Monday, August 31, 2015

Her Sinful Angel by Felicity Heaton [Review]

 Her Sinful Angel by Felicity Heaton
Her Sinful Angel (Her Angel #8) by Felicity Heaton
Format: ebook
Source: purchased as part of the Dark & Damaged bundle
Date read: July 4, 2015

Her Angel
1. Her Dark Angel
2. Her Fallen Angel
3. Her Warrior Angel 
4. Her Guardian Angel
5. Her Demonic Angel
6. Her Wicked Angel
7. Her Avenging Angel
8. Her Sinful Angel - Kindle

Felicity Heaton
Website | Twitter | Facebook | Amazon |

Synopsis (Goodreads):
Cast out of Heaven and now the king of Hell, Lucifer is a powerful fallen angel warrior with a heart as cold as ice and soul as black as the bottomless pit. For millennia, he has ruled his realm with an iron fist as he plots the demise of his ancient enemies. When one of those enemies dumps an unconscious mortal female in the courtyard of his fortress and leaves her there, Lucifer finds himself entranced by the beguiling beauty and tempted beyond all reason. But is the enchanting Nina an innocent pawn in the eternal game or part of a plot against him?
Thoughts on Her Sinful Angel: Lucifer's story was a surprise to me since I had thought this series was finished with book 7. A happy surprise, mind you, because the poor guy has shown a little heart in previous books and deserved to not be rotting in hell on his own. Which isn't to say he's a good guy. He is the original fallen angel and his years ruling hell have left their mark on him.

But... he's also not all bad. His interactions with Erin and her son have shown us a slightly softer side of Lucifer and it was fun watching him fall for a fragile human woman in a big way.

And by "fun", I mean sad and a little heartbreaking. Occasionally with bloodshed. Not Nina's, because Lucifer's all about protecting her. Oh, you'll see.

As always, Felicity Heaton has given us a complex, tortured hero who has to work past some major roadblocks before he figures out the woman he's trying to push away is the one for him. Yep, Lucifer has some trust issues. Who saw that coming?

Enjoyable and sexy, with some fun cameos by previous characters. Erin's wrath over one of her father's actions was pretty epic. You don't mess with a mama bear when she had a cub to feed.

You know, that's a good rule of thumb no matter how you look at it.

Bottom line, I'm glad Lucifer found someone to make his reign a little less dreary. Even the king of Hell deserves some lovin', amirite?!?!

Sunday, August 30, 2015

RtP Week in Review (08/30/15)

Reading the Paranormal's Week in Review
Bookish Delights
Globetrotting...

Friday, August 28, 2015

Enticed by Blood by Laurie London [Review]

 Enticed by Blood by Laurie London
Enticed by Blood (Sweetblood #4.5) by Laurie London
Format: ebook
Source: provided by the author for an honest review
Date read: June 15, 2015

Sweetblood
1. Bonded by Blood
1.5. Hidden by Blood
2. Embraced by Blood
3. Tempted by Blood
4. Seduced by Blood
4.5. Enticed by Blood - Kindle

Laurie London
Website | Twitter | Facebook | Amazon |

Synopsis (Goodreads):
Stockbroker Juliette Bishop gets more than she bargained for when she flies to New Orleans to handle a business matter for her ailing father and comes face to face with her former lover, the handsome, yet mysterious Andre Lescarbeau.
Thoughts on Enticed by Blood: Two things. I'd forgotten how much I enjoy the vampires in this world and that cover is verrrrrra nice. *rubs hands together and admires the sexy*

So. Juliette and Andre have a sort of complicated relationship. I say sort of because she doesn't know he's a vamp and he might have done something a little questionable when ending things with her. I mean, I guess it wasn't questionable when you take into account that he was doing what he thought he needed to do to keep himself and her safe, but... no, it's still a little underhanded. If he hadn't been torn up about doing it, he would have lost some major hero points.

But he was, so he didn't and what were we talking about again? *enjoys being purposefully vague*

Anyway. Vampires. Sometimes they just hit the spot, you know? These particular vamps do it for me.

Thursday, August 27, 2015

Curtsies & Conspiracies by Gail Carriger [Review]

 Curtsies & Conspiracies by Gail Carriger
Curtsies & Conspiracies (Finishing School #2) by Gail Carriger
Format: ebook
Source: purchased
Date read: June 14, 2015

Finishing School
1. Etiquette & Espionage
2. Curtsies & Conspiracies - Paperback | Kindle
3. Waistcoats & Weaponry
4. Manners & Mutiny

Gail Carriger
Website | Twitter | Facebook | Amazon |

Synopsis (Goodreads):
Does one need four fully grown foxgloves for decorating a dinner table for six guests? Or is it six foxgloves to kill four fully grown guests?

Sophronia's first year at Mademoiselle Geraldine's Finishing Academy for Young Ladies of Quality has certainly been rousing! For one thing, finishing school is training her to be a spy--won't Mumsy be surprised? Furthermore, Sophronia got mixed up in an intrigue over a stolen device and had a cheese pie thrown at her in a most horrid display of poor manners.

Now, as she sneaks around the dirigible school, eavesdropping on the teachers' quarters and making clandestine climbs to the ship's boiler room, she learns that there may be more to a field trip to London than is apparent at first. A conspiracy is afoot--one with dire implications for both supernaturals and humans. Sophronia must rely on her training to discover who is behind the dangerous plot-and survive the London Season with a full dance card.

In this sequel to New York Times bestselling Etiquette & Espionage, class is back in session with more petticoats and poison, tea trays and treason. Gail's distinctive voice, signature humor, and lush steampunk setting are sure to be the height of fashion this season.
Thoughts on Curtsies & Conspiracies: The second half of Sophronia's first year (or maybe it's the middle part of her first year. All I know is a lot happens to the wily girl and I see plenty more on the horizon.) is just as deadly and dangerous as the first half. With the added bonus of boys. Boys from the boiler room and a duke's son and her best friend's brother and a vampire or two.

(Where are the werewolves? I ask. Their lack is a disgrace! WHERE ARE THE WEREWOLVES!?!?! I should probably point out that the lone werewolf NEARLY made up for the lack, but my inherent love of werewolves makes me demand MOAR!)

*ahem* So. Sophronia. She's ingenious and sneaky and she can ferret out the inner secrets of the teachers and students of the school faster than anyone else. Which is fortunate because there's a lot of
STUFF going on that needs to be taken care of. I'm torn about the love triangle because as much as I like Soap, I can't see anything coming of it due to the fact that the girls are conditioned to expect they'll have their husbands picked out for them. I mean, this is a THING at the school. A THING. Like, they might be told EXACTLY who to marry to advance the cause. Or whatever.

While I like Soap, I really liked Felix. Because, well, he amuses me.

Fast paced and appropriately ridiculous at times (OMG! The NAMES! LOL!), I'm completely looking forward to the next book. Because I sense more werewolves. And that's always a plus for me.

Wednesday, August 26, 2015

The Duke and I by Julia Quinn [Review]

 The Duke and I by Julia Quinn
The Duke and I (Bridgertons #1) by Julia Quinn
Format: ebook
Source: purchased
Date read: June 11, 2015

Bridgertons
1. The Duke and I - Paperback | Kindle
2. The Viscount Who Loved Me
3. An Offer From a Gentleman
4. Romancing Mr Bridgerton
5. To Sir Phillip, With Love
6. When He Was Wicked
7. It's In His Kiss
8. On the Way to the Wedding
9. The Bridgertons: Happily Ever After

Julia Quinn
Website | Facebook | Amazon |

Synopsis (Goodreads):
Can there be any greater challenge to London's Ambitious Mamas than an unmarried duke?
— Lady Whistledown's Society Papers, April 1813


By all accounts, Simon Basset is on the verge of proposing to his best friend's sister, the lovely—and almost-on-the-shelf—Daphne Bridgerton. But the two of them know the truth—it's all an elaborate plan to keep Simon free from marriage-minded society mothers. And as for Daphne, surely she will attract some worthy suitors now that it seems a duke has declared her desirable.

But as Daphne waltzes across ballroom after ballroom with Simon, it's hard to remember that their courtship is a complete sham. Maybe it's his devilish smile, certainly it's the way his eyes seem to burn every time he looks at her... but somehow Daphne is falling for the dashing duke... for real! And now she must do the impossible and convince the handsome rogue that their clever little scheme deserves a slight alteration, and that nothing makes quite as much sense as falling in love...
Thoughts on The Duke and I: Awww. I liked this one. A lot. Simon was a little closed off and a lot messed up by his past (although he might disagree with that statement) and I LIKED him. His sudden attraction to Daphne was made even sweeter by the way he tried to ignore it because she was his best friend's sister. Oh, and the way he delighted in tormenting Anthony just made me laugh. Because that is SO a guy thing to do.

What can I say about Daphne? First off, I love her family. Mama Bridgerton is  hilariously pushy while also being a pretty awesome mom. Daphne's brothers are pretty spectacular in their desire to keep their sister and her tender heart safe. I totally appreciate the way Daphne could hold her own against them, too. As she kept pointing out, having three older brothers has made her pretty adept at standing up for herself and given her a good sense of how to score a hit (sometimes literally) that can drop a man in his tracks.

Simon was charming while also managed to pull off the brooding, tormented hero thing. Daphne knew what she wanted, but she was able to adjust her plans on the fly when circumstances changed. I liked that about her. I wanted to cry a little for her at some parts, but I like that she took the curve ball Simon threw at her and made the decision to forge forward anyway.

*slow thumbs up to tortured heroes and strong heroines*

Tuesday, August 25, 2015

Top Off Tuesday - Pucked. Niiiiiice!

I've taken over the Top Off Tuesday meme (formerly hosted by Felicia, Christi and Amanda). Why? Because I can't resist gratuitous shirtless covers. Nothing says Tuesday like flashing some skin, amirite?!?!

I read this title wrong EVERY time. I'm totally okay with that.

 Pucked by Helena Hunting
Pucked (Pucked #1) by Helena Hunting
With a famous NHL player for a step-brother, Violet Hall is well acquainted with the playboy reputation many hockey stars come with. She’s smart enough to steer clear of those hot, well-built boys with unparalleled stamina. That is until she meets the legendary team captain—Alex Waters.

Violet isn’t interested in his pretty, beat-up face, or his rock-hard six-pack abs. But when Alex inadvertently obliterates Violet’s previous misapprehension regarding the inferior intellect of hockey players, he becomes more than just a hot body with a face to match.

In what can only be considered a complete lapse in judgment, Violet finds out just how good Alex is with the hockey stick in his pants. But what starts out as a one-night stand, quickly turns into something more. Post-night of orgasmic magic, Alex starts to call, and text, and e-mail and send extravagant—and quirky—gifts, making him difficult to ignore, and even more difficult not to like.

The problem is, the media portrays Alex as a total player, and Violet doesn’t want to be part of the game.

Monday, August 24, 2015

Heat Exchange by Shannon Stacey [Review]

 Heat Exchange by Shannon Stacey
Heat Exchange (Boston Fire #1) by Shannon Stacey
Format: ebook
Source: provided by Carina Press through NetGalley
Date read: May 16, 2015

Boston Fire
1. Heat Exchange - Paperback | Kindle
2. Controlled Burn

Shannon Stacey
| Website | Twitter | Facebook | Amazon |

Synopsis (Goodreads):
Lydia Kincaid's shipping back to Boston, but she's not happy about it. She left to get away from the firefighting community—her father was a firefighter, her brother's a firefighter and, more important, her ex is a firefighter. But family is number one, and her father needs her help running the pub he bought when he retired. Soon, Lydia finds it hard to resist the familiar comfort and routine, and even harder to resist her brother's handsome friend Aidan.

Aidan Hunt is a firefighter because of the Kincaid family. He's had the hots for Lydia for years, but if ever a woman was off-limits to him, it's her. Aside from being his mentor's daughter, she's his best friend's sister. The ex-wife of a fellow firefighter. But his plan to play it cool until she leaves town again fails, and soon he and Lydia have crossed a line they can't uncross.

As Aidan and Lydia's flirtation turns into something more serious, Lydia knows she should be planning her escape. Being a firefighter's wife was the hardest thing she's ever done, and she doesn't know if she has the strength to do it again. Aidan can't imagine walking away from Boston Fire—even for Lydia. The job and the brotherhood are his life; but if he wants Lydia in it, he'll have to decide who's first in his heart.
Thoughts on Heat Exchange: I really enjoyed the family dynamics going on with this book. Lydia has some issues with the way the brotherhood always takes first place in a fire fighter's life. She's fierce when it comes to defending those she loves and she's rather uncompromising when it comes to her views.

Her views being that she won't play second fiddle to a fire fighter's job again.

So she lies to herself when she and Aidan tumble into a relationship. She sees their time together as having a built in end date since she's not sticking around Boston.

Except, she's falling for the guy. Because, you know, he's sweet and sexy and he's NOT her ex. Or her dad. Or her brother. Which is good, because EWWW.

I liked Aidan. I liked that he was willing to go for what he wanted. I liked that he was torn up about lying to Lydia's brother. I liked that he listened to Lydia and found a way to make things work.

I just liked him. Part of that might stem from the way he sheds his clothes whenever he's not working. I appreciate a man who likes to strip down when he's relaxing. It's a thing.

Sweet, sexy, and downright steamy when these two hit the sheets, I am very much looking forward to the next book.