Thursday, March 5, 2015

The Mane Attraction by Shelly Laurenston [Review]

 The Mane Attraction by Shelly Laurenston
The Mane Attraction (Pride #3) by Shelly Laurenston
Format: ebook
Source: purchased
Date read: December 4, 2014

Pride
0.5. Howl For It
1. The Mane Event
2. The Beast in Him
3. The Mane Attraction - Paperback | Kindle
4. The Mane Squeeze
5. Beast Behaving Badly
6. Big Bad Beast
7. Bear Meets Girl
8. Wolf with Benefits
9. Bite Me

Shelly Laurenston
Website | Amazon |

Synopsis (Goodreads):
Even the king of the beasts can find himself unexpectedly tamed by the right woman. . .

Weddings have the strangest effect on people. Exhibit 1: Sissy Mae waking up in Mitch Shaw's bed the morning after her brother Bobby Ray's nuptials. Exhibit 2: the gunmen trying to kill Mitch. Exhibit 3: Sissy Mae escorting a bleeding yet sexy lion shifter to her Tennessee Pack's turf for safe keeping. It doesn't help that Mitch's appraising gaze makes her feel like the most desirable creature on earth. . .

Mitch is an undercover cop about to testify against some dangerous ex-associates. Even more worrisome, he's harboring hot, X-rated fantasies about one fast-talking little canine--and he has to deal with every male in Sissy Mae's Pack sniffing around her in a way that makes his hackles rise. Mitch has his pride, and he intends to show Sissy Mae that when a lion sets out to make you his mate, the only thing to do is purr, roll over, and enjoy one hell of a ride. . .
Thoughts on The Mane Attraction: I honestly adore this series. The women are strong and confident, the men are willing to fight for what they want, and everyone's more than a little crazy.

Sissy is no exception. She hauls Mitch off to the one place she absolutely doesn't want to be to keep him safe. She goes toe-to-toe with her douchy brothers time and time again. She pushes and fights and does everything a half-wild Smith normally does when someone tells them something's impossible.

And then there's Mitch. I find it hard to dislike these lions. For all that the males are pampered and treated like the prime breeding specimens they are in the pride, these wolves don't let them get away with lazing around. They have to fight to keep their ladies and be willing to make concessions to their way of life.

Did I mention the crazy? Like the croc in the lake? Or the pack dominance games? Or the INSANE car races?

Man, I love this series.

Wednesday, March 4, 2015

The Beast in Him by Shelly Laurenston [Review]

 The Beast in Him by Shelly Laurenston
The Beast In Him (Pride #2) by Shelly Laurenston
Format: ebook
Source: purchased
Date read: December 1, 2014

Pride
0.5. Howl For It
1. The Mane Event
2. The Beast in Him - Paperback | Kindle
3. The Mane Attraction
4. The Mane Squeeze
5. Beast Behaving Badly
6. Big Bad Beast
7. Bear Meets Girl
8. Wolf with Benefits
9. Bite Me

Shelly Laurenston
Website | Amazon |

Synopsis (Goodreads):
Some things are so worth waiting for. Like the moment when Jessica Ward "accidentally" bumps into Bobby Ray Smith and shows him just how far she's come since high school. Back then, Jess's gangly limbs and bruised heart turn to jelly any time Smitty's "all the better to ravish you with" body came near her. So, some things haven't changed. Except now Jess is a success on her own terms. And she can enjoy a romp-or twenty-with a big, bad wolf and walk away. Easy.

The sexy, polished CEO who hires Smitty's security firm might be a million miles from the loveable geek he knew, but her kiss, her touch, is every bit as hot as he imagined. Jess was never the kind to ask for help, and she doesn't want it now, not even with someone targeting her Pack. But Smitty's not going to turn tail and run. Not before proving that their sheet-scorching animal lust is only the start of something even wilder…
Thoughts on The Beast in Him: OH MAN. Whenever I dive back into this series I'm HEARTILY reminded of how much I adore it and the crazy, bloodthirsty characters who populate this world. It makes me laugh HARD and I always want MOAR once I get to the end. (Nobody fret! I have another waiting on my Kindle, so I'm set, y'all!)

Jessie Ann's desire to act aloof around Smitty was HILARIOUS to watch. I loved how her dogs had her back and how they were willing to do whatever needed to be done to help her out. By that same token, Smitty's family, his friends, his willingness to unsheath his claws whenever he was feeling antsy left me giggling.

I just LIKE how ready and able these shifters are to smack each other around. There's something about a little bloodshed to liven up a gathering, isn't there?

As always, the characters are hilarious, the sex is smokin' (those Smith boys sure know how to bring it, don't they?), and the various situations they find themselves in kept me entertained. I love this series hard and I'm so SO happy I have the next book to pounce on.

Tuesday, March 3, 2015

Top Off Tuesday - Dreamy!

I've taken over the Top Off Tuesday meme (formerly hosted by Felicia, Christi and Amanda). Why? Because I can't resist gratuitous shirtless covers. Nothing says Tuesday like flashing some skin, amirite?!?!

Well, hello. I see you have some bulging muscles. I APPROVE!

 Darksider by Erin Kellison
Darksider (Reveler #3) by Erin Kellison
She has always been his dream…

Chef Serafina Rochan believes her recurring nightmares of pursuit are a symptom of her anxiety about opening her second restaurant. But when the stalker appears in the waking world, she swallows her pride and calls the one man she trusts to go into her dreams, even if it means risking her heart.

When Marshal Harlen Fawkes receives Sera’s call, nothing else matters. Time has not eroded the power of his feelings for her. After years apart, they go Darkside together and cannot resist the longing and desire their connection evokes. The past and present collide, and Sera abandons all reservations to embrace Harlen again, if even for one night.

In order to protect her, Harlen aligns himself with disavowed friends, and in so doing is drawn deeper into the secrets and perils of the dreamwaters. As the tide of darkness rises, Harlen faces his demons…but not without Sera, who fights just as fiercely for the dream of a life together.

Dream dangerously.
Want to play along? EXCELLENT!


Monday, March 2, 2015

If You Can't Stand the Heat by Taryn Kincaid [Review]

 If You Can't Stand the Heat by Taryn Kincaid
If You Can't Stand the Heat (Give Me a Taste #3) by Taryn Kincaid
Format: ebook
Source: provided by the author for an honest review
Date read: January 5, 2015

Give Me a Taste
1. Pinch of Me, Dash of You
2. Ember's Secret
3. If You Can't Stand the Heat - Kindle
4. A Taste of You
5. Melting Into You

Taryn Kincaid
Website | Twitter | Facebook | Amazon |

Synopsis (Goodreads):
Derek Dunne is a Cordon Bleu-trained food critic for the prestigious New York Monitor, whose scathing review of a popular Italian bistro has driven away all but the most loyal neighborhood patrons.

Lucrezia Serafina DiCicco is a clumsy business school drop-out, working as a chef and scrambling to keep her family’s restaurant afloat, after her father develops diabetes and is banned from his kitchen for his own good.

Now, with The Monitor folding, Derek is searching for his next career path and longing to get back to his first love—cooking—while Lu is desperate for an influx of cash to save the struggling restaurant even as her father puts his foot down regarding non-family employees.

Derek and Lu embark on a marriage of inconvenience to save the restaurant. But can Lu ever really trust the man who nearly destroyed her family and once noted her initials spelled “LSD” and her food was like a “bad trip?”

Or will it be their hearts on the chopping block?
Thoughts on If You Can't Stand the Heat: You know when two people have plenty of chemistry, but they let their head get in the way of acting on it? Or, well, they might act on it initially but then have some serious OMG!WHAT HAVE I DONE?!?! moments after? And then they get so stuck in the loop of trying to play it cool that they don't know how to reach out to the other person even though they REALLY want to?

BOOM. Derek and Lu. Yeah, there were times when I wanted to give Lu a good shake for being afraid to take Derek up on everything he was offering, but I also got it. It's really easy to get trapped by doubt and not know how to move forward. Especially when Lu took into account how badly Derek wanted to get into her kitchen. FYI, that's not a euphemism. He really wanted to do some cooking in her restaurant.

What I'm trying to say is that I get it. Lu had to find the courage to trust herself and her feelings for Derek before she could break out of her rut. I totally give Derek credit for continuing to push Lu when she threw up all sorts of walls. The man is definitely persistent. And very good at making breakfast.

The romance moves quickly (up until Lu made it come to a screeching halt, that is) and the food does more than fuel the body. All in all, a satisfying read.

Sunday, March 1, 2015

RtP Week in Review (03/01/15)

Reading the Paranormal's Week in Review
Bookish Delights
Globetrotting...

Saturday, February 28, 2015

Rocky Retreat by Vivian Arend [Review]

 Rocky Retreat by Vivian Arend
Rocky Retreat (Six Pack Ranch #7.5) by Vivian Arend
Format: ebook
Source: provided by the author for an honest review
Date read: January 8, 2015

Six Pack Ranch
1. Rocky Mountain Heat
2. Rocky Mountain Haven
3. Rocky Mountain Desire
4. Rocky Mountain Angel
5. Rocky Mountain Rebel
6. Rocky Mountain Freedom
7. Rocky Mountain Romance
7.5. Rocky Retreat - Paperback | Kindle
8. Rocky Mountain Shelter
9. Rocky Mountain Devil
10. Rocky Mountain Home

Vivian Arend
Website | Twitter | Facebook | Amazon |

Synopsis (Goodreads):
Finding white-hot love in a white-out…

Eight months ago, Lee Coleman met the woman of his dreams…then lost her to another man. He buried his disappointment by throwing himself into work on the family ranch, but when a winter storm leaves him stranded, Lee finds more than shelter in the rustic safety of a hunter’s cabin—he finds a second shot at love.

Rachel Malone’s heart has been broken and stomped on by her cheating ex, and she’s determined to never fall in love again. But a rebound fling? Doesn’t sound like such a bad idea, especially when she’s snowed-in with a gorgeous, sweet-talking Coleman.

Despite their off-the-charts chemistry, Lee makes it clear he wants more than a temporary romp. In fact, he’s made it his mission to put a smile back on her face, even if it means taking it slow and resisting the scorching heat between them. This time around, he wants forever, while Rachel is positive that forever is a fool’s dream.

Lee can’t wait to prove her wrong…
Thoughts on Rocky Retreat: Things I enjoy in books: Two people with loads of sexual tension being snowed in and forced to share body heat. Seriously, that's one of those THINGS that makes me pick up a book practically sight unseen. I just... love it.

AND THIS BOOK HAD THAT.

*swoons all over the place*

Okay, okay. Besides the AWESOME snowed in scenario, Lee and Rachel have some smokin' chemistry. Leery of the age difference between them, Rachel had blown him off in the past and made the colossal mistake of marrying another man. The mistake wasn't in marrying another, mind you (although Lee might argue that point), but in getting caught up in the whirlwind romance and missing the signs the now-ex was a cheater. Poor girl.

Okay, fine. The other mistake was in letting the age difference between her and Lee come between them in the first place. To be fair, Lee is an older soul than his physical age would indicate. He knows what he wants and he goes for it. And when what he wants goes for someone else, he steps aside and nurses his hurt in private. *sniffle*

Then the stars align and that SNOWED IN thing happens and all is right in the world again.

I'm loving these Coleman's. They're strong, the women they fall for are strong, and they're willing to fight for the things that matter to them. *slow thumbs up*

Friday, February 27, 2015

Rock My World by Michelle A. Valentine [Review]

 Rock My World by Michelle A. Valentine
Rock My World (Black Falcon #2.5) by Michelle A. Valentine
Format: ebook
Source: free Kindle download 11/9/14
Date read: November 29, 2014

Black Falcon
1. Rock the Heart
1.5. Rock the Band
2. Rock My Bed
2.5. Rock My World - Kindle
3. Rock the Beat
4. Rock My Body

Michelle A. Valentine
Website | Twitter | Facebook | Amazon |

Synopsis (Goodreads):
After Aubrey Jenson is wrongly dismissed from her job at Center Stage Marketing, she seeks legal advice from her father, The Judge, to see what grounds she has to get her position reinstated. Her surprise visit to her family doesn’t go as smoothly as she hopes when she brings home her new boyfriend, Zach, Black Falcon’s lead guitarist. She soon discovers that father doesn’t always know best when it comes to matters of the heart.

When Zach meets Aubrey’s family, he’s immediately faced with his deepest fear: The love he so desperately wants, he doesn’t deserve. The Judge makes no attempt to hide his disdain for Zach, and will stop at nothing to keep him away from his daughter. But an unexpected twist turns everyone’s plans upside down and no one’s world will ever be the same.

Outside forces attempting to pull them apart are strong and it’s going to take every bit of Zach and Aubrey’s love for one another to withstand the fall-out. Soon, they discover making love last is harder than finding it to begin with and sometimes you pay the ultimate price for true love.
Thoughts on Rock My World: Going into this novella, I was hoping we'd get to see more of Zach's damaged side as he continues to come to terms with the happiness he's found with Aubrey. I don't know if I got exactly what I was hoping for, but we definitely got to see more of Zach.

What I keep coming back to is that while he's committed to Aubrey and their relationship, his knee jerk reaction when things get tough is to lash out and run. He did it in their book and he did it in this novella. Sure, he came back when he was needed, but the doing something to hurt their significant other thing doesn't seem like a great start to a solid relationship.

Meanwhile, I can't say I care for Aubrey's family. Her brother's okay in the sense that he accepted Zach, but he seemed more focused on what having Riff around would do for him. On the other hand, at least he didn't try to buy Zach out of Aubrey's life. So, there's a plus.

Again, I'm not deeply in love with this series, but I'm still curious to see how things play out for Trip and Tyke.