Tuesday, September 2, 2014

Top Off Tuesday - Yesssss!

I've decided to join Felicia, Christi and Amanda for their gratuitous shirtless covers on Tuesdays. Because nothing says Tuesday like flashing some skin! Hop over to Felicia's blog to see who else is participating!

Yessssss! More Sector Four GOODNESS for us to ogle. Good gravy, Kit Rocha gives us some purty covers!

Beyond Possesion (Beyond #5.5) by Kit Rocha
Tatiana Stone has worked hard to establish herself as one of Sector Four's most skilled crafters. All she wants is peace--but the sins of her father haunt her. He ruled the sector as a petty tyrant before the O'Kane takeover, and plenty of people harbor bitter memories of his cruelty. Especially now that Tatiana’s beloved baby sister has fallen in with a man who wants to start a revolution.

Zan failed his boss once, and it won't happen again. So when Dallas O'Kane asks him to defuse the rebellion brewing in the sector, he’ll do whatever it takes to get the job done--including seduce Tatiana.  It’s the perfect opportunity to get closer to the pretty crafter and complete his mission. But what he discovers is a fiery, passionate woman--and an affair that could destroy them both.

Monday, September 1, 2014

Hotter Than Helltown by S.M. Reine [Review]

Hotter Than Helltown by S.M. Reine
Hotter Than Helltown (Preternatural Affairs #3) by S.M. Reine
Format: ebook
Source: provided by the author for an honest review
Date read: June 23, 2014

Preternatural Affairs
1. Witch Hunt
2. Silver Bullet
3. Hotter Than Helltown - Paperback | Kindle

S.M. Reine
| Website | Twitter | Facebook | Amazon |

Synopsis (Goodreads):
A killer is mutilating bodies in Los Angeles. Agent Cèsar Hawke is on the case, but the murderer is ahead of him--way ahead of him.

Wiping the memories of the dead so that the team's necrocognitive can't talk to them? Done. Preventing magical reconstruction of the crime scenes? Oh yeah. And the murders keep getting more brutal while Cèsar struggles to catch up.

The best way to heat up a cold case is to go to Helltown, where Los Angeles's most powerful evil hides out, but even those demons are afraid of the murderer. Their fear adds one more question to the growing pile of unknowns:

What kind of bad guy is too hot for Helltown?
Thoughts on Hotter Than Helltown: Good gravy, I adore the world S.M. Reine has created with this series. I love the way everything is interconnected and that the bad guys aren't always black and white. And that BIG THINGS happen that tie into the Descent and Ascension series. *swoon*

Cèsar. Oh, Cèsar. He might not be the best witch in the world, but he has buckets of luck on his side and he seems to know all the right people. Or the wrong people. You know, depending on what side of Helltown he's standing in.

As it turns out, Cèsar isn't quite as bad at that witchy thing as he thinks. He just does things a little more unconventionally than his fellow witches. That includes tromping into Helltown and trusting a woman who can get answers from the dead. Or maybe I mean lusting over. Heh. I like when Cèsar loses his higher brain functions around Isobel.

Bottom line: This here is one badass series that just keeps getting better. S.M. Reine never fails to entertain and I sort of love seeing the other side of OPA.

Sunday, August 31, 2014

RtP Week in Review (08/31/14)

Reading the Paranormal's Week in Review
Bookish Delights
Globetrotting...
Check it out!
  • Seriously Series weekly update: Looking good! I'm on track to hit my numbers by the end of the quarter!
    • Series started in 2014: 14/18 (+0 since last week)
    • Series started before 2014: 12/18 (+2 since last week)
    • Series rereads: 7/9 (+0 since last week)

Saturday, August 30, 2014

Write On Review-a-thon [7]

Write On Review-a-Thon
It's time for some review writin'! That's right, folks, the Write On review-a-thon is back and I'm going to get my currently reading shelf down to... umm, what I'm actually currently reading. Because right now there are several books I've read but haven't reviewed yet.

What is the Write On review-a-thon? you ask. Allow me to have Brianna explain...

From The Book Vixen:
The Write On review-a-thon is a monthly event created and hosted by Brianna at The Book Vixen. It’s 2 days dedicated to getting reviews done, whether you have one review to write or 30+. This edition of the review-a-thon takes place all day Saturday, August 30th and Sunday, August 31st. Let’s get those reviews done!
Yeah. I have reviews to write. Six of them, if my calculations are correct. So. Gonna try to knock these bad boys out today.
  • Dangerous Calling by A.J. Larrieu (NG)
  • Single Wolf Female by Jessica Sims
  • How to Catch a Wild Viscount by Tessa Dare
  • Gun Shy by Eleri Stone
  • Doe Eyes by Staci Hart
  • The Charmer by C.J. Archer

Blog Housekeeping [44]


It's that time again! Time to polish up your blog until it shines!

POP QUIZ: When was the last time you backed up your blog? Do you own multiple blogs? Make sure they all get the back-up love!

Update:
  • review archive - are you responsible for sites other than your own? Don't forget about those
  • sidebar - check for buttons or links for events that have ended. Have any new events coming up? Now's the time to add them.
  • reading challenges - update your progress, add links to challenges where you can link up. If you're a challenge host, do you try to comment on linked reviews? Now's your chance!
  • blogrolls -  clean 'em up!
  • crosspost - do you crosspost to Amazon, B&N, Goodreads, Library Thing? Don't forget to add your reviews to Netgalley or Edelweiss if you use those sites.
  • check your subscription and social media links - if this isn't something that you normally check, now's an excellent time to make sure it's doing what it should be doing.
  • check your static pages (About, Review Policy, etc) for outdated information, broken links, etc.
  • review your profiles - when was the last time you updated your Goodreads or Facebook profiles? Is everything up to date?
Get ahead:
  • We're at the end of August. Have you planned ahead for next month? What can you do NOW to make September easier? Do what you can when you have a few minutes to spare so you don't feel overwhelmed later.
Misc:
  • respond to review requests and other bloggy emails
  • check your spam folder - legitimate emails can sometimes slip through, catch them now.
  • check the spam filter on the blog - get rid of the spam! save the legits!
  • make the rounds - check back on blogs where you left comments, maybe spread a few new comments around like candy.
Did you do everything that applies to you? Well done! Now...

BACK UP YOUR BLOG!
 
The next Blog Housekeeping is scheduled for 9/13! I hope to see you there!

Friday, August 29, 2014

The Remnant: Into the Collision by P.A. Douglas [Review}

The Remnant: Into the Collision by P.A. Douglas
The Remnant: Into the Collision by P.A. Douglas
Format: ebook
Source: provided by the author for an honest review
Date read: May 16, 2014


P.A. Douglas
| Website | Twitter | Facebook | Amazon | Paperback | Kindle |

Synopsis (Goodreads):
The end does not come with a whisper, but with a big bang.

It has been months coming and it is finally here. Astrologers have predicted that the meteors aren't going to hit. But that fact doesn’t help much for the fear filled panic that floods the streets worldwide in the weeks leading to the catastrophic boom.

Forced out of his home by the chaos and rioting, Byron Russo finds himself on the run. All of the survival horror novels that he has read tell him to stock up and lay low. In the process of raiding supplies at a local grocery store Byron bands together with an unlikely cast of characters.

But surviving the panic is the least of their worries. After hunkering down at the Templeton Factory where Byron works, the worst has only begun.

The meteor shower strikes the moon, shifting it off its natural axes. The moon is larger. The floods have started. Plant life is dying. And the oxygen levels are changing.

No one can breathe.

With the use of the factory supplies will Byron and his new friends survive the new world, or will they fall to a much darker element that lurks in their own backyard?
Thoughts on The Remnant: Into the Collision: I love a good apocalyptic tale. One where very bad things happen to otherwise good people just because. I must say, this book delivered on that.

When the world falls apart, Byron is well on his way to joining most everyone else. He doesn't have more than a flimsy plan to hide out at his work and he's been holed up in his house long enough he has NO CLUE what's been going on in the world in the weeks before the meteors arrive. A lucky run-in with a small group helps him survive the first wave of panic. Or maybe it's the second. One could argue the first wave started when he was sitting on his couch in a stupor watching everything happen on TV.

The point is he finds a place with the motley group of survivors. Although they survive what happens, there's little more than slow death waiting for them as oxygen levels decrease and bad, bad men take to the streets.

Honestly, as much as I love the actual apocalyptic side of stories like this, it's the slow decline of the survivors' mental states that fascinates me. They all deal with what's happened in different ways. They grieve and fall apart and then try to pull themselves back together. Some don't manage it. Some don't bother trying at all.

And that's when the fun begins. You know, if you measure fun by how batshitcrazy! people can be. Apocalypse!YAY! *ahem* Right. I like the chaos. It works for me.

Thursday, August 28, 2014

Linden Manor by Catherine Cavendish [Review]

Linden Manor (What Waits in the Shadows) by Catherine Cavendish
Linden Manor (What Waits in the Shadows) by Catherine Cavendish
Format: ebook
Source: provided by the author for an honest review
Date read: April 28, 2014

What Waits in the Shadows
Linden Manor - Kindle
Blood Red Roses
Bootleg Cove
Castle by the Sea

Catherine Cavendish
| Website | Twitter | Facebook | Amazon |

Synopsis (Goodreads):
"Have you ever been so scared your soul left your body? "

All her life, Lesley Carpenter has been haunted by a gruesome nursery rhyme The Scottish Bride sung to her by her great grandmother. To find out more about its origins, Lesley visits the mysterious Isobel Warrender, the current hereditary owner of Linden Manor, a grand house with centuries of murky history surrounding it.

But her visit transforms into a nightmare when Lesley sees the ghost of the Scottish bride herself, a sight that, according to the rhyme, means certain death. The secrets of the house slowly reveal themselves to Lesley, terrible secrets of murder, evil and a curse that soaks the very earth on which Linden Manor now stands. But Linden Manor has saved its most chilling secret for last.
Thoughts on Linden Manor: Another nicely creepy tale by Catherine Cavendish. She gives good ghosts, man. And good spook. Just the whole horror thing. It works for me.

My take away from this book is that if your mom tells you doing something is a bad idea, listen to her. Especially when it comes to spooky old manor houses and creepy nursery rhymes. LISTEN TO HER. Moms are smart. They know when BAD THINGS are going to happen.

So. Lesley. She's curious about a piece of her past, but ends up getting a whole lot more than a paper out of her research. The idea that you can't know someone's intentions until you have the whole picture gave this book a nicely mind-bending twist. From the moment Lesley stepped into Linden Manor, she was caught by the house's secrets.

I liked that.

And the ending. Oh, the ending. I liked that, too. *thumbs up* all around.