Saturday, June 25, 2016

Spotlight on... Game On by Kristen Callihan

This is one of my HANDS-DOWN favorite new adult series. It's sexy as hell and it feels painfully realistic at times. Also, the covers make me drool. HELLO, MUSCLES!

 The Hook Up by Kristen Callihan
The Hook Up (Game On #1)
The rules: no kissing on the mouth, no staying the night, no telling anyone, and above all... No falling in love

Anna Jones just wants to finish college and figure out her life. Falling for star quarterback Drew Baylor is certainly not on her to do list. Confident and charming, he lives in the limelight and is way too gorgeous for his own good. If only she could ignore his heated stares and stop thinking about doing hot and dirty things with him. Easy right?

Too bad he's committed to making her break every rule...

Football has been good to Drew. It's given him recognition, two National Championships, and the Heisman. But what he really craves is sexy yet prickly Anna Jones. Her cutting humor and blatant disregard for his fame turns him on like nothing else. But there's one problem: she's shut him down. Completely.

That is until a chance encounter leads to the hottest sex of their lives, along with the possibility of something great. Unfortunately, Anna wants it to remain a hook up. Now it's up to Drew to tempt her with more: more sex, more satisfaction, more time with him. Until she's truly hooked. It's a good thing Drew knows all about winning.
 The Friend Zone by Kristen Callihan
The Friend Zone (Game On #2)
Gray doesn’t make friends with women. He has sex with them. Until Ivy.

The last thing star tight-end Gray Grayson wants to do is drive his agent’s daughter’s bubblegum pink car. But he needs the wheels and she’s studying abroad. Something he explains when she sends him an irate text to let him know exactly how much pain she’ll put him in if he crashes her beloved ride. Before he knows it, Ivy Mackenzie has become his best texting bud. But then Ivy comes home and everything goes haywire. Because the only thing Gray can think of is being with Ivy.

Ivy doesn’t have sex with friends. Especially not with a certain football player. No matter how hot he makes her…

Gray drives Ivy crazy. He’s irreverent, sex on a stick, and completely off limits. Because, Ivy has one golden rule: never get involved with one of her father’s clients. A rule that’s proving harder to keep now that Gray is doing his best to seduce her. Her best friend is fast becoming the most irresistible guy she’s ever met.

Which means Gray is going to have to use all his skills to get himself out of the friend zone and into Ivy’s heart. Game on
 The Game Plan by Kristen Callihan
The Game Plan (Game On #3)
A beard-related dare and one hot-as-hell kiss changes everything.

NFL center Ethan Dexter’s focus has always been on playing football and little else. Except when it comes to one particular woman. The lovely Fiona Mackenzie might not care about his fame, but she’s also never looked at him as anything more than one of her brother-in-law’s best friend. That ends now.

Fi doesn’t know what to make of Dex. The bearded, tattooed, mountain of man-muscle looks more like a biker than a football player. Rumor has it he’s a virgin, but she finds that hard to believe. Because from the moment he decides to turn his quiet intensity on her she’s left weak at the knees and aching to see his famous control fully unleashed.

Dex is looking for a forever girl, but they live vastly different lives in separate cities. Fi ought to guard her heart and walk away. But Dex has upped his game and is using all his considerable charm to convince Fi he's her forever man.

Game On
Kristen Callihan
|  Website | Twitter | Facebook | Amazon |

Friday, June 24, 2016

Kilt in Space by Ella Drake [Review]

 Kilt in Space by Ella Drake
Kilt in Space (Space Grit #2) by Ella Drake
Format: ebook
Source: purchased
Date read: March 13, 2016

Space Grit
1. Black Ice Heart
2. Kilt in Space - Kindle
3. Freeker
4. Willing Skin
5. Killer Mate

Ella Drake
Website | Twitter | Facebook | Amazon |

Synopsis (Goodreads):
A shy monster accidently scares the ship engineer. Not exactly the way he wanted to catch her attention.

***

Ursula is no stranger to big, snarly aliens. Heart-sister and ship engineer for her brothers, the Scoriah, she's used to claws, fangs, and vicious fighting. On board their new spacefaring cargo hauler, they find everything they need: Smuggling holes, plenty of room, and a brand new engine Ursula can't wait to get to know. But they find something extra on board. A monster that frightens even the intrepid Ursula.

Left by the previous crew, Grendel wants nothing more than to escape the monsters who've taken over his ship. Remaining hidden isn't an option for Grendel when the intriguing new engineer misses a crucial problem with the internal systems. Now, it's find a way to approach Ursula or they're all going to die.
Thoughts on Kilt in Space: Grendel is one of those adorable monster/men I can get behind. His shyness got to me. The fact he stayed on a deserted ship because it was the only home he'd ever known made me wibbly. That he knew his looks tended to scare people...poor guy.

Fortunately for him, Ursula is used to those who aren't exactly normal looking. Being around her Scoriah brothers has forced her to look beyond the surface. She sees Grendel's gentleness nearly from the beginning (sure, the first few times she glimpsed him, he scared her, but it was mostly because she wasn't expecting to see ANYONE when she caught sight of him, nor because of what he looked like) and draws him out with kindness.

I'm reading this series out of order (oops!), but I liked the hints we got of how the Scoriah interact and how surly Tee is. I like that dude. He's extra snarly. Here's to more hookups in future installments.

Thursday, June 23, 2016

Pieces of Hate by Tim Lebbon [Review]

 Pieces of Hate by Tim Lebbon
Pieces of Hate (Assassin #2) by Tim Lebbon
Format: ebook
Source: provided through NetGalley
Date read: March 14, 2016

Assassin
1. Dead Man's Hand
2. Pieces of Hate - Paperback | Kindle
3. Whisper of Southern Lights

Tim Lebbon
Website | Amazon |

Synopsis (Goodreads):
During the Dark Ages, a thing named Temple slaughtered Gabriel's family. A man with snake eyes charged him to pursue the assassin wherever he may strike next, and destroy him. Gabriel never believed he’d still be following Temple almost a thousand years later.

Because Temple may be a demon, the man with snake eyes cursed Gabriel with a life long enough to hunt him down. Now he has picked up Temple's scent again. The Caribbean sea is awash with pirate blood, and in such turmoil the outcome of any fight is far from certain.
Thoughts on Pieces of Hate: I'm a sucker for a good play on words and the title of this one tickled my funny bone. Not that Gabriel and Temple's battles are anything to laugh about, but I like to take my giggles where I can get them.

So. The high seas, a demon, and a man with a whole lot of hate in his heart. Where book 1 kept us out of Gabriel's head, this book sticks us smack dab in the middle of it and we get to see both the regret Gabriel had over his calling and how badly he burns to carve his ounce of flesh from Temple. Gabriel can see how it's eating at him, too. He's caught between a horrific past and a bleak future and neither of them offer him any sort of peace.

Nicely bloody with some awesomely brutal imagery, I genuinely liked how unapologetically gritty Gabriel's battle against Temple is. Those two don't pull their punches when they come together and anyone in the line of fire is in jeopardy.

Wednesday, June 22, 2016

Dead Man's Hand by Tim Lebbon [Review]

 Dead Man's Hand by Tim Lebbon
Dead Man's Hand (Assassin #1) by Tim Lebbon
Format: ebook
Source: provided through NetGalley
Date read: March 8, 2016

Assassin
1. Dead Man's Hand - Paperback
2. Pieces of Hate
3. Whisper of Southern Lights

Tim Lebbon
| Website | Amazon |

Synopsis (Goodreads):
Doug is a just a normal guy. He lives in Deadwood, runs a store, and does his best to keep away from trouble when it rides into town. But when trouble comes looking for him - in the shape of a one-eyed, wounded gunfighter called Gabriel - Doug is drawn into his skewed world. Because Gabriel is here to find and kill Temple, a man he says is much more than a man. He's a demon. A demon with a particular mission in mind.
Thoughts on Dead Man's Hand: (This short was included as part of book 2, Pieces of Hate, from NetGalley. I'm uncertain if it's available in any other format.) (PS. This cover terrifies me.)

For me, this story was reminiscent of the early Dark Tower books by Stephen King. Gabriel's been hunting Temple for so long he's practically becoming the creature he hunts. He sends Doug to what could easily have been his doom without giving it much thought. For him, vengeance is everything and those already touched by Temple's madness are as good as dead.

Frankly, I don't think Gabriel got a good deal out of this. He's a mess. His every run in with the demon seems to leave him even more battered. He's the type of guy you'd run screaming from if you ever met him in a dark alley. Or maybe I'm just saying that because he has that whole eye thing going on. *shudder*

Extremely good and an intriguing glimpse into a world where the lines between good and evil look to be a little blurred.

Tuesday, June 21, 2016

Top Off Tuesday - The sexy sci-fi calls to me!

I've taken over the Top Off Tuesday meme (formerly hosted by Felicia, Christi and Amanda).

Why? Because I can't resist gratuitous shirtless covers. Nothing says Tuesday like flashing some skin, amirite?!?!

Good GRAVY. YES ON SO MANY LEVELS.

 Time Thief by Anna Hackett
Time Thief (Anomaly #1) by Anna Hackett
Hunted for her ability to steal time, Bay North lives a life on the run. All she wants is to make the crime lord who slaughtered her family pay. But now he’s set the ultimate hunter on her trail and Bay will need all her skills to carry out her revenge and survive.

Ex-Navy SEAL Sean Archer saw his team killed by a time thief in Afghanistan and came back a broken man. He’s made a dark deal with a criminal to hunt down all time thieves and now Sean’s tracked the wily Bay North to Denver where he plans to rid the world of one more dangerous mutation.

But during a shootout, hunter and hunted find themselves depending on each other for survival. Joining forces to exact payback by stealing a priceless treasure, their reluctant alliance shatters both their defenses. Can Bay find the courage to trust? And can Sean convince a woman honed in revenge that she can have more than vengeance, blood and killing?

Monday, June 20, 2016

Possessed by a Dark Warrior by Felicity Heaton [Review]

 Possessed by a Dark Warrior by Felicity Heaton
Possessed by a Dark Warrior (Eternal Mates #9) by Felicity Heaton
Format: ebook
Source: provided by the author for an honest review
Date read: April 11, 2016

Eternal Mates
1. Kissed by a Dark Prince
2. Claimed by a Demon King
3. Tempted by a Rogue Prince
4. Hunted by a Jaguar
5. Craved by an Alpha
6. Bitten by a Hellcat
7. Taken by a Dragon
8. Marked by an Assassin
9. Possessed by a Dark Warrior - Paperback | Kindle
10. Awakened by a Demoness
11. Haunted by the King of Death

Felicity Heaton
Website | Twitter | Facebook | Amazon |

Synopsis (Goodreads):
A powerful warrior and commander of the dark elf legions, Bleu is a loyal and devoted male, and one who has never failed in anything—except one thing. Love. When an elusive female dragon shifter surfaces in Hell again, giving him a mission to hurl himself into, he gladly returns to his hunt for her and the deadly blade she stole from his prince seven centuries ago, but as he closes in on his prey, fate reveals she is far more than his enemy.

Having escaped from the black market arena and her life as a slave, Taryn sets her sights back on the task she began seven hundred years ago when her brother stole a precious sword, but in the three centuries she’s been a captive, everything has changed. Corrupted by a craving for power, her brother has become dangerously obsessed with finding the blade and using it to claim the ultimate treasure—the position of King of Hell.

Faced with having to end her beloved twin to stop him from bringing all of Hell to its knees before him, will Taryn be strong enough to use the very blade he seeks against him? And when Bleu finally catches his elusive prey, will he listen to his head as it demands he complete his mission or his heart as it demands he claim his eternal mate?
Thoughts on Possessed by a Dark Warrior: Bleu's story is one that feels like it's been a long time coming. He's been the fierce, quietly tormented force behind the elven throne since book 1 and he comes across as harsh at times and utterly dedicated to his prince. When we met up with his sister, we saw another aspect of his loyalty, but he had a hard time showing softer emotions.

Which makes him admitting to finding his mate a rocky journey. Well worth it, but rocky.

So. Taryn. The lady has some issues she needs to work through. Understandably so. I mean, she was held captive for THREE CENTURIES. She's endured, but her sanity is holding on by a thread. Being free isn't all it's cracked up to be, either, since she has to hunt down her brother and try to stop him from causing even more damage to their people and others Hell.

To say she has a tough road in front of her might be understating it.

Good thing she has a certain persistent elf to keep her grounded. And on her toes. And wanting things she thinks she can never have.

We get to revisit more than a few couples we've met before and get introduced to some new faces. All in all, it's a rollicking good time. With dragons. And Elves. And sexiness. *slow thumbs up*

Sunday, June 19, 2016

RtP Week in Review (06/19/16)

Reading the Paranormal's Week in Review
Bookish Delights
Globetrotting...