Sunday, February 1, 2015

RtP Week in Review (02/01/15)

Reading the Paranormal's Week in Review
Bookish Delights
Globetrotting...

Saturday, January 31, 2015

Pleasure Cruise by Michelle M. Pillow & Mandy M. Roth [Review]

 Pleasure Cruise by Michelle M. Pillow & Mandy M. Roth
Pleasure Cruise (Pleasure Cruise #1) by Michelle M. Pillow & Mandy M. Roth
Format: ebook
Source: free Kindle download 11/14/14
Date read: November 21, 2014

Pleasure Cruise
1. Pleasure Cruise - Kindle
2. Date With Destiny
3. Pleasure Island

Michelle M. Pillow
| Website | Twitter | Facebook | Amazon |

Mandy M. Roth
Website | Twitter | Facebook | Amazon |

Synopsis (Goodreads):
Clare needs to loosen up and have some fun--not to mention some hot sex with someone other than herself. Her best friend, Kira, knows exactly what she needs--a vacation full of hunky single men who'll knock her panties off. When she booked the cruise for Clare's birthday, the travel agent left out one tiny detail. It's a supernatural cruise, and they aren't getting off until they're married.

The powers that be are tired of waiting for the supernatural to find their own mates and reproduce. In a desperate act to get the dwindling population back up, they've decided to take matters into their own hands. Dominik, a lycan, and Braden, a vampire, are just the two perfect candidates to start this experiment. They're sexy, in the prime of their reproductive immortal lives and ready to mate--just as soon as they can seduce their unsuspecting brides, or at the very least, keep them from swimming back to shore.

Rating: Contains graphic sexual content, adult language, and violence.This book is an erotic title. That means it's super, mega hot and full of steamy, melt your sock off sex. If that isn't for you, you should move along to a less steamy title.
Thoughts on Pleasure Cruise: I... didn't love this book. Not by a lot. This is mostly due to Clare's BFF Kira and her irritating disregard for Clare's feelings and/or well being. While it could be argued that Clare ultimately ended up getting what she wanted/needed because of Kira's actions, I just found myself annoyed beyond belief every time she'd open her mouth.

This was a case where a single character ruined what would have otherwise been an enjoyable read.

Although, to be fair, I was also a little weirded out by how both Dominick and Braden kept secrets from Clare and Kira. And the whole claiming thing where any unclaimed human could be claimed by a supernatural was off-putting.

Huh. I guess I didn't like this book at all. On the surface, it looks like I should. A pleasure cruise full of supernaturals waiting to get hooked up with their fated mate is right up my alley. But no. This book didn't do it for me.

Friday, January 30, 2015

Rock the Heart by Michelle A. Valentine [Review]

 Rock the Heart by Michelle A. Valentine
Rock the Heart (Black Falcon #1) by Michelle A. Valentine
Format: ebook
Source: purchased
Date read: November 12, 2014

Black Falcon
1. Rock the Heart - Paperback | Kindle
1.5. Rock the Band
2. Rock My Bed
2.5. Rock My World
3. Rock the Beat
4. Rock My Body

Michelle A. Valentine
| Website | Twitter | Facebook | Amazon |

Synopsis (Goodreads):
For the last four years, good girl Lane has regretted breaking up with Noel Falcon. She thought she was sensible when she told him his dreams of being a rock star would get him nowhere, but now that he's a rock god and her career is stagnant, she realizes just how wrong she was. When Noel hires the marketing company where Lane is an intern, she’s forced to see him again. If she wants to land her dream job as executive within the company, she has to win him over and secure his account. Too bad Noel is still pissed at her for breaking his heart.

When Lane’s company flies her to a Black Falcon concert to gain Noel’s attention, emotions run high the moment she sees him and realizes she’s far from over him. But Noel’s countless trysts with groupies and his cocky attitude make Lane believe he isn’t the same guy she once loved—now he seems to only want her body. Then after Lane discloses she needs him to procure a job, Noel proves he’s a changed man by forcing her to go on the road with him in order to get it.

After Lane reluctantly takes Noel up on his offer, she becomes willing to do whatever it takes to keep him satisfied, even if it means succumbing to his seductive ways. Lane soon finds deception is a dangerous game and she’s not the only one playing.
Thoughts on Rock the Heart: I liked this book overall, but a lot of what Noel did to get Lane back felt very manipulative. And, yeah, I get that he was desperate and only wanted to convince her to stay with him, but... ouch. The lying alone would have been a deal breaker for me, but I'm kinda vindictive and mean. Clearly Lane is a better person than I am.

(As an aside, I'm going back and forth in my head between calling her Lane and Lanie. Really, the only one who calls her Lane is Noel, but the blurb has Lane, so I'm sticking to it.)

Now, there was a point in this book where I had a full-on "do I really want to finish this?" moment. It's the secrets, guys. THE SECRETS. No one wants to find out they've been played a fool by someone they trusted and Lane's heartbreak over finding out Noel's secrets kinda hurt. While secrets are often a mainstay in romances, I'm not the hugest fan of them. Especially when the heroine could have VERY easily ferreted them out if she'd only been slightly curious about him and run a Google search.

(I'm going to handwave the lack of googling, though. Don't ask me why, I don't have an answer.)

So. Noel. Like I said, a lot of what he did felt manipulative. Using her contract against her to keep her nearby. Pushing her for a relationship when he had things going on in his life that were CLEARLY going to cause issues down the line didn't sit well with me. Yeah, I get where he was coming from because of his daddy-issues, but I don't understand how he thought things were going to play out down the line because the thing he was hiding wasn't something that could remain hidden forever.

Despite all my griping, I did like the book. The members of Black Falcon are engaging and Noel and Lane's romance had steam. I have the next couple books in this series already and I can't wait to see how Riff convinces his lady he's willing to be faithful. Because that boy has some issues of his own going on.

Thursday, January 29, 2015

Wolf's Song by Taryn Kincaid [Review]

 Wolf's Song by Taryn Kincaid
Wolf's Song (Black Hills Wolves #4) by Taryn Kincaid
Format: ebook
Source: provided by the author for an honest review
Date read: December 16, 2014

Black Hills Wolves
1. Wolf's Return
2. What a Wolf Wants
3. Black Hills Desperado
4. Wolf's Song - Kindle

Taryn Kincaid
Website | Twitter | Facebook | Amazon |

Synopsis (Goodreads):
Ten years ago, visions of death and the babble of lupine voices in his head, drove lone wolf Brick Northridge to challenge his cruel and greedy pack alpha. Beaten by the alpha’s thugs and banished from the pack, Brick lives a life of seclusion in a mountain cabin in the Black Hills.

Born into a rival clan of feline shifters, skinwalker Summer McCoy, in her guise as a raven, watches Brick from afar, giving him back a reason to live through her sweet songs and special gifts.

But when her clan attempts to tear them apart and threatens the pack that banished Brick so many years before, will their love be strong enough to withstand the forces bent on their destruction?
Thoughts on Wolf's Song: First off, I'm a sucker for werewolves. I like them surly. I like them crazed. I like when they take their clothes off and go all naked on us. So, you know, that part definitely worked for me. Because #NakedWerewolves.

As it turns out, I also like when plucky skinwalkers find a way to drag said crazed werewolf out of their funk and bring them around to living again all without ever having any face-to-face interactions. I think that speaks well to Summer's ability to deal with anything unexpected that may arise in a future relationship with a wolf who hears voices.

Which, frankly, is kinda a stink-ass gift. I mean, seeing death and hearing voices CONSTANTLY. It's no wonder the poor guy tried to go all Hulk-like on his alpha. (Also, POOR BRICK. What was done to him HURT.)

Meanwhile, I really enjoyed the slow build of their relationship. While the actual physical part hit hard and fast once they met, Summer and Brick had a lot of years to get to know one another from afar. Sure, Summer wore her animal skin and Brick was all alone on his mountain, but IT WORKED.

Bottom line, surly shapeshifters do it for me. This doesn't shock anyone, does it?

Wednesday, January 28, 2015

Quickie Reviews: Claimed by the Stag Prince and The Satyr's Mate by Elise Artez

Claimed by the Stag Prince - Kindle
Satyr's Mate - Kindle

Elise Artez
| Website | Amazon |

Monsters, whether frightening or otherwise, I just love them to pieces. 

Claimed by the Stag Prince by Elise Artez
Claimed by the Stag Prince
Format: ebook
Source: provided by the author for an honest review
Date read: October 30, 2014

Synopsis (Goodreads):
Klara’s village is in danger--if they have any hopes of surviving, she’ll have to forge an alliance with the nearby Fian clan, a group of half-man, half-stag beasts.

But to convince the clan, she’ll first have to win over the Prince of Stags, a beast notorious for his distrust of humans. What he asks of her in return is beyond unreasonable, and yet she finds herself submitting to his demands just as she has submitted to him time and time again in her dreams.

Caught up in urges she cannot control, she soon finds herself wanting more from the Stag Prince than a simple alliance--she wants him to claim her as his mate.
Thoughts on Claimed by the Stag Prince: I freely admit to being a sucker for a well-written "lady gives into her dark urges and thoroughly enjoys her sexy, naked time with a monster/shapeshifter/etc." So, yeah. This book hit the spot. (Not to mention how readily the Prince hit Klara's spot, if you know what I mean. I do enjoy when the menfolk know their way around a lady's pleasure.)

Well written with some smokin' sex (not literally. No forest fires were started during the sex scenes that I'm aware of.), Klara's Prince makes her work for the thing she wants. Although she might think it's an alliance with his clan, we all know what those sexy dreams really mean, DON'T WE?

Honestly, I got a kick out of this one and I'll be looking forward to other books by Elise Artez.


Satyr's Mate by Elise Artez
The Satyr's Mate (Satyr's Mate #1)
Format: ebook
Source: provided by the author for an honest review
Date read: October 30, 2014

Synopsis (Amazon):
Love between a satyr and a human was forbidden...

Callista wanted nothing to do with the Vineclan satyr...

When her sister goes missing on the eve of her wedding, Callista blames the nearby satyr clans. Unable to access he satyr territories on her own, she grudgingly teams up with the one satyr who's willing to help her: The young, startlingly handsome Demetri.

Demetri was just trying to find a way to save his people...

With no nymphs to be found, Demetri has taken it upon himself to bring new females to his clan. When he discovers the nearby Mossclan satyr have courted human women from the nearby villages, he resolves to do the same. But in meeting the fiery, stubborn Callista, he gets more than he bargained for.

As they're forced to rely on each other, will passion consume them both?
Thoughts on The Satyr's Mate: Probably my only complaint about this book is that I don't have the next book in my hands already because I MUST KNOW WHAT HAPPENS NEXT!

With some nicely developed world building and characterization, this is more than just a story about a monster on girl boning. Yep, Demetri takes the time to woo Callista. He worms his way under her defenses by offering to help her find her sister and being rather gentlemanly despite his obvious want. And, yeah, maybe he has an ulterior motive in getting to know her and her human customs, but there's something between the two of them.

Something like the potential for a relationship. Added bonus, I do love books where the dude knows a lady's his as soon as he meets her.

Did I mention that I MUST KNOW WHAT HAPPENS NEXT?

Tuesday, January 27, 2015

Top Off Tuesday - I'm inspired, that's for sure!

I've taken over the Top Off Tuesday meme (formerly hosted by Felicia, Christi and Amanda). Why? Because I can't resist gratuitous shirtless covers. Nothing says Tuesday like flashing some skin, amirite?!?!

I... am incredibly smitten with this cover. Nips, muscles, and tattoos. The trifecta has been achieved!

 Ink Inspired by Carrie Ann Ryan
Ink Inspired (Montgomery Ink #0.5) by Carrie Ann Ryan
Shepard Montgomery loves the feel of a needle in his hands, the ink that he lays on another, and the thrill he gets when his art is finished, appreciated, and loved. At least that’s the way it used to be. Now he’s struggling to figure out why he’s a tattoo artist at all as he wades through the college frat boys and tourists who just want a thrill, not a permanent reminder of their trip. Once he sees the Ice Princess walk through Midnight Ink’s doors though, he knows he might just have found the inspiration he needs.

Shea Little has spent her life listening to her family’s desires. She went to the best schools, participated in the most proper of social events, and almost married the man her family wanted for her. When she ran from that and found a job she actually likes, she thought she’d rebelled enough. Now though, she wants one more thing—only Shepard stands in the way. She’ll not only have to let him learn more about her in order to get inked, but find out what it means to be truly free.
Want to join in? STEP ON UP!


Monday, January 26, 2015

A Gentleman in the Street by Alisha Rai [Review]

 A Gentleman in the Street by Alisha Rai
A Gentleman in the Street by Alisha Rai
Format: ebook
Source: provided through NetGalley
Date read: December 13, 2014

Alisha Rai
| Website | Twitter | Facebook | Amazon | Kindle |

Synopsis (Goodreads):
Shameless. That’s what she was.

Billionaire businesswoman Akira Mori can get anything and anyone her heart desires. Anyone, that is, except for a certain aloof author who has been dominating her dreams for over a decade. Accustomed to Jacob Campbell’s stern disapproval, Akira has turned provocation into an art, using every trick in her arsenal to keep the man from guessing the depth of her filthy fantasies.

Shameless. That’s what she made him.

Since the moment the sexy, sultry socialite sidled up to him years ago, there hasn’t been a time when Jacob didn’t crave Akira. But as guardian to his younger siblings, responsibility has controlled his life. Confining his darkest desires to secret, stolen moments maintains his carefully disciplined world…but a cold bed is the price he pays.

A single touch is all it takes for their simmering need to explode. As secrets and fears are stripped away one by one, shame becomes a thing of the past. They find themselves becoming addicted to each other, in bed and out—a frightening prospect for a man just learning to live…and a woman who thinks she doesn’t know how to love.
Thoughts on A Gentleman in the Street: Oh, man. There were so many moments in this book that got to me. Not only is it sexy as all get, Akira and Jacob are so broken in their own ways. Except... not on the surface. They both SEEM like they have it all together. It isn't until they begin letting down their walls around one another that you see how much of a facade it really is.

Jacob, who's held himself rigidly in check nearly his entire adult life and who refuses to show Akira just how deeply she affects him. Akira, who hides her want for him under provocative, sexy confidence. They both have their demons and they both have to work through them before they can have a chance with one another.

I'm usually a sucker for repressed, damaged heroes, but I have to admit Akira's confident sexuality worked. Especially against Jacob's desires. Her willingness to be honest with herself and what she wants goes a long way in drawing Jacob out. His willingness to let go and step out of his comfort zone was pretty hot, too.

I do love a couple who enjoy pushing boundaries.

Smokin' sex, a dynamic couple, and enough tension to make the buildup steam. Man, I think I want to read it again!