Friday, December 19, 2014

Lead by Kylie Scott [Review]

Lead by Kylie Scott
Lead (Stage Dive #3) by Kylie Scott
Format: ebook
Source: purchased
Date read: September 9, 2014

Stage Dive
1. Lick
2. Play
3. Lead - Paperback | Kindle
4. Deep

Kylie Scott
| Website | Twitter | Facebook | Amazon |

Synopsis (Goodreads):
As the lead singer of Stage Dive, Jimmy is used to getting whatever he wants, whenever he wants it, whether it's booze, drugs, or women. However, when a PR disaster serves as a wake-up call about his life and lands him in rehab, he finds himself with Lena, a new assistant to keep him out of trouble.  

Lena's not willing to take any crap from the sexy rocker and is determined to keep their relationship completely professional, despite their sizzling chemistry. But when Jimmy pushes her too far and Lena leaves, he realizes that he may just have lost the best thing that ever happened to him.
Thoughts on Lead: Okay. I'm going to go for complete honesty here. Before I started on this book I didn't know how Jimmy and I would get along. He hasn't been the easiest of the Stage Dive boys to get to know. Ehh, wait. That phrase might be reserved for Ben. That man really doesn't like to stand in the spotlight. Jimmy, on the other hand, not only stand in the spotlight, he makes sure he shines under them.

Not always in a good way.

So, yeah. While he'd shown glimpses of the decent, good guy under all his swagger in the previous books, those glimpses were few and far between. It wasn't until he had to put up with Lena's no nonsense attitude and started spilling his secrets that I began to soften towards him.

But soften I did. Because Jimmy really is a good guy. He's screwed up, made some colossal mistakes, and nearly lost his chance at happiness, but once you saw the scared little boy under the grim faced man, it was hard to see anything else. Also, his mom is officially in the running for the Worst Mother of the Year award. On so many levels.

Let's talk about Jimmy and Lena, though. I loved Lena's tough attitude and the way she got WAY distracted by Jimmy whenever he was near. I liked watching her try to come to terms with lusting after a man who pushed all her buttons. I liked how Jimmy did all those little things to try to keep her happy. Even though he wouldn't admit it. And the dates he made Lena go on? Weirdly hilarious.

As always, the rest of the band and their lady friends ROCKED. I adore Mal. His speech as to why Jimmy and Lena weren't allowed to have sex cracked me up and was so very, very Mal. This entire band is just freaking perfection. I'm sad that only Ben is left unattached now, but I'm VERY excited to see him get his girl. *thumbs up all around*

Thursday, December 18, 2014

Play by Kylie Scott [Review]

Play by Kylie Scott
Play (Stage Dive #2) by Kylie Scott
Format: ebook
Source: purchased
Date read: September 8, 2014

Stage Dive
1. Lick
2. Play - Paperback | Kindle
3. Lead
4. Deep

Kylie Scott
| Website | Twitter | Facebook | Amazon |

Synopsis (Goodreads):
Kylie Scott returns with the highly anticipated follow-up to international bestseller Lick.

Mal Ericson, drummer for the world famous rock band Stage Dive, needs to clean up his image fast—at least for a little while. Having a good girl on his arm should do the job just fine. Mal doesn’t plan on this temporary fix becoming permanent, but he didn’t count on finding the one right girl.

Anne Rollins never thought she’d ever meet the rock god who plastered her teenage bedroom walls—especially not under these circumstances. Anne has money problems. Big ones. But being paid to play the pretend girlfriend to a wild life-of-the-party drummer couldn’t end well. No matter how hot he is. Or could it?
Thoughts on Play: I, umm, might have broken one of my cardinal rules of reading with this book. BUT I HAD TO. IT WAS MAL. I just couldn't hold off on reading him. I NEEDED TO. Because Mal.

Mal with his manic insanity and his endless enthusiasm for everything around him. Mal who found someone who accepted him and all his crazy (it's a good crazy, don't worry). Mal who JUMPED ON A BED AND BROKE IT TO PRETEND HE WAS HAVING CRAZY, ROCK STAR SEX TO THE PEOPLE NEXT DOOR. Yeah, I didn't do that scene justice there, but it is HILARIOUS.

At one point Mal is described as being a "puppy on steroids." Yeah. That. That is SO Mal. He might piddle on the floor sometimes, but you still gotta love the guy.

And Anne. Anne with her issues about love and the crazy belief she could protect her heart against someone as determined as Mal. Yeah, not going to happen. He blows into her life like a hurricane and throws it into disarray, but in the most wonderful way. He gets her living again and enjoying the little things. And he calls her Pumpkin. Which kinda made me laugh.

I know I have more books to go in the series, but I think it's going to be hard to top motormouth Mal and his lady friend who figured out how to roll with the punches. 'Cause I'm really loving them both.

Wednesday, December 17, 2014

Write On Review-a-thon [11]

 Write On Review-a-thon [11]
What is the Write On review-a-thon? you ask. Allow me to have Brianna explain...

From The Book Vixen:
The Write On review-a-thon is a monthly event created and hosted by Brianna at The Book Vixen. It’s 2 days dedicated to getting reviews done, whether you have one review to write or 30+. This edition of the review-a-thon takes place all day Saturday, December 20th and Sunday, December 21st. Let’s get those reviews done!
I vaguely remember being caught up once. Probably back in November when I participated in the last review-a-thon. Huh. Imagine that.

Reviews to be written (I expect to add to this list--and possibly write a few of these--before the week is out):
  • The Mane Attraction by Shelly Laurenston - DONE
  • Wizard's Chance by Eve Langlais
  • Blaze of Glory by Mandy M. Roth
  • A Gentleman in the Street by Alisha Rai
  • Forbidden Witches by S.M. Reine - DONE
  • Civil Twilight by Mandy M. Roth
  • Winning the Alpha by Carina Wilder
  • Wolf's Song by Taryn Kincaid


Lick by Kylie Scott [Review]

Lick by Kylie Scott
Lick (Stage Dive #1) by Kylie Scott
Format: ebook
Source: purchased
Date read: September 8, 2014

Stage Dive
1. Lick - Paperback | Kindle
2. Play
3. Lead
4. Deep

Kylie Scott
| Website | Twitter | Facebook | Amazon |

Synopsis (Goodreads):
Waking up in Vegas was never meant to be like this.

Evelyn Thomas's plans for celebrating her twenty-first birthday in Las Vegas were big. Huge. But she sure never meant to wake up on the bathroom floor with a hangover to rival the black plague, a very attractive half-naked tattooed man in her room, and a diamond on her finger large enough to scare King Kong. Now if she could just remember how it all happened.

One thing is certain, being married to one of the hottest rock stars on the planet is sure to be a wild ride.
Thoughts on Lick: I had the sneaking suspicion when I read the blurb for this book that I'd fall head over heels for the members of Stage Dive. Part of it was because the other Kylie Scott books I've read have rocked my world. The other part? My deep, abiding love for tattooed hotties.

Yeah. I'm gone on these guys. David with his soulful looks and fear of abandonment. Mal with his manic personality. Ben with his strong, silent thing. Jimmy with his... uhh, well, Jimmy's kinda a mess in this one. We'll just slide over him for now. He did have a moment or two late in the game, but for the most part, he's a work in progress.

But this is David and Ev's story. And what a story it is. Vegas. Alcohol. Tattoos. And one GIANT, shiny ring. Ev might not remember all that went down there, but she sure ended up with a whopper of a parting gift. And by that, I mean David, not a raging case of crabs or anything.

I seriously loved David and all his beautiful flaws. His hurt over remembering when Ev didn't. How enamored of her he was. The way he lashed out sometimes because of his past and the guilt he felt afterward for saying things that hurt Ev. <3

So the boys of Stage Dive are pretty awesome. I'm all over seeing how they all find their HEAs and fall hard for someone unexpected. BRING ON THE MAL NOW!

Tuesday, December 16, 2014

Top Off Tuesday - Yessss!

I've decided to join Felicia, Christi and Amanda for their gratuitous shirtless covers on Tuesdays. Because nothing says Tuesday like flashing some skin! Hop over to Felicia's blog to see who else is participating!

Since I'm reviewing the first three books in this series this week, it seemed only appropriate to showcase the final member of Stage Dive. Mmm. Tattoos.

Deep by Kylie Scott
Deep (Stage Dive #4) by Kylie Scott
Don't miss a beat with the fourth and final novel in the New York Times and USA Today bestselling Stage Dive series from Kylie Scott.

One by one, the members of Stage Dive are falling in love. David, Mal, and Jimmy have all taken the plunge, and now it’s Ben’s turn—only he refuses to fall into that trap. The sexy bassist enjoys his no-strings-attached lifestyle. But when Ben is forced to keep the one girl he's always had a weakness for out of trouble in Sin City, he quickly learns that what happens in Vegas, doesn’t always stay there.

Monday, December 15, 2014

A Secret to Die For by Sierra Dean [Review]

A Secret to Die For by Sieraa Dean
A Secret to Die For (Secret McQueen #8) by Sierra Dean
Format: ebook
Source: provided by the author for an honest review
Date read: October 15, 2014

Secret McQueen
0.5. The Secret Guide to Dating Monsters
1. Something Secret This Way Comes
2. A Bloody Good Secret
2.5. Secret Santa
3. Deep Dark Secret
4. Keeping Secret
5. Grave Secret
6. Secret Unleashed
7. Cold Hard Secret
8. A Secret to Die For - Kindle

Sierra Dean
| Website | Twitter | Facebook | Amazon |

Synopsis (Goodreads):
No one is safe.

Secret McQueen thought she’d seen it all, but that was before she, Desmond and Holden came home to find New York City burning and the streets overwhelmed with the walking dead. Now, in a race against time, she must find out who is responsible for unleashing hell on Earth.

For that, she’s going to need a whole new team of vampire wardens to help round up the perpetrators, who turn out to be a gang that makes Sons of Anarchy look like toddlers on tricycles.

Her quest across the city brings old friends and enemies out of the woodwork and reminds Secret once and for all why mercy and forgiveness are not always prudent. Lives will be lost, sacrifices will be made, and when the dust settles, nothing will ever be the same again.

With no time to mourn her losses, the only question remaining is if Secret can survive long enough to stop the apocalypse…or if this is the one challenge that will finally drown her in rivers of undead blood.

Warning: The final book in the Secret McQueen series has it all: hot kisses, unexpected guests, and enough tear-jerking moments to require a whole box of tissues. You’ve been warned.
Thoughts on A Secret to Die For: As the final book in the Secret McQueen series, I put off reading this one. Not because I didn't think Sierra Dean could deliver, but because I was loathe to have Secret's journey come to an end. I didn't want to say goodbye. Secret's ten types of screwy and her first response to most anything involves violence and I totally appreciate that.

(Also, I was terrified her stable of men would all meet terrible, terrible deaths and I didn't think my heart could handle that. But that's another story for another day.)

(Also also, I'm going to keep much of this review intentionally vague. Because the final book in a series should be savored. Much like when you defeat your arch-nemesis and then go party like it's 1999 in celebration and have to deal with a hangover the next day the likes of which the world has never known. Wait. That's a terrible analogy. Ignore it.)

Here's what I will say: As a long time fan, I'm pleased and otherwise thrilled with the way Secret's story played out. Secret has always jumped into situations that looked hopeless simply because it was the right thing to do. Despite everything she'd gone through, that part of her never changed. She might have grown a little more wary over the course of the books, but when she sees something that needs to be done, she does it. No matter the personal cost to her.

Her journey was bloody and painful at times and it worked for the type of person she was. She had more allies than she knew and this final book proves it. I'm sorry to say goodbye to this series, but pleased to know we haven't seen the end of this world.

Sunday, December 14, 2014

Bout of Books 12

 Bout of Books 12
That's right, my little darlings, it's almost that time again! Time to get our read on with Bout of Books! And, you guessed it, I will be participating! Go forth and sign up on the Bout of Books blog! You won't regret it!

For those that don't know what Bout of Books is... here you go:
The Bout of Books read-a-thon is organized by Amanda @ On a Book Bender and Kelly @ Reading the Paranormal. It is a week long read-a-thon that begins 12:01am Monday, January 5th and runs through Sunday, January 11th in whatever time zone you are in. Bout of Books is low-pressure, and the only reading competition is between you and your usual number of books read in a week. There are challenges, giveaways, and a grand prize, but all of these are completely optional. For all Bout of Books 12 information and updates, be sure to visit the Bout of Books blog. - From the Bout of Books team