date read: February 17, 2017

Gaurdians of Hades
1. Ares - Paperback | Kindle
2. Valen

Felicity Heaton
Website | Twitter | Facebook | Amazon |

Synopsis (Goodreads):
Prince of the Underworld and Lord of Fire, Ares was banished from his home by his father, Hades, two centuries ago and given a new duty and purpose—to keep our world and his from colliding in a calamity foreseen by the Moirai.

Together with his six brothers, he fights to defend the gates to the Underworld from daemons bent on breaching them and gaining entrance to that forbidden land, striving to protect his home from their dark influence. Caged by the manifestation of his power, held apart from those he loves by his own fire and starved of physical contact, Ares lives a cold existence driven by duty and the desire to return to his world.

Until his world collides with a daemon who steals his power and a mortal female who shatters the ice around his heart and awakens the true fire within him—a soul-stirring passion both dangerous and seductive.

Megan has wandered far from her home, driven from everyone she loves by the devastating realisation that she is different to them all. Unsure who to trust in the world, she keeps to herself, until a fateful stormy night brings a temptingly handsome warrior crashing into her life and into her heart—a warrior who seems to hold powers more frightening and marvellous than her own.

When the New York gate comes under threat, and Ares is put to the test, will he choose his duty and regain the power he needs in order to save his world or will he choose the desires of his heart and sacrifice his fire so he can be with the woman becoming his whole world?
Thoughts on Ares: Ooh. A new series. I always enjoy getting to know new characters and all their quirks. Let's just say the brothers look like they're going to be a hoot. All of them. From first to last. (But maybe, possibly Esher most of all. THAT DUDE HAS A FEW UNRESOLVED ISSUES. Or something. Whatever it is that has him all riled up will be innnnnnteresting. I can feel it.)

But this is Ares story and we should really take a look at him instead of endlessly wondering what it is that turned Esher into a mortal-hating god.

So, Ares. He's got his own set of issues to deal with. Namely, that fire-thing. Not being able to touch anybody for a couple of centuries because you're afraid you might burn them up on contact is a rough way to live. Technically, he can touch a few of his brothers, but still. Centuries, man. That's a lot of alone time.

Megan also had a few things she's dealing with. Her ability sets her apart from others and she's spent the last several years alone. Which sucks, but not quite as much as those several centuries for Ares. On the other hand, Ares had his family. So, you know, trade-off.

As I said, I'm excited about a new series and those brothers seem like they're going to be a handful!

Monday, February 20, 2017

Rocky Mountain Devil by Vivian Arend [Review]

 Rocky Mountain Devil by Vivian Arend
Rocky Mountain Devil (Six Pack Ranch #10) by Vivian Arend
Format: ebook
Source: provided by the author for an honest review
Date read: September 8, 2016

Six Pack Ranch
1. Rocky Mountain Heat
2. Rocky Mountain Haven
3. Rocky Mountain Desire
4. Rocky Mountain Angel
5. Rocky Mountain Rebel
6. Rocky Mountain Freedom
7. Rocky Mountain Romance
8. Rocky Retreat
9. Rocky Mountain Shelter
10. Rocky Mountain Devil - Paperback | Kindle
11. Rocky Mountain Home
12. Rocky Mountain Forever

Vivian Arend
Website | Twitter | Facebook | Amazon |

Synopsis (Goodreads):
The sweetest part of temptation is giving in…

Raphael (Angel) Coleman and Laurel Sitko were thick as thieves throughout their school years. The unlikely friendship between the rancher’s son and the preacher’s daughter might have gone unnoticed by most, but their shared laughter and connection were the best parts of Rafe's life growing up. Now that she’s returned to Rocky, he’s eager to move from friend to something far more intimate.

After three years away, Laurel’s ready to start over with the gorgeous cowboy who’s always owned a piece of her heart. But when her college ex shows up in town, she’s got a lot more to deal with than expected, including one suddenly possessive cowboy determined to protect her even as he tutors her through every sexual lesson in the book.

Desire flares hotter and hotter through stolen moments and willing seduction. But when tragedy strikes, Rafe’s left on shaky ground, his biggest fear now a reality that could tear them apart and rip forever from their grasp.

Will the connection forged by time be strong enough to see them through to the other side?

Warning: Friends to lovers equals sweet kisses heating to earth-shaking passion, mixed with laughter and tears. Get ready for hellos, farewells and goodbyes…some forever. Because everyone knows the only real secrets in a small town are the ones you’re willing to take to the grave.
Thoughts on Rocky Mountain Devil: Laurel and Rafe were seriously cute together. Seriously. From their first interaction as kids right on up to the two of them deciding to try out coupledom. There were a few speed bumps along the way to their happily ever after (because it wouldn't be as fun to read about them if there weren't!), but they figured things out. I'm pretty sure Rafe met most of those speed bumps with an easy going smile on his face. Most, mind you. Not all.

What can I say? I like a guy who manages to crack a joke even when he's dying to throttle someone for being a douchecanoe.

The Coleman clan is still as flirty, fun, and possessive as ever. Laurel fit in pretty seamlessly with them for all she's been away for a while. The lady loves of the various cowboys welcomed her in and made her feel right at home. The families themselves are big (and getting bigger), complicated, and full of all the emotions a big family is full of.

FYI, Jesse. *sniffle* I can't WAIT to read his book now. Poor guy.

Sunday, February 19, 2017

RtP's Week in Review (02/19/17)

Reading the Paranormal's Week in Review
Bookish Delights
Globetrotting...
  • On Wednesday, I talked about endings and beginnings at KellyApple.com. Working on the final book in a series is ROUGH sometimes. (Although, the final Grimwood book is going surprisingly well. GO FIGURE!)
  • I'm working on being more active on my author Facebook page. Reminders about upcoming books and other FUN things have been the flavor of the week lately. Feel free to follow me there so you don't miss out on any future goodies.

Saturday, February 18, 2017

Write On Review-a-thon [37]

It's time for another installment of the Write On Review-a-thon. YAY!

A little about the Review-a-thon:
The Write On Review-a-Thon is a challenge hosted by Book Bumblings. From Friday through Sunday, we all band together and write as many reviews as possible. It’s a weekend for you to either catch up on reviews or get ahead on upcoming ones. It doesn’t matter if you write one review or 10 – if you write a review, you’re in.
This month's review-a-thon will run from Friday, February 24th to Sunday, February 26th.

As for me...
Reviews to be written:
  • The Real Dragon by Pauline Baird Jones
  • Valen by Felicity Heaton


Friday, February 17, 2017

Grinder by Samantha Whiskey [Review]

 Grinder by Samantha Whiskey
Grinder (Seattle Sharks #1) by Samantha Whiskey
Format: ebook
Source: purchased
Date read: August 23, 2016

Seattle Sharks
1. Grinder - Kindle
2. Enforcer

Samantha Whiskey
| Amazon |

Synopsis (Goodreads):
Gage McPherson was the Seattle Shark’s best Grinder, until he shattered his shoulder last season. Time heals all wounds...but the heartbroken single dad has more than his share of trust issues. The playboy only lets one girl close to his iced-over heart—his pint-sized daughter who’s the center of his world. She’s the only thing more important to him than hockey, and he trusts no one with her...except me.

We’ve been friends since we were kids, and I love his daughter like she’s my own, so what’s the easiest solution to help Gage out? Move in and be his live-in nanny for the season. As far as she goes, the arrangement is perfect. But her drop-dead-sexy father? Frustrating on every possible level.

There is a thick, professional line drawn between us by his own hand, and despite understanding the terms, my body is practically begging him to cross it. Our chemistry is off the charts, but one misstep, and we could hurt the one person we love most. This game is all-or-nothing. Can I risk my heart on a guy who is known for the shut-out, on and off the ice?
Thoughts on Grinder: I like sexy, growly hockey players who also happen to be kickass dads. Buuuut, I'm not sure how I feel about Gage taking his hookups home for some one on one time while his daughter was in the house. Especially considering there was zero chance he was planning on seeing said hookups again. That's a recipe for disaster, hunky hockey dude. A recipe for disaster.

Fortunately for Gage, he escaped any issues with that. Mostly because Bailey took care of things. Which makes her a-okay in my book. Come to think of it, once Gage realized he had feeeeeeelings for Bailey, she was a-okay in his book, too. And I, who am mortally opposed to keeping big secrets in books, actually didn't mind the one he kept. I could see where he was coming from. He was actually very upfront about everything, just not in the way Bailey thought.

That said, I also got Bailey's hurt. If someone took away even the hope of ever achieving a dream, it's easy to see how deeply that could cut.

Bottom line: Sexy, growly hockey players do it for me. Especially when they're also awesome dads who find their match in a big-hearted, determined lady.

Thursday, February 16, 2017

In Good Spirits by Michele Bardsley [Review]

 In Good Spirits by Michele Bardsley
In Good Spirits (Violetta Graves Mystery #1) by Michele Bardsley
Format: ebook
Source: free Kindle download 8/21/16
Date read: August 22, 2016

Violetta Graves Mystery
1. In Good Spirits - Kindle
2. A Spirited Defense
3. Getting in the Spirit

Michele Bardsley
Website | Twitter | Facebook | Amazon |

Synopsis (Goodreads):
When Las Vegas cocktail waitress Violetta Graves is wrongly accused of killing her ex-boyfriend, she knows the odds are stacked against her. Still, she’ll do almost anything to avoid using her gift (hah!): the bad-luck-inducing ability to talk to ghosts.

Being considered a murder suspect by hunky homicide detective Matthew Stone motivates Vie to straighten out her priorities. She’s being framed by an unknown killer, her uptight sister has lost her ever-lovin’ mind, and the hot guy she can’t resist might have to arrest her. Vie has no choice but to turn to the supernatural for help, and try to remain in good spirits.
Thoughts on In Good Spirits: Super fast and quirky read. Vie is sort of...I don't know. Directionless. The story was short so there wasn't a lot of chance to delve deep into her as a character, but it felt like she was just kinda of drifting through life. Drifting while occasionally getting hit with the stick of terrible luck, as it turns out.

Because losing a small claims case against a douchey ex the same day you're suspected of his murder is FANTASTICALLY bad as far as timing goes. I mean, that's some serious motive there, amirite?

Cute, but I wouldn't have minded a little more story. Vie seems like she leads an interesting life. I just wanted more.

Wednesday, February 15, 2017

Spotlight On... A Thousand Letters by Staci Hart

sbpr-atl-bt

"Lyrical, heartbreaking, and emotionally intense, A THOUSAND LETTERS is a beautiful portrait of an undying love that deserves a second chance."

Melanie Harlow, USA Today Bestselling Author


A Thousand Letters, an all-new emotional standalone by Staci Hart is LIVE!!!

cover-wrap-atl

Sometimes your life is split by a single decision.

I’ve spent every day of the last seven years regretting mine: he left, and I didn’t follow. A thousand letters went unanswered, my words like petals in the wind, spinning away into nothing, taking me with them.

But now he’s back.

I barely recognize the man he’s become, but I can still see a glimmer of the boy who asked me to be his forever, the boy I walked away from when I was young and afraid.

Maybe if he’d come home under better circumstances, he could speak to me without anger in his voice. Maybe if I’d said yes all those years ago, he’d look at me without the weight of rejection in his eyes. Maybe if things were different, we would have had a chance.

One regretted decision sent him away. One painful journey bought him back to me. I only wish I could keep him.

*A contemporary romance inspired by Jane Austen’s Persuasion*

ad-live

Read Today:

FREE in Kindle Unlimited!
Add to Goodreads: https://goo.gl/SORJXP


teaser-slave

About the Author

Staci has been a lot of things up to this point in her life -- a graphic designer, an entrepreneur, a seamstress, a clothing and handbag designer, a waitress. Can't forget that. She's also been a mom, with three little girls who are sure to grow up to break a number of hearts. She's been a wife, though she's certainly not the cleanest, or the best cook. She's also super, duper fun at a party, especially if she's been drinking whiskey.

From roots in Houston to a seven year stint in Southern California, Staci and her family ended up settling somewhere in between and equally north, in Denver. They are new enough that snow is still magical. When she's not writing, she's reading, sleeping, gaming, or designing graphics.

img_8015

Connect with the Author: