Tuesday, April 28, 2015

Top Off Tuesday - Love me some Mal!

I've taken over the Top Off Tuesday meme (formerly hosted by Felicia, Christi and Amanda). Why? Because I can't resist gratuitous shirtless covers. Nothing says Tuesday like flashing some skin, amirite?!?!

This? Is one of my favorite books. Not just because the cover is infinitely appealing, but because Mal's a HOOT.

 Play by Kylie Scott
Play (Stage Dive #2) by Kylie Scott
Readers the world over fell in love with sexy drummer Mal in Kylie Scott’s first Stage Dive novel. Now, Kylie Scott is back, and this time it’s bad-boy Mal’s turn to fall in love.

The drummer in a wildly successful rock band, Mal’s never had trouble with the ladies. It doesn’t hurt that he’s sexy as hell with a wicked sense of humor. But as much as Mal loves his ladies, romance and happily-ever-after just isn’t in his set of cards. Until one night, Mal meets the woman of his dreams. But can this cynical rocker ever trust in love?
Want to play along? EXCELLENT!


Monday, April 27, 2015

Magic Bites by Ilona Andrews [Review]

 Magic Bites by Ilona Andrews
Magic Bites (Kate Daniels #1) by Ilona Andrews
Format: paperback
Source: purchased
Date read: January 23, 2015

Kate Daniels
1. Magic Bites - Paperback | Kindle
2. Magic Burns
3. Magic Strikes
4. Magic Bleeds
5. Magic Slays
5.4. Magic Gifts
5.5. Gunmetal Magic
6. Magic Rises
7. Magic Breaks
8. Magic Shifts

Ilona Andrews
| Website | Twitter | Facebook | Amazon |

Synopsis (Goodreads):
When the magic is up, rogue mages cast their spells and monsters appear, while guns refuse to fire and cars fail to start. But then technology returns, and the magic recedes as unpredictably as it arose, leaving all kinds of paranormal problems in its wake.

Kate Daniels is a down-on-her-luck mercenary who makes her living cleaning up these magical problems. But when Kate's guardian is murdered, her quest for justice draws her into a power struggle between two strong factions within Atlanta's magic circles.

The Masters of the Dead, necromancers who can control vampires, and the Pack, a paramilitary clan of shapechangers, blame each other for a series of bizarre killings—and the death of Kate's guardian may be part of the same mystery. Pressured by both sides to find the killer, Kate realizes she's way out of her league—but she wouldn't have it any other way...
Thoughts on Magic Bites: For the record, I have read most of the books in this series. Amanda and I binged our way through them back in 2012 or something. (See, here's our joint review!) It was so long ago that I had only the vaguest memories of how the overall plot played out. To be fair, I was pretty focused on the Curran/Kate dynamic the first time around, though. THOSE TWO.

I mean, nothing even really happens in this book between them and yet I'm all twitterpated whenever they come together on page because OMG! THEY'RE SO FREAKING AWESOME AS A COUPLE. But I guess I have to wait a book or two for that.

I guess.

Anyway. I really really REALLY loved going back and seeing Kate when she was nothing more than a down on her luck mercenary who happened to be hiding a pretty damn big secret. She's so twitchy in this book. She trusts no one. She's hiding so deep inside herself you just know everything's going to come spilling out sooner or later. (Later, it's later. After she and Curran get a little bow-chicka-wow-wow going. Which, I might have mentioned before, I'm eagerly looking forward to.)

I genuinely enjoyed going back to the beginning and rereading this book. I liked it just as much (possibly even more) than the first time. I'm completely excited to get to relive the rest of the series all over again.

Sunday, April 26, 2015

Bout of Books 13

 Bout of Books 13
That's right, my little darlings, it's almost that time again! Time to get our read on with Bout of Books! *insert wild cheering here* And, you guessed it, I will be participating. Go forth and sign up on the Bout of Books blog! You won't regret it.

For those that don't know what Bout of Books is... here you go:
The Bout of Books read-a-thon is organized by Amanda @ On a Book Bender and Kelly @ Reading the Paranormal. It is a week long read-a-thon that begins 12:01am Monday, May 11th and runs through Sunday, May 17th in whatever time zone you are in. Bout of Books is low-pressure. There are challenges, giveaways, and a grand prize, but all of these are completely optional. For all Bout of Books 13 information and updates, be sure to visit the Bout of Books blog. - From the Bout of Books team

RtP Week in Review (04/26/15)

Reading the Paranormal's Week in Review
Bookish Delights
Globetrotting...
Check it out!

Saturday, April 25, 2015

Quickie Reviews: Blood Deep, A Cold Winter's Bite, Dangerous Distraction, Breaking the Stag

 Blood Deep by Jessa Slade
Blood Deep (Vegas Vampires #1) by Jessa Slade
Format: ebook
Source: purchased as part of the Kiss of Christmas Magic anthology
Date read: January 17, 2015

Jessa Slade
| Website | Twitter | Facebook | Amazon |

Synopsis (Goodreads):
Avery Hill reluctantly writes about alien abductions and bat-headed babies while she searches for her mother who went missing one Christmas Eve long ago. Now Avery finds herself in Las Vegas for the holiday, caught in a battle between light and dark fey armies.

Only Hugo de Grava, a 700-year-old, soul-wounded warrior cursed with eternal life, can save her—before his own time runs out.

But the dangerous magic that made her fear for her sanity and made him a vampire isn’t done with them yet, and long-lost worlds are on a collision course on the deepest night of the year…
Thoughts on Blood Deep: Oh, my goodness, I liked this one. (Please read that with a dramatic Southern drawl as I press my hand to my bosom and swoon convincingly toward a fainting couch.) (For the record, that scenario has nothing to do with the book, but it's how I said it was I wrote it.) (Yeah, I don't know where I was going with that either.)

Soooo... fey, vampires, were-critters, normal folk caught in the middle. I liked it all. I liked the mythology and the backstory. I liked that Avery gave up so much to try to find the truth. I like that she walked the edge between believing in the unbelievable because of what she'd seen as a child and telling herself she was going bonkers.

And I never say no to a sexy vampire with loads of self-restraint.

Win/win all around!


 A Cold Winter's Bite by Dawn Metcalf
A Cold Winter's Bite by Dawn Michelle
Format: ebook
Source: purchased as part of the Kiss of Christmas Magic anthology
Date read: January 18, 2015

Dawn Metcalf
| Website | Twitter | Facebook | Amazon |

Synopsis:
December meant more to Hunter Wynn than holidays and time off from a stressful job as the owner of a law firm. It meant the annual getaway he and his partners lived for. A trip to the cold forests of Canada for a winter hunt. Alone and isolated, anything could— and did— happen.

This year it was Hunter’s turn to bring the guest of honor, and he’d just met the perfect girl for it. Pretty, intelligent, and lacking any close friends or relatives. The only question left is whether Hunter can sink his teeth in her before she sets her claws in him.
Thoughts on A Cold Winter's Bite: I really don't know how I feel about this story. I genuinely didn't like Hunter for the bulk of the book. The way he viewed women and his search for prey to bring on his hunting trip was very off-putting. Not to mention the sexual goings-on between him and the receptionist. Seeing as how there was only weird flirting and come-ons between them, was hard to categorize. I just... didn't like that he was in a relationship with one woman while looking at another in a very sexual manner.

Yeah, I totally don't know how I feel about this one.


 Dangerous Distractions by Lola St. Vil
Dangerous Distraction by Lola St. Vil
Format: ebook
Source: purchased as part of the Kiss of Christmas Magic anthology
Date read: January 18, 2015

Lola St. Vil
| Twitter | Facebook | Amazon |

Synopsis (Goodreads):
Bellamy is on the hunt to capture Knight; a dangerous fallen angel. But when she finds him she also finds something she thought she'd never find--love.
Thoughts on Dangerous Distraction: I genuinely don't know if the title of this book is Dangerous Distraction or Distractions. The cover says one thing, the title page another. Which is unfortunate because now I'm going into the story with questions about how well the continuity will flow if one simple letter like that slipped through.

That said, the story was... okay. No gaping plot holes, but I'm not a fan of characters being in a relationship and then going out and banging the man of their dreams who doesn't happen to be the aforementioned relationship guy. Honestly, relationship guy was kinda a dud, but she'd still committed to him and he seemed like a genuinely nice guy.

No matter how you swing it, it's cheating. I don't really enjoy reading about that.


 Breaking the Stag by Jessica Ryan
Breaking the Stag by Jessica Ryan
Format: ebook
Source: purchased as part of the Kiss of Christmas Magic anthology
Date read: January 18, 2015

Jessica Ryan
Website | Facebook | Amazon |

Synopsis (Goodreads):
Celeste's life is falling apart around her, but she may just find the comfort she needs in a sexy stranger that has been watching over her her entire life.
Thoughts on Breaking the Stag: I liked this one. Celeste's easy acceptance of Bray's dual nature was... well, it was easy. But, I liked that we were given non-standard weres and that Celeste and Bray had a history before they hooked up.


Friday, April 24, 2015

Into the Wild by Cat Scofield [Review]

 Into the Wild by Cat Scofield
Into the Wild (Taken by the Pack #9) by Cat Scofield
Format: ebook
Source: provided by the author for an honest review
Date read: January 20, 2015

Taken by the Pack
1. Full Moon
2. Star-Kissed
3. Midnight Eyes
4. Nightfire
5. Blood Price
6. The Hunt
7. Tooth and Claw
8. Moonrise
9. Into the Wild - Kindle

Cat Scofield
Twitter | Amazon |

**Kelly's note: Looking to give this series a whirl? Full Moon, book 1, can be found free at Amazon.

Synopsis (Goodreads):
Lisa Bright has risked her life for an audience with the Alpha Father. Now her hopes of escaping Ms Ariel's clutches have been snatched away, and she's been thrust into an all-or-nothing battle for survival.

In the stunning finale to the TAKEN BY THE PACK series, Lisa and her two lovers will be pushed to the limit as they fight for their lives... and each other.
Thoughts on Into the Wild: This was one incredibly satisfying ending to the series. We were given, blood, guts (both literally and figuratively), sexy-times, resolution for everything Lisa and her boys have been working toward AND it was left open-ended enough that we could potentially see more of these characters in the future. (I'm putting in my vote for more. Just sayin'.)

Lisa has come a long way from the wide-eyed girl she was in the first installment. Okay, maybe she wasn't exactly wide-eyed. That implies she's innocent or something, and Lisa isn't exactly innocent. I mean, she has two hunky wolves filling her every want. That right there says a lot about her willingness to try new things.

Speaking of those two, I like Toby and Warren. Neither of them are perfect, but they throw themselves into the relationship with Lisa with everything inside them and I totally appreciate that.

I really enjoyed this entire series and am so pleased with how it all played out.

Thursday, April 23, 2015

Moonrise by Cat Scofield [Review]

 Moonrise by Cat Scofield
Moonrise (Taken by the Pack #8) by Cat Scofield
Format: ebook
Source: provided by the author for an honest review
Date read: January 20, 2015

Taken by the Pack
1. Full Moon
2. Star-Kissed
3. Midnight Eyes
4. Nightfire
5. Blood Price
6. The Hunt
7. Tooth and Claw
8. Moonrise - Kindle
9. Into the Wild

Cat Scofield
Twitter | Amazon |

**Kelly's note: Looking to give this series a whirl? Full Moon, book 1, can be found free at Amazon.

Synopsis (Goodreads):
Lisa Bright has gone to hell and back. She's been captured and tortured by pack leader Ms Ariel and her thug Old Pete, forced to fight her her life against scores of bloodthirsty werewolves, and now she's cornered in the one place she thought safe - Master Jacoby's mansion.

Ms Ariel has broken Jacoby's last line of defense. His home turf has been flooded with werewolves, and if Lisa and her two boys don't fight tooth and nail, they won't make it out alive...

With their backs against the wall, can Lisa Bright, Toby and Warren pull off a miracle and save Master Jacoby from having his head torn off? Or is this the day their adventures come to an end?
Thoughts on Moonrise: Lisa and her boys HAVE been through a lot to reach the point they're at. Their relationship has had a few rough patches (mostly of the "Toby was held captive and tortured" variety), but they've managed to keep it together and survive despite the overwhelming odds they've faced.

Honestly, though, they never get much down time. If they didn't have the smokin' sex to help them unwind, they'd be wrecks. Fortunately, they have the sex. And each other.

As good as the sex is, I think it's the fact that the three of them will face down any obstacle to protect each others' backs that makes them such a fabulous threesome. (although the sex does play a large part in that threesome bit, just so we're clear.)

There's one more installment left and these three have a lot of ground left to cover. I can't wait!