Sunday, July 5, 2015

RtP Week in Review (07/05/15)

Reading the Paranormal's Week in Review
Bookish Delights
Globetrotting...
Check it out!

Saturday, July 4, 2015

Blog Housekeeping [59]


It's that time again! Time to polish up your blog until it shines!

POP QUIZ: Have you been backing up your blog?

Update:
  • review archive - are you responsible for sites other than your own? Don't forget about those
  • sidebar - check for buttons or links for events that have ended. Have any new events coming up? Now's the time to add them.
  • reading challenges - update your progress, add links to challenges where you can link up. If you're a challenge host, do you try to comment on linked reviews? Now's your chance!
  • blogrolls -  clean 'em up!
  • crosspost - do you crosspost to Amazon, B&N, Goodreads, Library Thing? Don't forget to add your reviews to Netgalley or Edelwiess for those ARCs.
  • check your subscription and social media links - if this isn't something that you normally check, now's an excellent time to make sure it's doing what it should be doing. (check out Felicia's Tech Tips for ideas on what to do if you're getting errors on your subscription link)
  • check your static pages (About, Review Policy, etc) for outdated information, broken links, etc.
  • review your profiles - when was the last time you updated your Goodreads or Facebook profiles? Is everything up to date?
Get ahead:
  • July has arrived! Have you drafted your weekly wrap-up posts? Are your meme posts drafted or scheduled for the month? What else can you do to get ahead?
Misc:
  • respond to review requests and other bloggy emails
  • check your spam folder - legitimate emails can sometimes slip through, catch them now.
  • check the spam filter on the blog - get rid of the spam! save the legits!
  • make the rounds - check back on blogs where you left comments, maybe spread a few new comments around like candy.
Did you do everything that applies to you? Well done! Now...

BACK UP YOUR BLOG!

The Next Blog Housekeeping is scheduled for 8/1! I hope to see you there!

Friday, July 3, 2015

Terminal by J.L. Bryan [Review]

 Terminal by J.L. Bryan
Terminal (Ellie Jordan, Ghost Trapper #4) by J.L. Bryan
Format: ebook
Source: provided by the author for an honest review
Date read: April 21, 2015

Ellie Jordan, Ghost Trapper
1. Ellie Jordan, Ghost Trapper
2. Cold Shadows
3. The Crawling Darkness
4. Terminal - Paperback | Kindle

J.L. Bryan
Website | Twitter | Facebook | Amazon |

Synopsis (Goodreads):
Ellie Jordan and her apprentice Stacey investigate a house in an elaborate planned community that was only half-built before it went bankrupt, leaving an instant ghost town with only a few residents. The entity haunting this house is a banshee that feeds on sadness and misery.

Unfortunately for Ellie, this is no simple haunting, but just one symptom of the cursed land on which the suburban community was built. The old railroad line running through the nearby woods might just be a conduit for lost souls, including dark spirits with ill intentions toward the living. Ellie soon finds herself facing one of the most complex and difficult hauntings she’s seen in her career.
Thoughts on Terminal: I totally dig the world J.L. Bryan has created with Ellie and the ghosts she... well, sometimes she helps them move on and sometimes she just moves them from where they are. Wait. DOES she help them move on? Has that happened? (I had a lot of coffee today. My brain's sort of bouncing around right now. Which happens. *gives everyone the crazy eyes*)

Anywho. I loooooved the intersection with this case and a previous case Ellie worked. And Ellie's almost-boyfriend. I find him highly acceptable. OH! And the in she has with the historical society. I just... LIKE IT ALL. Throw in a insta-ghost town, a ghostly train, some ghosts, some more ghosts, and Ellie and her peeps and get giddy.

*puts aside flaily hands for a moment* Watching Ellie unravel the mystery and work through what she and Stacey were up against was fun. It's not always a straight line toward the truth and they're working backwards as they trace the incidents reported to them against things that happened in the past. It's tangled and complicated and I LIKE IT.

I must say I'm excited to see where the next book takes them. The ghosts they're facing keep getting more intense and there might come a time when they can't get it done on their own. Which... O.O.

Thursday, July 2, 2015

Spotlight on... With a Twist by Staci Hart

Banner

Ebook

Add to Goodreads

Synopsis
Love is somewhere near the bottom of Lily Thomas’ list of life goals, right next to competitive eating and underwater cave diving. She’s spent six years pirouetting and pliĆ©ing her way up the ranks of the New York Ballet with her eye on the prize and love in the back seat. But now that Blane Baker -- Lily’s long time crush -- is finally single, she’ll throw her rules out the window without thinking twice.
Reality with Blane isn’t as epic as the fantasy she imagined, and the truth sends her spinning straight into the arms of the man she never knew she’d always wanted.
West Williams has been friends with Lily since the day she moved into their building and he saved her armoire from a swift, sudden death by staircase. Their friendship has always been easy, the boundaries clearly defined. With neither of them willing to risk their relationship, they’ve drifted happily through the years as companions, never considering more.
That is, until they do. And that realization changes everything.
Teaser
giveaway
About the author
Staci
Staci has been a lot of things up to this point in her life -- a graphic designer, an entrepreneur, a seamstress, a clothing and handbag designer, a waitress. Can't forget that. She's also been a mom; she has three little girls who are sure to grow up to break a number of hearts. She's been a wife; even though she's certainly not the cleanest, or the best cook. She's also super, duper fun at a party, especially if she's been drinking whiskey. Her favorite word starts with f and ends with k.

From roots in Houston, to a seven year stint in Southern California, Staci and her family ended up settling somewhere in between and equally north, in Denver. They are new enough that snow is still magical. When she's not writing, she's sleeping, gaming, or designing graphics.
Wrap
Hosted By:
Hype PR PNG

Ride to Ruin by Eleri Stone [Review]

 Ride to Ruin by Eleri Stone
Ride to Ruin (Reaper #3) by Eleri Stone
Format: ebook
Source: provided by the author for an honest review
Date read: April 18, 2015

Reaper
1. Reaper's Touch
2. Gun Shy
3. Ride to Ruin - Kindle

Eleri Stone
Website | Twitter | Facebook | Amazon |

Synopsis (Goodreads):
When a religious sect settles north of Fort Dougan in an abandoned city called Ruin, it doesn’t take long for stories to spread that something’s not right about the place. Charismatic preacher Thaddeus Blackwell has promised his flock a better life, unsullied by the decadence of Scraper society and the immorality of life on the border. With an army of cured Reapers under his command, Blackwell is determined to build a godly society…even if he has to use ungodly means to do it.

Working the ranch with the horses she loves, Ellie hasn’t paid much attention to the rumors about Ruin until her sister is charged with Blackwell’s murder. Ellie drops everything to ride to Lu’s aid only to find that her sister has fled town with a Ranger hot on her trail and Thaddeus’s son, Mordecai, out for her blood.

Ranger Garrett Landry believes Lu is the key to getting his family out of Ruin alive, and he needs to find her before Mordecai gets to her. Reluctantly accepting Ellie as his partner in the search, Garrett doesn’t expect to fall in love with the brave but in over her head rancher. And he never imagines that Ellie might be the one to save him instead.
Thoughts on Ride to Ruin: I completely adore this series. From the mindless Reapers to those who have been cured of the disease and are trying to find how they fit in to this world now. From the Rangers to the citizens they protect. It all works for me. All of it.

Garrett and Ellie are just adorably sweet. Sure, he's a Ranger who's tasked with keeping the people safe and helping breed up the next generation of Rangers and she's not entirely sold on the Rangers because of her mother's untimely death, but they work so nicely together. I like them. Ellie chooses to enjoy her time with Garrett despite her reservations (or maybe because of them seeing as how she's just removed herself from a going-nowhere relationship and she's ready to throw caution to the wind and...err, enjoy herself) and Garrett knows how to show a lady a good time. Also, he liiiiikes Ellie.

Seriously, they are adorably cute.

We get to see even more sides to the cured Reapers. The bad guys started out with good intentions that went off the rails somewhere along the way. Flynn and Molly make me smile. Good times all around, my friends. Good times.

Wednesday, July 1, 2015

Snowcroft Safehouse by Christi Snow [Review]

 Snowcroft Safehouse by Christi Snow
Snowcroft Safehouse (Snowcroft Men #2) by Christi Snow
Format: ebook
Source: provided by the author for an honest review
Date read: April 26, 2015

Snowcroft Men
1. Snowcroft Lost
2. Snowcroft SafehouseKindle
3. Snowcroft Restoration

Christi Snow
Website | Twitter | Facebook | Amazon |

Synopsis (Goodreads):
A year ago Declan Jasper was entertaining sold-out arena crowds as the lead singer of Black Rainbows. But that came to an explosive end when the band got caught up in a criminal cover-up, one that ended with the entire band dead. At least that’s what everyone is supposed to think.

Now, Dex is hiding in plain sight, working as the school band director in a sleepy little mountain resort town while under the protection of a hard-nosed FBI agent. Instead of eyeliner and black leather, he now wears glasses and corduroy. Instead of having sexy coeds—both male and female—throw themselves into his bed, he’s dealing with teenage angst and grumpy parents.

At the top of his troubles list is Kelsey Walker, a junior high bundle of rare musical talent in the form of one confused, messed-up adolescent. Dex figures the problem comes from her broken home and wants to help. But when he meets her father, sexy bar-owner, Jack Walker, he realizes that instead of helping he’s probably just bringing more trouble and danger to their door.

Dex has to stay alive until the trial to bring his bandmates’ murderers to justice, but can he do that if it means sacrificing his own happily ever after?
Thoughts on Snowcroft Safehouse: Kill me slowly, why don't you? *gives everyone sad, angsty eyes at everything Dex/Finn and Jack have to go through to get their HEA* And Law. LAWWWW! Oh, gawd. I want him to have some happy. POOR MAN.

But this is Finn and Jack's story (Don't be confused, Dex is Finn. And Finn/Dex is fantastically awesome.), so I'm going to quietly put Law on the backburner and tell him it'll be all right. Just wait, you hunky, brute of a damaged man. Just wait.

Right. Finn has some issues he's working out. They're pretty brutal as issues seeing as how he's the lone survivor of a horrific incident. He's recovering both physically and emotionally from what happened, but he's nowhere near 100%. (And I wouldn't expect him to be. Poor man. Huh. I get the feeling I'm going to be saying that a lot this review.) The chemistry he has with Jack is a breath of fresh air after everything he's gone though.

And then there's Jack. He knows he's attracted to men, but he's unwilling to publicly admit it because he doesn't want to hurt his daughter in any way. I totally get where he was coming from and I LOVE Kelsey's response when she (eventually) finds out. It was incredibly sweet and I JUST LOVED IT. OKAY?!?!

Twists and turns, danger and the potential for heartache on all fronts and OMG! LAW! FINN! EVERYTHING! You're killing me, Snow. Killing me with the beautiful, damaged men.

Thank you for that!

RtP 2015 Series Tracking - April-June

While I'm not hosting an official Seriously Series Challenge this year, I liked being able to track series I've completed. So... here we are. Tracking some series.

By category:
Series started in 2015: 17/12
Series started before 2015: 22/12
Series rereads: 2/5

By month:
April
  • Started in 2015:
    • Completed: 7
      • Body Shrine (Body Shrine, Vampire Wasteland, Naked Goddess)
      • Cyber Sex (Prepared to Please)
      • The Dred Chronicles (Havoc)
      • Judgement of the Six Companion Series (Clay's Hope)
      • Male Model Chronicles (Lance)
      • The Priors (To Kill an Assassin)
      • Stratton Wolves (Mated by Midsummer)
    • In progress: -none-
  • Started before 2015:
    • Completed: 9
      • Antique Magic (Drawing Down the Shades)
      • Cyborgs: More Than Machines (Avion)
      • DreamMakers (Don't Walk Away)
      • Ellie Jordan, Ghost Trapper (Terminal)
      • Kiss Across Time (Kiss Across Deserts)
      • Kodiak Point (Kodiak's Claim)
      • Lexi Carmichael Mystery (No Woman Left Behind)
      • Reaper (Ride to Ruin)
      • Snowcroft Men (Snowcroft Safehouse)
    • In progress: -none-
  • Rereads:
    • Completed: 1 
      • Kate Daniels (Gunmetal Magic, Magic Gifts)
    • In progress: 1 
      • Elder Races (Lord's Fall, The Wicked)

May
  • Started in 2015:
    • Completed: 10
      • Agents of Grimm (Taking a Bite Out of Love)
      • Alien Outbreak (Alien Tentacles)
      • Boston Fire (Heat Exchange)
      • Hell Squad (Marcus)
      • The Ivy Years (The Year We Fell Down)
      • Omega Beginnings (Alessandra, Mismatch, Phoibe, Lantos)
      • Rusk University (All Lined Up)
      • Shifty Singles (Bear Night, Furever Yours)
      • Sleeping with Monsters (The Haunted)
      • Undercover Associates (Against the Dark)
    • In progress: 1
      • War of the Alpha (Omega, Beta)
  • Started before 2015:
    • Completed: 9
      • Brothers Sinister (Talk Sweetly To Me)
      • Blue-Collar Billionaires (Finn)
      • Companions Codex (Vengeance of the Iron Dwarf)
      • House of Payne (Scout, Twist)
      • Kit Colbana (Misery's Way)
      • Pride (Big Bad Beast, Bear Meets Girl, Wolf With Benefits, Bite Me)
      • Reveler (The Sandman)
      • Thompson & Sons (Let It Ride)
      • Werewolf Marines (Partner)
    • In progress: 3
      • Demonica (Azagoth)
      • Shifters Unbound (Pride Mates)
  • Rereads:
    • Completed: 1
      • Elder Races (Kinked, Dragos Takes a Holiday, Pia Saves the Day, Peanut Goes to School, Night's Honor)
    • In progress: -none-

June
  • Started in 2015:
    • Completed: -none-
    • In progress: 2 
      • Bridgertons (The Duke and I)
      • Finishing School (Etiquette & Espionage, Curtsies & Conspiracies),
  • Started before 2015:
    • Completed: 4 
      • Black Falcon (Rock the Beat)
      • Elder Races (Midnight's Kiss)
      • Stone Soldiers (One Dark Step)
      • Sweetblood (Enticed by Blood)
    • In progress: 2 
      • Iron Portal (Warrior's Heart)
      • Shifters Unbound (Lion Eyes)
  • Rereads:
    • Completed: -none-
    • In progress: -none-