Wednesday, October 7, 2015

Rock Redemption by Nalini Singh [Review]

 Rock Redemption by Nalini Singh
Rock Redemption (Rock Kiss #3) by Nalini Singh
Format: ebook
Source: provided through NetGalley
Date read: September 13, 2015

Rock Kiss
1. Rock Addiction
1.5. Rock Courtship
2. Rock Hard
3. Rock Redemption - Paperback | Kindle

Nalini Singh
| Website | Twitter | Facebook | Amazon |

Synopsis (Goodreads):
Kit Devigny could have loved rock guitarist Noah St. John. Their friendship burned with the promise of intense passion and searing tenderness…until the night Noah deliberately shattered her heart.

Noah knows he destroyed something precious the night he chose to betray Kit, but he’d rather she hate him than learn his darkest secret. All he has left is his music. It’s his saving grace, but it doesn’t silence the voices that keep him up at night. Chasing oblivion through endless one-night-stands, he earns a few hours’ sleep and his bad boy reputation.

When a media error sees Noah and Kit dubbed the new “it” couple, Kit discovers her chance at the role of a lifetime hinges on riding the media wave. Wanting—needing—to give Kit this, even if he can’t give her everything, Noah agrees to play the adoring boyfriend. Only the illusion is suddenly too real, too painful, too beautiful…and it may be too late for the redemption of Noah St. John.
Thoughts on Rock Redemption: This series works for me so hard. I LOVED Charlie and Gabriel from book 2 and very curious if Noah and Kit could replace them as my favorite couple. They didn't quite claim the top spot, but it was a close race.

Frankly, Noah and Kit have A LOT of baggage. Noah did something terrible to Kit (he had his reasons) and it took guts for her to choose to be there for him when he was down. Needless to say, their early interactions are rocky. Kit's pain is very real and Noah hurts because he felt he had no choice but to hurt her.

What can I say? It's complicated.

I loved seeing Noah give his all in the limited way he thought he was capable of. I loved even more when Kit forced him to push harder and showed him that the things he didn't think he could handle were within reach. (And, yes, his reasons for doing the things he does were explained and it made me want to rage for him.)

There's some seriously intriguing setup for Abe's story and I'll be all too happy to revisit these rock stars and the woman who fall for them in his book.



Tuesday, October 6, 2015

Top Off Tuesday - Abs AND a sword. NICE!

I've taken over the Top Off Tuesday meme (formerly hosted by Felicia, Christi and Amanda). Why? Because I can't resist gratuitous shirtless covers. Nothing says Tuesday like flashing some skin, amirite?!?!

While I'm a little disappointed his nips got covered, the rest of this cover gets a thumbs-up from me!

 The Chief by Monica McCarty
The Chief (The Highland Guard #1) by Monica McCarty
An elite fighting force unlike the world has ever seen...

Scouring the darkest corners of the Highlands and Western Isles, Robert the Bruce handpicks ten warriors to help him in his quest to free Scotland from English rule. They are the best of the best, chosen for their superior skills in each discipline of warfare. And to lead his secret Highland Guard, Bruce chooses the greatest warrior of all.

The ultimate Highland warlord and a swordsman without equal, Tor MacLeod has no intention of being drawn into Scotland’s war against the English. Dedicated to his clan, the fiercely independent chief answers to no one—especially not to his alluring new bride, bartered to him in a bid to secure his command of the deadliest fighting force the world has ever seen. The treacherous chit who made her way to Tor’s bed may have won his hand, but she will never claim his heart.

Although her husband’s reputation is as fierce as his manner, Christina Fraser believes that something softer hides beneath his brutal shell. But the only warmth she feels is in their bed, in glorious moments of white-hot desire that disappear with the dawn. When Christina’s reckless bid to win her husband’s love goes awry and thrusts them into danger on the eve of war, Tor will face his ultimate battle: to save his wife and to open his heart—before it’s too late.

Monday, October 5, 2015

Pas by S.M. Reine [Review]

 Pas by S.M. Reine
Pas (War of the Alphas #4) by S.M. Reine
Format: ebook
Source: provided by the author for an honest review
Date read: August 26, 2015

War of the Alphas
1. Omega
2. Beta
3. Alpha
4. Pas - Kindle

S.M. Reine
Website | Twitter | Facebook | Amazon |

Synopsis (Goodreads):
Deirdre Tombs is a Beta without her Alpha. Everton Stark is missing, just days in advance of the election to replace Rylie Gresham as leader of all North American shifters.

She can’t control his allies anymore. She can’t win the election without him.

Everything will be lost unless Deirdre can become a better monster than Stark.
Thoughts on Pas: Good GRAVY, S.M. Reine knows how to end a series with a bang. And some of the things revealed were mind-blowing. Like, I'm still trying to wrap my brain around them. *stares at everybody with creepy concentration and tries to keep it together*

GUYS, I didn't even hate Stark by the end. And I don't know what to think about that. I mean, the guy's a jerk and a total butt-nugget most of the time and I DIDN'T HATE HIM BY THE END. That's some impressive writing, because there was a time I thought he was irredeemable. And the stuff that went down in winter?!?! *crazy eyes* Heck, I ended up liking a DRAGON who did some pretty reprehensible things (or so it seemed at the time) and I'M SO CONFUSED ABOUT WHAT THIS SAYS ABOUT ME NOW.

*deep breath* So. This book is good. It gave me some things to think about and it tied off the overall series arc with some serious awesomeness. If you've read the previous books, you're going to want to read this one. If you haven't read the previous books, go back and start from the beginning. I mean the beginning-beginning. Start with Elise and James and work your way up to Rylie and then dive into Deirdre's world. Because seeing it all from the beginning makes it hurt so much more.

Sunday, October 4, 2015

RtP Week in Review (10/04/15)

Reading the Paranormal's Week in Review
Bookish Delights

Saturday, October 3, 2015

Blog Housekeeping [62]

It's that time again! Time to polish up your blog until it shines!

POP QUIZ: Have you been backing up your blog?

  • review archive - are you responsible for sites other than your own? Don't forget about those
  • sidebar - check for buttons or links for events that have ended. Have any new events coming up? Now's the time to add them.
  • reading challenges - update your progress, add links to challenges where you can link up. If you're a challenge host, do you try to comment on linked reviews? Now's your chance!
  • blogrolls -  clean 'em up!
  • crosspost - do you crosspost to Amazon, B&N, Goodreads, Library Thing? Don't forget to add your reviews to Netgalley or Edelwiess for those ARCs.
  • check your subscription and social media links - if this isn't something that you normally check, now's an excellent time to make sure it's doing what it should be doing. 
  • check your static pages (About, Review Policy, etc) for outdated information, broken links, etc.
  • review your profiles - when was the last time you updated your Goodreads or Facebook profiles? Is everything up to date?
Get ahead:
  • The year is starting to wind down. Are you planning to host any 2016 challenges? Now is a good time to work out the kinks.
  • respond to review requests and other bloggy emails
  • check your spam folder - legitimate emails can sometimes slip through, catch them now.
  • check the spam filter on the blog - get rid of the spam! save the legits!
  • make the rounds - check back on blogs where you left comments, maybe spread a few new comments around like candy.
Did you do everything that applies to you? Well done! Now...


The Next Blog Housekeeping is scheduled for 11/7! I hope to see you there!

Friday, October 2, 2015

Anything but Broken by Joelle Knox [Review]

 Anything but Broken by Joelle Knox
Anything but Broken (Hurricane Creek #1) by Joelle Knox
Format: ebook
Source: provided by the author for an honest review
Date read: August 19, 2015

Hurricane Creek
1. Anything but BrokenKindle
2. Anything but Tempted
3. Anything but Perfect

Joelle Knox
| Website | Twitter | Facebook | Amazon |

Synopsis (Goodreads):
After five years, tragedy brings Hannah Casey back to Hurricane Creek to bury what’s left of her family. She’s flunking out of college, haunted by scandal, and the only person who cares is Sean Whitlow, an irresistible bad boy with a soft spot for her. The problem? He’s her dead sister’s ex.

Sean doesn’t bleed red, he bleeds motor oil. During the week, he struggles to turn his auto repair shop into a profitable business. But when Saturday night rolls around, he’s the reigning stock-car king of the local race track. He doesn’t know how to lose–or how to walk away and leave Hannah alone with her grief.

Between her grades and her wealthy family’s dark secrets, Hannah’s barely holding her life together. And the last thing Sean needs is to get tangled up with another Casey girl. As the attraction between them spins out of control, they’ll either find a love with no limits–or go up in flames.
Thoughts on Anything but Broken: Holy wow, this was a good book. Not a little good. A LOT GOOD. Like, I want more good. Basically, it was a punch to the emotional gut in the most wonderful way. It's painful at times and sweet at times and always heartbreaking in one way or another. I'm not saying I teared up or anything, but you might want to have a tissue or two handy. Just in case.

Hannah's circumstances were just painful. Her reaction to a friendly touch said so much about her. And her parents, come to think of it. All the lies she's been forced to tell, all the times she felt like she fell short, they hurt. As the truth began to come to light, it hurt even more. Because no child should be expected to do the things she had to do to maintain the facade of perfection for her family.

And Sean. SEAN. Trying to reconcile these new feelings he's having for Hannah against EVERYONE reminding him he needs to stay away from her because of his history with her sister was rough. I honestly adored him and could NOT get enough of his sweetness. Sweet as hell bad boys do it for me, apparently.

Loved, loved, loved the small town setup and all the characters. Given how this book emotionally gutted me, book 2 is going to kill me dead. I can feel it.

Thursday, October 1, 2015

RtP 2015 Series Tracking - July-September

While I'm not hosting an official Seriously Series Challenge this year, I liked being able to track series I've completed. So... here we are. Tracking some series.

By category:
Series started in 2015: 23/12
Series started before 2015: 16/12
Series rereads: 2/5

By month:
  • Started in 2015:
    • Completed: 6 
      • A Lion's Pride (When an Alpha Purrs)
      • Bad Habits (With a Twist)
      • Dragons of Bloodfire (Tempting by Fire)
      • Flame (Blood Flame)
      • The Original Heartbreakers (The Closer You Come)
      • Werewolves of Montana Mating Mini (Redemption)
    • In progress: -none-
  • Started before 2015:
    • Completed: 7 
      • Beyond (The Resurrection of Sam Sloan)
      • Her Angel (Her Sinful Angel)
      • Gardella Vampires (Raging Dawn)
      • Gaslight Chronicles (Ether & Elephants)
      • Iron Portal (Rebel's Desire)
      • Masters of the Shadowlands (Servicing the Target)
      • Reaper (The Adventures of Cassius Flynn and Molly McGuire)
    • In progress: -none-
  • Rereads:
    • Completed: -none-
    • In progress: -none-

  • Started in 2015:
    • Completed: 9
      • Dare River (Country Heaven)
      • Fallout Girl (Fallout Girl, Straight to Video, Freak Legion, Lady Wasteland, Frankenstein)
      • Finishing School (Waistcoats & Weaponry)
      • Hell's Belles (Hell's Belles: Book One)
      • Hurricane Creek (Anything but Broken)
      • The Phoenix Adventures (Among Galactic Ruins)
      • Sexy Reversed Fairy Tales (What the Queen Wills)
      • Shadow Shifters (Primal Heat)
      • War of the Alphas (Alpha, Pas)
    • In progress: -none-
  • Started before 2015:
    • Completed: 3
      • Brothers Sinister (The Suffragette Scandal)
      • Castles Ever After (When a Scot Ties the Knot)
      • Stormy Day (Death of a Batty Genius)
    • In progress: -none-
  • Rereads:
    • Completed: -none-
    • In progress: -none-

  • Started in 2015:
    • Completed: 8 
      • Bears of Pinerock County (Sheriff Bear)
      • Bearstone Park (Bearlebrity)
      • Blythe College (Push the Envelope)
      • Bomb Squad (Game Changer)
      • Erotic Shifter Fairy Tales (Bear's Gold)
      • Frost Station Alpha (Hunted)
      • Martin Ranch (Right By Your Side)
      • Rock Kiss (Rock Redemption)
    • In progress: -none-
  • Started before 2015:
    • Completed: 6
      • Descent (Dying Night)
      • Disillusionists (Mind Games)
      • Jasper Dent (Blood of My Blood)
      • Off the Grid (Mixed Signals)
      • Perfect Chemistry (Perfect Passion)
      • Reveler (Scrape)
    • In progress: -none-
  • Rereads:
    • Completed: -none-
    • In progress: -none-