Tuesday, December 1, 2015

Top Off Tuesday - Nightmare!

I've taken over the Top Off Tuesday meme (formerly hosted by Felicia, Christi and Amanda). Why? Because I can't resist gratuitous shirtless covers. Nothing says Tuesday like flashing some skin, amirite?!?!

Nightmares and dreamscapes, y'all. CRAZY THINGS HAPPEN PLUS A BONUS MUSCLE-Y COVER! Yassssss!

 Scrape by Erin Kellison
Scrape (Reveler #8) by Erin Kellison
The last battle will be a nightmare…

The Sandman has broken through to the waking world, bringing with Him a monster of a storm. Mirren Lambert and Vince Blackman set out to force him back into his own realm, while Malcolm Rook and Jordan Lane are cornered by an old enemy intent on revenge. They learn that there are no rules when fighting for the ones you love.

In the midst of the chaos, Harlen Fawkes is charged with finding a way to make dreaming safe again. As nightmares lurk in the fringes, waiting to attack, he is driven to a bold decision that will change the world Darkside forever. All the while, his heart is with Sera—will the love of his life ever wake again?

Steve Coll must come to grips with his altered nature. His passion for Maisie Lane transcends the darkness, and he becomes both a fearsome nightmare and the hero humanity so desperately needs. Armed with hope and love, he strikes out to defeat a powerful god. But will it be enough? Or has dreaming just become too dangerous?

Monday, November 30, 2015

Controlled Burn by Shannon Stacey [Review]

 Controlled Burn by Shannon Stacey
Controlled Burn (Boston Fire #2) by Shannon Stacey
Format: ebook
Source: provided by Carina Press through NetGalley
Date read: November 13, 2015

Boston Fire
1. Heat Exchange
2. Controlled Burn - Paperback | Kindle
3. Fully Ignited

Shannon Stacey
Website | Twitter | Facebook | Amazon |

Synopsis (Goodreads):
Rick Gullotti lives the good life. He fights fires, dates beautiful women—though none long enough so they cast wistful glances at jewelry stores—and has great friends. And thanks to helping out the elderly couple who own his building, his rent is low. But when concerns about their health lead him to contact their only son, his life starts getting away from him.

Jessica Broussard has no interest in leaving sunny San Diego or her cushy corner office for Boston, but her father—who happens to be her boss—dispatches her to deal with the grandparents she's never met. She's unprepared for the frigid winter, loving relatives who aren't the monsters she's been led to believe, and the hot, scruffy firefighter who lives upstairs.

At first, Jessica is determined to get back to her comfortable life as quickly as possible. All she has to do is talk her grandparents into selling their monstrosity of a house and moving to a retirement community. But she underestimates Rick's dedication—and his considerable charm. Nobody's taking advantage of his friends on his watch, even if that makes the tempting southern California girl with the long legs his adversary. Unfortunately for them both, the only thing more urgent than the matter at hand is their sizzling chemistry, and it's quickly becoming too strong to resist.
Thoughts on Controlled Burn: I liked book 1 in this series and I was excited to see where Rick's story took him. While there wasn't as much focus on the brotherhood this time, there was still plenty of family--both of the blood and bond variety.

I liked Rick. I liked Jessica. I never quite got the feeling their romance burned as hot and bright as Lydia and Aiden's did, but I liked them together. To be honest, other than the long distance thing and the idea that Rick wasn't the marrying type, Rick and Jessica didn't have a whole lot of speed bumps on their road. They had a pretty immediate attraction (which they waited to act on) and all Rick's friends and family welcomed Jessica into their fold with open arms. Jessica's grandparents certainly had no issues with the two of them having a relationship.

So while I liked them together and got a kick out of their sexy times, there wasn't a whole lot of question about whether or not they'd eventually end up going with a full-on relationship.

That said, their resolution seemed somewhat abrupt. I went back and read the end a second time to see if I had missed something. I'm pretty sure I didn't, though. While the potential for them being together full time was laid out, it wasn't a done deal. The issue with the house was never resolved. I was left feeling a wee bit let down by the abrupt ending and wish we could have had another chapter or two to really seal the deal.

Sunday, November 29, 2015

RtP Week in Review (11/29/15)

Reading the Paranormal's Week in Review
Bookish Delights
  • Books added to the pile 
    • NONE! (whaaaaa?)
  • Currently reading 
    • Fall of Heroes by Jennifer Harlow
Check it out!
  • Heyyyyy. Guess what Amanda and I are starting to work on. GUESS! Fine, I'll tell you. BOUT OF BOOKS 15 STUFF! WHOA! YES! EXCITING! OMG! IS IT ALMOST THAT TIME AGAIN?!?!?

Saturday, November 28, 2015

The Ghost & Mrs. MacKay by Kate Danley [Quickie Review]

 Nightshade Anthology
The Ghost & Mrs. MacKay (Maggie MacKay, Magical Tracker #2.5) by Kate Danley
Format: ebook
Source: provided for review as part of the Nightshade Anthology
Date read: October 22, 2015

Maggie MacKay, Magical Tracker
1. Maggie For Hire
2. Maggie Get Your Gun
2.5. The Ghost & Mrs. MacKay - Kindle
3. Maggie On the Bounty
4. M&K Tracking
5. The M-Team

Kate Danley
| Website | Twitter | Facebook | Amazon |

Synopsis (Goodreads):
It's Halloween and Maggie's mother has invited all the ghosts of the neighborhood over for a party. Unfortunately, one of the ghosts is wanted by the Other Side's finest. It’s up to Maggie and Killian to find out what caused this soul's unrest and return him to his happy haunting ground.
Thoughts on The Ghost & Mrs. MacKay: I read the first book in this series ages ago (apparently as a guest post, so... okay), and this story has the same frantic energy I remember from that one. As in, there are so many pop culture hits and quick-fire similes and metaphors you had to pay attention or risk being lost in a sea of ...something flowery. This isn't necessarily a bad thing, but it was something that made me feel exhausted after reading. (My weirdly sleepless night could have been to blame for that, too, if I'm being honest.)

That said, it's fun. Yes, you have to pay attention. Yes, Maggie strikes me as being one step away from more than slightly crazed. But it works.

So, do with this what you will.

Friday, November 27, 2015

Marked by an Assassin by Felicty Heaton [Review]

 Marked by an Assassin by Felicity Heaton
Marked by an Assassin (Eternal Mates #8) by Felicity Heaton
Format: ebook
Source: provided by the author for an honest review
Date read: November 14, 2015

Eternal Mates
1. Kissed by a Dark Prince
2. Claimed by a Demon King
3. Tempted by a Rogue Prince
4. Hunted by a Jaguar
5. Craved by an Alpha
6. Bitten by a Hellcat
7. Taken by a Dragon
8. Marked by an Assassin- Paperback | Kindle

Felicity Heaton
Website | Twitter | Facebook | Amazon |

Synopsis (Goodreads):
A snow leopard shifter exiled from his pride twenty years ago, Harbin treads the dark path of life as an assassin, driven by a hunger for vengeance, mercilessly hunting the Archangel members who attacked his kin, murdering his mother and sister.

When a new contract comes in and the mark is a snow leopard shifter, he can’t resist venturing into the mortal world on a personal mission to find out why one from a normally peaceful species now has a price on their head. What he finds in a rundown nightclub isn’t quite what he expects—a beautiful snow leopard female that awakens a fierce hunger inside him.

Aya has spent seventeen years living in London, immersed in the underbelly of the fae world, keeping her head down and her tail out of trouble. But when trouble walks right into her life in the form of a sinfully handsome, dangerous assassin, she is pulled into a whirlwind of events that stir up the nightmares of her past but might just give her a shot at putting those ghosts to rest—if she can resist the dark allure of a male she knows is her fated mate.

Can Harbin and Aya resist the passionate fire that blazes between them as they chase the vengeance they both crave? Or will they surrender to their deepest desires?
Thoughts on Marked by an Assassin: This book is a little more complicated than some of the previous books. We're seeing some serious overlap on the intertwined storylines now (Kyter, Cavanaugh, and Loke's books to name a few) and keeping straight what's happened in those books keeps you on your toes.

That said, I always love revisiting old favorites so the events that bring all these characters together make me smile.

On top of the overlapping timelines, Harbin and Aya have a pretty fundamental misunderstanding at one point that muddies the waters even more. (and I'm going to be purposefully vague here so as not to give anything away.) Let's just say Harbin believes one thing that's VERY untrue while Aya is dealing with some misconceptions about Harbin that aren't exactly on the up and up.

Lies, perceived betrayal, pain, and heartache lead to some very tangled emotions. Especially when you throw in some smokin' sexual tension and the mating hunger the shifters go through when they meet their one and only.

Dark and sexy, I'm loving this series. And might I just say, I REALLY hope Fuery finds a way out of his dark place. Poor guy.

Thursday, November 26, 2015

Happy Thanksgiving!

To all my American readers, I hope you have a lovely, booze-soaked day as you deal with multitudes of family and lots of food!

I'll have a drink or two for you, if nothing else!

And may tomorrow's shopping be stress-free and fruitful!

Wednesday, November 25, 2015

Found at the Library by Christi Snow [Review]

 Found at the Library by Christi Snow
Found at the Library (Found #1) by Christi Snow
Format: ebook
Source: provided through NetGalley
Date read: October 10, 2015

1. Found at the Library - Paperback | Kindle
2. Found at the Bookstore

Christi Snow
Website | Twitter | Facebook | Amazon |

Synopsis (Goodreads):
His entire life, Tommy Garrett has dealt with self-doubts. He thought he’d conquered the majority of them until a chance meeting with an author brought his illiteracy to the forefront...again. Growing up with un-diagnosed dyslexia has left Tommy barely able to read, but books are his Nirvana. Now he spends his life creating art dedicated to the love of those “untouchable” items.

Robert McIntyre, Mac, is a best-selling, highly celebrated author. But his point of view has become a little bit too narrow...until Tommy opens his eyes. That chance meeting has changed everything about his world. He has no idea how to find the beautiful man he met, and offended, at the library book sale. But when he does, Tommy’s life is in crisis-mode. It’s the holidays and Mac can’t just standby when Tommy needs help, whether Tommy wants it or not.

Two artistic men. One shared passion for books.

Life is hard, and sometimes when conflict arises you have to write your own plot twist to pull yourself out of the fray.
Thoughts on Found at the Library: I really liked this one. It was Tommy who sucked me in. Tommy who stole my heart. Tommy who learned to turn his love of books into something monumentally awesome. Which isn't to say Mac was anything to sneeze at. Mac was pretty cool. But the things Tommy was dealing with got to me. From the way he blamed himself for his brother's issues to how he had a hard time asking for help.

Mac barging into his life (and seducing his cat, LOL!) was the absolute best thing possible for him. That he was hurt by Mac's actions (There's a thing that happens. A THING. You'll have to read the book to see what I'm talking about) and made Mac rethink things he's always taken for granted made me nod.

The parallels between Mac and Tommy's relationship and the characters in the book Mac was writing on the sly made my inner writer giddy. I love when authors are able to weave together two different threads and give them weight. Mac's obsession with this book and his desire to give it the ending both it and he needed worked for me. I don't know if I could hit the deadlines Mac did and still have feeling in my fingers, but I appreciated how driven he was to get it right.

Authors. They're basshit crazy sometimes and you just have to nod and smile.