Monday, August 29, 2016

Awakened by Fire by Erin Kellison [Review]

 Awakened by Fire by Erin Kellison
Awakened by Fire (Dragons of Bloodfire #2) by Erin Kellison
Format: ebook
Source: provided by the author for an honest review
Date read: May 16, 2016

Dragons of Bloodfire
1. Tempted by Fire
2. Awakened by Fire - Kindle

Erin Kellison
Website | Twitter | Facebook | Amazon |

Synopsis (Goodreads):
Get lost in a world of danger, secrets, and desire in the newest installment of bestselling author Erin Kellison’s action-packed Dragons of Bloodfire series.

Billionaire dragon shifter and Bloodkin Triad member Warrick Voclain is no stranger to power. But when his trusted steward’s beautiful granddaughter—all grown up and successful in her own right—seems to be using illegal magic in his presence, he is thrown for a loop. And the fact that she’s doing so to protect him? Alarming.

Samantha Vine needs to stay under the radar, or her secret gift will get her and her granddad killed. She didn’t intend for her quick visit home to stretch into weeks in Warrick’s company, but anyone striking at Warrick would also hurt her granddad. Only she has the ability to see what’s coming…though she’ll need Warrick’s help to stop it.

The use of such magic is punishable by death, and Warrick’s position on the Triad requires that he adhere to the rule of law. But the attraction between them is electric, stirring his blood and straining his control.

Adversaries wait in every shadow, and the easiest way to strike down a powerful dragon is to go for the heart…in Warrick’s case, Samantha. With fire and blood, he’ll reshape the world into one that’s safe for her. And those that don’t bend to his will? They will burn.
Thoughts on Awakened by Fire: Dragons, man. Dragons. They're bloodthirsty and when they decide to go for something, they go after it. Like, hardcore. HARDCORE.

And when they realize they might have feelings for the special someone who's been hanging around? ALL BETS ARE OFF. Even for members of the Triad.

So. Still loving this world. Dragon shifters make me happy. They're just so...I don't know. Intense. Focused. Dark and broody. Warrick certainly comes across as all those. The power he has makes him formidable. The fact Samantha's very existence puts his family line at risk should have been a deal breaker for them. It really should have. BUT...it isn't.

Which is when the fun really starts happening. *finger guns*

Loving the world, digging the characters, wouldn't mind a whole lot more of these guys. Because dragons.

Sunday, August 28, 2016

RtP Week in Review (08/28/16)

Reading the Paranormal's Week in Review
Bookish Delights
Globetrotting...
Check it out!

Saturday, August 27, 2016

Spotlight on... Sectors SF by Veronica Scott

My love for sexy sci-fi is pretty well documented at this point. I mean, I wax poetic about it often enough it shouldn't be a surprise. So when I say I am smitten with this series, you can just nod you head and smile.

BECAUSE I AM SMITTEN WITH THIS SERIES! SEXY SCI-FI! YASSSSSS!

 Wreck of the Nebula Dream by Veronica Scott
Wreck of the Nebula Dream (Sectors SF #1)
Traveling unexpectedly aboard the luxury liner Nebula Dream on its maiden voyage across the galaxy, Sectors Special Forces Captain Nick Jameson is ready for ten relaxing days, and hoping to forget his last disastrous mission behind enemy lines. He figures he’ll gamble at the casino, take in the shows, maybe even have a shipboard fling with Mara Lyrae, the beautiful but reserved businesswoman he meets.

All his plans vaporize when the ship suffers a wreck of Titanic proportions. Captain and crew abandon ship, leaving the 8000 passengers stranded without enough lifeboats and drifting unarmed in enemy territory. Aided by Mara, Nick must find a way off the doomed ship for himself and several other innocent people before deadly enemy forces reach them or the ship’s malfunctioning engines finish ticking down to self destruction.

But can Nick conquer the demons from his past that tell him he’ll fail these innocent people just as he failed to save his Special Forces team? Will he outpace his own doubts to win this vital race against time?

 Escape from Zulaire by Veronica Scott
Escape from Zulaire (Sectors SF #2)
Andi Markriss hasn’t exactly enjoyed being the houseguest of the planetary high-lord, but her company sent her to represent them at a political wedding. When hotshot Sectors Special Forces Captain Tom Deverane barges in on the night of the biggest social event of the summer, Andi isn’t about to offend her high-ranking host on Deverane’s say-so—no matter how sexy he is, or how much he believes they need to leave now.

Deverane was thinking about how to spend his retirement bonus when HQ assigned him one last mission: rescue a civilian woman stranded on a planet on the verge of civil war. Someone has pulled some serious strings to get her plucked out of the hot zone. Deverane’s never met anyone so hard-headed—or so appealing. Suddenly his mission to protect this one woman has become more than just mere orders.

That mission proves more dangerous than he expected when rebel fighters attack the village and raze it to the ground. Deverane escapes with Andi, and on their hazardous journey through the wilderness, Andi finds herself fighting her uncomfortable attraction to the gallant and courageous captain. But Deverane’s not the type to settle down, and running for one’s life doesn’t leave much time for romance.

Then Andi is captured by the rebel fighters, but Deverane has discovered that Zulaire’s so-called civil war is part of a terrifying alien race’s attempt to subjugate the entire Sector. If he pushes on to the capitol Andi will die. Deverane must decide whether to save the woman he loves, or sacrifice her to save Zulaire.

 Mission to Mahjundar by Veronica Scott
Mission to Mahjundar (Sectors SF #3)
An attempted assassination left Princess Shalira blind as a child and, now that she’s of marriageable age, her prospects are not good because of her disability. She’s resigned herself to an arranged marriage rather than face life under the thumb of her cold stepmother. But then she meets Mike Varone, a Sectors Special Forces officer sent to Mahjundar by the intergalactic government to retrieve a ship lost in her planet’s mountains. After Mike saves Shalira from another assassination attempt, she arranges for him to escort her across the planet to her future husband. She’s already falling hard for the deadly offworlder and knows she should deny herself the temptation he represents, but taking Mike along to protect her is the only way she’ll live long enough to escape her ruthless stepmother.

Mike, for his part, resists his growing attraction to the princess; he has a mission on this planet and rescuing the vulnerable but brave princess isn’t it. No matter how much he wishes it could be.

But what should have been an easy trek through Mahjundar’s peaceful lands swiftly turns into an ambush with danger around every turn. Shalira’s marriage begins to seem less like an arranged union and more like yet another planned assassination. The more they work together to survive, the harder it becomes to stop themselves from falling in love. Caught in a race against time, can they escape the hostile forces hunting them and make it off the planet?

 Star Cruise: Marooned by Veronica Scott
Star Cruise: Marooned (Sectors SF #4)
Meg Antille works long hours on the charter cruise ship Far Horizon so she can send credits home to her family. Working hard to earn a promotion to a better post (and better pay), Meg has no time for romance.

Former Special Forces soldier Red Thomsill only took the berth on the Far Horizon in hopes of getting to know Meg better, but so far she’s kept him at a polite distance. A scheduled stopover on the idyllic beach of a nature preserve planet may be his last chance to impress the girl.

But when one of the passengers is attacked by a wild animal it becomes clear that conditions on the lushly forested Dantaralon aren’t as advertised – the ranger station is deserted, the defensive perimeter is down…and then the Far Horizon’s shuttle abruptly leaves without any of them.

Marooned on the dangerous outback world, romance is the least of their concerns, and yet Meg and Red cannot help being drawn to each other once they see how well they work together. But can they survive long enough to see their romance through? Or will the wild alien planet defeat them, ending their romance and their lives before anything can really begin?
Veronica Scott
Website | Twitter | Facebook | Amazon |

Friday, August 26, 2016

Lost in Barbarian Space by Anna Hackett [Review]

 Lost in Barbarian Space by Anna Hackett
Lost in Barbarian Space (The Phoenix Adventures #9) by Anna Hackett
Format: ebook
Source: purchased
Date read: May 10, 2015

The Phoenix Adventures
0. Among Galactic Ruins
1. At Star's End
2. In the Devil's Nebula
3. On a Rogue Planet
4. Beneath a Trojan Moon
5. Beyond Galaxy's Edge
6. On a Cyborg Planet
7. Return to Dark Earth
8. On a Barbarian World
9. Lost in Barbarian Space - Kindle

Anna Hackett
Website | Twitter | Facebook | Amazon |

Synopsis (Goodreads):
A clash of cultures. Security agent versus barbarian warrior. On an expedition to a newly discovered barbarian world, an experienced security agent doesn't expect to be working with a big, bossy barbarian warrior.

Agent Honor Brandall enjoys her job as security agent for the Institute of Historical Preservation's expedition ships. Adventures to distant planets - awesome. Archeological digs for ancient old Earth artifacts - interesting. Keeping the archeologists safe - no problem. The fact she's tall, strong and good in a fight means most of the men she works with are intimidated by her, but she refuses to apologize for being good at her job. But on a mission to the barbarian world of Markaria, she finds herself paired with a brawny warrior who challenges her in every way.

Markarian warrior Colm Mal Kor is second-in-command to his warlord and spends his days training to hone his skills and control. He's dedicated to defending his clan...and to hiding the deadly secret he can never share with anyone. But when he's thrust into working with a beautiful, challenging skyflyer, Colm finds a wild attraction he never expected and the biggest risk to his hard-earned control that he's ever encountered.

On an expedition to Markaria's icy moons, Honor and Colm work side by side, but the ice and snow aren't enough to stop them from wanting each other. As their mission takes a deadly turn, they must trust each other to survive, but it isn't just wild beasts and ferocious enemies that are a danger... Colm is harboring something inside him that is far more lethal...something that might destroy them all.
Thoughts on Lost in Barbarian Space: This series never fails to entertain. Strong men finding the women who match them in every way gives me a case of the happies. The fact our hero this time around is a barbarian with a warrior's sense of honor and a secret he's determined to take to his grave only makes it better.

Because tortured men are my crack, amirite?!?!

Honor and Colm are so well matched. I genuinely liked how Honor challenged Colm's beliefs about what women were capable of. As soon as she proves she can hold her own and adapts quickly to the circumstances around her, he gives her room to do her thing. I also loved how he went all ragey when she was threatened. Yup, tortured men with a possessive streak are my literary crack.

Awesome treasure hunting shenanigans, space pirates, steamy moments in dire situations (always fun!), and the Phoenix crew. Being hunted and half freezing to death never sounded so fun!

Thursday, August 25, 2016

Blood Charged by Lindsay Buroker [Review]

 Blood Charged by Lindsay Buroker
Blood Charged (Dragon Blood #3) by Lindsay Buroker
Format: ebook
Source: purchased
Date read: May 11, 2016

Dragon Blood
1. Balanced on the Blade's Edge
2. Deathmaker
3. Blood Charged - Paperback | Kindle
4. Patterns in the Dark
5. The Blade's Memory
5.5. Under the Ice Blades
6. Raptor
7. Soul Blade
7.5. Shattered Past

Lindsay Buroker
Website | Twitter | Facebook | Amazon |

Synopsis (Goodreads):
Sardelle Terushan, sorceress and healer, should be lying low. Magic is forbidden in Iskandia, and magic users are drowned, shot, or otherwise slain. The problem? She's fallen in love with ace fighter pilot and national hero, Colonel Ridge Zirkander, a man whom everybody notices, including the king. It's not long before Sardelle has spies dogging her steps and people trying to blow her up. Worse, her presence is jeopardizing Ridge's career. If she can't find a solution to the nation's centuries-old hatred of magic, the only way to protect Ridge—and herself—may be to leave.

Ridge Zirkander isn't used to worrying about more than shooting down Cofah airships and keeping the officers in his squadron alive, but his world has gotten more complicated since giving his heart to Sardelle. It's difficult to keep people from noticing a mysterious and enigmatic woman, not to mention her chatty sentient sword. He's been passing her off as an archaeologist to his fellow pilots, but when the king calls him in to a private meeting, Ridge fears his secret has been discovered.

But the king—and the rest of the country—has a greater problem. Cofah military scientists have acquired something that shouldn't exist in the world any longer: dragon blood. In addition to having countless mysterious properties, it's a powerful energy source that can be used to create devastating weapons. Ridge, Sardelle, and their allies must travel to the empire as part of a secret strike force to steal the dragon blood. If they fail, the Cofah will finally have the power to destroy all of Iskandia.
Thoughts on Blood Charged: Things are heating up in Iskandia. The Cofah have harnessed something that could turn the tides of battle and Ridge and his crew can't let that happen. You know, because they like their home and don't want to end up dead or enslaved.

It's a rather motley group that Ridge leads on this mission. Let's just say there's a touch of tension in the ranks and leave it at that. Okay, wait. I'm not going to leave it at that. Tolemek's past puts a wee bit of strain on the working relationships in the squad. Since he's, you know, the Deathmaker. Add in Sardelle and Ridge trying to hide Sardelle's magic from those who have been taught to hate and fear magic and you have some FUN times.

Oh, and the group is also smack-dab in the middle of enemy territory and they're dealing with weapons they haven't seen before.

GLORIOUS!

We got more Ridge and Sardelle (I like those two together!) and more Cas and Tolemek (*fist pump* because absent-minded scientists and the ladies who put up with them make me grin), plus a few more crew to round out their group. The mystery of how the Cofah got their hands on the dragon blood is waiting to be uncovered as well as a rescue mission. I'm ready!

Wednesday, August 24, 2016

Be My Fantasy by Alisha Rai [Review]

 Be My Fantasy by Alisha Rai
Be My Fantasy (Fantasy #1) by Alisha Rai
Format: ebook
Source: purchased
Date read: May 10, 2016

Fantasy
1. Be My Fantasy - Kindle
2. Stay My Fantasy

Alisha Rai
Website | Twitter | Facebook | Amazon |

Synopsis (Goodreads):
When she was bad, she was better.

Elizabeth Harding, the perfect, polished daughter of politicians, plays by all the rules. Or so it seems. Tired of a lifetime of denying her passionate nature, she’s created an alter ego. As Tess, Elizabeth is able to safely and secretly indulge all of her wild fantasies—even if that fantasy is financing a private club of pleasure.

Driven and ambitious, Luca Santos has clawed his way from rags to riches. His boss’s daughter has tempted him for what seems like forever, but he’s known that the pampered princess probably wouldn’t be down with his dirty ways. Elizabeth is sweet, innocent, demure…so what’s she doing sneaking around a place that revels in sexual abandon?

One night. So many ways to ruin a person.
Thoughts on Be My Fantasy: Oh, my. Is it hot in here or IS IT THIS BOOK? *fans self* No lie, this book is smokin'. IT IS GLORIOUS. My only complaint is that now I have to wait for the next installment. Elizabeth and Luca deserve to get it on a few more times (and find some serious Happily Ever After, man). Also, I'm impatient and want to see how things play out.

If I put aside the steamy scenes (which were outstanding), I think the scene where Elizabeth confronts Luca to clear up the misconceptions that sprung up between them was my favorite. That she would so matter-of-factly tell him what had happened without any expectation he'd accept her explanation made me sit up and do a fist pump. She saw something that needed to be done and did it. I admire that in a heroine. There was no artifice. No wheedling to try to get something out of him. Just "this is what happened. Deal with it or don't."

Taking a cue from Elizabeth, I'm not going to pull my punches. I want book 2. This book only whetted my appetite for more of their story and I can't wait to see how their romance plays out.

Tuesday, August 23, 2016

Top Off Tuesday - Killer!

I've taken over the Top Off Tuesday meme (formerly hosted by Felicia, Christi and Amanda). Why? Because I can't resist gratuitous shirtless covers. Nothing says Tuesday like flashing some skin, amirite?!?!

Shirtless, tattooed men. I can totally get behind this!

 Midnight Revenge by Elle Kennedy
Midnight Revenge (Killer Instincts #7) by Elle Kennedy
Out of all the stone-cold mercenaries in Jim Morgan's black ops organization, Derek “D” Pratt is the most intimidating. He is tight-lipped and covered in tattoos, and even the other guys on his team are afraid to ask him about his past. D’s been off the grid for years, but after his teammate Sullivan is mistakenly captured in his place, D is forced to come out of hiding and face his demons.

When D lands in Mexico, he’s ready to risk everything to save his friend. To complicate matters, Sofia Amaro, a feisty doctor whom D had a one-night stand with months ago, has tracked him down. And in an instant she’s unintentionally caught up in his life-threatening rescue mission.

Now D must extract not one but two people from the most violent world he's ever encountered. And one of them is carrying his child...